Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about the Oklahoma Task Force to Eliminate Health Disparities, which was created in 2003, and its charge to assist the state department of health in investigating issues related to health disparities and access to health care among multicultural, underserved, and regional populations and to develop strategies to eliminate health disparities, focusing on cardiovascular disease, infant mortality, diabetes, cancer, and other leading causes of death. The report includes an executive summary that outlines the task force's actions, executive committee reports, and detailed recommendations.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, 1000 N.E. 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117, Telephone: (405) 271-5600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0203 Web Site: https://www.ok.gov/health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Final reports, Health status disparities, High risk groups, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Minority groups, Oklahoma, Prevention, Underserved communities

Annotation: This report documents the results of a statewide home visiting needs assessment to identify at-risk communities to target for the Maternal, Infant and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program in Oklahoma. Contents include state- and county-level data on maternal and child health indicators including rates of preterm birth, low birthweight, infant mortality, poverty, crime, high school dropouts, substance abuse, unemployment, child maltreatment, and domestic violence. Risk ratios, county ranks, and maps of risk indicators are included. Additional topics include quality and capacity of existing home visiting programs and capacity to provide substance abuse treatment and counseling.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, Family Support and Prevention Service, 1000 N.E. 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299, Telephone: (405) 271-1011 Web Site: http://www.ok.gov/health/Child_and_Family_Health/Family_Support_and_Prevention_Service Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care reform, Home visiting, Needs assessment, Oklahoma, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State MCH programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This final report for the Sooner SUCCESS (State Unified Children's Comprehensive Exemplary Service for Special Needs) program discusses the project purpose; goals and objectives; methodogy; evaluation; results, outcomes, and lessons learned; publications and products; dissemination and utilization of results; and sustainability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Final reports, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Communities, Community health services, Families, Family support services, Health care systems, Medical home, Oklahoma, Parents, School to work transition, Service coordination, Service integration, Transition to independent living, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This web page provides information about the A Healthy Baby Begins with You baby shower held on April 30, 2009, in Oklahoma City, OK. The purpose of the shower was to improve birth outcomes and reduce infant mortality among African Americans in Oklahoma. The site includes links to the shower agenda (which also presents facts about infant death), a survey for shower participants designed to improve awareness about infant mortality,and a PowerPoint presentation about the survey. Also included are links to three tool kits. The first provides information about how to plan and implement a community baby shower to help individuals, groups, and communities improve birth outcomes. The second present information for media committees in charge of contacting media outlets to publicize the event. The third is a brochure that can be modified for any baby shower event, and then printed.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, 1000 N.E. 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117, Telephone: (405) 271-5600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0203 Web Site: https://www.ok.gov/health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Community programs, Community surveys, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Oklahoma, Prevention

Annotation: This continuing education program is designed to help dentists in Oklahoma recognize the signs of child abuse and neglect and inform them of reporting procedures. Contents include a presentation (.pdf) and brief 10-question post-test.

Contact: Delta Dental of Oklahoma, Provider Relations Department, 16 N.W. 63rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73116, Telephone: (405) 607-2137 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0188, ext. 137 Fax: (405) 607-4778 Web Site: https://www.deltadentalok.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Continuing education, Dentists, Injury prevention, Maltreated children, Oklahoma, Oral health, Resources for professionals, State programs

Annotation: This document provides information about domestic violence with the goal of increasing awareness about this problem in Oklahoma. Background on domestic violence is provided, along with information on who are the victims, who are the batterers, what can be said and done, assessing danger, the legal system, and resources. A section dedicated to how those working with women in crisis can take care of themselves is included, as well.

Contact: Oklahoma Department of Human Services, P.O. Box 25352, Oklahoma City, OK 73125, Telephone: (405) 521-3646 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.okdhs.org Available from the website. Document Number: OKDHS Pub. No. 01-05.

• PDF

Keywords: Battered women, Domestic violence, Intervention, Oklahoma, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This report describes the results of a study conducted to provide support for policy decisions to Oklahoma Health Care Authority (OHCA) regarding child health check ups under Medicaid's Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program and to determine the extent to which primary care physicians are conducting regular, standardized screening to identify children at risk of developmental disabilities.

