Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes factors influencing adolescent well-care performance in six top-performing state Medicaid programs. State Medicaid officials from the states with the highest adolescent well-care visit performance – RI, CT, TX, NY, NH, and MA – were interviewed to understand the factors contributing to their success.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health supervision, Medicaid, State programs, Well child care

Annotation: This training about standardizing the process of selecting teeth for dental sealant placement is geared toward oral health professionals. It comprises a PowerPoint presentation and pre- and post-tests. The training reviews evidence-based guidance for sealant use, addresses questions, and presents findings and recommendations. Examples of sound, cavitated, and noncavitated lesions on tooth surfaces and discussions about whether to select teeth for sealants are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Presentation
• Quizzes

Keywords: Dental sealants, Evidence based medicine, Health education, Oral health, Training

Annotation: This blog provides a space for state Title V maternal and child health professionals and their partners to learn about efforts to build better preventive care systems for optimal adolescent and young adult wellbeing across the country.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Adolescent health, Behavioral medicine, Communication, Prevention programs, Social media, State Title V programs, State initiatives, Young adults

Annotation: This textbook for clinicians, residents, students, and allied health professionals provides information and themes pertinent to dentistry for children at all ages. Contents include information about oral care from conception to age 3, ages 3–6, 6–12, and adolescence. Topics include the responsibilities of non-oral-health professionals related to infant oral health, the effect of oral disease on children, dental sealants, advances in tissue engineering, and the importance of assisting the pediatric patient to transition to an adult dental home. Citations from health literature and policies and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and American Academy of Pediatrics are included. The book includes an expert consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.

Contact: Elsevier Saunders, 3251 Riverport Lane, St. Louis, MO 63043, Telephone: (800) 545-2522 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Document Number: ISBN 978-0-323-08546-5.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Age factors, Age groups, Child development, Child health, Children, Dental care, Evidence based medicine, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Textbooks

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This toolkit provides information for health professionals about how to create an integrated health system that incorporates oral health. It discusses how to create an integration plan and factors to consider when integrating care. Integration care models for women’s health, early childhood health, older adult health, chronic disease, and behavioral health are provided. Each model includes factors to consider and practical examples.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Health promotion, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Women’s health, Young children

Annotation: This report discusses the relationship between oral health and behavioral health and the consequences that lack of awareness about the importance of oral health and access to comprehensive oral health care can have for people living with chronic conditions, including diabetes and heart and lung diseases, and for those with behavioral health conditions. The connection between oral health and mental health is discussed, along with the importance of improving oral health coverage and integrating overall health care, mental health care, and oral health care.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Health insurance, Mental health, Oral health, Service integration

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent perinatal depression (i.e., depression during pregnancy and postpartum depression). Sources consulted for the review include MEDLINE, PubMED, PsyINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review looked at publications published in English between January 1, 2012, and February 6, 2018. The evidence review concluded that counseling interventions can be effective in preventing perinatal depression; a variety of other intervention approaches provided some evidence of effectiveness, but lacked a robust evidence base and need further research.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Intervention, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health screening, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This compilation of trainings and other resources is designed to help the maternal and child health work force understand and use evidence-based information to improve health care within their communities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Evidence based medicine, Guidelines, Maternal health, Public health, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This resource presents the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommendation on screening for preeclampsia in pregnant women with blood pressure measurements throughout pregnancy. The recommendation statement; supporting documents, including the research plan, evidence review, evidence summary, clinical summary; and related information for health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Evidence based medicine, Hospitals, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy induced hypertension, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Screening, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet describes national and state initiatives to scale up and implement programs that encourage and facilitate first trimester prenatal care and help at-risk mothers commit to behaviors that reduce the numbers of low birthweight infants. Topics include a group prenatal care model called CenteringPregnancy®, smoking cessation programs, quality improvement initiatives related to the elimination of early elective deliveries, and Healthy Babies Are Worth the Wait Community Programs®.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Collaboration, Community based programs, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Health behavior, Health promotion, High risk infants, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Low birthweight, Models, National initiatives, Peer support programs, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This report presents a framework for educating health professionals to address the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age, as well as the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life including economic policies, development agendas, cultural and social norms, social policies, and political systems. Contents include theoretical constructs and examples of programs and frameworks addressing elements of the social determinants of health. The framework aligns education, health, and other sectors to meet local needs in partnership with communities.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Continuing education, Cultural diversity, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health occupations, Inclusive schools, Mentors, Model programs, Models, Professional education, Public health education, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, Training, Work force

