Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document presents the agenda of the Home Visiting Research Network established as part of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) program. Topics include how the agenda was developed and ten research priorities including the rationale for each priority, what is known about each priority, and what is needed to advance the field of home visiting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Home Visiting Research Network, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health, 615 N. Wolfe Street, Room E4150, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-0545 Web Site: http://www.hvrn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health services delivery, Home visiting, MCH research, Research methodology

Annotation: This resource provides a schedule of presentations and panel discussions that took place during a workshop convened in March 2013 to update a 1982 report on the assessment of childbirth settings in the United States. Topics include birth and birth setting trends and statistics; assessment of risk in pregnancy; health outcomes associated with birth setting; work force issues related to birth setting; data systems and measurement; and cost, value, and reimbursement issues. The resource includes a statement of the workshop committee's statement of task, a committee roster, biographical sketches, and a list of workshop participants.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries.

Keywords: Alternative birth styles, Birthing centers, Childbirth, Delivery rooms, MCH research, Maternal health services, Meetings, Research methodology, Trends

Annotation: This website provides information and resources related to efforts to increase the number of students and faculty from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups in all facets of the public health and maternal and child health (MCH) work force and to enhance the learning environment by ensuring cultural competence within all components of training programs. Specifically, the website focuses on mentoring as a strategy to support racially and ethnically diverse students and faculty who are underrepresented within MCH training programs. The site includes links to a review of peer-reviewed and gray literature, a summary of information from listening sessions with students and faculty, and a list of multi-institutional or national programs that support mentoring efforts.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Ethnic factors, MCH training, MCH training programs, Mentors, National programs, Programs, Public health, Racial factors, Research, Students, Training

Annotation: This three-part paper provides an overview of the 100-year history and mission of the federal Maternal and Child Health Research program, beginning with its origins in the U.S. Children’s Bureau in 1912 through the present day. Part 1 of the paper covers the period from the founding of the Bureau in 1912 through the Social Security Act of 1935, with special attention to the ways in which research findings motivated changes in policies and practice. Part 2 covers the years from 1935 through 1969, with special attention to the vision underlying the extramural MCH research program (established in 1963), and the impact of the 1969 reorganization of the Children’s Bureau, which moved the MCH Research Program into the Public Health Services into what is now the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Part 3 (1969-2012) focuses on the mission of the MCH Research program, how that has been realized in the past and present, and what we can learn from that for the future.

Keywords: History, MCH research, Research programs, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau

Annotation: This report discusses the logic of a framework used to monitor program implementation and fidelity across evidence-based home visiting programs to prevent child maltreatment. It also outlines key components and indicators, as well as utility, in three areas, home visitor and supervisory caseloads, service duration, and service dosage. Contents also include data collection and analysis methods, profiles of participants and home visitors/supervisors, characteristics and content of home visits, assessing three dimensions of structural fidelity, and conclusions and next steps. References and appendices are also included.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Home visiting, MCH research, Maltreated children, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation

Annotation: This final report describes a research study to evaluate the feasibility, acceptability, and impact of three different patient-centered strategies for improving the quality and equity of preventive and developmental services provided to young children during well-child visits. Topics include updated anticipatory guidance for well-child visits, communications between parents and health care providers, and parents' perceptions of overall quality of healthcare visits for their children. Report contents include an introduction to research problem, a review of the literature, the study design and methods, detailed findings, discussion and interpretation of the findings, a list of products developed during the project, as well as references. Appendices provide examples and overviews of selected project elements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Final reports, MCH research, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Patient satisfaction, Quality assurance, Well child care

Annotation: This webinar, broadcast September 12, 2012, reviews the Healthy Start Interconception Learning Collaborative Project, and presents the data from Cycle III outcome data provided by Healthy Start grantees. Topics include the implementation of a quality improvement model in Healthy Start, applying the model to improve non-clinical community-based services, and using healthy Start best practices and developing evidence-based practices.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Secondary Telephone: (833)852-6262 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Community based services, Healthy Start, MCH research, Program evaluation

Annotation: This brief highlights six key lessons from the Teen Pregnancy Prevention Evidence Review, which aimed to identify, assess, and rate the rigor of program impact studies on teen pregnancy and sexually transmitted infection prevention programs. Lessons include using existing resources, taking care in defining the scope of the review, engaging study authors and experts, reporting on more than just positive findings, assessing whether findings are implementation-ready, and using findings to encourage improved research quality and reporting.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: MCH research, Process evaluation, Research methodology

Annotation: This document contains the original language as introduced in November 2011, to amend the Public Health Service Act to improve the health of children and reduce the occurrence of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) and to enhance public health activities related to stillbirth. Topics include improving the completion of death scene investigation and autopsy; training on death scene investigation; building state capacity and implementing state and local child death review programs and prevention strategies; establishing a national registry for SUID and sudden unexpected death in childhood; establishing and implementing a culturally competent public health awareness and education campaign including educating individuals about safe sleep environments, sleep positions, and reducing exposure to smoking during pregnancy and after birth; establishing grants for providing support services to families who have had a infant or child die of sudden unexpected death; evaluating state and regional needs; and enhancing public health activities related to stillbirth.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• Full-text - Senate
• Full-text - House

Keywords: Child death, Data collection, Federal legislation, Fetal death, MCH research, Neonatal death, Prevention, SIDS, Sudden unexpected infant death

Annotation: This supplemental information request provides guidance for preparing an updated state plan for a state home visiting program in Idaho, including identification of the at-risk community or communities where home visiting services are to be provided, a detailed assessment of the particular needs of that community or communities in terms of risk factors, community strengths, and existing services; identification of home visiting services proposed to be implemented to meet identified needs; a description of the state and local infrastructure available to support the program; specification of any additional infrastructure support necessary to achieve program success; and a plan for collecting benchmark data, conducting continuous quality improvement, and performing any required research or evaluation.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Secondary Telephone: (208) 334-5500 Web Site: http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, High risk groups, Home visiting, Idaho, Low income groups, Program evaluation, Research, Risk factors, Services, State MCH programs

Annotation: This resource brief describes four federal programs developed to help protect the health of young children: The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP); the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC); the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP); and the Affordable Housing program. The brief summarizes research indicating how children who suffer from poor nutrition, unstable housing and inadequate home heating have a greater likelihood of poor health, and highlights research findings indicating that young children who participate in these federal programs are more likely to be food secure, growing and developing in healthy, age-appropriate ways, and less likely to be hospitalized. The brief calls on the nation's leaders to consider the evidence indicating the importance of investing in our youngest children while making decisions concerning deficit reductions.

Contact: Children's HealthWatch, Dowling Building, 771 Albany Street, Ground Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 414-6366 Fax: (617) 414-7915 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenshealthwatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, MCH research, Outcome evaluation, Policy development, Prevention programs, Reports, Young children

Annotation: This toolbox is an online resource for maternal and child health researchers, academics, practitioners, policy advocates, and others in the field. The toolbox shares information, strategies, and tools related to integrating the life course perspective into MCH research at the local, state, and national levels. The life course perspective looks at health not as disconnected stages by as an integrated continuum. Areas covered include theory and research, practice, education and training, and policy. There are also a life course game, a discussion board, and additional resources.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Health, Internet, MCH research, Women', s health

Annotation: This April 22, 2010, webinar describes how three national organizations and six communities across the country worked together to translate research and knowledge into action around racism. It details the Infant Mortality and Racism Action Learning Collaborative, a partnership which aims to decrease racial disparities in infant mortality in urban areas. Webinar topics included (1) key differences between health disparities and health equity, (2) processes by which teams can effectively approach and address racism, (3) the role of local and state health departments and other community organizations in reducing infant mortality by addressing racism, and (4) resources for local health departments. Meeting materials are also available from the website.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Ethnic factors, Infant mortality, MCH research, Prevention services, Racial factors, Risk factors

