Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 36 (36 total).

General Accounting Office. 1992. Perceived barriers to effective information resources management: Results of GAO panel discussions. Washington, DC: General Accounting Office, 17 pp.

Annotation: This publication presents the results of panel discussions held to determine the perceived barriers to effective information resources management in the federal government. Panel participants included representatives of the federal government and private industry.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/MTEC-92-67.

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, Databases, Information systems, Management information systems

Benford S. 1987 (ca.). MATCH: Maternal and Child Health Information Network [Final report]. Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health, 24 pp.

Annotation: Tthe goal of the project was to design and implement a useable primary care data base of funded MCH programs throughout the State of Ohio with capabilities to function as a Management Information System for clinics and State agencies. The network's major objectives were to correlate collected clinical service data items into usable information, to expand the database through linkage with other systems within the Ohio Department of Health, and to analyze the conjugated data in an effort to expand current knowledge of maternal and child health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Management information systems Data collection, Pregnant women

University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Public Health, Community Health Sciences, Maternal and Child Health Training Program. 1987. Making change happen: Action strategies—Second annual maternal and child health conference. Chicago, IL: University of Illinois at Chicago, Maternal and Child Health Training Program, 124 pp.

Annotation: This book of proceedings consists of presentations given at the second annual U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Region V Maternal and Child Health Conference held April 26-29, 1987. This conference was the second in a series of annual conferences held to help expand the knowledge and leadership skills of managers in order to improve health-related services to families and children. Major sessions covered lessons learned from MCH data, current programs and legislative issues; health economics; special needs children in families and in school; legal and ethical issues; and advocacy. Focus group abstracts cover promoting MCH coalitions; legal and ethical implications of cost containment measures; future legal implications of Medicaid waivers for MCH; ensuring standards and content of prenatal care; adolescent health; selecting a data management system; improving nutritional status and feeding children with special needs; accounting for racial, ethnic, and cultural factors to encourage utilization of prenatal care; improving the impact of HMOs on MCH service delivery; and creative financing through Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.]

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 1603 West Taylor Street (M-C923), Chicago, IL 60612-7259, Telephone: (312) 996-0724 Fax: (312) 996-3551 Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph/mch Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Children with special health care needs, Ethics, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health services, Legal issues, Management information systems, Prenatal care

Hamlin D, Stella L. 1982. Assessment of EPSDT automated case management systems in four states. San Francisco, CA: Alexander Grant Information Systems, 1 v. (Hiscock Collection; no. 157)

National Institute for Advanced Studies. 1981. Assessment of California's EPSDT case management system: Technical assistance to California in the development of Medicaid MMIS for EPSDT module. Washington, DC: National Institute for Advanced Studies, 1 v. (Hiscock Collection; no. 136)

Macro Systems. 1980. Conceptual design of model automated EPSDT case management system (rev.). Silver Spring, MD: Macro Sysgtems, 156 pp. (Hiscock Collection; no. 123)

Annotation: This report presents a conceptual design for a model automated EPSDT case management system for the state of California, designed to be a county-operated system supported by various state systems. It describes the purpose of the system, the activities performed in developing the conceptual design, system requirements, features and operation, outputs, interfaces, and implementation issues and requirements.

Contact: Internet Archive, 300 Funston Ave., San Francisco, CA 94118, Telephone: (415) 561-6767 Fax: (415) 840-0391 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archive.org

Keywords: California, Case management, EPSDT, Information systems, Local programs, State programs

Consultec, Inc. [1979]. Functional system requirements for a CHAP case management support system in the state of New York. Consultec, Inc., 59 pp. (Hiscock Collection; no. 131)

Philadelphia Health Management Corporation. 1979. Case management systems development for Ohio and Illinois: Final project report for Illinois and Ohio. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Health Management Corporation, 1 v. (Hiscock Collection; no. 146)

Philadelphia Health Management Corporation. 1979. EPSDT case management support system: Final report for the state of Ohio. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Health Management Corporation, 1 v. (Hiscock Collection; no. 147)

Community Health Foundation. 1977. EPSDT interim system evaluation design document, state of Louisiana. Evanston, IL: Community Health Foundation, 112 pp. (Hiscock Collection; no. 49)

Annotation: This report describes a comprehensive evaluation of the state-of-the-art operational facilities in Louisiana regarding EPSDT reporting and tracking capabilities. It includes requirements, system description, resources, and implementation.

