Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This monograph focuses on the lack of information for farmworkers about oral health and their lack of access to preventive or restorative oral health services. Topics include a review of access to fluoridated water, improved oral hygiene, and the application of sealants to the teeth of farmworker children; case studies of oral health access and poor dental outcomes in several states; and causes of high early childhood caries rates among low-income and migrant children from families.

Contact: National Center for Farmworker Health, 1770 FM 967, Buda, TX 78610, Telephone: (512) 312-2700 Fax: (512) 312-2600 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncfh.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Early childhood caries, Families, Farm workers, Low income groups, Migrant health, Migrants, Oral health

Annotation: This report provides information on Hispanic rural outreach projects funded between 1991 and 1995 through the Office of Rural Health Policy's Rural Health Outreach Services grants. Entries are arranged alphabetically by state and include point of contact information, a brief assessment of the health issues in a particular community, the methods used to address the issues, and an assessment of the success or lack of success of the projects.

Contact: U.S. Office of Rural Health Policy, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, 9A-55, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-0835 Contact Phone: (301) 652-5264 Fax: (301) 443-2803 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/ruralhealth/ Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health services, Allied health occupations, Child health services, Community health services, Demonstration programs, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Maternal health services, Migrant health programs, Minority health, Outreach, Rural health

• Link

Keywords: Awards, Culturally competent services, Health promotion, Michigan, Migrant health programs, Model programs, Models That Work, Public private partnerships, Underserved communities

Annotation: This publication is designed to help practitioners and policymakers create links between schools serving low-income children and community or migrant health centers by providing lessons learned from case studies. It covers planning for school health programs; the nuts and bolts of program design and implementation; and modification, expansion, and sustainability. Appendices include a glossary, list of reference materials, contact information, and profiles of selected sites.

Keywords: Case studies, Community health centers, Low income groups, Migrant health centers, School based clinics, School health services

Annotation: This report traces the development of the Farmworker Women's Health Project in 1991. It focuses on the founding conference, the first meeting of the steering committee, and two subsequent conferences that focused on farmworker women and AIDS. The report describes events at each of the meetings that contributed to the formulation of the policy recommendations contained in the report. These recommendations cover specific health issues that are important to farmworker women such as AIDS, health, housing, exposure to pesticides, and wages and working conditions. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Farmworker Justice Fund, 1126 16th Street NW, Suite 270, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 293-5420 Fax: (202) 293-5427 Web Site: http://www.fwjustice.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Asian Americans, Blacks, Conferences, Employment, Farm workers, Housing, Mexican Americans, Migrants, Policy development, Public health, Puerto Ricans, Women, Women', s health

Annotation: In this report, the United States Conference of Local Health Officers (USCLHO) addresses the numerous obstacles encountered at the local level to the provision of services to limited/non-English speaking groups and provides recommendations for action to be taken by both local health departments and Federal health policymakers. The report contains 3 main sections: 1) a review of the literature on issues related to the impact of languages other than English as spoken by clients who access local health care; 2) a report on the findings from a 1992 USCLHO survey of local health departments to gauge the status of local health services specifically targeting limited/non-English speakers; and 3) a series of case profiles portraying specialized local health department programs that seek to improve access to health services for linguistic minorities in 7 urban areas.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Community health services, Health policy, Hispanic Americans, Limited English speakers, Migrant health, Minority health, Public health programs, Public health services, Sociocultural factors

Annotation: This report examines the threat that AIDS/HIV is having on the migrant worker and farmworker population in the United States, particularly those of women and children. It is designed to raise awareness for public policy officials and health providers of the issue of AIDS/HIV in farmworkers and to recommend specific action steps to address the problem. The report presents a broad overview of AIDS/HIV and farmworkers, shows the result of a survey conducted to analyze the situation, and offers recommendations and conclusions.

