Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the first days of life, when mothers and newborns face threats to survival, and highlights approaches that are working to bring essential heath care to hard-to-reach places where most deaths occur. The report also demonstrates how more lives can be saved with additional funding. Topic include progress over the past two decades, why newborns die, the most dangerous places to be born, the continuum of care for mothers and newborns, funding and need, and how to take action.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website.

• 2013 Edition
• 2002-2012

Keywords: Developing countries, Financing, Health care, High risk infants, High risk mothers, Infant death, Infant mortality, International health, Newborn infants, Poverty, Prevention programs, Rural population, Trends

Annotation: This document provides guidance to hospitals, health care providers and affiliated professionals about maternal drug screening, laboratory testing, and reporting of drug-exposed newborns delivered in Washington State. Contents include indicators for testing, hospital policy, newborn and maternal risk indicators, consent issues for testing, newborn drug testing, management of a newborn with positive drug toxicology, and reporting to Children's Administration. Appendices include references and resources, guidelines for obtaining consent, a sample letter, neonatal abstinence syndrome scoring system, and information on Washington's Children's Administration prenatal substance abuse policy.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Drug use during pregnancy, Guidelines, Hospital services, Infant health, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, State initiatives, State social service agencies, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use screening, Washington

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the Strong Start for Mothers and Newborns initiative, a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HRSA) program that aims to prevent preterm births and improve outcomes for newborns and pregnant women. The fact sheet provides an overview of the initiative and discusses three evidence-based maternity care approaches that it will test; lists award recipients, their locations, and their award amounts; provides information about length of awards, eligibility criteria, eligibility; program requirements; and provides information about the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation Center, which is partnering with HRSA to evaluate a fourth method for preventing preterm births.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Eligibility, Federal programs, Infant health, Initiatives, Maternal health, Mothers, Newborn infants, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Prevention, Program evaluation

Annotation: This brochure for parents of infants provides information to help parents ensure that their infant does not develop a flat spot on the back of the head from sleeping in his or her back. A list of things that parents can do while their infant is awake is provided, along with illustrations.

Contact: Great Start Collaborative - Van Buren County, Lawrence, MI Telephone: (269) 539-5205 E-mail: http://www.greatstart-vanburen.org/ContactUsForm/tabid/70/Default.aspx Web Site: http://www.greatstart-vanburen.org/ Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant, Infant heath, Newborn infants, Prevention, Sleep position

Annotation: This document provides guidance for hospitals and parents on the importance of implementing a hepatitis B birth dose policy. Contents include case reports on reducing medical errors and materials to help hospitals address the problem, including a fact sheet and guidance and sample text for developing admission orders. The document also contains information statements, a handout, and childhood immunization record cards for parents. Contact information and additional resources are included. A related handout and 45-minute webinar are available from the Give Birth to the End of Hep B campaign website.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, , 1573 Selby Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Campaign Website

Keywords: Case reports, Disease prevention, Health policy, Hepatitis B, Hospitals, Medical errors, Newborn infants, Parents, Postnatal care, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This book traces the evolution of newborn screening over the last 50 years, with stories from families affected by newborn screening conditions and portraits of the health professionals who support the newborn screening system. Contents include an outline of the origins of newborn screening, health implications of test results and the impact on treatment, the role of science and laboratory testing, how policy contributes to provide newborn screening, and how future screening research, practices, and policies can help improve the survival and growth of newborn infants.

Contact: Association of Public Health Laboratories, 8515 Georgia Avenue, Suite 700 , Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-2745 Secondary Telephone: (240) 485-2747 Fax: (240) 485-2700 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aphl.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9892398-0-6.

• PDF

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, History, Infant health, Neonatal mortality, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants

Annotation: This toolkit includes resources for hospitals to improve safety when newborns transition home from their neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) by creating a Health Coach Program, tools for coaches, and information for parents and families of newborns who have spent time in the NICU. Contents include a resource toolkit, family information packets, clinical materials to share with primary care providers, a NICU needs assessment, and a followup telephone survey.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant health, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Parent education, Parent support services, Patient discharge

Annotation: This fact sheet updates various national maternity statistics provided in the document, Evidence-Based Maternity Care: What It Is and What It Can Achieve, with new data now available. The fact sheet provides data on the size of the population, hospital care of childbearing women and newborns, maternity outcomes, paying for maternity care, and international comparisons.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Costs, Financing, Hospital services, Insurance, Medicaid, Newborn infants, Pregnant women

Annotation: This fact sheet summaries research findings related to substance use during pregnancy. It discusses the prevalence of substance use among pregnant women; examines the social and psychological issues; and looks at the biological and developmental effects of in-utero drug exposure on children. The effects from using tobacco, alcohol, marijuana, cocaine, heroine, methamphetamine, and prescription drugs each are discussed. The fact sheet also explores the societal impact of prenatal substance exposure and the various interventions for pregnant and parenting substance abusers and newborn infants. Relevant public policies are also discussed. An online training tutorial on this topic is also available.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy , University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, , Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Online Tutorial

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Infant health, Newborn infants, Policy, Pregnant women, Prenatal development, Research, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women, Training

Annotation: This archived webinar highlights best practices in engaging Latino families in home visiting programs. Panelists from three different home visiting models share approaches and tools that have led to their success in serving the needs of children and families. Topics included strategies for recruiting and retaining families in the program, specific training for home visitors, program and curriculum adaptation, and research on Latino families’ participation and outcomes.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Archive
• PowerPoint Slides

Keywords: Community programs, Audiovisual materials, Cultural sensitivity, Family support services, Hispanic Americans, Home visiting, Newborn infants

Annotation: This report summarizes an endorsement maintenance project to evaluate measures for accountability and quality improvement that address reproductive health, pregnancy care, childlbirth, and newborn care. Included are evaluations of perinatal and reproductive health-related consensus standards that were endorsed by the National Quality Forum (NQF) prior to 2009. Lists of the measures evaluated, measures not recommended, and recommendations for future measure development are provided.