Annotation: This working paper explores the link between maternal depression and parenting behavior using data from the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study (a joint effort by research centers at Columbia and Princeton Universities to collect data on a cohort of nearly 5, 000 at-risk children born between 1998 and 2,000). The paper compares the results of studies that have used different correlation models, pointing out why the findings might vary. Expanding on earlier research, the paper discusses the correlation between maternal depression and behaviors such as child neglect and parenting stress, focusing on marital status and other variables that might influence the affects of maternal depression on the well-being of children.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: At risk children, Behavior, Child health, Data analysis, Depression, Longitudinal studies, MCH research, Maternal health, Outcome evaluation, Parenting, Risk factors

Annotation: This paper clarifies and synthesizes the best thinking on maternal and child health life course and outlines how the theory might be used to frame the Maternal and Child Health Bureau's (MCHB) upcoming strategic planning process. Contents include an introduction to life course theory (LCT), implications of LCT for MCH public health; using LCT as a framework for MCHB strategic planning, and a section on developing an agenda for change.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Secondary Telephone: (833)852-6262 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Life course, MCH research, Resources for professionals, Strategic planning

Annotation: This case study describes One Tiny Reason to Quit, a campaign to promote calls to a free, evidence-based, smoking cessation counseling line (1-800-QUIT-NOW) through mass media and face-to-face outreach. Topics include the campaign’s formative research, elements, and process data.

• PDF

Keywords: African Americans, Case studies, Coalitions, Communication, Health disparities, Infant mortality, MCH research, Mass media, Outreach, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Virginia

Annotation: This report describes a project to study low-income Latinas at high-risk for developing postpartum depression to provide cognitive-behavioral intervention aimed at teaching women mood regulation skills to prevent the onset of major depressive episodes and at improving mother-infant relationships. Contents include a description of the nature of the research, the project's purpose and scope, and the nature of the findings; a review of the literature; study design and methods; details of the findings; and a discussion and interpretation of the findings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early intervention services, Final reports, Hispanic Americans, MCH research, Maternal mental health, Mother child relations, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Prevention services

Annotation: This chartbook presents indicators of children’s health and well-being as well as factors in family environments and aspects of neighborhoods that may support or threaten families and children. The content is based on data from the National Survey of Children’s Health. Contents include information on the oral health status of children on the national level and of subpopulations at particular risk for dental caries, such as children with special health care needs. Information on state-level analyses and on children’s use of preventive oral health services is also included.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Secondary Telephone: (833)852-6262 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Ethnic factors, Health insurance, MCH research, National surveys, Racial factors, Socioeconomic status, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This report highlights ten recommendations to improve and expand efforts regarding early identification, diagnostic services, and quality research on interventions for individuals with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASDs) and their families. Also included are action steps, accomplishments of the Task Force, an overview of the strategic plan, an overview of the Center for Excellence, and information about the Interagency Coordinating Committee on fetal alcohol syndrome.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early intervention, Federal initiatives, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, MCH research, Prevention, Strategic plans, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This report summarizes a cross-site evaluation design of 17 evidence-based home visiting (EBHV) programs, funded by the Children's Bureau, U.S. Administration for Children and Families, in 13 states to identify successful strategies for adopting, implementing, and sustaining high-quality home visiting programs to prevent child maltreatment. It provides an overview of the EBHV grantees and their selected program models. Five domains are identified and studied including (1) systems change, (2) fidelity to the evidence-based model, (3) costs of home visiting programs, (4) family and child outcomes, and (5) process study. Additional contents include a description of the analytic approach, evaluation technical assistance, and utilization-focused reporting and dissemination.

Contact: FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention, Chapel Hill Training Outreach Project, 800 Eastowne Drive, Suite 105, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Web Site: http://www.friendsnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child maltreatment, Early intervention, Home visiting, MCH research, Program descriptions, Program evaluation