Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper investigates the level and predictors of fathers' involvement with children approximately 3 years after a nonmarital birth. The authors examine the frequency of fathers' spending time with their child, their engagement in various father-child activities, and their help with household tasks. The authors also examine differences in fathers' involvement by parents' relationship status at the child's birth. The paper, which includes an abstract, discusses previous research, data and methods, bivariate results, and regression results. A discussion is included. Statistical information is presented in tables grouped together at the end of the paper. References are included.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Father child relations, Fathers, Parents, Relationships, Single fathers, Single mothers, Single parents

Annotation: This book explores the history of the founding and progress of the field of child development from the late 1800s up to World War II. Topics in part one of the book, encompassing 1893-1910, include the rise of social research, feminism, the child study movement, scientific child rearing, parent education, social welfare reform and reform-minded scientsts. Part two provides an overview of the creation of models from 1910-1921. Contents include the establishment of the Children's Bureau, research perspectives from juvenile delinquency to child guidance, and a case study of the methods used in the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station to grow better crops, better pigs, and better children. The third section reviews breakthroughs during the period from 1922 to 1940. It discusses the "Children's Decade" of the 1920s, child development research and preventive politics, a case study of the Yale Clinic, activities of the Child Guidance Movement and its transformation to child psychiatry, and the continued activities of the Children's Bureau.

Contact: Yale University Press, P.O. Box 209040, New Haven, CT 06520-9040, Telephone: (203) 432-0960 Fax: (203) 432-0948 Web Site: http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp $32.00 for paperback, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 9780300144352.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Biological sciences, Child development, Child health, Child health programs, Child rearing, Children, Children', Federal agencies, History, Mother child relations, Mothers, Parent education, Pediatrics, Social sciences, United States, s Bureau

Annotation: This paper uses data from the Fragile Families Study to answer two main questions: (1) Are there differences in maternal stress and mothering behaviors across stably married, cohabiting, visiting, and single-mother families? And (2) Does family instability have a negative impact on mothering behaviors? The paper focuses specifically on the relationship between the biological parents of a 1-year-old focal child. The paper provides background, describes the data and methodology, and offers results and a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the paper. The paper includes references.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Families, Infants, Marital status, Mothers, Parent child relations, Parents, Research, Single mothers, Stress

Annotation: This paper addresses two main questions: (1) Is there a relationship between family structure and mothering within race and ethnic groups? And (2) Does this relationship vary across groups? In particular, the paper investigates a mother's playful interaction and spanking with her 1-year-old child across five different family structures for white, black, and Hispanic mothers of Mexican descent. The paper provides background, discusses the data and methodology, and offers results and a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the paper. The paper also includes references.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Hispanic Americans, Infants, Mothers, Parent child relations, Parents, Play, Racial factors, Research, Whites

Annotation: This paper discusses the relationship between healthy development and the reliability of a young child's relationships with the important people in his or her life, both within and outside the family. The paper presents the issue and discusses what science tells us, unfounded assertions in the name of science, the science-policy gap, and implications for policy and programs.

Contact: National Scientific Council on the Developing Child, Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Fathers, Mental health, Mothers, Parent child relations, Parental leave, Programs, Public policy, Relationships, School readiness, School-age children, Young children

Annotation: This report explores mother/teen communications and the factors that are related to young people postponing sexual intercourse. Topics include a review of research on parental influences on adolescent sexual behavior, parental communications with their children about sex, and the child's perceptions of parental communications. Additional sections summarize report findings, implications, and the series goals to improve the health and well-being of adolescents. References conclude the report. Statistics are presented in chart and graph format throughout the publication.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Mother child relations, Research, Sexuality education, Surveys

Annotation: This book reports findings of a study on what parents and children think about work and family life. The study consisted of a phone interview with a nationally representative sample of employed parents with children, and a self-administered questionnaire given to a nationally representative sample of children in grades three through twelve in the classroom. Topics include quality versus quantity time, how work affects parents and family life, what children are learning, spillover between work and family life, navigating between the two, and what children want to tell working parents.

