Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual provides school personnel and volunteers with procedures and requirements for administering and implementing a school-based fluoride mouthrinse program in Ohio. Topics include program roles, responsibilities, and operation; administration guidelines; recommendations for teachers; and program implementation and site visits. Forms and procedural options, including adaptations for students with special health care needs, are included.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Ohio, Oral health, Preventive health services, School age children, School based management, School health services, State programs

Annotation: This document presents information on community water fluoridation (CWF) and describes related services provided by the Ohio Department of Health. Topics include technical assistance and resources to promote CWF, fluoridation-assistance programs, monitoring fluoridation quality, Ohio’s fluoridation law, Ohio cities exempt from mandatory fluoridation, the status of CWF in Ohio, and facts about CWF.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Community based services, Fluorides, Legislation, Ohio, Oral health, State programs, Technical assistance, Water

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about preterm birth (PTB) rates and racial disparities in PTB in the United States, the use of 17 alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate (17P) to prevent PTB, and the role of state and territorial health agencies in promoting access to 17P. Contents include state examples of 17P interventions in Louisiana, North Carolina, and Ohio. The fact sheet also discusses costs, quality, and other challenges related to the availability of and access to 17P.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Louisiana, North Carolina, Ohio, Pharmaceutical fees, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Preventive medicine, State agencies

Annotation: This presentation describes efforts by the Ohio chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics to reduce post-neonatal deaths, focusing on pediatrician education about safe sleep, a statewide program, an hospitalist program, and child abuse and maltreatment. It compares these initiatives to its successful bike helmet initiative. Safe sleep marketing and an action plan are described.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infants, Ohio, Prevention programs, SIDS, Sleep, Social media, State programs, Sudden infant death

Annotation: This document profiles the various ways that U.S. states and communities are structuring, implementing, and evaluating intensive care coordination (ICC) using the wraparound approach for children and youth with significant mental health conditions. The document defines wraparound as a structured approach to service planning and care coordination for individuals with complex needs that is built on a system of care and adheres to specified procedures. Contents include the evidence base for wraparound and information on established, evolving, and emerging ICC/wraparound programs.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Community programs, Coordination planning, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mental health, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Patient care, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Service coordination, State programs, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Youth

Annotation: This guide for professionals participating in Ohio's dental sealant program provides information about the criteria and methods for deciding sealant placement. Topics include visual assessment to detect surface cavitation and/or signs of dentinal involvement before sealant placement, differences between noncavitated and cavitated dental caries lesions, and selecting sealants for repair or replacement. Photographs are included.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Dental sealants, Ohio, Oral health, Prevention programs, School age children, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This document outlines a plan to promote and improve oral health in Ohio. Contents include goals, strategies, population targets, and annual program targets. Topics include access to community oral-disease-prevention programs, access to oral health care, and oral health policy as an essential component of public health policy.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Community programs, Disease prevention, Goals, Health objectives, Health policy, Health promotion, Ohio, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Statewide planning

Annotation: This fact sheet focuses on efforts to prevent infant mortality in Ohio. It provides information about the Ohio Department of Health's (ODH's) safe sleep campaign, its progesterone prematurity project, its prenatal smoking-cessation initiative, and its decision to add severe combined immune deficiency and critical congenital heart disease to its list of newborn screening items. ODH's project to reduce elective deliveries before 39 weeks' gestation, its institute for equity in birth outcomes, and its support for select communities to participate in an initiative to improve black infant mortality and prematurity rates are also discussed.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Infant death, Infant mortality, Neonatal screening, Ohio, Prematurity, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention services, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives

Annotation: This website provides information about the 2013 Region V Infant Mortality Summit, held March 21-22, 2013 in Chicago, IL. Summit topics include coordinating, planning, implementing, and sharing cross state and regional efforts directed at reducing infant mortality; identifying similarities and differences across states to better understand data trends and reporting, health status of at-risk populations, contributing factors, and interventions that show promising results; identifying opportunities for leveraging resources and maximizing investments; identifying needs and provide technical assistance to state maternal and child health (MCH) and children with special health care needs (CSHCN) programs; and defining an organization framework for continued collaboration and successful program replication. The website provides links to the summit agenda, materials from sessions, summit goals and objectives, summaries and team updates, videorecordings from plenary sessions, and provides links to background and state infant and infant mortality resources.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Illinois, Indiana, Infant health, Infant mortality, Initiatives, Low income groups, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Prevention, Region V, Resource materials, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to the Medicaid and CHIP Risk-Based Managed Care in 20 States report, focuses on 20 states' Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care payment methods and spending. The states are Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The report addresses two research questions: (1) how do the 20 states establish capitation rates in their Medicaid and CHIP managed care programs, and how have their approaches to and policies for rate setting changed over the past decade and (2) how does monthly Medicaid spending for four distinct managed care enrollee populations (adults and children, with and without disabilities) vary among the 20 states? The report introduces the issues and presents the study approach, methods, findings, and a discussion.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Arizona, California, Children, Children', Connecticut, Costs, Delaware, Disabilities, Florida, Managed care, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, State programs, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides information about Ohio's progress in combatting infant mortality. Topics include the Ohio Collaborative to Prevent Infant Mortality, new initiatives, state budget action, the Ohio Perinatal Quality Collaborative, sleep-related deaths and other unexplained infant deaths, preconception care, and the Medicaid family planning expansion.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family planning, Financing, Infant death, Infant mortality, Initiatives, Legislation, Medicaid, Ohio, Prenatal care, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position, Safety, State programs

