Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what dental hygienists can do to help.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what dentists can do to help.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what health professionals can do to help.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dentists, Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides information on how minimally invasive care (MIC) can be used in conjunction with the integration of oral health care and medical care to improve oral health and overall health, as well as people’s experiences with receiving oral health care. The brief presents strategies for integrating oral health care and medical care to promote MIC, including cross-training oral health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health equity, Reimbursement, Service integration

Annotation: This policy statement focuses on integrating oral health care into primary care. It provides a summary of the issue, presents the problem of pervasively poor oral health among pregnant women and children from families with low incomes, and discusses opportunities to address this problem by integrating oral health care into primary care. Examples of a national initiative and statewide programs that are working to integrate oral health care into primary care are included, and the role of state and territorial oral health programs in this effort is discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, a program in Ohio conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children’s oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and the CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: The purpose of this needs assessment is to improve access to oral health care in New York state by identifying areas with the highest oral health needs and providing information on addressing barriers to access, particularly for populations that are underserved and vulnerable. The needs assessment presents information from a study conducted to assess oral health indicators and socioeconomic indicators by area in the state. It presents study findings and discusses study limitations.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, New York, Oral health, Research, Socieconomic factors, State information

Annotation: This report provides information about policies and practices related to paying for community health workers for their services, including oral health services, through Medicaid. The report discusses each state's approach to covering these services through Medicaid. It also includes a spreadsheet that can be filtered and sorted to identify states with various approaches. A summary of findings is included.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Community health, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Personnel, Reimbursement, State information

Annotation: This brief summarizes results from surveys of Medicaid participants and dentists in eight states conducted to improve understanding of barriers to accessing oral health care among participants. The brief provides background and discusses methods. It also provides percentages by survey results and claims data on adults' utilization of oral care and dentists' participation in Medicaid, reasons for not visiting a dentist more frequently among adult Medicaid participants, and the relative importance of factors that prevent dentists from treating more participants. Policy implications are also discussed.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dentists, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Access to health care, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, Surveys

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on efforts made by the Medicaid and Children’s Health CHIP Affinity Group to prevent and reduce tooth decay in children and adolescents from July 2021 through December 2022. The fact sheet describes the purpose of the group and its activities and goals, offers background on tooth decay among children and adolescents from families with low incomes, and provides the group’s draft aim statement. Baseline data on fluoride varnish application is also included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Prevention, State Children', State information, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This snapshot provides information on how states can increase access to oral health care by supporting, strengthening, and expanding their oral health workforce. The snapshot presents five things to know about access to oral health care and the oral health workforce. It also presents opportunities for states to consider to strengthen their oral health workforce.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial and ethnic factors, State information, Work force

Annotation: This manual provides information on creating a diverse prenatal/postpartum advisory board (PPAB) with the goal of improving the oral health and overall health of women with low incomes before, during, and after pregnancy, as well as of children from families with low incomes, in Maryland. The manual is divided into three sections: (1) processes/methods (describing the frameworks and processes underpinning the PPAB), (2) relationship-building for fostering relationships among members with diverse perspectives and backgrounds, and (3) results showcasing end products from PPAB implementation.

Contact: University of Maryland, School of Dentistry, 650 West Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7101 Web Site: https://www.dental.umaryland.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Low income groups, Manuals, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the oral health of Medicaid and Children’s Oral Health Program (CHIP) beneficiaries. It presents statistical information on the following selected topics: Medicaid and CHIP oral health care expenditures for 2018–2021; children’s and adolescents’ receipt of oral health care, oral examinations, and topical fluoride treatments; and oral health professional participation by number of Medicaid-enrolled children and adolescents served. Also included is information on oral health and overall health of publicly insured children and adolescents, Medicaid coverage for adult oral health care, adults’ emergency department visits for nontraumatic oral health conditions, and oral-health-related opioid prescriptions.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adult health, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid: Costs, Oral health

Annotation: This report provides information on access to oral health care in West Virginia. It discusses oral health workforce shortages, economic challenges related to accessing care, and disparities in access to care. The report also describes a “mystery shopper” program conducted by the West Virginia Oral Health Coalition to gauge patient experiences when seeking health care in the state and to learn about access to oral health care among vulnerable populations.

Contact: West Virginia Oral Health Coalition, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.wvohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Oral health, Oral health equity, State information, West Virginia

Annotation: This framework is designed to prioritize equitable access to basic health information and services. It discusses why equity-centered health communication is important and presents three phases in making progress toward such communication. The phases include (1) understanding the issues, (2) co-creating accessible products, and (3) implementing health communication interventions.

Contact: CommunicateHealth, 20 Courthouse Square, Rockville, MD 2080, Telephone: (413) 582-0425 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communicatehealth.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health equity, Health literacy, Low income groups, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This directory is a resource for consumers and for health professionals and social services providers in Maine to help them assist clients who do not have a regular dentist with getting oral health care. The directory describes clinics and agencies in Maine that either provide oral health care or can help these individuals access care. Information is provided on services the clinic or agency provides, eligibility guidelines, and where to get more information. State-funded assistance programs, tribal health programs, rural community health centers, and other potential sources of care are included. Clinics and agencies are organized by county.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 State House Station, 286 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011, Telephone: (207) 287-8016 Secondary Telephone: (800) 606-0215 Fax: (207) 287-9058 Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/boh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Clinics, Eligibility, Low income groups, Maine, Oral health, Public agencies, State information

Annotation: This report provides an evaluation of the Utah Oral Health Program, Adolescent Oral Health Campaign for 2022–2023. Goals of the campaign were to increase adolescents' use of the oral health care system; increase the proportion of adolescents from families with low incomes who had a preventive dental visit; reduce the proportion of adolescents with active, untreated tooth decay; and reduce adolescents' use of smokeless tobacco products. The report provides an overview of the program and describes evaluation methods, presents key findings and outcomes, presents post-test questions measuring adolescents' intent and post-test qualitative questions, and discusses evaluation limitations.

Contact: Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, Multi-Agency State Office Building, 195 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, Telephone: (801) 201-9462 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.utah.gov/oral-health-program/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Smokeless tobacco, State programs, Utah

Annotation: This brief describes closed-loop referrals in California (defined as referring Medi-Cal managed care plan participants to available community resources, coordinating the referral, and following up to help ensure that care, including oral health care, was provided). The brief offers recommendations for successful closed-loop referrals for children and families who are Medi-Cal participants. It also discusses considerations for closed-loop referrals for infants and young children, school-age children, and adolescents, including those in foster care. Opportunities for building an infrastructure and partnerships foundational to closed-loop referrals are presented.

Contact: Children Now, 1212 Broadway, Fifth Floor, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 763-2444 Fax: (510) 763-1974 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrennow.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, California, Followup, Foster care, Health insurance programs, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Referrals, School-age children, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs