Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides a guide and benchmark on the current state of rural health priorities and disparities and serves as a roadmap for updating federal and state leaders on rural health priorities identified through the national Rural Healthy People 2020 survey. Volume one addresses each of the ten top-ranked rural health priorities and includes reviews of relevant literature, updated for those topics previously identified as priorities in Rural Healthy People 2010, and models for practice that rural practitioners can use to support community and regional programs. Volume two addresses priorities 11-20.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-4951-5242-9.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Community health services, Diabetes, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Heart diseases, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health, National initiatives, Nutrition, Physical activity, Rural populations, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report presents findings from a nationwide three-year effort in partnership with Baby-Friendly USA and the United States Breastfeeding Committee to help hospitals improve maternity care practices to support breastfeeding, and increase the number of Baby-Friendly hospitals in the United States. The report details the activities of the BFB initiative and evaluates its effectiveness in meeting the mission and aims.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Project Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evaluation, Infant health, Maternity hospitals, Model programs, Mothers, National initiatives, Nutrition

Annotation: This document presents a national framework and action plan for making safe infant sleep a national norm. Contents include the vision, mission, principles, goals, strategies, and actions. The website includes a form for individuals and organizations to share information about activities related to each goal.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Collaboration, Health promotion, Infants, Interactive media, National initiatives, Primary prevention, Public private partnerships, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This environmental scan describes national and federal programs and initiatives aimed at improving developmental and autism screening for children.

Contact: State Public Health Autism Resource Center, Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs , 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350 , Washington, D.C. 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Web Site: http://www.amchp.org/programsandtopics/CYSHCN/projects/spharc/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Federal initiatives , Federal programs, National programs

Annotation: These resources are designed to assist communities in planning, implementing, and evaluating projects and programs to improve health outcomes in children and adults. Contents include information about collaboration and technical support for oral health education, screening, and referral using mobile units. Additional contents include sample forms and promotional materials; templates and toolkits; and videos for community events and presentations.

Contact: National Dental Association, 3060 Mitchellville Road, Suite 215, Bowie, MD 20716, Telephone: (240) 241-4448 Fax: (240) 297-9181 Web Site: http://www.ndaonline.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Consumer education materials, Equal opportunities, Interdisciplinary approach, Mobile health units, Multimedia, National initiatives, Oral health, Oral health care, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This website provides information about initiatives that are using the collective impact approach to address social and environmental problems. Users can search for existing initiatives by state/locality, social issue, region, and country. Users can also create a page to highlight the work they are doing; submit information about their progress; hold discussions; and share reports, photos, news, and more.

Contact: Collective Impact Forum, 500 Boylston Street, Suite 600, Boston, MA 02116, Telephone: (866) 351-8484 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.collectiveimpactforum.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community programs, Directories, Interdisciplinary approach, International programs, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Networking, Problem solving, Social interaction, State initiatives, Teamwork

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on efforts to reduce non-medically indicated deliveries before 39 weeks gestation and methods that state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs are using to improve birth outcomes. Topics include national and state initiatives to make lowering the number of non-medically indicated deliveries before 39 weeks a priority; the role of state Title V MCH programs in implementing quality improvement programs and payment reforms; and examples from California, North Carolina, and Texas. The appendix contains a matrix of national and regional initiatives to improve birth outcomes including a description, geographic scope, funding, and partners for each initiative.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, National initiatives, Prematurity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Regional programs, Reimbursement, State MCH programs, Treatment outcome

Annotation: This resource provides a set of standards of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) that can be used or adapted by systems and organizations that serve CYSHCN, including state Title V programs, state Medicaid programs, health plans, health professionals, and family/consumer groups to improve quality of care and outcomes for CYSHCN. The standards are divided into eight domains: (1) identification, screening, assessment, and referral; (2) eligibility and enrollment in health coverage; (3) access to care; (4) medical home; (5) community-based services and supports; (6) transition to adulthood; (7) health information technology; and (8) quality assurance and improvement.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, EPSDT, Health care systems, Measures, National initiatives, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards: Children, Young adults

Annotation: This white paper from the National Consensus Framework for Systems of Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs Project describes how the project has been conducted, highlights findings from project research on capacity and performance of systems of care serving children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and lists recommendations from key stakeholders. The paper also includes case studies of four sites that are using system standards in their work with CYSHCN, in Iowa, Michigan, Rhode Island, and Texas. The standards are available in a separate companion document.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: State programs, Adolescents, Health care systems, National initiatives, Special health care needs, Standards: Children, Young adults

Annotation: This brief discusses the health risks and costs associated with early elective deliveries (EED),federal and national initiatives to support full-term pregnancies, and health plan and health plan foundation approaches to reducing EED. Topics include the potential negative health consequences of EED; average payments for maternal and newborn care and payment reform; and hospital, provider, patient, and member education initiatives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Costs, Federal initiatives, Foundations, Health education, Health plans, Induced labor, Intervention, National initiatives, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Reimbursement

Annotation: This document serves as a point of reference for state heart disease and stroke prevention programs and as a framework for health professionals and policymakers on developing a health care system that equally supports prevention and treatment. The content is organized around the following four pillars: the need for action, the platform for action, a call to action, and mobilization for action. The document concludes with next steps for bringing implementation to scale.

