Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This curriculum is designed for health professionals who wish to learn more about nutrition and oral health for children, including children with special health care needs. The curriculum contains five modules: (1) typical oral health development in children, (2) nutrition-related risk factors for dental caries, (3) influence of special health care needs on oral health, (4) prevention of nutrition-related oral health problems, and (5) screening for nutrition-related oral health problems. Also included are a section on using the modules and a credits and acknowledgments section. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Pacific West MCH Distance Learning Network, University of Washington, Center on Human Development and Disability, Box 357920, Seattle, WA 98195-7920, Telephone: (206) 543-7701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/chdd Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Children with special health care needs, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental caries, Dental education, Distance education, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, Screening, Training materials

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Start project from 2001-2005 in Palm Beach County, Florida, providing services to African American, Haitian, and non-Hispanic Caribbean women of childbearing age. Services described include infant mortality reduction, care coordination, health and nutrition education, smoking cessation, and depression screening and counseling. Report contents include the project narrative, descriptions of project specific goals and objectives, and the local evaluation. Products and data collected and produced during the project are attached as appendices. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Depression, Final reports, Florida, Health education, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, MCH services, Nutrition, Prevention programs, Screening, Smoking cessation, Women', s health

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward health professionals and educators on nutrition and adolescent pregnancy, focuses on the biological, psychosocial, and cognitive changes that begin during puberty and continue through adolescence, which directly affect nutritional status and nutrient needs. Topics include adolescent growth and development; understanding adolescent eating behaviors; nutrition needs of adolescents; nutrition, screening, and intervention; nutrition education and counseling; promoting healthy eating and physical activity behaviors; the overweight adolescent; the underweight adolescent; iron deficiency anemia; hyperlipidemia; hypertension; eating disorders; body image and adolescents; diabetes mellitus: type 1 and type 2; reproductive health issues; sports nutrition; vegetarian eating patterns; and adolescents with special health care needs. Some of the information is presented in tables. One appendix containing a list of food sources of vitamins and minerals is included.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, Body image, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Food habits, Health promotion, Hyperlipidemia, Hypertension, Intervention, Iron deficiency anemia, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Nutritional status, Obesity, Physical activity, Puberty, Reproductive health, Screening, Sports, Underweight, Vegetarianism

Annotation: This resource guide includes policy and programmatic information related to adolescent overweight, obesity, physical activity, and nutrition. The guide presents key facts and provides general information on obesity as a public health problem. The guide also discusses diet and nutrition; education and training; food labeling and advertising; health insurance and reimbursement for treatment of obesity and overweight; physical activity and sports; school nutrition; screening, evaluation, and treatment; and special populations. Resources are provided. The guide includes four appendices: (1) organizations of the AMA National Coalition on Adolescent Health, (2) the Partners in Program Planning for Adolescent Health Initiative, (3) practical concerns and solutions, and (4) roles for the professional. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Advertising, Education, Health insurance, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public health, Public policy, Reimbursement, School health, Screening, Sports, Training, Treatment

Annotation: This report describes some of the ways in which WISEWOMAN projects are making a difference for financially disadvantaged women. The WISEWOMAN program, which is funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, consists of 12 demonstration projects in states, territories, and tribes that provide screening for chronic disease risk factors, dietary and physical activity interventions, and referral and follow-up for many low-income and uninsured women. The report includes examples of four strategies that build strong WISEWOMAN projects: expanding access, reaching culturally diverse women, women helping women, and developing partnerships.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: American Indians, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community programs, Federal initiatives, Interventions, Low income groups, Nutrition, Physical activity, Referrals, Screening, State programs, Uninsured persons, Women', s health

Annotation: The main research questions addressed by this project were as follows: (1) Are adolescents meeting the Healthy People 2000 nutrition health status and risk reduction objectives? Which groups of adolescents are at greatest risk for not meeting these objectives and need to be targeted for intervention? (2) What are the direct and indirect overall contributions of socioenvironmental, personal, and behavioral factors to the explained variance in nutritional intake and weight gain status? Are similar associations found among adolescents from different socioeconomic status (SES), age, gender, and ethnic groups? (3) Which specific socioenvironmental, personal, and behavioral measures are associated with the targeted behaviors outlined in the Healthy People 2000 nutrition health status and risk reduction objectives? Are similar associations found among adolescents from different SES, grade, gender, and ethnic groups? [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2002-107493.

