Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This tool is designed to help health and health care professionals at all stages of professional development explore the determinants underlying health problems faced by patients and communities. It simulates a 6-step process for leading change to improve the community's health. The tool incorporates a big-picture visual with supporting materials including data cards, group dialogue exercises, and facilitator tips to identify and engage collaborators in addressing asthma, obesity, and gang violence. It also includes tips on using the materials, resources for hosting an event, a fact sheet for sharing information about the tool, and a webinar describing it's use.

Contact: CDC Foundation, 600 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 1000, Atanta, GA 30308, Telephone: (404) 653-0790 Secondary Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Fax: (404) 653-0330 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http;//www.cdcfoundation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Behavior change, Collaboration, Facilitated communication, Interpersonal violence, Learning, Obesity, Problem solving, Program improvement, Role playing, Social change, Training

Annotation: This guide is designed to help communities prevent dental caries and obesity by promoting drinking water as an alternative to sugar- sweetened beverages. Contents include strategies for building a team and defining and spreading the message in child care facilities, clinics, parks, schools, and other community-based settings. A two-page fact sheet is also available.

Contact: National Drinking Water Alliance, University of California, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources, 6701 San Pablo Avenue, Second Floor, Oakland, CA 94608-1239, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.drinkingwateralliance.org Available from the website.

• Toolkit And Fact Sheet

Keywords: Communities, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Multimedia, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public health education, Public private partnerships, Water

Annotation: This report provides data, recommendations, and case study examples of how to more effectively use state Quality Rating and Improvement Systems (QRIS) as a lever for change in childhood obesity prevention. The report focuses on four strategies to prevent childhood obesity: healthy eating, breastfeeding, physical activity, and limited screen time (HEPA). Contents include information from 24 states that have identified practices related to HEPA that states want to promote via their QRIS. Case studies from seven states (Arizona, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, New Jersey, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin) highlight strategies to support childhood obesity prevention efforts in early childhood education settings.

Contact: Nemours National Office of Policy & Prevention, 1201 15th Street, N.W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 457-1440 Fax: (202) 649-4418 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org/about/policy.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Case studies, Child care centers, Child development centers, Disease prevention, Early childhood education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This fact sheet describes Building Healthy Communities, a school-based prevention program in Michigan to help children adopt healthy habits at a young age by providing access to healthy food, health education, physical education, and physical activity. Contents include a description of the program's development and implementation process, outcomes, and next steps. Topics include partnering organization efforts to pool funding, resources, and expertise to engage elementary schools and expand to middle and high schools throughout the state.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Collaboration, Curriculum, Elementary schools, Health behavior, Health promotion, High schools, Michigan, Middle schools, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Obesity, Outcome and process assessment, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, School health education, School health programs, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report provides information about state efforts to address childhood obesity in the early care and education (ECE) setting. The report also describes a spectrum of opportunities for obesity prevention in the ECE setting and provides guidance on achieving recommended obesity prevention standards and best practices in the ECE setting. Contents include avenues by which states or communities have successfully changed ECE facilities to improve nutrition, physical activity, breastfeeding support, and reduced screen time among children from birth to age 5 and key accomplishments in licensing, quality rating and improvement systems, professional development.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/dnpao/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior change, Breastfeeding, Child care, Disease prevention, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health promotion, Licensing, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical Activity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Training, Trends, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit describes initiatives developed by Medicaid managed care organizations (MMCOs) to prevent and treat childhood obesity and offers resources and tools to support future efforts. Contents include an environmental scan of childhood obesity efforts led by MMCOs, case studies of childhood obesity initiatives and perspectives from families and children, and a readiness assessment and implementation tools to guide MMCOs seeking to enhance their existing initiative(s) or to launch a new program through the design, implementation, and evaluation process.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1250 Connecticut Ave., Suite 700, PMB 5135, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Child health, Diffusion of innovation, Disease prevention, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Obesity, Pediatric care, Prevention programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help states improve the likelihood that individuals with low incomes will make healthy food choices within a limited budget and choose physically active lifestyles consistent with current guidelines by providing nutrition education and obesity prevention services, using interventions that include direct education; social marketing; and policy, systems, and environmental (PSE) changes. Contents include evidence-based obesity prevention programs and PSE strategies and interventions that states can use in their plans to comply with the requirement that plans include multi-level interventions or public health approaches. The toolkit includes a section on evaluation of interventions that may be considered along with evaluation recommendations and requirements.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management

Annotation: This resource is designed to help Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) implementing agencies find evidence-based obesity prevention and policy, systems, and environmental change (PSE) interventions and learn about outcome indicators from the SNAP-Ed evaluation framework. A glossary of terms from the framework is also included. An online resource center for state and local SNAP-Ed providers and a library for locating SNAP-Ed tools and resources are also available.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Training, Weight management

