Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: During Black Maternal Health Week, podcast host Christie Allen welcomes two distinguished guests: Congresswoman Lauren Underwood, co-chair of the Black Maternal Health Caucus, and Carole Johnson, Administrator of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Together, they discuss the groundbreaking Enhancing Maternal Health Initiative, the Momnibus legislation, and the urgent need for comprehensive support for maternal health across the United States. This episode is part of the AIM for Better Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Blacks, Health care disparities, Health equity, Legislation, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Policy development

Annotation: This report examines the critical impact of mental health and substance use disorders on maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, highlighting how suicide and substance use-related overdoses account for over 20 percent of postpartum deaths. It presents promising approaches from states including Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, New Hampshire, and California that integrate maternity care with behavioral health services and social supports. The report outlines six key recommendations for improving care: supporting dedicated multidisciplinary care teams, centering people with lived experience to drive health equity, normalizing substance use care, training all staff on bias and stigma, expanding the community-based workforce including doulas and peer recovery specialists, and implementing harm reduction and street medicine approaches. The authors emphasize that with nearly every state now providing 12 months of postpartum Medicaid coverage, there are unprecedented opportunities to implement integrated, trauma-informed, non-punitive care models that can significantly reduce maternal mortality and improve outcomes for families.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Substance abusing pregnant women, Community participation, Disorders, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, Risk factors, Service integration, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This scorecard examines women's health and reproductive care across all U.S. states, analyzing performance through 32 measures organized into three dimensions: health outcomes; health care quality and prevention; and coverage, access, and affordability. It reveals significant regional and racial disparities in health system performance, with northeastern states generally performing better than southeastern and southwestern states. Key findings include: Massachusetts, Vermont, and Rhode Island ranking highest overall while Mississippi, Texas, and Nevada rank lowest; maternal mortality rates being highest in Tennessee, Mississippi, and Louisiana, with rates disproportionately affecting Black and American Indian/Alaska Native women; mental health conditions representing the leading cause of preventable pregnancy-related deaths; women in states without Medicaid expansion facing higher uninsured rates and more frequently skipping care due to cost; and abortion restrictions potentially limiting future access to maternity care providers. The report highlights how state policy choices impact women's health, noting that southeastern states with abortion restrictions generally have fewer maternity care providers, higher maternal mortality, and lower screening rates.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: , Barriers, Health disparities, Health services, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Measures, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This website provides tools for framing and understanding racial and ethnic health disparities; conversation starters and hidden bias tests; free online trainings; information databases; reports on health disparities in North Carolina; and examples of promising interventions aimed at closing the gap in health disparities.

Contact: University of North Carolina , Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health , Room 216 MacNider, Campus Box 7181, Charep Hill, NC 27599-7181, Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/

• Link

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health equity, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Racial factors

Annotation: This interactive map provides links to Maternal Mortality Review Committee (MMRC) lead contacts and regional profiles that include maternal mortality statistics and an overview of MMRC work at the state, city, and jurisdictional level across the United States.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Data, Maternal mortality, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This is a systematic review of risk factors associated with maternal morbidity and mortality in the U.S. during the prenatal and postpartum periods, including social and structural determinants of health. The focus is primarily on research that examines factors to which pregnant and birthing people have been exposed and that may underlie poor perinatal health outcomes. The U.S. Office of Disease Prevention requested the review to inform the November 29 – December 1, 2022 Pathways to Prevention workshop cosponsored by the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Research on Women’s Health, the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, the National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities, and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Racism, Risk factors, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This issue brief highlights the increased risk of maternal morbidity and mortality among Black women; explores the drivers that contribute to the Black maternal health crisis, and recommends strategies to transform the delivery of Black maternal health care to improve health outcomes. Providing culturally-centered care by diverse health teams; destigmatizing and treating Black maternal mental health; protect and expand access to reproductive health care; eliminating economic inequities; and collecting and using intersectional data are among the approaches highlighted. The brief also discusses the importance of community, describing how shared resistance, resilience, and joy help define Black maternal health.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Health care disparities, Health equity, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention

Annotation: This issue brief outlines Action 2.11 from Goal 2 of the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, which focuses on establishing state-focused Maternal Health Task Forces (MHTFs) and improving state-level data surveillance on maternal mortality and morbidity. It describes how MHTFs can drive evidence-based decision-making to improve maternal health outcomes through data collection, analysis, and strategic planning in partnership with governmental and nongovernmental stakeholders. The document details HRSA's funding of MHTFs across 18 states through the State Maternal Health Innovation program, discusses challenges related to data collection and standardization, and presents evidence supporting the effectiveness of collaborative approaches in improving maternal health outcomes.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Population surveillance, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, State programs, Task forces

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Action 2.2 from the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, which focuses on strengthening community participation in Maternal Mortality Review Committees (MMRCs), particularly among communities of color. The document examines the critical role of MMRCs in reviewing pregnancy-related deaths and making recommendations to prevent future deaths, with special attention to the importance of including diverse community voices and lived experiences in these reviews. It provides detailed information about current MMRC implementation across states, highlights key challenges like limited rural representation and transparency issues, and outlines specific innovations being implemented by states like Arizona and Maryland to increase meaningful community engagement. The brief includes recommendations from the Black Mamas Matter Alliance for enhancing equity and community participation in MMRC processes.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Community participation, Health care disparities, Health equity, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Minority groups, Outreach, Prevention, State initiatives

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen and Dr. Gillispie-Bell discuss the integration of equity and quality when addressing severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States with a data-driven approach. Learn how the healthcare landscape has transformed to encompass not just clinical excellence, but also inclusive care that honors each individual's unique experiences and values. Discover the journey from recognizing racial and ethnic disparities to crafting a comprehensive approach that combines respectful, equitable, and supportive care. This episode is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Data, Health care disparities, Health equity, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Quality improvement, statistics

Annotation: This action plan is based on an internal determination that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) must urgently assess and, if needed, change policies, programs, and processes the department administers. The plan discusses HHS’s shift in the culture, resources, and approaches available to staff to institutionalize a focus on equity, including health equity. The plan provides a summary of early accomplishments and discusses civil rights protections and language access, acquisitions (opportunities for small businesses owned by individuals from disadvantaged populations to apply for contracts within HHS procurement programs), grants, capacity building, and maternal mortality.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Civil rights, Federal programs, Health equity, Low income groups, Maternal mortality, Policy

Annotation: This report to Congress describes 1) available federal data and what it reveals about maternal and neonatal outcomes and disparities during the COVID-19 pandemic, and 2) efforts by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) during the pandemic to address maternal health outcomes and disparities. The data is from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics’ (NCHS) National Vital Statistics System and its Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, a state-level surveillance system of survey-based data on maternal behaviors, attitudes, and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives , Infectious diseases, Low birthweight, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Neonatal morbidity, Prenancy complications, Preterm birth, Racial factors, Statistics, Virus diseases

Annotation: This recorded webinar provides background information on the global maternal mortlaity crisis and highlights opportunities for birth workers to intervene and alleviate the crisis. Guest presenters from international maternal and child health organizations give an overview of their practice to support pregnant and birthing people, and prevent maternal deaths. Special guests: Andrew Herrera, MPH, MBA, Executive Director of Curamericas; Mario Rodriguez Valdez Ramirez, Executive Director of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Juany Valdez, Head Nurse of Casa Maternas, Guatemala; Nick Pearson, Founder and Co-Executive Director of Jacranda Health; Chanel Porchia-Albert, Founder of Ancient Song Doula Services.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health workers, Doulas, International health, Maternal mortality, Midwifery, Pregnancy, Prevention, Social support

Annotation: This panel discussion on birth justice was hosted by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) during Black Maternal Health Week and features Aftershock filmmakers Paula Eiselt and Tonya Lewis and maternal health advocate Shawnee Benton-Gibson. Health equity and antiracism in maternal and infant health are the focus on the discussion.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Community role, Families, Fatherhood, Health equity, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Minority health, Racism, Social support, maternal mortality

Annotation: This website presents an overview of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Hear Her campaign, which seeks to raise awareness of potentially life-threatening maternal warning signs during and after pregnancy. The site lists the signs and symptoms to be aware of; offers guidance for friends and family members of people who are pregnant; provides expert perspectives on how health professionals can help prevent pregnancy related deaths; and shares personal stories about pregnancy-related complications from American Indian women and others at risk of not being heard. Hear Her Campaign materials, including posters and handouts, conversation guides, and sample social media posts are also available on the site.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Maternal mortality, Media campaigns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prevention, Racial discrimination

