Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 40 (319 total).

Howe G, Pucciarello M, Moran L, Houston R. 2021. Moving toward value-based payment in oral health care. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 20 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about value-based payment (VBP), a set of performance-based strategies that link financial incentives to a health professional’s performance on a set of defined quality measures, summarizes VBP models, examines challenges and opportunities for VBP in the oral health environment, and provides considerations for the expansion of VBP focused on oral health. The brief also highlights insights from interviews with stakeholders across the country.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Costs, Measures, Oral health, Performance measurement, Quality assurance

Altarum. 2021. State priorities and performance measures: Trends between 2015 and 2020. Washington, DC: Altarum Institute, 155 pp.

Annotation: This report is a review of the Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) needs assessments, including selected priority needs and performance measures that states submitted to the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) for two block grant cycles (FY2016-FY2020 and FY2021-FY2025). The analysis conducted by Altarum identified changes in priority needs and assessed the usefulness of measurement strategies used by states.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact

Link

Keywords: Measures, Program evaluation, Standards, State programs

U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 2021. Disparities impact statement. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7 pp.

Annotation: This tool can be used by all health care stake holders to achieve health equity for racial and ethnic minorities, people with disabilities, sexual and gender minorities, individuals with limited English proficiency, and rural populations. The worksheet has five steps: identify health disparities and priority populations, define goals, establish health equity strategy, determine needs to implement strategy, monitor and evaluate progress.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

Keywords: Access to health care, Discrimination, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Measures, Minority groups, Program evaluation, Race, Racial groups, Rural populations

Radley DC, Baumgartner JC, Collins SR, Zephyrin L, Schneider EC. 2021. Achieving racial and ethnic equity in U.S. health care: A scorecard of state performance. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 1 item

Annotation: This report evaluates health equity across race and ethnicity, both within and between states, to demonstrate how health systems perform for Black, white, Latinx/Hispanic, American Indian/Alaska Native (AIAN), and Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) populations. The report displays data using multiple charts and figures; the data can also be displayed by individual race/ethnic group on its own. The report also recommends policy changes to address disparities in access to health care.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Legislation, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, State programs

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services . 2021. Efforts to improve the quality of health care for children and adults enrolled in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 2017-2019 report to Congress. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services , 129 pp.

Annotation: This report to Congress describes (1) the efforts undertaken by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) between 2017 and 2019 to advance access and quality of care for children and adults enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP); (2) the status of state reporting of the Child and Adult Core Set of healthcare quality measures; and (3) recommendations for legislative changes needed to improve the quality of care in Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Children', Data, Enrollment, Federal legislation , Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Recommendations, s Health Insurance Program

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2021. 2021 National healthcare quality and disparities report: Introduction and methods. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 34 pp. (AHRQ publication no. 21(22)-0054-EF)

Annotation: This document provides background on the annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR) and modifications that have occurred over time. This Introduction and Methods document also includes an overview of the methods used to generate estimates, measure trends, and examine disparities. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2021. 2021 National healthcare quality and disparities report. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 316 pp. (AHRQ publication no. 21(22)-0054-EF)

Annotation: This report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2021 report is organized in sections that provide an overview of the healthcare system and summarize access, quality, and disparity measures. In addition, the Quality and Disparity sections are divided into domain-specific chapters that highlight key healthcare trends or gaps in care. Appendixes include a list of data sources, definitions and abbreviations, and measures used in summary maps. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs . 2021. National Performance Measure (NPM) Implementation Toolkits. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This series of toolkits provides specific evidence-based practices, reports, publications, and resources that can be adapted and used by maternal and child health (MCH) professionals. Each toolkit focuses on a specific Title V National Performance Measure (NPM), including NPM 1 Well woman visit, NPM 2 Low-risk cesarean delivery, NPM 3 Perinatal regionalization, NPM 4 Breastfeeding, NPM 5 Safe sleep, NPM 6 Developmental screening, NPM 7 Injury prevention, NPM 8 Physical activity, NPM 9 Bullying, NPM 10 Adolescent well visit, NPM 11 Medical home, NPM 12 Transition, NPM 13 Preventative dental visit, NPM 14 Smoking cessation, and NPM 15 Adequate insurance. Each toolkit includes evidence-informed strategies that Title V programs can use to address their MCH priorities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Measures, Resources for professionals , State MCH programs, Title V programs

Home Visiting Evidence of Effectiveness. 2020. Home visiting models: Reviewing evidence of effectiveness. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, annual. (OPRE report #2020-126)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a systematic review of home visiting research to determine which home visiting program models have sufficient evidence to meet U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) criteria for an "evidence-based early childhood home visiting service delivery model." The brief also summarizes the evidence of effectiveness for the 20 program models that met DHHS criteria. Topics include favorable and sustained program impacts on primary and secondary outcome measures and whether or not the model has been replicated.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Outcome evaluation, Parenting, Research, School readiness, Sustainability, Young children

Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs. 2020. ESM development guide: Evidence-based or informed strategy measures. Washington, DC: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 26 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide provides a summary of evidence-based/informed strategy measures (ESMs) as part of the 2018/2020 MCH Block Grant submission as seen through the results-based accountability (RBA) framework. It provides tools to help state Title V agencies ensure their programs have the greatest potential to be effective for the families they serve. For each of the 15 National Performance Measures (NPMs) the document provides evidence strategies and examples of field-generated measures currently used by states. It also provides resources for a structured planning process and finding, implementing, and measuring evidence-based/informed programs. Social determinants of health and health equity tools are included, and information on requesting technical assistance.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Evidence based practice, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Program planning, State MCH programs, Title V programs

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2020. Chartbook on healthcare for Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 42 pp., 79 slides. (National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Report chartbooks)

Annotation: This chartbook on Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders (NHPIs) is part of a family of documents and tools that support the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (QDR), which was published in 2018. This chartbook includes a summary of trends across measures of healthcare for Asians and NHPIs from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of healthcare access and quality. A PowerPoint version is also available that users can download for presentations.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 20-0043..

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Wasman W, Hewett-Beah R, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 7.1 Injury hospitalization ages 0 through 9 evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 259 pp. (brief 9 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Wasman W, Hewett-Beah R, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 7.2 Injury hospitalization ages 10 through 19 evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 369 pp. (brief 10 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Le LT, Brady R, Sun BD, Perry DF, Richards J. 2020. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.1 smoking in pregnancy evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 108 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Scrimshaw SC, Emily P. Backes EP, eds; National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education; Health and Medicine Division;. 2020. Birth settings in America : Outcomes, access, quality, and choice. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press, 354 pp.

Annotation: This consensus study report reviews and evaluates maternal and newborn care in the United States; the epidemiology of social and clinical risks in pregnancy and childbirth; research on birth settings; and access to and choice of birth settings in America. Maternal and neonatal interventions and health outcomes are compared across birth settings, including hospitals, birthing centers, and home birth environments.

Contact: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Health and Medicine Division, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-2352 Fax: (202) 334-1412 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to care, Birthing centers, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Health facilities, Home childbirth, Hospitals, Infant care, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternity hospitals, Measures, Midwifery, Policy , Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Risk factors, Social factors, Statistics, Trends

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; Bright Futures, American Academy of Pediatrics. 2020. Bright Futures Presents: Resources, Strategies, and Experiences to Advance NPMs 11 & 12. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This webinar highlights the Bright Futures health supervision guidelines that correlate to national performance measure (NPM) 11-- the percent of children who have a medical home -- and NPM 12-- the percent of children who successfully transition to adult health care. Included are state implementation stories, collaborative efforts, statewide strategies, resources, and tools that address NPMs 11 and 12.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Disease prevention, Guidelines, Health promotion, Measures, Medical home, Transition planning

American Academy of Pediatrics, Bright Futures™. 2019. Bright Futures™ preventive services quality improvement measures (upd. ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Bright Futures™, 2 pp. (Bright Futures implementation tip sheet)

Annotation: This document provides information about quality improvement (QI) measures that reflect components of the Bright Futures™ guidelines. The list combines nationally endorsed measures and measures tested in, or adopted from, previous QI preventive services projects. Contents include measures for infancy and early childhood, middle childhood and adolescence, and office-based system measures for both groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures™ at AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://brightfutures.aap.org/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Organizational change, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems

McManus M, White P, Borden C. 2019. Incorporating pedatric-to-adult transition into NCQA patient-centered medical home recognition: 2019 update. Washington, DC: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, 13 pp. (Practice resource)

Annotation: This resource is intended to facilitate the application of nationally-recognized transition tools to address specific criteria developed by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) in their 2017 Patient-Centered Medical Home standards. Contents include NCQA criteria and guidance cross-walked with relevant sample tools. Topics include team-based care and practice organization, knowing and managing patients, patient-centered access and continuity, care management and support, care coordination and care transitions, and performance measurement and quality improvement. Descriptions of the tools are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Measures, Medical home, Patient care management, Patient care teams, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards, Transitions, Youth

Le L, Brady R, Hanssen P, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 11 medical home evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 104 pp. (brief, 5 pp. ). (Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs)

Annotation: This report reviews evidence-informed and evidence-based strategies that Maternal and Child Health (MCH)Block Grant programs can implement to address National Performance Measure 11: Medical Home. It gives background information on pediatric medical homes; describes the national performance measure; discusses the approach used for the evidence review analysis; summarizes strategies identified in the evidence review; and discusses implications of the research. IT also discusses how the MCH Evidence Center can help state Title V programs implement interventions selected from this review. The brief summarizes the report.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Medical home, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Le LT, Watson K, Mayer R, Pickett O, Perry DF, Richards J. 2019. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 14.2 smoking in the household evidence review. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, 139 pp. (brief 8 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

« Previous Page