Keywords: Adolescent Nutrition, Adolescents, Adolescents, American Indians, American Indians, Asians, Asians, Blacks, Blacks, Body Composition, Hispanics, Hispanics, MCH Research, Nutrition, Pacific Islanders, Pacific Islanders, Prenatal Screening, Research, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information from the NIH Consensus Development Conference on Phenylketonuria (PKU) Screening and Management, including the consensus statement developed by the participants, abstracts of presentations made at the conference, and the report of the consensus development panel. Appendices provide additional information about PKU. [Sponsored in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.]

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov

Keywords: Conferences, Genetic screening, Hereditary diseases, Interdisciplinary training, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Research, Therapeutics

Annotation: This packet of information is intended to assist the home visitor and the parent through the first 12 months of life. A set of fact sheets for the parent and a guideline sheet for the worker are organized by each month of development. Fact sheets include the following: activities sheets; parenting tips; and what to look for and what to expect developmentally. The curriculum guidelines for each month include information about what to do on each visit for all clients and for priority one clients; handouts to give to parents; and screening or checks on the baby for that month. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Oriented Primary Care Program, LifeSpan Comprehensive Services with Home Visiting, 6263 Harry Hines Boulevard, Suite 401, Dallas, TX 75235, Telephone: (214) 630-4781 Contact Phone: (214) 654-4502 Fax: (214) 630-8308 Contact E-mail: [email protected]

Keywords: Child development, Child health services, Developmental screening, Growth monitoring, Health screening, Home visiting, Infant behavior, Infants, Nutrition, Physical development, Play

Annotation: This set of two videotapes explores two complications of pregnancy. Both videotapes are accompanied by a teaching guide. Gestational diabetes covers definition, prevalence, significance, screening, diagnosis, nutritional management, dietary strategies, monitoring and postpartum follow-up. Iron deficiency covers definition, prevalence, prevention, and treatment. Both of the guides contain references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi $25 each videotape.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Dietary assessment, Gestational diabetes, Iron deficiency anemia, Iron supplements, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Patient education, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Screening, Videotapes

Annotation: This publication is designed to assist Head Start staff in identifying a child with nutrition problems and in developing an individual action plan to provide the child and family with nutrition care and follow-up. Information and worksheets are included which can be used to develop the written nutrition plan that focuses on identifying and meeting the nutrition needs of individual children. The publication can be used to make more effective use of nutrition health and screening information and to enhance the nutrition skills of teachers, family service workers, family advocates, and other staff working with Head Start children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Region I, JFK Federal Building, Room 2100, Boston, MA 02203, Telephone: (617) 565-1500 Fax: (617) 565-1491 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://directory.psc.gov/os/871.html

Keywords: Assessment, Child nutrition, Head Start, Nutrition, Nutrition monitoring, Screening

Annotation: This report updates and expands guidance on adolescent health for state Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) programs issued in the 1980 Health Care Financing Administration report, "A Guide to Adolescent Health EPSDT." This report will help policy makers, public health program administrators, school health officials, and community leaders understand recent legislative changes and their relationship to standards of practice in building health programs for economically disadvantaged adolescents. Included in the report are guidelines for well adolescent care; screening protocols; diagnosis and treatment program suggestions; recommendations for improving the availability of health services; and an overview of other relevant publicly funded health programs including Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grants and Community and Migrant Health Centers.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org $4.50 plus shipping and handling.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Assessment, EPSDT, Health screening, Low income youth, Medicaid, Nutrition, Preschool children, School age children, Screening

Annotation: This project sought to improve the delivery of nutrition services to children of New Mexico's low-income, tricultural, rural population by developing a model for the delivery of nutrition services to children with special needs. Activities included a comprehensive needs assessment of existing services; education and training for health professionals, parents, and lay groups; development of nutrition education materials for professionals and parents in English, Spanish and Navajo; development and implementation of nutrition screening, assessment, and referral procedures; assessment of funding sources; and publication of a handbook for other nutrition service projects. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161909.

Keywords: American Indians, Data Collection, Disabled, Financing Health Care, Handicapped, Hispanics, Low income groups, Multi-Cultural/Multi-Lingual Population, Nutrition, Parents, Rural Population, Screening Tools

Annotation: The goals of this project were to improve the ability of the states in Region IX to collect and use data for the purposes of program planning, implementation, monitoring, and evaluation of nutrition services; to improve their ability to assess and monitor the nutritional status of the target populations; to expand region-wide systems to support the delivery of nutrition services to children with special health needs; and to expand the development of nutrition services for children with special health needs within California to include the entire state of California. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB91-242032.

