Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines the impact of the Life Skills Education Component (a character-based program designed to enhance life skills thought to be supportive of sexual abstinence and to empower students to avoid sexual activity and other risky behaviors) on students in middle school and high school in Edgefield, South Carolina. The Life Skills Education Component is part of the Heritage Keepers abstinence education program, in which all students in the study had participated. The report presents estimates of the incremental impact of Life Skills on potential mediators of adolescent sexual activity as well as on adolescents' sexual abstinence, their risks of pregnancy and of contracting sexually transmitted diseases, and other behavioral outcomes. The report is based on data collected in 2005-2996 from more than 600 adolescents. The report, which includes an executive summary, presents the design and methods for the impact evaluation, intermediate outcomes related to adolescent sexual activity, knowledge and perceptions of risks associated with adolescent sex, impacts on sexual absinence and adolescent risk behavior, and conclusions. References are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes three appendices: (1) an outline of the Heritage Keepers curricula, (2) supporting tables for impact analysis, and (3) survey questions.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, High school students, Middle schools, Programs, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This learning module for middle-school students, which is divided into five lessons, has several objectives: (1) introduce students to the scientific study of behavior, (2) have students reach the understanding that behaviors have both short-term and long-term consequences to health and that behaviors are influenced in complex ways by a variety of factors, (3) convey to students the importance of scientific research, and (4) encourage students to think about the relationships between knowledge, choice, behavior, and human health and to think in terms of these relationships now and as they grow older. The module is standards-based and meets science content, teaching, and assessment standards as expressed in the National Science Education Standards. The module is divided into the following main sections: (1) introduction, (2) implementing the module, (3) using the student lessons, (4) using the Web site, (5) information about the science of healthy behaviors, (6) references, (7) students lessons, (8) masters, and (9) letter to parents and guardians.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, Office of Science Education, 6100 Executive Boulevard, Suite 3E01 MSC 7520, Rockville, MD 20892-7520, Telephone: (301) 402-2469 Fax: (301) 402-3034 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://science.education.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-929614-22-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Students, Behavior, Curricula, Health education, Learning, Middle schools, Science, Teaching

Annotation: This handbook provides information specifically directed to adults who work with students in grades 5-7 addressing the signs and symptoms of eating disorders, steps to take when concerned about students, and ways to create a school environment that discourages disordered eating. It also discusses how eating disorders and disordered eating impact learning, mental and physical health issues, the importance of early detection, and how members of all ethnic and cultural groups are vulnerable. Definitions of conditions are provided and teaching materials included.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Educational materials, Feeding disorders, Middle schools

Annotation: This report describes a study that provides a baseline regarding traditional mental health services delivered in schools to students who have been referred and identified as having psychosocial or mental health problems. The report, which includes an executive summary, discusses the background and study methods; mental health problems and services in the school setting; administrative arrangements for the delivery and coordination of mental health services in schools; staff providing mental health services in schools; funding, budgeting and resource allocation, and data use; and mental health problems and services at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. A discussion and implications for future research are included, along with endnotes, references, and three appendices: (1) a list of expert panel members, (2) a summary of open-ended survey responses, and (3) supplemental tables.

Contact: SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, P.O. Box 42557, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (800) 789-2647 Secondary Telephone: (866) 889-2647 Fax: (240) 221-4295 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://store.samhsa.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: SMA05-4068.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Budgets, Child mental health, Costs, Elementary schools, Financing, Health services delivery, High schools, Mental disorders, Middle schools, School health services, Service coordination, Statistics

Annotation: This educational module, which is intended for middle-school students, introduces students to the musculoskeletal systems. The relationships between structures and functions, the interactions between these body systems, and factors that influence the body systems are stressed. The module has four objectives: (1) help students understand the basic structures that are part of the musculoskeletal and skin systems, (2) provide students with an opportunity to practice and refine their thinking skills, (3) convey to students the importance of scientific research, and (4) encourage students to think about the relationships between knowledge, choice, behavior, and health. The module consists of seven lessons. A Web site is available that can help instructors organize their use of the module, engage student interest, and orchestrate and individualize instruction.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, Office of Science Education, 6100 Executive Boulevard, Suite 3E01 MSC 7520, Rockville, MD 20892-7520, Telephone: (301) 402-2469 Fax: (301) 402-3034 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://science.education.nih.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-929614-21-7.