Contact: William Morrow and Company, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: 212-207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com/imprints/index.aspx?imprintid=518003 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-688-14752-6.

Keywords: Children, Parent child relations, Work family issues, Working mothers, Working parents

Annotation: This book discusses the effects of substance abuse on the family of the chemically dependent person and how it affects the family's functioning. It considers the incidence of substance abuse, how addictions affects child development, and why the predisposition to substance abuse can become cyclical. It also examines special topics such as exposure to substances in utero and HIV and the effects of violence and trauma. It then introduces a family-centered treatment model that helps substance abusers recover from their addiction.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-264-9.

Keywords: Children, Children of alcoholics, Drug use during pregnancy, Family centered care, Family relations, Recovering addicts, Recovering alcoholics, Rehabilitation, Substance abuse treatment programs, Substance abusing mothers

Annotation: This book contains stories that chronicle the struggles and successes, happy endings and setbacks, failures and accomplishments that are daily experiences of families raising a child who is different one way or another from what is considered normal. Project Parents in Partnership is designed to assist in the development of a continuum of services to parents of young children with special needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Family centered care, Family relations, Father child relations, Mother child relations, Personal narratives, Support groups

Annotation: This book is written for parents of adolescent daughters. The purpose is to help parents help their daughters maintain self-esteem through the adolescent years. Sections cover puberty, peer pressure, dating, sexuality, school performance, and self-destructive behaviors. Also covered are divorce and its effect on families, identifying adolescent girls at risk, and family dynamics.

Contact: Simon and Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas , New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (212) 698-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 223-2336 Web Site: http://www.simonsays.com/ $22.00 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent psychology, Adolescents, Families, Father child relations, High risk populations, Mother child relations, Parenting, Psychosocial development, Puberty, Self esteem, Sexuality

Annotation: This book emphasizes the fundamentally different approaches and perspectives that men and women bring to parenting. The author wants to clarify the mother's perspective while contrasting it with the father's, hoping that a mutual understanding will result in better parents. Topics include mother parenting versus father parenting, understanding basic gender and parenting differences, the importance of both mothers and fathers, and how to interpret the current childrearing experts.

Keywords: Attitudes, Father child relations, Mother child relations, Parenting, Sex role

Annotation: This manual offers parents and professionals the basics of child development, addressing how physical changes in the body can affect a child's behavior. The manual discusses how to treat specific behavior problems and how to prevent many common and more serious problems. Issues covered are: activities such as eating, sleeping, and dreaming; intelligence and success in school; stress and fears; relationships with parents and siblings; discipline; talking about difficult subjects such as religion, death, adoption, and divorce; and what to do if further help is needed, with a full explanation of diagnostic tests and treatments.

Contact: HarperCollins, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (212) 207-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 331-3761 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Behavior, Child development, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Father child relations, Mother child relations, School age children

Annotation: This book applies the principles of the social-ecological research method to the study of child development, child care and maternal employment. The method focuses on a context which is broader than the immediate setting which is of interest. The effects on a child of being in a child care program or having a working mother are influenced by family relations and the child's own personality. This collection of essays focuses on research into child development within this context; topics include: Q-sort security and first-year non-maternal care, child care and the family, family and center contributions to the adjustment of infants in full-time day care, maternal moderators of child care, and early non-maternal care and infant attachment.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55542-805-3.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Children, Family relations, Working mothers

Annotation: This series assesses the impact and significance of the changes in domestic policy that have occurred under the Reagan administration and analyses the critical economic and social issues facing the nation during the 1980s and beyond. This title brings a social science perspective to bear on family change and family policy, identifies the determinants of change, and analyses the role that government has played and can play in affecting the course of family life. It analyses the trends from the perspective of children, mothers, and fathers. The contributors report on changes in the child population, their physical and mental health, academic achievements, economic status, and social behavior. It includes reports on the changing role of marriage and the family, the economic and social roles of mothers and fathers, and the implications for social policy; these reports are supported by statistical tables. The final chapter analyzes the links between government policy and family structure.