Annotation: This document presents sample strategies for improving maternal and child health and measures for demonstrating success. Contents are organized within the following six domains: women/maternal health, perinatal/infant health, child health and/or adolescent health, adolescent health, children and youth with special health care needs, and cross-cutting/life course. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Infants, MCH programs, Measures, Methods, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Program planning, Women

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews of measures that can be used to screen children enrolled in Medicaid for adverse childhood experiences (ACEs), defined as stressful or traumatic events including abuse, neglect, and household dysfunction. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; a table of selected measures including the measure name, type, ACEs, strengths, limitations, and other considerations; and systematic reviews included in the evidence review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Public policy, Research reviews, Screening, Stress, Trauma

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on the effectiveness of interventions that help to mitigate parental and familial factors that may contribute to adverse childhood experiences among children. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Topics include parent education programs (conducted outside the home), home visit programs, dual treatment programs for substance abuse, and trauma-informed care. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; and a table that describes the systematic reviews included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Home visiting, Intervention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Parent education, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Substance abuse treatment, Trauma, Trauma care

Annotation: This framework provides a common core of knowledge for clinical health professions about individual and population-oriented prevention and health-promotion efforts. The framework provides a content outline that is compatible with a range of learning outcomes or competencies as determined by each health profession, a structure for organizing and monitoring curricula, and a structure for communicating with and among health professions. The appendices contain models of how the framework content has been integrated into interprofessional education settings, as well as into profession-specific curricula such as oral-health-education curricula.

Contact: Association for Prevention Teaching and Research, 1001 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 610, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 463-0550 Secondary Telephone: (866) 474-APTR (474-2787) Fax: (202) 463-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aptrweb.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinical medicine, Curricula, Disease prevention, Health care systems, Health occupations, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Preventive medicine, Professional education

Annotation: This document for health professions education program faculty provides guidance on developing curricula focused on students' abilities to participate effectively as members of interprofessional health care teams delivering clinical prevention and population health services. Contents include examples of integrative learning strategies that address selected core competencies and content elements within the Clinical Prevention and Population Health Curriculum Framework. The content may be adapted and activities customized to an institution's specific learning environments and health professions education programs including dental medicine, medicine, nursing, occupational therapy, pharmacy, physical therapy, physician assistant, and public health.

Contact: Association for Prevention Teaching and Research, 1001 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 610, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 463-0550 Secondary Telephone: (866) 474-APTR (474-2787) Fax: (202) 463-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aptrweb.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical medicine, Curriculum development, Disease prevention, Health care systems, Health occupations, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Preventive medicine, Professional education

Annotation: This brief discusses factors that may affect the oral health of individuals living with mental illness. It also addresses strategies and activities that, if implemented, have the potential to impact health behavior and promote intervention. Topics include co-locating community-based oral, behavioral, and primary health care services; teaching behavioral health professionals about oral hygiene and motivational interviewing techniques; and providing information to families and other caregivers about protective factors such as avoiding tobacco use, eating healthy foods, and engaging in regular physical activity that can potentially reduce disparities in access and improve the oral health status of individuals with mental illness.

Contact: National Association of Counties, 25 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 393-6226 Web Site: http://www.naco.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior modification, Behavioral medicine, Community based services, Health behavior, Intervention, Mental health, Oral health, Primary care, Protective factors, Risk factors, Service integration, Work force