• PDF

Keywords: Body composition, Children, Curricula, Decision making, Educational materials, Middle schools, School health education, Students

Annotation: Produced in partnership with Child Trends, No Time to Waste provides detailed descriptions of programs for middle school-age students in abstinence and sex education and in HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases that have been shown through careful research to have a positive impact on adolescent sexual behavior. The publication provides detailed descriptions of program curriculum, costs, and evaluation results. It also describes programs that did not change participants' behavior. No Time to Waste was developed as part of the ongoing Putting What Works to Work project.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Costs, HIV, Middle schools, Model programs, Prevention, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This paper summarizes results from an evaluation of Project ALERT, a widely used middle-school drug prevention program developed by the RAND Corporation. The paper also summarizes outcomes from related studies showing that adolescents who continue to drink and smoke face increased academic, social, and behavioral problems later in life. The paper includes the following sections: (1) despite some reductions in substance use, adolescents are still at risk, (2) Project ALERT: confronting substance use early, (3) building prevention programs on solid science, (4) early substance use carries risks for later in life, and (5) drug prevention in schools and public health. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the paper.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol consumption behavior, Behavior problems, Middle schools, Smoking, Social problems, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: This report summarizes results of a 5-year study of the Gang Resistance Education and Training (GREAT) program, a 9-hour gang prevention program administered by uniformed law enforcement officers to middle school students.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 198604.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Gangs, Juvenile delinquency, Juvenile delinquents, Law enforcement, Middle schools, Program evaluation, Students

Annotation: This report documents the discrepancy between New York State and City health education mandates for grades K-8 and actual practice in public school districts. The report is divided into the following sections: (1) poor health: the case of New York City youth, (2) health education in New York City, (3) diagnosing a sick health education program, (4) 5 steps to a cure, and (5) conclusion. Topics include lessons on HIV and AIDS, FL/SE (family living and sex education) mandated curricula, and levels of teacher training. Three apendices contain current New York State and City health education mandates for grades K-8, New York City district health coordinators' responses to survey questions, and a description of the benefits of health education for children and adolescents. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report.

Contact: Scott Stringer, 1 Centre Street, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10007, Telephone: 212-669-8300 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mbpo.org/index.asp Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Elementary schools, Health education, Middle schools, New York, Public schools, School age children, Surveys

Annotation: This report shares the stories and challenges behind the many policies and practices that communities have developed to support out-of-school-time (OST) programming. The report includes observations from school-based programs for elementary and high-school students as well as those from community settings for older out-of-school adolescents. The report also includes insights from field visits to community schools and beacon programs in elementary, middle, and high schools in New York City, Boston, Denver, Kansas City, and San Francisco. Chapter 1 of the report summarizes insights and major lessons learned. Chapter 2 provides an overview of the issues. Chapter 3 contains descriptions of two OST school-based models. Chapter 4 describes programs for older adolescents.

Contact: American Youth Policy Forum, 1836 Jefferson Place, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-2505, Telephone: (202) 775-9731 Fax: (207) 775-9733 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aypf.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-887031-83-9.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, After school programs, Children, Communities, Elementary school, High school, Middle school, Model programs, Out of school youth, Schools, Students

Annotation: This report discusses the concept and elements of students' feelings of "connectedness" to their school environment and why the promotion of connectedness is a good educational and public health strategy. Data from the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health are used to link school connectedness to healthier behaviors and less risk for substance abuse, emotional distress, violent or deviant behavior, or pregnancy. Charts present statistical data throughout the report.

Contact: University of Minnesota, Division of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Health, Department of Pediatrics, 717 Delaware Street, S.E., 3rd Floor, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2959, Telephone: (612) 626-2134 Fax: (612) 6264-0997 Web Site: https://www.pediatrics.umn.edu/divisions/general-pediatrics-and-adolescent-health Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, High schools, Middle schools, Psychosocial development, School health programs, School linked programs

Annotation: This manual is intended as a reference for those who have agreed to serve as county contacts for the administration of the Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) in Oklahoma. The first packet contains forms and information for planning for the YRBS; a description of how the YRBS activities are divided between state and local agencies, and sample letters for requesting basic information for the YRBS. The second packet includes the memorandum of understanding, request forms for booklets and answer sheets, parental permission forms, and a potential methodology option for survey administration. The third packet includes forms and instructions for the survey administrator including information, instructions, confidentiality forms, and scripts. The training manual also includes reference and contact information for counties; handouts; and information about the data sought in the YRBS.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Service, 1000 Northeast 10th Street, Room 809, Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299, Telephone: (405) 271-4480 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ok.gov/health/Child_and_Family_Health/Maternal_and_Child_Health_Service Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behaviors, Children, High schools, Middle schools, Oklahoma, Risk taking, School surveys, State surveys, Surveys, Training materials