Contact: National Quality Forum, 1030 15th Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 783-1300 Fax: (202) 783-3434 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.qualityforum.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Evaluation, Measures, Newborn infants, Pregnancy, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Standards

Annotation: This brochure explains to new parents the importance of newborn hearing screening and provides a form for recording testing results. It also contains milestones in the first year for parents to watch for to indicate normal speech, language, and hearing. Te brochure is available in English, Spanish, and Russian.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, Hearing screening, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This tip sheet for pregnant women and new mothers explains how to prepare for a natural disaster or other life-threatening emergency. It discusses the special needs of pregnant women and infants during a disaster and describes additional items that should be included in a household emergency stockpile kit related to pregnancy and newborn care. The tip sheet emphasizes the importance of having a plan in place and also reminds new and expecting mothers about the importance of breastfeeding. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disaster planning, Injury prevention, Mothers, Newborn infants, Pregnant women, Public health, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website provides information on newborn screening primarily for expecting and new parents. Resources are also available for prenatal and pediatric health professionals, including information about dried blood spot storage and usage. The content is based on 2008 legislation (the Newborn Screening Saves Lives Act) to expand support, research, and education opportunities for newborn screening. The website is organized as follows: About Newborn Screening (newborn screening facts, genetic and family history, screening resources, conditions screened by state); What to Expect (before birth, testing procedure, responding to results, testing outcomes, and what happens to the blood sample); Find a Condition; and Living with Conditions (family experiences, talking about a diagnosis, advocacy and support groups, finding a specialist, insurance and planning, looking to the future). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blood tests, Educational materials, Family support, Genetic services, Newborn infants, Resources for professionals, Screening, Special health care needs

Annotation: This document presents guidelines and evaluation criteria for hospitals and birthing centers seeking Baby-Friendly designation. The Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative is a global program to encourage and recognize hospitals and birthing centers that offer an optimal level of care for breastfeeding. Guidelines address the following steps: (1) having a written breastfeeding policy, (2) training staff to implement the policy, (3) informing pregnant women about the benefits and management of breastfeeding, (4) helping mothers initiate breastfeeding within 1 hour of birth, (5) showing mothers how to breastfeed and how to maintain lactation, (6) giving infants breast milk only unless medically indicated, (7) practicing rooming in, (8) encouraging breastfeeding on demand, (9) giving no pacifiers or artificial nipples to breastfeeding infants, and (10) fostering the establishment of breastfeeding support groups and referring mothers to them after discharge.

Contact: U.S. Committee for UNICEF, U.S. Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative, 125 Wolf Road, Suite 311, Albany, MNY 12205, Telephone: (518) 621-7982 Fax: (518) 621-7983 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.babyfriendlyusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Birthing centers, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Communities, Evaluation, Guidelines, Hospital programs, Infant health, Newborn infants, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Support groups, Women', s health

Annotation: This manual presents the Brazelton Behavioral Assessment Scale which is designed to score interactive behavior of infants. It describes how to carry out the assessment and gives a scoring guide.

Keywords: Infant behavior, Manuals, Measures, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants

Annotation: This annual report describes the Nebraska program for newborn screening for inborn errors of metabolism and inherited disorders. Contents include sections on major initiatives, process and output data, plans, continuing activities. Additional sections review the newborn hearing screening system and data as well as additional projects and summaries. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• 2011 Full Report

Keywords: Genetic screening, Hearing screening, Nebraska, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, State programs

Annotation: This resource presents information for parents about abusive head trauma (AHT)/inflicted traumatic brain injury -- also called shaken baby/shaken impact syndrome -- a form of inflicted head trauma. Topics include how these injuries happen, what are the effects, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, the child's development and education, and preventing AHT.

Contact: KidsHealth, Nemours, 10140 Centurion Parkway, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Fax: (904) 697-4220 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://kidshealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child abuse, Head injuries, Infant care, Infant health, Injury prevention, Newborn infants, Physical abuse, Shaken baby syndrome

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the newly established Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting program, describes existing approaches to home visitation, and discusses the implications of federal funding for state and local practices.

Contact: National Health Policy Forum, George Washington University, 2131 K Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 872-1390 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://hsrc.himmelfarb.gwu.edu/sphhs_centers_nhpf/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Home visiting, Infant health, Mothers, Newborn infants, Parent support services, Program descriptions

Annotation: This guide provides information to help health professionals in the state of Wisconsin comply with state requirements regarding the screening of infants for congenital or metabolic disorders and to better understand the Wisconsin Newborn Screening Program. The guide presents step-by-step guidelines on testing (including blood collection, specimen handling, and laboratory testing) and lists and describes the various newborn screening disorders (including symptoms and treatment). It explains how Wisconsin's screening program is funded; lists contact information for treatment centers; and provides the text of the state of Wisconsin's newborn screening statute.

Contact: Wisconsin Newborn Screening Laboratory, University of Wisconsin at Madison, 465 Henry Mall, Madison, WI 53706, Telephone: (608) 262-1293 Fax: (608) 262-3257 Web Site: http://www.slh.wisc.edu Available from the website.

• Guide
• Website

Keywords: Blood tests, Disorders, Infant health, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, State legislation, State programs, Wisconsin