Contact: National Migrant Resource Program, 1515 Capitol of Texas Highway South, Suite 220, Austin, TX 78746, Telephone: (512) 328-7682 Price unknown.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Migrant health, Migrants, Surveys

Annotation: This book demonstrates what one department of pediatrics can do to engage itself in the community, to reach out for those children not yet adequately served, to develop and evaluate new programs, and to expand the boundaries of traditional pediatrics. The book provides a diagnosis of health care needs, describes how most of these are met, and shows how those that remain neglected can be fulfilled. The book documents people's health care needs, covers the volume of medical care actually provided for children and the manner in which it is distributed, and reports on changes in health services and their national effects that occurred during the study period. These include Medicaid, the new liberalized abortion law, neighborhood health centers, and new health manpower programs. A discussion of health care for migrant workers is included.

Keywords: Abortion, Child health, Children, Community health services, Medicaid, Mental health services, Migrant health programs

Annotation: This report examines the levels of coordination and collaboration between the maternal and child health (Title V MCH) programs authorized under Title V of the Social Security Act and the community and migrant health centers (C/MHC) programs authorized in Title III, sections 330 and 329 of the Public Health Services Act. It explains the background of the study, describes the methodology, summarizes the findings of a literature review, reviews telephone interviews with the directors of state primary care associations on current and future coordination, assesses the state Title V block grant applications for systems development and coordination plans, includes information from a survey taken by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) on Title V MCH and C/MHC coordination, and provides summaries of various C/MHC programs which have developed successful relationships with maternal and child health programs. The report concludes with suggestions for enhancing future coordination efforts. Appendices include selections from the literature review, summaries of the Title V Block Grant application review and the AMCHP survey, and a list of state and regional primary care associations.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Community health centers, Literature reviews, MCH services, Migrant health centers, Service coordination, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents the findings of a case study of migrant health centers and coordination of their services at the federal, state, and local level in order to understand the effectiveness of health center coordination and to identify the successful factors for duplication elsewhere. Following the findings is an annotated bibliography on integration of services, case study reports on the health centers, and an appendix which includes profiles of the health centers and progress toward integration and coordination.

Contact: National Migrant Resource Program, 1515 Capitol of Texas Highway South, Suite 220, Austin, TX 78746, Telephone: (512) 328-7682 Contact Phone: (512) 447-0770 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Case studies, Management, Migrant health, Migrant health centers, Migrant health programs, Public health services, Service coordination, Service delivery

Annotation: This handbook is one of a series of handbooks that give an overview of key requirements of several federal programs that are related to the maternal and child health services block grant (Title V of the Social Security Act). It provides background information on the community health center programs as well as grantee characteristics, service areas, required services, funding, and coordination opportunities and issues. Appendices give related federal legislation and regulations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE043.

• Link

Keywords: Community health services, Migrants, Social Security Act, Title V

Annotation: This project sought to improve the perinatal and infant outcomes among migrant women and infants in North Carolina by recruiting and training lay health advisors. These health advisors were trained to disseminate accurate information on pregnancy and infant care in a culturally appropriate manner, to link members of this transitory and isolated community with health services, and to help women develop an increased awareness of themselves as leaders and advocates. A longitudinal, quasi-experimental study design was used to determine the effectiveness of the program in improving perinatal outcomes and infant health status. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-146306.

Keywords: Health Advisors, Health Promotion, Hispanics, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Lay, Low Birthweight, Migrant Farmworkers, Prenatal Care

Annotation: This comprehensive manual is a practical reference designed to enhance nutrition services in migrant health centers. The manual has specific sections for physicians, physician assistants, nurses, nutritionists, and paraprofessionals such as outreach workers and health aides. The major topics are: evaluating nutrition status; eating for health; addressing special concerns; and maximizing food resources. Special focus topics are food and drug interactions, developmental disabilities, and nutrition folk medicine. The appendices include growth charts, nutrition screening forms, and case studies. A packet of handout material in both English and Spanish is included for easy reproduction. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Community health services, Developmental disabilities, Educational materials, Low literacy materials, Migrants, Nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition consultation, SPRANS, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs

Annotation: This book documents the progress made and the progress needed to improve maternal and child health care in the southern states. This report contains an overview of maternal and child health programs in the southern region, health status and health care utilization statistics, data and information on the performance and scope of programs that make health care available to low-income children, and tables which reflect states' performance in improving maternal and child health indicators and in developing adequate maternal and child health programs.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Child health, Children, EPSDT, Early intervention, Infant mortality, Migrant health, Prenatal care, Social Security Act, Title V, WIC Program

Annotation: This project aimed to improve the health and nutrition status of migrant farmworker women and their children under 5 years of age who received services at the Tri-County Community Health Center. The major ethnic groups comprising the clinic population were Hispanic, black, Haitian, and Caucasian. A multicisciplinary staff developed collaborative efforts with other agencies, provided birth coaching and breastfeeding classes, and recruited lay health advisors representing the several ethnic groups within the migrant population. Data collection systems and MCH protocols were also developed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103365.

Keywords: Barriers to Health Care, Bilingual, BlacksHaitians, Breastfeeding, Community Health Centers, Data Collection, Head Start, Health Advisors, High risk groups, Hispanics, Immunization, Infant Mortality, Infections, Lay, Low Birthweight, Low income groups, Migrant Health Centers, Migrant Women, Migrant Women, Mothers, Nutrition, Outreach, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Social Work Services

Annotation: This document is volume I of a two-part resource guide developed to share with others the theoretical concepts and planning that formed the basis of the Lay Health Advisor (LHA) program. A new three year grant, Migrant Lay Health Advisors: A Strategy for Health Promotion, was obtained to conduct a state-wide control study of the LHA approach. The authors intend for the information provided in this guide to be useful to others planning and implementing similar peer counselor programs among diverse ethnic populations. This guide includes a review of the literature that provides a theoretical basis for the development of peer counselor programs, materials which specifically describe the collaboration of all of those involved in developing the LHA program, and various session plans for conducting classes. Volume II of this guide will be completed at the end of the new grant to report on the evaluation of the impact of lay health advisors on the migrant population in North Carolina. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Health education, Migrant health, Peer counseling, Public health programs, Public health services

Annotation: This report describes a study of nutritional health of the migrant and seasonal farmworkers. It includes an executive summary, background, methodology, and an analysis of data. The study looked at the description of nutrition related health problems of migrant and seasonal farmworkers, description of migrant health center staff providing nutrition services, evaluation of nutrition services provided in migrant health centers, cooperative efforts with outside agencies, need for improvement on nutrition services, and effective nutrition programs and materials. A summary of major findings is provided along with recommendations and appendices. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Migrant Clinicians Network , P.O. Box 164285, Austin, TX 78716, Telephone: (512) 327-2017 Fax: (512) 327-0719 Web Site: http://www.migrantclinician.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Migrant health, Migrants, Nutrition services

Annotation: This survey of adolescent pregnancy programs summarizes the histories of four programs: Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, Community Health Centers, Migrant Health, and Indian Health Service.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community health centers, Federal programs, History, Indian Health Service, MCH programs, Migrant health, Title V programs

Annotation: The author begins with the origin of seasonal farm labor demand in the United States, and traces its history by describing population size and characteristics, housing, occupational hazards, and health conditions in general for this segment of workers. Developments leading to the Migrant Health Act of 1962, continuing program development, and projections of future trends are included.

Keywords: Farm workers, Federal legislation, History, Migrant health, Program development

Annotation: This publication reports on a study of the nutritional status of the families of seasonal agricultural workers in Lee County and Palm Beach County, Florida and on an intervention program to correct the major food and nutrition problems identified.

Keywords: Cultural factors, Food habits, Intervention, Migrant health, Nutrition