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendation for multicomponent interventions to increase the availability of healthier foods and beverages in schools. This finding is based on evidence that these interventions can reduce or maintain the rate of obesity in children. These multicomponent interventions can combine healthy eating with physical activity, healthy eating alone, or physical activity alone. The CPSTF report is based on evidence from a systematic review published in 2013, along with more recent evidence published between August 2012 and January 2017. The website lists summary of results, summary of economic evidence, and provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Literature reviews, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, School age children, School based programs, School lunch programs, Schools

Annotation: This web resource provides the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendations on meal interventions and fruit and vegetable snack interventions to increase the availability of healthier foods and beverages provided by schools. This finding is based on evidence that an increase in fruit and vegetable consumption can reduce or maintain the rate of obesity in children. The CPSTF recommends interventions in school settings that combine healthy eating with physical activity, or interventions that focus just on healthy eating or physical activity. These findings are based on a systematic review that focused on dietary approaches in schools. The website provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Fruit, Health promotion, Literature reviews, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, School age children, School based programs, School lunch programs, Schools, Vegetables

Annotation: This resource provides information about obesity among young children, adolescents, and adults in the United States. Contents include obesity rates and trends by age, household income, and race and ethnicity; policy analysis; state briefs; fast facts; and other resources. Topics include the relationship between weight and diabetes, hypertension, and physical inactivity; the health care costs of obesity; food insecurity, food deserts, and healthy weights; and socioeconomics and obesity.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Barriers, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Data sources, Financing, Health status, Low income groups, Nutrition, Obesity, Policy development, Schools, Socioeconomic factors, State programs, Trends, Young children

Annotation: This guide for after school program directors, members of leadership teams, site directors, and partners provides a step-by-step approach to developing exemplary practices in healthy eating, physical activity, and food security. The guide examines each practice in terms of what it means; why it matters; and how it can be embedded into, expanded upon, and deepen current work. Examples from learning centers, including their successes and the challenges they had to overcome, are provided throughout. The guide also includes progress indicators for assessing where a program and or site is at any given point in time as they move from starting out in this process to reaching exemplary levels.

Contact: Center for Collaborative Solutions, 1337 Howe Avenue, Suite 210, Sacramento, CA 95825, Telephone: (916) 567-9911 Fax: (916) 567-0776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccscenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, After school programs, Child health, Communities, Families, Financing, Food consumption, Hunger, Learning, Low income groups, Manuals, Model programs, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Program development, Schools

Annotation: This report examines how the Carol M. White Physical Education Program (PEP) projects were administered and implemented under revised regulations to align relevant program objectives with the Let's Move! Initiative. The report focuses on projects funded by fiscal year 2010 grant awards, the first cohort of grantees to implement projects under the revised PEP. Contents include a program overview, study purpose and design, a description of PEP projects, project implementation, new PEP priorities, project challenges, and summary and lessons learned. Topics include the role of community partnerships and grantee experiences with collecting and using body mass index data.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Policy and Program Studies Service, Washington, DC Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/opepd/ppss/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Prevention programs, Body height, Body weight, Data collection, Federal grants, Federal programs, Grants management, Measures, Obesity, Physical education, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This policy brief investigates sugary drink consumption in communities of color, focusing on the public health impact and marketing of such products, and policy options to facilitate healthy beverage consumption. It also discusses how decision makers can work to prevent childhood obesity and related illnesses by advancing policies to reduce the marketing and appeal of sugary drinks—and increase the availability of healthy alternatives—in communities of color.

Contact: Leadership for Healthy Communities, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 975***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 265-5112 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.leadershipforhealthycommunities.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Food consumption, Marketing, Minority groups, Minority health, Nutrition, Obesity, Policy development, Sugar

Annotation: These guidelines, published every five years, are designed for professionals to help all individuals ages 2 and older and their families to consume a healthy, nutritionally adequate diet. The document discusses key elements of healthy eating patterns, shifts needed to align with healthy eating patterns, and roles of everyone in supporting healthy eating patterns.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Environmental factors, Food consumption, Food safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Research, Weight management

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about gestational diabetes and about what women who had this condition while pregnant can do to reduce the chances that they or their child will get diabetes later in life. The fact sheet provides action steps for women (including getting tested for diabetes, eating healthy foods and being more active) and for the whole family.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-6019; NDEP-88.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Women', s health

Contact: Children's Hospital Association, 600 13th Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 753-5500 Web Site: http://www.childrenshospitals.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Hospitals, National surveys, Obesity, Prevention services, Statistics, Treatment, Weight management

Contact: Leadership for Healthy Communities, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 975***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 265-5112 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.leadershipforhealthycommunities.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Children, Ethnic factors, Obesity, Racial factors, Youth

Contact: Leadership for Healthy Communities, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 975***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 265-5112 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.leadershipforhealthycommunities.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children, Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Obesity, Racial factors, Spanish language materials, Youth