Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start project in the Louisville, Kentucky metropolitan area from June 2001 through May 2005 to address the high rate of infant mortality, persistent disparities, lack of utilization of early or adequate prenatal care, and the high percentage of low birth weight infants in the African American community. Report contents include an overview of the needs of the racial and ethnic population in the project area; information on the project implementation, management and governance, project accomplishments, and its impact. Additional contents include the local evaluation and fetal and infant mortality review. Attachments includes products and project data developed during the project period. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Kentucky, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors

Annotation: This report describes the Genesee County Healthy Start program, based in Saginaw, Michigan, during the period 2001-2005. The purpose of the program was to develop and implement strategies that would reduce the high infant mortality rate within the target population. Topics include (1) overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by project, (2) project implementation, (3) project management and governance, (4) project accomplishments, (5) project impact, (6) local evaluation, and (7) fetal and infant mortality review. The report contains several attachments, including tables listing project performance indicators as well as a variety of forms, tables, and other related materials. A videotape, internal resource referral guide and materials for families are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Michigan, Poverty, Prevention programs, Racial factors

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Illinois, the goal of which was to decrease infant mortality and low birthweight in underserved, low-income Chicago neighborhoods. Report sections describe service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium and collaboration, consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components such as management and governance, sustainability, local government role, lessons learned, fetal and infant mortality review, and project data. Appendices include a local evaluation report and supplementary materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Access Community Health Network, 1501 South California Avenue, Chicago, IL 60608, Telephone: (773) 257-6770 Fax: (773) 257-6403 Web Site: http://www.accesscommunityhealth.net

Keywords: Community based services, Final reports, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH research, Prevention programs

Annotation: This report describes goals and activities in the Voices of Appalachia Healthy Start program to provides services to rural Whitley County, Kentucky. Goals include: appropriate immunizations given to all children under 2 years of age; increase use of prenatal care by women in their first trimester; and reduce the rates of low birthweight, very low birthweight, and small for gestational age babies to participating women. Report sections include service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium and collaboration, program impact, and other Healthy Start components. Attachments include demographic and statistical data forms, major service tables, and a copy of the local evaluation report. Statistical data are presented in tables throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Voices of Appalachia Healthy Start Project, Whitley County Health Department, 114 North Second Street, P.O. Box 147, Williamsburg, KY 40769, Telephone: (606) 549-3380 Fax: (606) 549-8940

Keywords: Child health, Final reports, Healthy Start, Immunization, Infant mortality, Kentucky, Local initiatives, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report describes the activities and accomplishments of the Healthy Start program in Chatham County and Savannah, Georgia, to (1) reduce the rate of infant mortality, (2) reduce the number of low birth weight babies, (3) reduce the number of births to adolescents, and (4) reduce the disparity between African American and white infant mortality rates. Sections include service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium and collaboration, consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components. The attachments include copies of local evaluation reports for 1998-1999 and charts on demographic and statistical data. The appendices include samples of materials produced during the project period. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Chatham-Savannah Youth Futures Authority, 316 East Bay Street PO Box 10212, Savannah, GA 31412, Telephone: (912) 651-6810 Fax: 912-651-6814 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.youthfutures.com

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Final reports, Georgia, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Low birthweight infants, Prevention programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program to establish a four county collaborative project in New York State to improve the health and social well being of women of child bearing age, their infants, and families who are at risk for infant mortality and morbidity and to create a community-based infant mortality and low-birth weight reduction program. Report sections describe service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium and collaboration, consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components, such as management and government, sustainability, the role of local government, lessons learned, local evaluation, and fetal and infant mortality review. Additional information is provided on participant data, major services, common and model specific indicators, and demographic and statistical data. Appendices include by-laws, protocols, templates, workshop summaries, best practices, papers, local evaluation reports, and forms, procedures, and guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Columbia University, Mailman School of Public Health, Allan Rosenfeld Building, 630 West 168th Street, New York, NY 10032-2603, Telephone: (212) 305-4797 Fax: (212) 305-1460 Web Site: http://www.mailman.hs.columbia.edu

Keywords: Community based services, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH research, Prevention programs

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Southeast Chicago, the goal of which was to decrease infant mortality and low birthweight and to decrease the incidence of births to teenage mothers in identified areas in the far southeast side of Chicago. In addition to the main text, the report includes a local evaluation report, a patient satisfaction survey report, a report on a study on events and messages in the media and community environment that are relevant to infant mortality, and a case study of two Healthy Start clinics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Healthcare Consortium of Illinois, Office of Community Health, 1350 East Sigley Boulevard, Suite 303, Donton, IL 60419, Telephone: (708) 841-9515 Fax: (708) 841-9713 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hcionline.org/

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Community based services, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH research, Prevention programs

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program implemented in Hawaii. Report sections describe service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium and collaboration, consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components such as management and governance, sustainability, local government, lessons learned, local evaluation, fetal and infant mortality review, and project data. Attachments include an implementation plan, a qualitative analysis of the planning process in year 1999-2000, a participant data table, and quality of care information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Branch, 741-A Sunset Avenue, Room 208, Honolulu, HI 96816, Telephone: (808) 733-9022 Fax: (808) 733-9032 Web Site: http://health.hawaii.gov/mchb

Keywords: Community based services, Final reports, Hawaii, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH research, Prevention programs

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Start project designed to provide prenatal care to vulnerable women in Fresno County, California. The program targeted, in particular, victims of domestic violence, substance abusers, adolescents, and women whose cultural customs isolated them from the health care system. Report sections include (1) service initiation, (2) service accomplishments, (3) mentoring, (4) consortium and collaboration, (5) consortium program impact, and (6) other Healthy Start components. The report includes four attachments: (1) a project period objective and implementation plan, (2) a list of Babies First community partners, (3) a demographic and statistical data form, and (4) a variety of publicity materials such as brochures and fact sheets.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, California, Community based services, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Vulnerable populations

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Start project focused on improving perinatal indicators and birth outcomes among low-income women in Richland County, South Carolina. The report includes the following sections: (1) service initiation, (2) service accomplishments, (3) mentoring, (4) consortium and collaboration, (5) consortium program impact, (6) other Healthy Start components, and (7) project data. The report includes three attachments: (1) service implementation tables, (2) a local evaluation report, and (3) project area demographic and statistical data.

Contact: Palmetto Healthy Start, Richland Memorial Hospital, 223 Stoneridge Drive, Suite B, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 296-3780 Secondary Telephone: (888) 788-4367 Fax: (803) 296-3790 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.palmettohealth.com/community/HealthyStart

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community based services, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, South Carolina, Women', s health

Annotation: This impact final report describes a Healthy Start program to provide services in Des Moines, Iowa. The impact report covers the period July 1, 2001-December 31, 2001, and supplements a final report submitted in July 2001. The impact report discusses service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium program impact, andother Healthy Start components. Four attachments include (1) a status report and implementation plan, (2) a description of the program evaluation, (3) a project area demographic and statistical form, and (4) a project area consortium roster. Supplemental materials are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Final reports, Healthy Start, Immunization, Infant mortality, Iowa, Low birthweight infants, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This report discusses the effectiveness of the Colorado Department of Health and Environment's Prenatal Plus Program in reducing the low birthweight rate among high-risk women enrolled in Medicaid, the costs of the program, and savings to Medicaid resulting from the program. Recommendations are provided.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Colorado, Costs, Evaluation, Infant health, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Medicaid, Prenatal care, Prevention, State programs

Annotation: This report describes models of intervention initiated by the Healthy Start ABCs project to reduce infant mortality rates in selected rural areas of North Louisiana from 1999 to June 2001. Models of intervention include outreach, case management, and education and training used in service initiation; service accomplishment; consortium and collaboration creation; consortium program impact in systems of care, the community, and the state. Other Healthy Start components discussed include management and governance, sustainability, the role of local government, lessons learned, and local evaluation. Data tables provide information on participant characteristics, major services, and performance indicators. Additional evaluation reports provide information on immunization levels, prenatal care initiation, low birthweight, consumer participation, consortium education, and increased access to immunizations and prenatal care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: North Louisiana Area Health Education Center, 1513 Doctors Drive, Suite 2, Bossier City, LA 71111, Telephone: (318) 746-4644 Fax: (318) 746-4677 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlahec.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Final reports, Health care utilization, Healthy Start, Immunization, Infant mortality, Intervention, Louisiana, Low birthweight infants, MCH services, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report describes the Great Expectations Foundation program implementation of a Healthy Start Family Resource model, a research and demonstration program based in New Orleans, serving neighborhoods characterized by extreme poverty, low educational levels, high rates of adolescent pregnancies, high dropout rates, and concentrated areas of public housing. Topics include the prevalence of adolescent pregnancy; elevated infant mortality rates and the risk factors that correlate to elevated infant mortality rates such as low birthweight; and increasing service coordination between agencies and physically locating them in the same building or very nearby other community-based providers. Report contents include an introduction providing background on the program and site, a description of service initiation, a review of service accomplishments, an outline of program mentoring, consortium and collaboration development, a summary of the consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components. Appendices include local evaluation findings and data tables used in the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site:

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Case studies, Community coordination, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Intervention, Local MCH programs, Louisiana, Low birthweight infants, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Service coordination

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Oakland, California, to reduce infant mortality and low and very low birthweight; and improve perinatal care adequacy and preterm birth rates from September 1997 through May 2001. Report sections address service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium and collaboration, the consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components including management and governance, sustainability, the role of local government, lessons learned, local evaluation, and fetal and infant mortality review. Attachments include participant and service tables, demographic and statistical data, a local evaluation summary and report, and a document "Working in partnership: Needs and opportunities for improving perinatal substance abuse services in California." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Fax: (510) 483-6038

Keywords: Prenatal care, California, Community based services, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH research, Preterm birth, Prevention programs

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program in Oakland, California, to reduce infant mortality and low and very low birthweight; and improve perinatal care adequacy and preterm birth rates from 1994 -1997. Report sections address service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium and collaboration, the consortium program impact, and other Healthy Start components including management and governance, sustainability, the role of local government, lessons learned, local evaluation, and fetal and infant mortality review. Attachments include participant and service tables and demographic and statistical data. Appendices include descriptions of media outreach project, local evaluation reports and data, the collaborative membership list, subcommittee reports and recommendations, and additional outreach materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Fax: (510) 483-6038

Keywords: California, Community based services, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH research, Outreach, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention programs

Annotation: This document presents a general method for determining the potential impact of key Healthy Start Project interventions on Medicaid managed care organization (MCO) costs. It provides an overview of selected published, national, state, and local data sources, as well as data available through MCO's. Appendices cover research results and program evidence of the effectiveness of social case management; outreach and home visiting; tables and profiles of selected model programs; available data sources on low birthweight rates and costs; and a sample data request from local sources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case management, Cost effectiveness, Healthy Start, High risk mothers, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Managed care, Medicaid, Outreach, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Statistics

Annotation: This report evaluates the Healthy Family Service of Alexandria against its four major goals which include: 1) ensuring adequate prenatal care; 2) ensuring preventive well-child care and advance optimal child development; 3) improving mothers' knowledge of child needs and enhance parent-child interactions; and 4) preventing child abuse and neglect of enrollees' target child. Results of the outcome evaluation indicate the extent to which HFA accomplished what it intended to do. The report also describes the development of Healthy Families Alexandria, its service population, and its services. Appendices contain statistical data in the form of tables and exhibits. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child development, Child development disorders, Child health, Children, Community based services, Immunization, Infants, Local MCH programs, Low birthweight, Outcome evaluation, Parent child relations, Pregnancy outcome, Prenatal care, Prevention, Primary care, Program evaluation, Statistics, Virginia

Annotation: This report summarizes the impact of Phase I of a Healthy Start 1994-1997 research and demonstration program based in New Orleans, serving neighborhoods characterized by extreme poverty, low educational levels, high rates of adolescent pregnancies, high dropout rates, and concentrated areas of public housing. Topics include the prevalence of adolescent pregnancy; elevated infant mortality rates and the risk factors that correlate to elevated infant mortality rates such as low birthweight; and increasing service coordination between agencies and physically locating them in the same building or very nearby other community-based providers. Report contents include an introduction providing background on the program and site, a description of service initiation, a review of the program impact, and other Healthy Start components. Appendices include local evaluation findings and data tables used in the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Case studies, Community coordination, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Intervention, Local MCH programs, Louisiana, Low birthweight infants, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Service coordination

Annotation: This information package consists of a pamphlet, a newsletter, and three promotional fliers from the Chatham-Savannah Healthy Start Initiative. The pamphlet recounts the history of the Initiative and includes summarizes the services it provides. These include prenatal care education efforts and efforts to procure appropriate human services for pregnant women to reduce the incidence of infant mortality and low birthweight infants particularly among African American women. The pamphlet indicates that other services include reducing the number of births to adolescents, improving child health, providing family support services, and encouraging fathers to take more responsibility for their families. The newsletter includes topical articles about the Initiative's activities in these areas, and the fliers promote the Initiative's community-based educational courses. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Chatham-Savannah Healthy Start Initiative, 408 East Bay Street, P.O. Box 10212, Savannah, GA 31401, Telephone: (912) 651-6810 Contact Phone: (912) 651-6630 Fax: (912) 651-6814 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.youthfutures.com Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Educational programs, Family support, Fathers, Health promotion, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Newsletters, Outreach, Parenting, Paternal behavior, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Responsibility, Service coordination