Contact: Oklahoma Department of Libraries, 200 NorthEast 18th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3298, Telephone: (405) 521-2502 Fax: (405) 525-7804 Web Site: http://www.odl.state.ok.us/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, EPSDT, Medicaid, Oklahoma, Policy analysis, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report synthesizes a study of available information on the number of children who are uninsured and related policy initiatives to substantially reduce the number of children who are uninsured in 17 southern states and the District of Columbia. Contents include an overview of previous editions of this report and source for the estimates used, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) policy and eligibility for children and pregnant women in the southern states, a discussion of issue that impede health coverage opportunities for these groups, actions southern states can take to improve the eligibility process, and fact sheets showing estimates of uninsured children and uninsured pregnant women for each state and the District of Columbia. States included are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Appendices include the study methodology, federal poverty levels for family of four from 2003 to 2007, Medicaid enrollment in the southern states from 1997 to 2005. Statistical data are provided in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Full Report - Alternate Posting

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Health insurance, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pregnant women, SCHIP, South Carolina, Statistics, Tennessee, Texas, Uninsured persons, Virginia, West Virginia

Annotation: This final report summarizes Oklahoma's efforts to enhance and strengthen state oral health infrastructure and increase access to oral health services for a target population of children ages 3-8 in Oklahoma County with funding from the State Oral Health Collaborative Systems grant program for the period September 30, 2003, to August 31, 2007. The report is divided into the following sections: purpose, progress narrative, evaluation and conclusion, and statistical tables. Selected topics include partnerships and coalitions, oral health education, and the oral health work force. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health services, Children, Final reports, Oklahoma, Oral health, Oral health education, Program descriptions, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, School age children, Statewide planning, Systems development, Work force

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Tulsa, Oklahoma, to reduce the infant mortality and co-morbidity rates from 2001-2005. Program services include case management for women and infants, outreach services such as interconceptional care and translation, health education and training, and depression screening and referrals. Report sections include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project; a description of the project implementation; management and governance of the project; accomplishments; the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, the state, the role of local government, and the local evaluation report. Additional information is provided on fetal and infant mortality review, a listing of products produced, and data collected during the project. Appendices include charts and data for target population and Tulsa county specific data and a performance report from the monitoring visit

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Depression, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Health education, Health promotion, Health services delivery, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Local programs, Oklahoma, Prevention programs, Racial factors, Screening

Annotation: This brief examines home visiting as a strategy employed by state health agencies to deliver public health interventions aimed at improving birth outcomes. It provides an overview of home visiting programs; a discussion of goals, target populations, common service components, outcomes, and financing of state level programs; and examples of programs from four states and one territory. Additional topics include benefits and costs and program challenges. Resources and references conclude the brief. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Early intervention, Georgia, Home care services, Home visiting, MCH research, Maine, Montana, Oklahoma, Postpartum care, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnancy outcomes, Prenatal care, Public health services, Puerto Rico, State MCH programs

Annotation: This report presents a brief history of the adverse impact of legislative changes on the delivery of oral health care to individuals eligible for Medicaid in Oklahoma and 2002-2006 state and local initiatives to address oral health disparities, with an emphasis on the oral health forum on children with special health care needs held on August 25, 2006, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Contents include a summary of the forum planning process, a list of the invitees and participants, panel presentation summaries, the action plan, and a discussion of potential barriers and additional resources. Tables containing state and national statistics on the percentage of children with special health care needs by age, gender, family income, and race and ethnicity as presented during the forum are provided. Tables containing indicators of child health and well-being are also presented. The forum agenda, e-card, registration form, attendance list, evaluation summary, and financial report are included as exhibits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Oklahoma, Oral health, State initiatives, Statistical data

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Oklahoma City and County to reduce levels of infant mortality, pre-term birth, and low birth weight overall and within minority groups from 2001-2004. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity, project implementation, project management and governance, project accomplishments, the impact of the project, and local evaluation. Appendices include products produced by the project, data collection, data reporting requirements, various data collection forms and procedures, letters, education and training materials, as well as standards and protocols. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birth weight, MCH services, Oklahoma, Preterm delivery, Prevention programs

Annotation: This executive summary describes a study to evaluate the effectiveness of the 2003 Children's Oral Health Forum in creating better oral health care opportunities for children in Oklahoma. Specifically, the study addressed the problems and barriers that lead to inadequate access to oral health care among children in Oklahoma, and existing and potential solutions to overcoming these problems. Issues are described in the following areas: workforce and provider, community resources, and legislative and education. The survey methodology is described, conclusions are offered, and statistical information is provided throughout the report.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Market research, Oklahoma, Oral health, State surveys, Surveys

