Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This flip book for health professionals to share with parents covers the basics of good oral health in infants and young children. Each page is double-sided and designed as a teaching tool. The patient-facing pages feature simple text (in English and in Spanish) and pictures and illustrations to educate families. On the back of the intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: TeethFirst!, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT, One Union Station, Providence, RI 02903, Telephone: (401) 351-9400 Fax: (401) 351-1758 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teethfirstri.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Family centered care, Health education, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Patient education materials, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This monograph reports key findings from a comprehensive, ongoing, nationwide evaluation of written school district wellness policies. Contents include data from school years 2006–2007 through 2013–2014, the first eight years following the required implementation data for wellness policies. Topics include background on the federal requirement for school district wellness policies, methodology for assessing policy strength and district characteristics, comprehensiveness and strength of wellness policies, key findings of wellness policy provisions, and future research needs.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago, Institute for Health Research and Policy, 1747 West Roosevelt Road, 5th Floor, Chicago, IL 60608-1264, Telephone: (312) 996-7222 Secondary Telephone: (866) 757-4507 Fax: (312) 996-2703 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihrp.uic.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health policy, Nutrition education, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Regulations, Research, School districts, School food services, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet describes Building Healthy Communities, a school-based prevention program in Michigan to help children adopt healthy habits at a young age by providing access to healthy food, health education, physical education, and physical activity. Contents include a description of the program's development and implementation process, outcomes, and next steps. Topics include partnering organization efforts to pool funding, resources, and expertise to engage elementary schools and expand to middle and high schools throughout the state.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Collaboration, Curriculum, Elementary schools, Health behavior, Health promotion, High schools, Michigan, Middle schools, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Obesity, Outcome and process assessment, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, School health education, School health programs, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This document for physical educators provides guidance on ensuring that students in community-based transition programs receive physical education services in community settings, and that those services are developed and implemented by certified adapted physical education teachers. Contents include background, reasons for concern, clarification from the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs, a call to action, and best practices and recommendations for providing meaningful physical education services in secondary special education transition programs.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community action, Community based services, Disabilities, Models, Nutrition education, Physical activity, Physical education, Students, Teaching, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This checklist for home visitors and their clients in Maryland is designed to help them establish goals for oral health during pregnancy. Topics include making a dentist appointment, going to the dentist, brushing with fluoridated toothpaste, flossing, drinking tap water, drinking less soda and other sugar-sweetened beverages, and eating fruits and vegetables. The checklist is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Goals, Home visiting, Maryland, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help states improve the likelihood that individuals with low incomes will make healthy food choices within a limited budget and choose physically active lifestyles consistent with current guidelines by providing nutrition education and obesity prevention services, using interventions that include direct education; social marketing; and policy, systems, and environmental (PSE) changes. Contents include evidence-based obesity prevention programs and PSE strategies and interventions that states can use in their plans to comply with the requirement that plans include multi-level interventions or public health approaches. The toolkit includes a section on evaluation of interventions that may be considered along with evaluation recommendations and requirements.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management

Annotation: This resource is designed to help Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) implementing agencies find evidence-based obesity prevention and policy, systems, and environmental change (PSE) interventions and learn about outcome indicators from the SNAP-Ed evaluation framework. A glossary of terms from the framework is also included. An online resource center for state and local SNAP-Ed providers and a library for locating SNAP-Ed tools and resources are also available.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Training, Weight management

Annotation: These resources for home visitors are designed to help families establish good oral health habits and obtain oral health care. The items are intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: Washington Dental Service Foundation, P.O. Box 75983, Seattle, WA 98175-0983, Telephone: (206) 528-2373 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kidsoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Home visiting, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This booklet for parents provides information on how to care for an infant’s or child’s oral health from birth through the elementary school years. The booklet also includes information about how to find and pay for oral health care and activities that parents can do with their child to help them learn together about the importance of good oral health. The booklet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish. A brochure and a video are also available.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infants, Michigan, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Preschool children, Preventive health services, School age children, State programs