Contact: University Press of America, 4501 Forbes Boulevard, Suite 200, Lanham, MD 20706, Telephone: (410) 459-3366 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-6420 Web Site: http://www.univpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-87766-422-6, cloth; 0-87766-421-8, paper.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Child mortality, Child rearing, Child welfare, Children, Divorce, Families, Family characteristics, Family relations, Family support programs, Family support services, Fathers, Fertility, Financial support, Marital status, Public policy, Single parents, Social change, Statistics, Working mothers

Annotation: This book is composed of papers and talks given to pediatricians, general practitioners, nurses, midwives, nursery school teachers, and parents about the psychological processes that take place in the infant around the time of birth and shortly thereafter and the implications that ensue for those who have care of newborn babies and their mothers.

Contact: Pearson Higher Education, Addison-Wesley , One Lake Street, Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458, Telephone: (201) 236-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 822-6339 Web Site: http://www.pearsonhighered.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child psychology, Infant development, Mother child relations, Newborn infants, Psychological development

Annotation: This book reports on a study of 1,100 mothers between the ages of eighteen and eighty to learn how women really feel about their children and about being mothers. Sections discuss the myth and reality of motherhood, the stages of motherhood from pregnancy through children's adulthood, the mother-child connection, and work and family.

Contact: Macmillan Publishing Company, 175 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (646) 307-5151 Web Site: http://us.macmillan.com/ Document Number: ISBN 0-02-542970-1.

Keywords: Mother child relations, Emotions, Mothers, National surveys, Parenting attitudes

Annotation: This book contains narratives from interviews of mothers about the experiences of having and raising children.

Keywords: Child rearing, Interviews, Mother child relations, Mothers, Parenting, Personal narratives

Annotation: This book is the revised edition of Maternal-Infant Bonding, which was first published in 1976. It provides a theoretical basis for professionals who are learning to care for families and children, whether the children are healthy or have special needs. By examining the bonding process, the authors focus on the earliest relationship a baby develops with its parents and on the factors that may affect that process. In addition to the material covering the relationships between parents and healthy infants, the books includes chapters that consider how professionals can care for the parents of premature or sick infants, for parents of infants with congenital malformations, and for parents of infants who were stillborn or who die. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Bonding, Family relations, Father child relations, Infants, Mother child relations, Newborn infants, Parents, Psychological factors, Siblings

Annotation: This book is based on the proceedings of the Public Health Social Work Institute held at Berkeley in June 1978. It discusses prevention of undesirable consequences in pregnancy; species specific patterns of human reproductive behavior; alternative birthing; interplay between nutritional and psychosocial factors of child development; high school based child care settings; immunization; health needs of adolescents; adolescence and contraception; adolescence and venereal disease; adolescent family planning; peer sex education; chronic disease; crisis intervention; the educational, professional, and policy perspectives of prevention; autogenic training; prevention of obesity in children and adolescents; and early maternal infant bonding. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Service]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Alternative birth styles, Bonding, Child care services, Child development, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Contraception, Crisis intervention, Family planning, Health, High schools, Immunization, Mother child relations, Nutrition, Obesity, Peer education, Pregnancy, Psychosocial development, Reproductive behavior, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social workers

Annotation: This report discusses the 23 million American families with children under 13 years of age and how parents are coping with the problems of raising their children in a period of rapid social change. The focus of the study is the family unit: the parents and children. The study is designed to provide understanding, insight and statistically reliable information on aspects of parent-child relationships including discipline, health, money, nutrition, the roles of television and advertising, schools and education, the impact of working mothers, and the transmission of values from parent to child.

Keywords: Advertising, Child rearing, Children, Discipline, Education, Families, Health, Moral values, Nutrition, Parent child relations, Schools, Social values, Television, United States, Working mothers