Annotation: This report describes activities conducted in follow-up to Oklahoma's 2003 Head Start oral health forum. Activities include updating contact information for original forum participants, identifying progress related to specific solutions in the state plan, barriers to progress toward desired outcomes, and any new solutions that may have been identified since the forum. A brief review is provided of activities accomplished, immediate outcomes, additional follow-up planned, and need for additional resources to accomplish other follow-up activities. A chart outlines budget expenses. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Conferences, Early Head Start, Final reports, Head Start, Oklahoma, Oral health, State initiatives

Annotation: This report describes a program to expand the identification and implementation of more effective ways to coordinate and deliver health services to low income women, children, and families; to enhance leadership capabilities of maternal and child health professionals, consumers, and advocates; and to sharpen the community focus on preventive health and dental care for children. Contents include a project abstract and a three-year progress report including a description of the project, experience to date, activities of each of the three years of the grant, conditions and requirements, evaluation, regional and national significance, publications and other materials, other information, key personnel, and public health system reporting requirements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Community health services, Final reports, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Low income groups, MCH research, Oklahoma, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Women', s health

Annotation: This report describes a program to teach and promote healthy behaviors among elementary students, their families, and school faculty in Oklahoma from September 1998 through August 2004 regarding (1) physical activity and fitness, (2) nutrition education, (3) tobacco use prevention, and (4) injury prevention. Report contents include descriptions of the purpose of the project, the goals and objectives, the methodology, project evaluation methods, results and outcomes, a list of publications and products produced, an outline of dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow-up, and an outline of the type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the program. Appendices include a descriptive flyer, budget information, and an article and newsletters. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Schools for Healthy Lifestyles, 500 N. Broadway, Ste. 225, Oklahoma City, OK 73102, Telephone: (405) 606-8435 Fax: (405) 606-8437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolsok.org

Keywords: Child health, Elementary schools, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Oklahoma, Physical activity, Prevention programs, School based programs, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This Memorandum of Agreement is between (1) the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) [T5] and (2) the Oklahoma Department of Human Services (OKDHS) [T19]. It documents the state of Oklahoma's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together. The objective of this agreement is to jointly seek to provide services to the CSHCN population of the State of Oklahoma.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: OK.1.1.

• PDF

Keywords: Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, Oklahoma, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This final report describes the activities of a Healthy Start project of the Community Service Council of Greater Tulsa and the Family Health Coalition. The goal of the project was to reconstitute and expand the Tulsa Area Coalition on Perinatal Care to enable the community to identify and implement more effective ways to coordinate and delivery health services to women, children, and families; enhance leadership capabilities of maternal and child health professionals, consumers, and advocates; sharpen the community focus on preventive health and dental care for children; and engage in research activities designed to more effectively identify variables linked to successful implementation of innovative strategies to improve the lives and health of Tulsa residents. The report inclues budget information and a final status report, an abstract, a progress report, and two appendices: (1) evaluation and training institute and (2) publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Service Council of Greater Tulsa, Main Square Towers, 16 East 16th Street, Suite 202, Tulsa, OK 74119-4402, Telephone: (918) 585-5551 Secondary Telephone: 918-838-0698 Fax: (918) 585-3285 E-mail: [email protected]  Web Site: http://www.csctulsa.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Community health services, Final reports, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Low income groups, MCH research, Oklahoma, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Women', s health

Annotation: This study examines the relationship between state Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) cost-containment practices, program costs, and WIC participant outcomes in six states: California, Connecticut, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Texas. Information on practices and outcomes was collected from program administrative data, interviews with state and local officials, interviews with WIC participants, a survey of WIC food prices and item availability, supermarket transaction data, and focus groups of WIC dropouts. Outcomes in states with certain practices are compared with outcomes in states without those practices. Chapters in the study include the purpose and approach of the study, data sources, state cost-containment practices and their administrative costs, approved foods and food selection, food costs and food cost savings, access to WIC vendors and availability of prescribed foods, participant satisfaction with and use of prescribed foods, WIC participants with special diets or food allergies, food instrument redemption, program participation, health outcomes, and findings by outcome measure and cost-containment practice. Implications for other states are discussed.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website. Document Number: E-FAN-03-005.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: California, Case studies, Comparative analysis, Connecticut, Cost containment, Costs, Food service, Health care costs, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Outcome evaluation, Program participation, Research, State programs, Texas, WIC Program