Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides guidance on why and how to design health websites and other digital health-information tools for all users. Topics include what we know about users with limited literacy skills, writing actionable content, displaying content clearly on the page, organizing content and simplifying navigation, engaging users, and testing your site with users with limited literacy skills. A printable checklist of strategies, an overview of user research, and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Design, Guidelines, Health education, Information dissemination, Interactive media, Internet, Low literacy, Manuals, Online systems, Oral health

Annotation: This report summarizes a meeting focused on oral health equity, systems of care, and oral health literacy and attended by representatives from health organizations and community agencies held on May 8, 2015, in Dover, Delaware. The report discusses innovative initiatives from across the country and how these initiatives can be applied locally. Information about individual and organizational strategies for advancing oral health equity is included.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Consumer education, Delaware, Health literacy, Meetings, Oral health, Public health education, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Systems development

Annotation: This brochure for consumers focuses on nutrition and oral health. Topics include healthy foods, foods and drinks to avoid, juice recommendations, xylitol, and prevention of tooth decay. The brochure is available in Amharic, Arabic, Burmese, Dari (Afghan Persian), English, Haitian Creole, Karen, Kinyarwanda, Levantine (Arabic), Pashto, Spanish, and Sudanese (Arabic).

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Sweetening agents, Vitamins

Annotation: This video describes qualitative and quantitative research on oral health knowledge and behavior within the Karen refugee community in Minnesota, and how the results were used to target educational oral health topics to Karen leaders, parents, adolescents, and children. The video covers evidence-based oral health topics for the Karen refugee community and strategies for collaboration among oral health professionals, educators, and refugee community leaders.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 4190 Vinewood Lane N, #111-416, Plymouth, MN 55442, Telephone: (763) 381-1701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Minnesota Oral Health Coalition YouTube Channel

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health behavior, Health literacy, Local initiatives, Minnesota, Non English language materials, Oral health, Preventive health services, Public health education, Public private partnerships, Refugees, Research

Annotation: This fact sheet encourages parents and other caregivers to schedule a dental appointment when an infant’s first tooth appears or no later than an infant’s first birthday. The fact sheet also describes the problem of dental caries, what to expect during a dental visit, and how to make the visit a positive experience. Tips on choosing a dentist and how to find an oral health professional are also included.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Disease prevention, Health literacy, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Preventive health services

Annotation: This resource provides information about health insurance coverage, how to obtain it, and how to use it. Topics include enrolling in health insurance, understanding coverage, common terms, free preventive services, the value of health insurance, finding a provider, primary care vs. emergency care, preparing for the first doctor visit and following up, and finding a local clinic. Information about putting health first, screenings for all ages, healthy eating, staying active, quitting smoking, and getting a flu shot is also included. Additional contents include training tools, fact sheets, resources for educators and federally recognized tribal members, information for older and young adults, a video series, and information about getting help in a language other than English.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Consumer health, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health education, Health insurance, Health literacy, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Self care, Training materials

Annotation: These videos and accompanying materials are designed to help health and social service providers and programs introduce families to (1) free national health and medical information resources, (2) the concept of health literacy as a personal asset that can be developed, and (3) a process for using information for health-related problem-solving and action planning. Contents include three 8-10 minute videos, a facilitator's guide, pre- and post-tests, and handouts.

Contact: Center for Health Literacy Promotion, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthliteracypromotion.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Videos, Consumer education materials, Health literacy, Health promotion, Multimedia, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This program is designed to further health literacy collaborations among university disciplines (medicine, nursing, public health, dentistry, pharmacy, and education), community organizations, and others to improve health outcomes. Program services include continuing medical education, patient education materials and patient decision aids, curriculum development, health care system quality improvement, and grant writing assistance. Information about program members, literacy assessment instruments, health communication aids, teaching aids, and a toolkit are available on the website.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research, 725 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, CB# 7590, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (919) 966-5011 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.schsr.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Curriculum development, Health literacy, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Program descriptions, Program improvement, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report identifies the unique needs of immigrant parents across the range of expectations for parent skill, engagement, and leadership sought by early childhood education and care programs, as well as strategies for addressing these needs. Contents include selected demographics of children of immigrants and their parents, factors jeopardizing meaningful engagement, the importance of parent engagement specific to children of immigrants, federal programming, family literacy and dual-generation strategies, and adult education. Research findings and recommendations are also presented.

Contact: Migration Policy Institute, 1400 16th Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 266-1940 Fax: (202) 266-1900 E-mail: http://www.migrationpolicy.org/contact/index.php Web Site: http://www.migrationpolicy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult education, Child care, Early childhood education, Federal programs, Immigrants, Intergenerational programs, Language barriers, Limited English speakers, Literacy education, Low literacy, Parent professional relations, Parent support services, Parents, Research, Young children

Annotation: This series of fact sheets help clinicians, patient advocates, and other stakeholders improve care for individuals with low health literacy. The fact sheets define health literacy; describe ways to identify low health literacy; provide strategies to improve print and oral communication for low-literate consumers; provide information about the intersection of health literacy and culture; and highlight key policies relating to health literacy.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• 6 Fact Sheets In 1 File
• Link

Keywords: Consumer educatio, Cultural factors, Health behavior, Health literacy, Health services delivery, Literacy education, Low literacy, Patient education materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This resource provides a list of eight dental public health competencies and a curriculum to provide predoctoral dental students and dental hygiene students with the necessary foundation of knowledge and skills to meet the needs of the U.S. population. Topics of the courses include principles in dental public health; oral health literacy; ethics; dental public health policy and advocacy; oral health promotion and disease prevention; and evidence-based dentistry. Contents include presentations, instructor guides, syllabi, and other material.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

• The Links To The Individual Courses Direct To A Survey That Will Ask You For Contact Information And Agreement To Terms Of Use And License Agreement.