Contact: Internet Archive, 300 Funston Ave., San Francisco, CA 94118, Telephone: (415) 561-6767 Fax: (415) 840-0391 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archive.org

Keywords: Case management, EPSDT, Information systems, Louisiana, State programs

Joseph A Davis Consultants and Control Analysis Corporatin. [1974]. Final report: The review of states' opinions of MMIS (Medicaid Management Information Systems). New York, NY: Joseph A. Davis Consultants; Palo Alto, CA: Control Analysis Corporation, 144 pp. (Hiscock Collection; no. 139)

Annotation: This report presents results of a study of Medicaid Managment Information Systems, an information and claims processing system designed to improve the control and management of a state's Title XIX Program (grants to states for medical assistance programs, including Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program). The study surveyed states regarding better implementation of MMIS.

Keywords: EPSDT, Information systems, Program management, Surveys

Pratt MW, Felton HM. 1974. Final report: Health programs management information system (HPMIS) for MCH and CCS programs. [Washington, DC]: George Washington University, Operational and Demographic Analysis for Maternal and Child Health Project, ca. 500 pp.

Annotation: This report traces the investigation of health program management information needs at the program, state, region, and federal levels and provides an analysis of problems related to development of a practical methodology for collecting and using the information. Information on seventeen state maternal and child health and crippled children's services programs is included. A comparison of needs between states is made, including the feasibility of developing one management information system to meet all state level requirements. The background, early trials, copies of questionnaires, manuals, a glossary of terms, documentation, and program profiles are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Health programs, Management information systems, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs

Harris J, Gold M, Stuart L. 1973. A study of the Systems Development Project: Executive summary. Cambridge, MA: ABT Associates, 16 pp.

Annotation: This executive summary presents in brief the major findings and conclusions from a study of the Systems Development Project for the Children and Youth Program of the Maternal and Child Health Service as described in the Report of Study results which included a summary of the study, detailed findings, history, and accompanying appendices.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Management information systems, Primary care

ABT Associates. 1973. A study of the Systems Development Project. Cambridge, MA: ABT Associates, 4 v.

Annotation: This study reports the analysis and assessment of a management information and reporting system to serve a federally supported ambulatory health service delivery program, the Children and Youth Program of the Maternal and Child Health Service. Volume one is the summary of the study. Volume two discusses detailed findings. And volume three provides the history of the project. Volume four is the appendices which include the mail surveys and questionnaire keys, quarterly summary reports, and methodology.

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Federal MCH programs, Management information systems, Primary care

[University of Minnesota, College of Medical Sciences, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project . 1971. Progress report: of child health care delivery and organization. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, College of Medical Sciences, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project , 123 pp. (Comment series no: 1-12 (40))

Annotation: This report summarizes a number of special analyses and assessments which depend on the ongoing reporting maintenance and the resultant outputs from two major efforts to develop the forms and statistical reporting system for administrative purposes and asses the effect of unique organization on the delivery of comprehensive health services by projects funded under PL 89-97 title II. The contents are the charge, expectations and relationships; elements of project and program performance; special studies and activities; economic considerations; and special quantitative efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Federal legislation, Grants, Health services, Management information systems, Reports, Statistics

Wekckwerth VE, University of Minnesota, College of Medical Sciences, School of Public Health, Systems Development Project . 1970. Progress report: Assessment of child health care delivery and organization. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project , 62 pp. (Comment series no: 0-7 (29))

Annotation: This issue of the Comment Series is a copy of the body of the written report made by the Systems Development Project to fulfill the requirement of a progress report under the terms of their grant from the Maternal and Child Health Services. The paper addresses the original charge of the grant to develop the forms and statistical reporting system for administrative purposes and assess the effect of unique organizations on the delivery of comprehensive health services by projects funded under PL 89-97 title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Federal legislation, Grants, Health services, Management information systems, Reports, Statistics
« Previous Page    

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.