Keywords: Children with Special Health care Needs, Continuing education, Nutrition Screening, Nutrition Services, Region IX

Annotation: This report details a three-year project which established a statewide community-based nutrition consultation service for children with special health care needs in Iowa. This report recounts the program goals, steps and procedures used to establish the program, service utilization patterns, issues and problems, feedback and evaluation, and post-grant program structure. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, Iowa Child Health Specialty Clinics, 100 Hawkins Drive, Room 247 CDD, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 356-1117 Contact Phone: (319) 356-1322 Web Site: http://www.uihealthcare.com/depts/state/chsc/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Community based services, Nutrition, Planning, Programs, SPRANS, Screening, Special health care needs

Annotation: These proceedings of the Fourth Annual Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Regions V and VII, summarize the keynote and plenary addresses, and the discussions of several focus groups. The conference, attended by multidisciplinary professionals in maternal and child health, focused on expanding the knowledge and leadership skills of managers. Topics included prenatal care, outcome measures, cultural issues, services for children with special health needs, adolescent services, dental health, data collection, maternal substance abuse, and child care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 1603 West Taylor Street (M-C923), Chicago, IL 60612-7259, Telephone: (312) 996-0724 Fax: (312) 996-3551 Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph/mch Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHD045.

• Link

Keywords: Case management, Child care, Children with special health care needs, Community health services, Culturally competent services, Health behavior, Hispanic Americans, Liability, Neonatal screening, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, School based clinics, Statistics, Transition to independent living, Vital statistics

Annotation: This document provides the results of a project to develop and test systematic methods for nursing assessment of the health and development of infants and young children to determine what early factors are predictive of later child development and health problems and how they can best be measured. It discusses methods, infant characteristics, infants' environment, parental perceptions, life change, 12-month status, and applications.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: DHEW (HRA) 79-25.

Keywords: Assessment, Child nutrition, Children, Congenital abnormalities, Early childhood development, Infant nutrition, Infants, Perinatal health, Prenatal care, Screening, Unintentional Injuries, Young children

Annotation: This book reviews literature dealing with child assessment and methodology. It was undertaken as a preliminary step of a project that would develop and test an assessment format to enable nurses to identify and care for existing health and developmental problems in children and to define high risk groups. Topics covered are prenatal and perinatal factors, congenital abnormalities, nutrition, parents' perceptions of their children, the animate and inanimate environment, physical growth and development, sleep patterns, childhood accidents, language, mental and social development.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: DHEW (HRA) 75-30.

Keywords: Assessment, Child nutrition, Children, Congenital abnormalities, Early childhood development, Infant nutrition, Infants, Literature reviews, Perinatal health, Prenatal care, Screening, Unintentional Injuries, Young children

Annotation: This booklet has three health program screening objectives: to look at the nutritional status of all children less than 10 years of age, focus on screening groups of children rather than individual assessments, and clearly indicate what simple methods for assessment of nutritional status can be used when personnel and facilities are limited. The booklet has two parts. The first part provides a simplified approach to screening groups of children. The second part has more detailed approaches, including data forms and tabular material for interpreting nutritional data.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health services, Nutrition, Nutritional status, Screening

Annotation: This collection of reprints from the journal, Pediatrics, discusses screw caps for baby food jars, vitamin E in human nutrition, nutritional adequacy of infant formulas, vitamin D, lists of readings on feeding and nutrition for physicians and parents, factors affecting food intake, vitamin D intake and the hypercalcemic syndrome, prepared infant formulas, protection of the infant diet, public health nutrition services for children in the United States, a memorial of Robert R. Williams, vitamin B 6 requirements, compulsory testing of newborns for heredity metabolic disorders, national nutritional survey of preschool children, the absence of vitamin D in nonfat dry milk, nutritional management in hereditary metabolic disease, baby food as special dietary foods, proposed changes in Food and Drug Administration regulations concerning formula products and vitamin - mineral dietary supplements for infants, and the relation between infantile hypercalcemia and vitamin D.

Keywords: Child safety, Food and Drug Administration, Genetic screening, Hyperglycemia, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Metabolic disorders, Nutrition surveys, Pediatrics, Public health nutrition, United States, Vitamin B 6, Vitamin D, Vitamin E

Annotation: This report discusses various aspect of Phenylketonuria (PKU)--an inherited disorder that increases the levels of a substance called phenylalanine in the blood and can result in severe mental retardation if left untreated. The report describes the biochemical and pediatric aspects of PKU; psychological and nutritional aspects; and family attitudes toward the restrictive low Phenylalanine diet that can minimize or prevent brain damage. Early detection is emphasized, and descriptions of screening tests for PKU snd Phenalyalanine-restricted diets and menus are included.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com

• Link

Keywords: Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Diet therapy, Genetic screening, Hereditary diseases, Neonatal screening, Phenylketonuria