Annotation: This joint report presents key findings on cases of pregnancy-related deaths in the state of Texas, including health conditions and factors that disproportionately affect the most at-risk populations. It reports underlying causes of death and disparities in maternal deaths based on race/ethnicity, socioeconomic factors, demographics, and other variables. Descriptions of best practices and programs aimed at reducing pregnancy-related deaths in other states are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Data Statistics, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Trends

Annotation: This research compendium presents findings from Merck for Mothers' global maternal health initiatives, highlighting evidence gathered since mid-2020 on reducing maternal mortality and addressing health inequities. Marking the organization's 10th anniversary, the report examines three key areas: women's care experiences, causes of maternal deaths, and improving maternity care quality across all healthcare settings. Drawing from over 170 publications, including 40+ peer-reviewed articles, it documents how the COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated existing maternal health disparities both between and within countries, with particular impact on underserved communities. Published in 2022, the compendium offers practical tools and insights to help healthcare providers, policymakers, and public health practitioners translate research into action to achieve more equitable maternal health outcomes globally.

Contact: Merck for Mothers, Merck & Co., Inc., Rahway, NJ Web Site: http://www.merckformothers.com

• PDF

Keywords: International health, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality

Annotation: This online reference presents an overview of the postpartum period, including important health considerations and common concerns such as incontinence, hemorrhoids, postpartum depression, and intimate partner violence. The reference outlines the recommended components of postpartum care, including the timing of postnatal visits, and discusses factors that influence the likelihood that new mothers will attend preventive checkups. Health issues that arise during pregnancy and the leading causes of maternal mortality are also addressed. The reference includes postpartum care recommendations released by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the importance of nursing, allied health, and interprofessional team strategies to improve postpartum health care and reduce rates of maternal morbidity and mortality. A list of references is included.

Contact: StatPearls Publishing, Treasure Island, FL E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.statpearls.com/

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Maternal mortality, Postpartum care, Postpartum period, Prevention

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines strategies for incorporating community-based doulas into Medicaid to improve maternal health outcomes. It describes how doulas provide emotional, physical, and informational support during pregnancy and can help reduce high-risk pregnancies, low birthweight babies, and cesarean section rates, particularly benefiting communities with high maternal mortality rates. The document presents three key strategies for state Medicaid agencies and managed care organizations to support doulas in becoming Medicaid providers: engaging doulas in benefit design and implementation, allowing diverse doula training organizations to meet community needs, and simplifying the Medicaid enrollment process. Examples from states like Maryland, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Virginia illustrate successful approaches such as creating advisory groups, hosting stakeholder meetings, accepting both national and BIPOC-led training organizations, and providing enrollment guidance. The resource emphasizes the importance of a diverse workforce that meets the needs of birthing individuals.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community health services, Doulas, Financing, Health insurance, Maternal mortality, Medicaid, Prevention, State initiatives

Annotation: This issue brief describes maternal mortality in Kentucky, where the rate (40.8 per 100,000 live births in 2018) significantly exceeds the national average. The document examines definitions and measurement of maternal mortality, explores root causes including substance use and racial disparities, and discusses social determinants of health that contribute to maternal deaths. It details Kentucky's recent initiatives to address the problem, including the establishment of the Kentucky Maternal Mortality Review Committee in 2018, the Kentucky Perinatal Quality Collaborative in 2019, and participation in the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health in 2021. The brief outlines legislative efforts to address maternal mortality and provides recommendations for improving maternal health in the Commonwealth, including investing in data collection and analysis capacity, exploring social determinants of maternal mortality, and broadly disseminating research findings to stakeholders. It emphasizes that 78% of maternal deaths in Kentucky were identified as preventable, compared to 60% at the national level.

Contact: University Louisville, Commonwealth Institute of Kentucky, 485 E. Gray Street, Louisville, KY 40202, Telephone: (502) 852-3299 Web Site: https://louisville.edu/sphis/departments/cik

• PDF

Keywords: , Data, Kentucky, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Prevention, Quality improvement, State initiatives, Statistics