Keywords: Advocacy, Competency based education, Curriculum development, Dental education, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Health literacy, Health policy, Health promotion, Oral health, Professional education, Professional ethics

Annotation: This poster, which includes text written in simple language, informs women that they need to visit the dentist during pregnancy and take their child to the dentist by the time the child is age 1. A phone number for help finding a dentist in Connecticut is provided. The poster is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infants, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This issue of the Journal of the California Dental Association focuses on oral health literacy. Topics include a national plan to improve health literacy in dentistry; the potential to address oral health literacy in K–12 schools; creating and maintaining health literate dental practices, clinics, and schools; and increasing health literacy for oral cancers among professionals and the public.

Contact: California Dental Association, 1201 K Street, 14th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cda.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Journal Website

Keywords: Dental education, Dentistry, Health literacy, Oral health, Schools, Work force

Annotation: This publication reviews health education theories and definitions, identifies the components of evidence-based health education, and outlines the abilities necessary to engage in effective practice. Topics include the relationship between health education, health promotion, and health literacy; health behavior theories, models, and frameworks; health education planning, implementation, and evaluation; health educator core competencies; and code of ethics for the health education profession.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-92-9021-828-9.

• PDF

Keywords: Competence, Health behavior, Health education, Health educators, Health literacy, Health promotion, Models, Professional ethics, Program evaluation, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Theories

Annotation: This paper identifies barriers to accessing oral health care and presents strategies for improving access to oral health care and oral health. Topics include oral health literacy, psychological factors related to oral health behaviors, preventing oral disease, sociocultural perceptions of oral health, the economics of sustainable oral-health-care delivery, and educating oral health professionals about caring for people with special health care needs.

Contact: Academy of General Dentistry, 560 W. Lake Street, Sixth Floor, Chicago, IL 60661-6600, Telephone: (888) 243-3368 Fax: (312) 335-3443 Web Site: http://www.agd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental education, Financing, Health behavior, Health literacy, Oral health, Perception, Special health care needs

Annotation: This online course discusses the significance of health literacy in the public health profession. It provides practical steps to apply the principles and strategies of health literacy in daily activity. Course contents include an introduction and definition of health literacy; a discussion of why it matters; and applying health literacy to practice, including suggestions on how to improve health literacy, barriers to overcome, guiding principles, planning, evaluation, partnerships, and cultural competence. Sections online also provide resources and a glossary.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Distance education, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Public health, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This guide, which is written in a way that is easy to understand, provides new mothers with practical information and support to help them breastfeed successfully. The guide explains why breastfeeding is healthy for both mothers and infants and how it can benefit society as a whole and discusses how to support a mother's decision to breastfeed. Illustrations are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding: Breastfeeding promotion, Decision making, Educational materials, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Social support, Women', s health

Annotation: This evaluation report summarizes methods, outputs, and outcomes of Phase II (community awareness and education) of the Community Genetics Education Project, a project funded by a Health Resources and Services Administration cooperative agreement with the March of Dimes with the goal of increasing the genetic literacy of African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans, and Pacific Islanders. The report aims to identify overarching challenges, lessons learned, and best practice implications. Specifically, the report (1) summarizes methodologies used in the development of this report, (2) provides an overview of local site interventions, (3) describes the roles of various project partners in Phase II, (4) summarizes common elements of the local evaluations and provides an overview of specific local evaluation designs and methods, (5) summarizes and discusses local evaluation findings, (6) addresses how these findings have been disseminated and discussed, (7) discusses additional Phase II outcomes, (8) details implementation challenges and lessons learned, and (9) summarizes best practice implications.Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Communities, Evaluation, Genetics education, Health literacy, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, Intervention, Outcome and process assessment, Pacific Islanders

Annotation: This report examines the extent of hearing loss among children, settings in which deaf and hard-of-hearing children are educated, factors that help them acquire language and literacy skills, and challenges to providing appropriate interventions for them. Background on the issue is also provided.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children, Children with special health care needs, Deafness, Early childhood education, Education, Hearing disorders, Language development, Literacy, Literacy education

Annotation: This book is written for parents and others caring for adolescents, explaining the body changes occurring at this stage, recognizing signs of trouble, and providing information on when and where to get help. It is written using simple language in an easy-to-read style and is illustrated with drawings that reinforce the information it contains. Section topics include tips on how to deal with emotional and physical changes such as growth and development, self-esteem, friends, school, sports, depression, dating and sex, driving, smoking, alcohol, drugs and safety issues. A glossary and an index are also included.

Contact: Institute for Healthcare Advancement, 501 South Idaho Street, Suite 300, La Habra, CA 90631, Telephone: (562) 690-4001 Secondary Telephone: (800) 434-4633 Fax: (562) 690-8988 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iha4health.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-9701245-2-X.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Consumer education materials, Family school relations, Low literacy materials, Parent child relations, Parenting, Physical development, Safety