Annotation: This tool for shelter staff members contains recommendations and information on how family shelter environments, programming, policies, and staff can support early childhood safety and development. The tool contains recommendations for making shelter facilities safe and developmentally appropriate for infants, toddlers, and preschoolers in five areas: health and safety, wellness and development, work force standards and training, programming, and food and nutrition. The tool categorizes recommendations by the estimated amount of resources requires. Links to references referenced in the tool and an action plan form are also included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary and Interdepartmental Liaison for Early Childhood Development, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9200 Fax: (202) 205-4891 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ecd/about Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child safety, Community action, Community health services, Early childhood development, Families, Family support programs, Homelessness, Infants, Nutrition, Policy development, Preschool children, Program development, Self evaluation, Shelters, Standards, Toddlers, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report provides a guide and benchmark on the current state of rural health priorities and disparities and serves as a roadmap for updating federal and state leaders on rural health priorities identified through the national Rural Healthy People 2020 survey. Volume one addresses each of the ten top-ranked rural health priorities and includes reviews of relevant literature, updated for those topics previously identified as priorities in Rural Healthy People 2010, and models for practice that rural practitioners can use to support community and regional programs. Volume two addresses priorities 11-20.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-4951-5242-9.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Community health services, Diabetes, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Heart diseases, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health, National initiatives, Nutrition, Physical activity, Rural populations, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource lists books about oral health for children under age 7. Topics include self-care, general information about teeth, and visiting the dentist. Spanish-language books and information about the book-review process and the interprofessional review team are included, along with an evaluation tool.

Contact: University of Maryland, Health Sciences and Human Services Library, 601 West Lombard, Baltimore, MD 21201-1512, Telephone: (410) 706-7995 Secondary Telephone: (410) 706-7996 Web Site: http://www.hshsl.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Children', Dental care, Early childhood development, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, s literature

Annotation: This brief summarizes a workshop held on July 27–29, 2015, to examine topics related to supporting family and community investments in young children globally. Topics include discussions among participating researchers, policymakers, program practitioners, funders, young influencers, and other experts from 19 countries about how best to support family and community investments across areas of health, education, nutrition, social protection, and other service domains.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-38088.

• Link

Keywords: Child protective services, Education, Family support services, Financial support, Health services, International health, Nutrition services, Social support services, Young children

Annotation: This guide for students in physician assistant programs provides ideas for hosting an oral health outreach event for children using the American Dental Association’s National Children’s Dental Health Month campaign resources. Contents include step-by-step instructions for introducing the physician assistant profession and the program, tips on building good oral health habits in children, including information about toothbrushing technique, a group activity and options for individual activities, ideas for concluding the program, and handouts.

Contact: American Academy of Physician Assistants, 2318 Mill Road, Suite 1300, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 836-2272 Fax: (703) 684-1924 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aapa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health education, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Outreach, Physician assistants, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Students

Annotation: This document describes components of the school nutrition environment and resources to support a healthy school nutrition environment. Topics include school meals, smart snacks in school; in-school fundraisers; classroom celebrations, events, and nonfood rewards; access to drinking water; staff role modeling; food and beverage marketing; and healthy eating learning opportunities.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluid intake, Food consumption, Health policy, Health promotion, Learning, Marketing, Models, Nutrition, Policy development, Role models, School health services, Schools, Snacks, Water

Annotation: These videos for Head Start staff and other child care and early education professionals address oral health care for pregnant women, infants, and young children. Topics include the importance of early oral health care, fluoride varnish, healthy eating, toothbrushing, weaning from a bottle, and motivational interviewing. Many of the videos are appropriate for sharing with parents.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Early Head Start, Fluorides, Head Start, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Young children

Annotation: This guide provides step-by-step instructions for creating a school health improvement plan. The guide is designed to help communities identify the strengths and weaknesses of school policies and programs for promoting health and safety; develop an action plan for improving student health and safety; and involve teachers, parents, students, and other community members in improving school policies, programs, and services. Contents include instructions for site coordinators, eight self-assessment modules, and an action planning component. Topics include school health and safety policies and environment; health education; physical education and other physical activity programs; nutrition services; school health services; school counseling, psychological, and social services; health promotion for staff; and family and community involvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Downloadable, Printable Version
• Customizable Online Tool

Keywords: Assessment, Community action, Community participation, Elementary schools, Environmental health, Family school relations, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Safety, School age children, School counseling, School health, School health education, School health services, Social services, Students