Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This report provides information on a 5-year comprehensive program evaluation of Cavity Free at Three. The report offers background information on Cavity Free at Three as well as on the program’s infrastructure development. Methods related to the data-collection process and evaluation-question development are discussed, and results are presented for the following four areas: training data, pre/post data, technical assistance data, and impact data.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Oral Health Unit, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/health/prevention-and-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Prevention, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This course provides a definition of health literacy and discusses how health literacy and oral health literacy are measured, the role of oral health literacy in promoting oral health, and access to oral health care in private practice and in public health settings. The course describes ways that oral health literacy can influence long-term oral health outcomes and how oral-health-literate approaches can be integrated into private and public health organizations.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health literacy, Oral health, Professional training, Public health, Service delivery

Annotation: This guide provides information about how silver diamine fluoride (SDF) can be used in the management of dental caries. Information on who may benefit from SFD application and criteria for tooth selection is offered, along with information about how to apply SDF and how to follow up after treatment. What patients can expect after application is also discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease management, Followup, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride

Annotation: This program is intended for dentists, dental assistants, dental hygienists, dental specialists, and other oral health professionals interested in learning about culturally and linguistically appropriate services. The program aims to provide professionals with the knowledge, skills, and awareness they need to provide high-quality oral health services to everyone, regardless of their cultural or linguistic background. The program also aims to support the implementation of National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Diversity, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Professional education

Annotation: This survey provides information about the oral health of young children in Nebraska during the period 2021–2022. Topics include the statewide Head Start survey, the statewide third grade survey, the Lancaster county third grade survey, oral health disparities, and trends. The oral health status of young children in Nebraska compared with the oral health status of young children in the United States as a whole is discussed.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Report
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Data, Health care disparities, Nebraska, Oral health, State information, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This report provides suggestions for how states that choose to implement programs to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care for beneficiaries of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) can select a family of measures to assess progress. It explains what the different measures in the family of measures are (outcome measures, process measures, and balancing measures) and provides measurement strategies for each type of measure.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides ideas for how states can use a driver diagram on oral health produced by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care, plan a quality-improvement (QI) project, and determine how to improve outcomes. The report offers background, presents the driver diagram, explains the driver diagram, and provides ideas for activities to promote change.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This video discusses how children who are Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program beneficiaries can benefit from having fluoride varnish applied to their teeth in the primary care setting. The video shares quality-improvement methods that can help states improve the provision of oral health care to these children by primary care health professionals. Topics include developing an aim statement, using a driver diagram, identifying drivers to consider for achieving the aim, starting small to test whether change ideas are working, and using the plan-do-sudy-act method.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program's school dental sealant programs. Topics include the total number of students in the programs who received an oral health screening, who received sealants, who received fluoride varnish. who had untreated tooth decay, and who had urgent oral health needs. The number of potential school days saved is also presented, along with an explanation of how this number was calculated.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301-3852, Telephone: (603) 271-4535 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, ext. 4535 Fax: (603) 271-4506 E-mail: http://business.nh.gov/EmailContact/EmailContact.aspx?a=cdpc&b=Chronic%20Disease%20Prevention%20and%20Control Web Site: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-services/disease-prevention/oral-health-program

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health screenings, New Hampshire, Oral health, State information, State information, State programs

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

Annotation: This series of three animated videos provides information on how to brush teeth and floss properly. It also provides information about foods and drinks that are more and less likely to cause tooth decay and discusses the importance of drinking water.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (800) 972-2017 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov Available from the website.

• How To Brush
• How To Floss

Keywords: Dental caries, Drinking water, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Videos

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fluoride. It describes what fluoride is and how community fluoridated water with 0.7–1.2 milligrams of fluoride per liter of water is safe to drink and helps strengthen teeth, prevent tooth decay, and decrease the need for costly dental treatment.

Contact: Public Health Communications Collaborative, Web Site: https://publichealthcollaborative.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Community health, Cost, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Drinking water, Safety, Fluoride, Oral health, Treatment

Annotation: This tip sheet for families explains why good oral health is important for children and offers tips on things parents can do help ensure that their child has healthy teeth and a healthy mouth. It is available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish,Vietnamese,and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Children, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The goal of this training for school nurses and non-oral-health professionals is to equip participants with the knowledge and tools they need to perform oral health screenings for school-age children, with a focus on identifying early signs of tooth decay. The training comprises three sections (tabs): sample letters, videos, and exam. Sample letters include a consent form, a risk-assessment report, a parent questionnaire, and a screening results letter. Videos include trainings with and without a fluoride-application component. The exam section includes a caries risk assessment, screening results letter, and an appendix of physical findings for oral health risk assessment.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Forms, Health screening, Informed consent, Oral health, Prevention, Risk assessment, School age children, Training, Videos

Annotation: This training provides information to help kindergarten through grade 2 teachers incorporate oral health education into their curricula, with the goal of empowering students to maintain good oral hygiene, educating them on the importance of oral hygiene and preventive oral health care, and helping build healthy habits and understand the link between oral health and overall well-being. The training comprises three sections (tabs): teacher materials, lessons, and videos. Teacher materials include handouts and a 30-minute training video. The lessons and videos sections include materials to use with students.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Videos, Curricula, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health education, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School age children, School health, Training

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about the effects of tobacco on the mouth. Topics include tobacco use, smokeless tobacco use, quitting tobacco use, and oral cancer. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontitis, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about xylitol. Topics include the benefits of xylitol, when to use xylitol, and who can benefit from xylitol use. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Mothers, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This strategic framework for Montana presents the vision statement and core values and beliefs of the Montana Oral Health Network. Also discussed are strategic directions for the network; goals and objectives; prioritizing and sequencing implementation of strategies; monitoring progress and setbacks; and evaluation. Goals include achieving a cohesive and active oral health network of stakeholders, ensuring that oral health professionals and other health professionals understand and employ innovative and integrated care approaches, ensuring that Montanans understand the importance of oral health and use their knowledge to improve their oral health; and improving the provision of oral health care to those who are underserved.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 111 North Sanders Street, Helena, MT 59620, Telephone: (406) 444-5622 Web Site: https://dphhs.mt.gov/ecfsd/oralhealth/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health education, Health education, Low income groups, Montana, Oral health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Service integration, State information

Annotation: The goal of this oral health roadmap for Wisconsin is to reduce the prevalence of oral disease and disparities in oral health status among state residents. It is intended to be used as a guide for promoting access to high-quality oral health care. The plan discusses four strategic areas: infrastructure, prevention and health promotion, access to oral health care, and workforce.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to oral health care, Health promotion, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, State information, Wisconsin, Work force