Annotation: This issue brief highlights the efforts of state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs and their partners in Colorado, Florida, Ohio, and Vermont to integrate public and private health care services for women and children with low incomes and their families. The brief outlines the roles and strategies of state agencies and shows how these programs have already begun to improve children's health and reduce health care costs. Topics include new opportunities for public-private partnerships; how state MCH programs can promote service integration; engaging key stakeholders, including families; building systems to service children with special health care needs; providing or paying for care coordination; developing standards and promoting quality; and lessons for other states.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Colorado, Costs, Families, Financing, Florida, Health care systems, Health services, Low income groups, MCH programs, Ohio, Program coordination, Service coordination, State programs, Title V programs, Vermont, Women', s health

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health status of children and adults in Appalachian Ohio and barriers to obtaining oral health care in the region. The report also provides examples of programs that are improving oral health and access to care in the region, as well as recommendations for other promising strategies.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: State programs, Adults, Appalachia, Barriers, Children, Data, Health status, Ohio, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State surveys

Annotation: This report summarizes data about oral diseases and access to oral health care in Ohio. Population-based efforts to prevent oral disease are discussed, as well as resources and programs aimed at improving access to oral health care for vulnerable populations. County level information on the prevalence of various oral health measures of children in the state are presented.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Dental caries, Families, Ohio, Oral health, State surveys, Work force, barriers

Annotation: This document describes statewide oral health surveys of students in public elementary schools in Ohio. The document contains graphs with data for the period 1998–2011. The data are presented by family income, race, and payment for oral health care. Topics include statewide trends for untreated dental caries, history of caries, dental sealants, dental visits, and students who experienced toothaches.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Data, Ohio, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, State surveys

Annotation: This one-page referral form is designed to help community agencies, hospitals, and prenatal clinics arrange professional home visiting services for new and expectant parents, particularly first-time mothers, and their infants. The document is designed to capture information such as demographics, prenatal care initiation, age, income level, language, and need for interpretation services. Separate forms are available for referral to programs in Kentucky and Ohio. The forms are used by Every Child Succeeds (ECS). a voluntary prevention program that operates two evidence-based national models (Healthy Families America® and Nurse Family Partnership®) to promote positive parent-child interaction, healthy child development, and family self-sufficiency.

Contact: Every Child Succeeds, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, 3333 Burnet Avenue, ML 3005, Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 636-2830 Fax: (513) 636-2460 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildsucceeds.org Available from the website.

• Ohio
• Kentucky

Keywords: Forms, Home visiting, Kentucky, Ohio, Referrals, State initiatives

Annotation: This directory catalogs programs in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin that provide direct health care services, enabling services, population-based services, and infrastructure-building services related to preconception and interconception care. The aim of the document is to display the variety of initiatives that have been taken to improve the health of women of reproductive age and their families. An index of national resources including research-based articles, educational materials, funding sources, and health policy-related materials is also included.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 1603 West Taylor Street (M-C923), Chicago, IL 60612-7259, Telephone: (312) 996-0724 Fax: (312) 996-3551 Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph/mch Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services, Illinois, Indiana, Initiatives, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Preconception, Programs, Reproductive health, Women', and Wisconsin, s health

Annotation: This web site provides information for professionals and for clients of Ohio's Help Me Grow program, which provides health and developmental services for pregnant women and young children so children start school healthy and ready to learn. Parent and caregiver resources include topics on wellness, nutrition, children with special needs, the infant hearing program, school readiness, and safety. Resources include a parents index, information packets, county resources, a glossary of terms, frequently asked questions about the program, parents rights, and links for more information. Professional resources on the web site include training and development; program announcements; the infant hearing program; laws, regulations, and policies, the Early Track Data System, and frequently asked questions. Additional information is provided on grants, county program providers, and the early intervention systems of payment. A section for policies is available on a range of topics including those relevant for all, Part C, and home visitation. An online form is available for submitting information to obtain program referrals for those living in Ohio.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Early intervention programs, Health services delivery, Hearing screening, Home visiting, Infant health, Ohio, Screening, State programs

Annotation: This web page provides links to materials related to the Help Me Grow Home Visiting Program, including narrative sections fro the program manual, brochures, and forms. Local program contact information is also provided.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Families, Home visiting, Infant development, Infant health, Ohio, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, State programs

Annotation: This report contains recommendations and plans for providing oral health services to individuals in Ohio to ensure good oral health. Topics include community-based and community-wide disease prevention, financial barriers, care delivery system (work force, safety-net programs, and primary care and other health professionals), public awareness, individuals with special health care needs, diversity and cultural competence, and partnership. Two appendices provide a summary of the regional meetings that describes the dominant themes and comments made by attendees, as well as presentations.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Community based services, Culturally competent services, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health care, Special health care services, State initiatives, Strategic plans, Work force