Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses oral cancer as a public health issue and describes causes and symptoms. Information about oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality rates in Wisconsin and the state's tobacco prevention and control program is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Consumer education, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Epidemiology, Oral cancer, Oral health, State programs, Statistics, Tobacco use, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the burden of oral diseases in Maryland. It includes data on oral health status for children and adults, oral cancer, tobacco use, preventive care, access to care, disparities, and education and training as well as some policy mandates that help shape dental practice, health quality, prevention, and access to care in Maryland. The report also highlights the gap that exists in rural areas as well as access-to-care disparities in the state.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Disease prevention, Maryland, Oral cancer, Oral health, Prevention services, State surveys, Statistical data, Tobacco use

Annotation: This oral health plan describes the burden of oral disease in South Carolina, the collaborative process used to develop a plan for action, a vision statement with an action plan, and methods to evaluate desired plan outcomes. Also included are national objectives from Healthy People 2010. The plan provides information about advocacy and policy, surveillance, social marketing, community water fluoridation, oral cancer, and special populations (i.e., children with special health care needs, children attending public schools, young children, older adults).

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Evaluation, Fluoride, Health objectives, Older adults, Oral cancer, Oral health, Public policy, South Carolina, State initiatives, Surveillance

Annotation: This document is a preliminary working draft of a State Oral Health Plan presented to policymakers by a coalition of 20 stakeholder organizations. The draft contains national and state oral health data and recommendations to improve access to care in Alaska. Child health topics include dental caries experience and untreated dental caries, dental sealants, oral clefts, and oral health services. Data on adult oral health, oral cancer, and the age distribution of dentists in Alaska are also included. Recommendations in the areas of prevention and education, access, and financing are presented.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Oral Health Program, Alaska Division of Public Health , P.O. Box 110610, 130 Seward Street, Room 508, Juneau, AK 99801-0610, Telephone: (907) 465-8628 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Pages/oralhealth/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Alaska, Children, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Financing, Health education, Oral cancer, Oral clefts, Oral health, Prevention, Statewide planning, Statistics, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This book provides an overview of milestones in public health during the last century in the United States. The milestones discussed are those identified by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. They are advances in (1) addiction, (2) automotive safety, (3) cancer, (4) cardiovascular disease, (5) environmental and occupational health, (6) food safety, (7) infectious disease control, (8) maternal and child health, (9) oral health, and (10) vaccines. One chapter in the book is devoted to each milestone. Each chapter is written by a different expert, and each explores historical developments related to the milestone and presents a case study of the milestone and a vignette illustrating another facet of the milestone. Predictions of advances still to come are offered, as well. The book includes a prologue, an epilogue, and references. Also available as a course.

Contact: Pfizer, 235 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 733-2323 Web Site: http://www.pfizer.com/home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Child health, Children, Communicable disease control, Distance education, Drug addiction, Environmental health, Food safety, History, History, Infants, Motor vehicle safety, Occupational safety and health, Oral health, Parents, Public health, Vaccines, Women', s health

Annotation: This document provides examples of state-based programs that make a substantial contribution to reducing the burden of chronic disease in the United States. Topics include aging, arthritis, block grants: preventing chronic disease, cancer, diabetes, healthy mothers and healthy babies, healthy youth, heart disease and stroke, nutrition and physical activity, oral health; prevention research enters, racial and ethnic approaches to community health, and tobacco.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Arthritis, Block grants, Cancer, Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Communities, Community programs, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Infant health, Maternal health, Model programs, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, State programs, Strokes, Tobacco

Annotation: This chapter in Healthy Iowans 2010 Mid-Course Revision documents progress toward meeting Healthy People 2010 goals and objectives to improve the health of Iowans. Content is based on a review of the oral health goals and objectives in Iowa's state action plan conducted between March 2004 and December 2004. The introduction discusses primary oral health problems facing Iowans over the next five years, and discusses categories of individuals who are underserved and who may have varying degrees of difficulty in accessing care, the most commonly identified obstacles to utilization, the infrastructure of the service delivery system (how services are delivered and financed), accomplishments-to-date, and cross-cutting issues related to other chapters in the Healthy Iowans 2010 plan. The chapter then describes goals and action steps, as revised, for the targeted at-risk populations.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health statistics, Healthy People 2010, Iowa, Oral cancer, Oral health, Population surveillance, Screening, State initiatives

Annotation: This report discusses preventing chronic diseases related to emerging "affluent" diets in developing countries and reducing the impact of these diseases in developed countries. It was produced by a WHO study group on diet, nutrition, and prevention of noncommunicable diseases meeting in Geneva January 28-Feburary 1, 2002. The report provides information on changes in patterns of disease in relation to changes in diet, the relationships between diet and chronic diseases, information on nutritional and dietary relationships to disease, nutrient goals, nutrition and food policies, experiences in promoting healthy diets in developed countries, food strategies in developing countries, and WHO recommendations. It ends with a list of references and six appendices on recommended dietary allowances, dietary guidelines for diabetes, safe food preparation, dietary recommendation in developed and developing countries, national recommendations, and nutritional approach to food labeling.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 92-4-120916-X.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developed countries, Developing countries, Diabetes, Diet, Dietary guidelines, Disease prevention, Health policy, Health promotion, Nutrition, Oral health, Osteoporosis, Recommended dietary allowances

Annotation: This document reports on systematic reviews of the effectiveness of selected population-based interventions to prevent and control dental caries, oral and pharyngeal cancers, and sports-related craniofacial injuries. The report presents the recommendations of the task force, describes how the reviews were conducted, and provides information designed to help apply the recommended interventions locally.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community programs, Dental caries, Facial injuries, Fluorides, Head injuries, Health promotion, Oral cancer, Oral health, Pharyngeal diseases, Prevention, Sports injuries, Water

Annotation: This report presents recommendations and strategies for the prevention of oral cancer and pharyngeal cancer which were developed at a 1996 national strategic planning conference and a followup meeting in 1997. The report begins with a brief background of the conference and explains recommended strategies from the working groups.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conferences, Disease prevention, Oral cancer, Oral health, Pharyngeal diseases, Policy development, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report was developed by the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directories in an effort to provide guidance for state and local governmental officials, as well as public health administrators, in the development of an optimal oral health program for a specific jurisdiction.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal disease