Contact: National Forum for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention, Web Site: http://nationalforum.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Disease prevention, Heart diseases, National initiatives, State programs, Strategic plans, Strokes

Annotation: This document presents a model for collaboration and action across communities, across schools, and across sectors to meet the needs and reach the potential of each child. Topics include the need for greater alignment, integration, and collaboration between education and health to improve each child's cognitive, physical, social, and emotional development; combining and building on elements of the traditional coordinated school health approach and the whole child framework; and developing joint or collaborative policies, processes, and practices.

Contact: ASCD, 1703 North Beauregard Street, Alexandria, VA 22311-1714, Telephone: (703) 578-9600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 933+2723 Fax: (703) 575-5400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ascd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community role, Educational reform, Government role, Health status, Learning, Models, Multidisciplinary teams, National initiatives, Policy development, School age children, School role, Service integration

Annotation: This document summarizes progress toward achieving national health objective targets for 26 leading health indicators (LHIs). Contents include the number and percentage of LHIs meeting or exceeding their Healthy People 2020 targets, and those that are improving, showing little or no detectable change, or getting worse. Topics include access to health services; clinical preventive services; environmental quality; injury and violence; maternal, infant, and child health; mental health; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; oral health; reproductive and sexual health; social determinants; substance abuse; and tobacco. Information about the data sources is included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data sources, Health objectives, Healthy People 2020, National initiatives, Progress reports

Annotation: This report summarizes the discussion and recommendations from a meeting held on January 24, 2014, in Arlington, Virginia, to identify priorities around safe infant sleep and develop an action plan to address those priorities. Contents include background on safe sleep; a summary of best practices; and recommendations and next steps for federal partners, state health departments, community organizations, and others. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Infant death, Infants, Meetings, Model programs, National initiatives, Planning, Policy development, Program improvement, SIDS: Injury prevention, Sleep, Sleep position, State health agencies

Annotation: This report presents findings from a Congressionally-mandated review of the design of the National Children's Main Study. Topics include the national probability sample's overall sample size and design, the use of hospitals and birthing centers as the primary sampling unit, relative size of the prenatal and birth strata in the probability sample, the size of the supplemental convenience sample, optimal use of sibling births, use of health care providers to refer prospective participants, proposed study visit schedule with emphasis on more frequent data collection in pregnancy and early childhood, proposed approach to assess health and developmental phenotypes, and proposed approach to define and characterize health disparities. Conclusions and recommendations, including information on logistical and resource constraints, are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Longitudinal studies, MCH research, National initiatives, Research methodology, Research reviews

Annotation: These resources for health professionals and pregnant women communicate the meaning of "term" pregnancy and the importance of the last few weeks of pregnancy in infant development. Contents include a poster, tear pad, and postcards. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education materials, Gestational age, National initiatives, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report documents the role that the charitable food assistance network plays in supporting families in the United States. Topics include collecting data about food programs and their clients, the national network of food programs, characteristics of program clients and their households, and their use of food assistance. Surveys and data tables and figures are included.

Contact: Feeding America, 35 East Wacker Drive, Suite 2000, Chicago, IL 60601, Web Site: http://feedingamerica.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Charities, Data collection, Family support programs, Financing, Food banks, Food supply, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Networking, Nutrition, Supplemental food programs

Annotation: This document provides a snapshot of current research and data on distracted driving among adolescents, and discusses how states are using this and other information to reduce its incidence. The report focuses on legislative, enforcement, and educational initiatives at the state and local level, and discusses national policies and programs specifically targeting novice driver distraction.

Contact: Governors Highway Safety Association, 444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 722, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 789-0942 Fax: (202) 789-0946 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ghsa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Community action, Motor vehicles, National initiatives, Public policy, Research, Risk taking, State programs

Annotation: This report describes progress toward meeting the goals of the American Dental Association's Action for Dental Health, an initiative to remove barriers to good oral health in communities. Programmatic descriptions include providing care to people with untreated oral disease, strengthening and expanding the public/private safety net, and bringing disease prevention and education into communities.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: National initiatives, Barriers, Collaboration, Community based services, Dental societies, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Program descriptions, Progress reports, Public health education

Annotation: This report describes a national initiative to provide guidance to oral health programs, primary care associations, and community health centers in identifying and planning collaborative state-level oral-health-improvement projects. Contents include information about the state application process; coaches who provide guidance to the project; resource materials; the launch webcast; team work plans in Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Ohio, and Oklahoma; responses to a follow-up survey; and recommendations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Appendices

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health centers, National initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Primary care, Program planning, State programs, Teamwork