Annotation: This manual is a self assessment and planning guide to assist educators in developing middle and high school programs to promote physical fitness and healthy eating. The assessment tools are divided into eight modules which are: (1) school policies and environment; (2) health education; (3) physical education; (4) nutrition services; (5) school health services; (6) school counseling, psychological, and social services; (7) health promotion for staff; and (8) family and community involvement. The final sections of the manual discuss planning for improvement and list additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Community participation, Educational programs, Families, Guidelines, Health planning, Health policy, High schools, Manual, Middle schools, Nutrition policy, Physical activity, Policy analysis, Policy development, School health education, School linked programs, Self evaluation

Annotation: This monograph describes a systematic approach to violence prevention in schools to assist officials in choosing prevention strategies that will best meet the needs of their students. Chapter contents include identifying promising approaches, evaluating how prevention works, developing effective strategies, and assessing programs. Also included is a glossary, and descriptions of comprehensive programs, programs for schools K-12, elementary, elementary-middle school, and middle-high school, as well as peer mediation programs. Resources, references, and an index are provided.

Contact: Drug Strategies, 1616 P Street, N.W., Suite 220, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 289-9070 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.drugstrategies.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Elementary schools, High schools, Injury prevention, Junior high schools, Middle schools, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, School age children, School safety, School violence, Students, Violence prevention

Annotation: This book analyzes the results of a project funded by the Edna McConnell Clark Foundation to effect reform in urban middle schools, it is the third in a series of books about the five year project. The first two were called "Gaining Ground" and "Changing the Odds;" they reported on the conditions in the participating schools at the end of the second and fourth years. This book summarizes the project; it recounts efforts made to engage the affected parties: the teachers, professionals, principals, parents, and students. It also reviews the conditions affecting the reform process; it considers the interactions between various controlling forces affecting the process, assessment techniques, the unions, and the role of the school district administrators. A final section of the book considers future policy implications.

Contact: Edna McConnell Clark Foundation, 415 Madison Avenue, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 551-9100 Contact Phone: (212) 551-9100 Fax: (212) 421-9325 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emcf.org/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Development, Educational change, Middle schools, Parent participation, Policies, Policy development, Principals, Professional personnel, Reform, Students, Teachers, Urban schools

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays by individual authors; each addresses some aspect of the epidemiology and prevention of adolescent injuries. The individual essays follow a brief commentary on methodological and conceptual issues. Topics covered are: traffic-related injuries, drowning, suicide, the role of handguns in homicides among adolescents and young adults, family violence and development during adolescence, occupational injuries, adolescent injury prevention in primary care, peer violence prevention programs in middle and high schools, post-traumatic stress disorder, and the role of mass media in injury causation and prevention.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 $33.00, no shipping and handling charge if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-190-8.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Drowning, Epidemiology, Family violence, Firearms, High schools, Homicide, Injuries, Mass media, Middle schools, Motor vehicle injuries, Occupational injuries, Peer groups, Physician patient relations, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Prevention, Prevention programs, Primary care, School based programs, Suicide, Violence prevention, Young adults

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Secondary Telephone: (866) 783-2645 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org $10.00, members; $11.00, nonmembers.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Curricula, Evaluation, Hispanic Americans, Injury prevention, Intervention, Law enforcement, Middle schools, Parenting, Program development, Substance abuse

Annotation: This Web site provides information on the prevention of bullying for elementary, middle and high school students, their parents, and their teachers. The Web site includes contests for students, a lesson plan to be used in elementary schools which includes animated cartoons, games and other material; handouts; materials that can be purchased, including a curriculum for parents of children with disabilities; and information on the Bullying Prevention Awareness Week. Some of the information is available in Spanish and Somali.

Contact: PACER Center , 8161 Normandale Boulevard, Bloomington, MN 55437-1044, Telephone: (952) 838-9000 Secondary Telephone: (952) 838-0190 Fax: (952) 838-0199 Web Site: http://www.pacer.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Elementary schools, High schools, Materials for children, Middle schools, Non English language materials, Public awareness materials, School age children, Spanish language materials, Violence prevention, World Wide Web

Annotation: This resource provides three lessons each for students in grades 7 and 8 to explore ways to learn about making healthy eating and physical activity choices. Contents include standards-aligned activities for math, science, and English language arts teachers to integrate into their coursework, as well as opportunities for students to investigate, participate in a challenge, evaluate, and reflect. Lesson activities require few supplies and include reproducible handouts. Topics include fruits and vegetables, conducting a school survey, agents of change, fitness, snacks, and local agriculture.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education, Health behavior, Middle schools, Nutrition education, Physical activity, School health education