Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines racial and ethnic inequities in children's access to developmental services through California's Department of Developmental Services (DDS). It quantifies and evaluates inequities in service access and expenditures and examines the effectiveness of the set of measures developed by DDS to monitor and prevent inequities related to race, culture, and primary language spoken. A summary of findings is provided along with recommendations for legislative improvements that could help eliminate disparities to services for children with developmental disabilities in the state of California.

Contact: Public Counsel , 610 South Ardmore Avenue , Los Angeles, CA 90005, Telephone: (213) 385-2977 Fax: (213) 385-9089 Web Site: https://publiccounsel.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children with developmental disabilities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Racial factors, State legislation

Annotation: This toolkit explains what teledentistry is, helps health professionals navigate the steps to implement teledentistry services in the dental office, and provides additional resources for continued learning. Topics include the case for teledentistry and teledentistry benefits, challenges, components, equipment and supplies, and codes and use cases. Also discussed are workflow development, legal considerations, and best practices.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Legislation, Oral health, Telemedicine

Annotation: This guide provides information for policymakers, state agencies, licensing boards and agencies, oral health and other nonprofit organizations, state governments, and other interested parties in states that have enacted dental therapy legislation and are planning licensing and regulatory efforts. The guide explains what an administrative rule is and offers background information on dental therapy and rulemaking. Also discussed are best practices in dental therapy administrative rulemaking, tribal regulation of dental therapists, and the Model Dental Therapist Rule.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Best practices, Licensing, Oral health, Public policy, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This research brief describes state options and actions that can be taken to extend Medicaid-related pregnancy coverage beyond 60 days postpartum. Included are examples of state legislation and federally-approved waiver requests.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Barriers, Expanded eligibility, Medicaid, Model legislation, Postpartum care, State legislation

Annotation: This website provides a platform for the aging and disability communities to post information and resources about the home and community-based services (HCBS) settings rule and steps each state is making to comply with the rule. Contents include resources, dates and deadlines, documents, news, and other information organized by state. Additional contents include official resources and information from the federal government about the HCBS rule including guidance and a settings requirements and compliance toolkit.

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Compliance, Disabilities, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Information sources, Medicaid, Networking, Public private partnerships, Transition planning

Annotation: This chart provides a list of states in which dental hygienists may provide services in medical settings such as hospitals and medical offices, as well as in public health clinics. For each state, a link to the relevant statute or rule is provided, and a description of the provision is presented.

Contact: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 444 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 3400, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 440-8900 Fax: (312) 440-1806 Web Site: https://www.adha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Health services, Oral health, Regulations, State legislation

Annotation: This Medicaid Policy Cheat Sheet details the importance of family caregivers and reviews legislation that supports this unpaid workforce. The document defines family caregivers and their tasks and lists hardships that family caregivers face as a result of providing care. Recent enacted federal legislation aimed at supporting family caregivers include the Recognize, Assist, Support and Engage (RAISE) Family Caregivers Act (2018) and the American Rescue Plan (2021). Proposed legislation includes the American Families Plan and the American Jobs Plan.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Caregivers, Elder care, Family centered care, Family economics, Federal health insurance programs, Federal legislation, Home care, Medicaid

Annotation: This chart presents a comparison of state teledentistry and telehealth policies to provide a reference to whether a state’s laws and regulations address these topics. The report is intended as a companion to compilations of teledentistry state status and regulations.

Contact: American Dental Education Association, 655 K Steet, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 289-7201 Fax: (202) 289-7204 Web Site: http://www.adea.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Public policy, Regulations, State legislation, Teledentistry, Telehealth

Annotation: This report evaluates health equity across race and ethnicity, both within and between states, to demonstrate how health systems perform for Black, white, Latinx/Hispanic, American Indian/Alaska Native (AIAN), and Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) populations. The report displays data using multiple charts and figures; the data can also be displayed by individual race/ethnic group on its own. The report also recommends policy changes to address disparities in access to health care.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Legislation, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, State programs

Annotation: This report to Congress describes (1) the efforts undertaken by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) between 2017 and 2019 to advance access and quality of care for children and adults enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP); (2) the status of state reporting of the Child and Adult Core Set of healthcare quality measures; and (3) recommendations for legislative changes needed to improve the quality of care in Medicaid and CHIP.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Children', Data, Enrollment, Federal legislation , Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Recommendations, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This issue brief discusses Medicaid’s eligibility for pregnancy and postpartum care, describes gaps in coverage, particularly for low-income women who live in states that have not expanded Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act, and highlights several state and federal efforts to extend postpartum coverage for a longer period of time.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Eligibility, Federal legislation , Health care delivery, Medicaid, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, State initiatives

Annotation: This resource serves as a gateway to key laws aimed at improving health or access to health care. Topics include child restraint systems, dental hygienist scope of practice, distracted driving, overdose prevention, nurse practitioner prescribing, syringe distribution, and traumatic brain injury in youth sports. Visitors can generate maps and tables highlighting select features of a law as it exists today or has changed over time. Visitors can also download summaries of current law or view and download the underlying data, codebooks, and protocols.

Contact: Public Health Law Research, Temple University Beasley School of Law, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://publichealthlawresearch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Databases, Health policy, Health status, Legislation

Annotation: This resource provides information on states with laws on e-cigarettes about these topics: definitions, taxation, product packaging, youth access, and licensing for retail sales. An interactive state map is included.

Contact: Tobacco Control Legal Consortium, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105-3076, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Web Site: http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Licensing, Marketing, Regulations, Smoking, State legislation, Taxes, Tobacco

Annotation: This paper provides information on the benefits of teledentistry and how to make it more accessible. It discusses the impact of not receiving oral health care, new uses of and approaches to teledentistry, potential savings for states from increasing the use of teledentistry, and the promise of teledentistry. What states can do to make it easier for health systems, hospitals, and safety net clinics to adopt teledentistry initiatives is also discussed, including expanding the workforce, updating reimbursement policies, enhancing legal clarity, and making it easier for health professionals to share patient information.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Initiatives, Legislation, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service delivery systems, Teledentistry

Annotation: This report reviews federal and state laws and policies that can enable women to initiate and sustain breastfeeding successfully through the first year of the infant's life. It reviews the effect of health care delivery, insurance coverage, paid parental leave, workplace and child care policies, and legal protections for breastfeeding in public spaces. It also considers integration of breastfeeding into existing public health and assistance programs. The report concludes with a review of emerging trends and research needs informing future efforts to enable breastfeeding, thereby improving health across 2 generations.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based practice, Federal legislation, Federal programs, Research, State legislation, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information to increase awareness about the role law and policy play in improving oral health and focuses on state, tribal, and local settings. Topics include financing oral health care, the government’s role in the oral health workforce, challenges in accessing available oral health care, recommendations for additional research, and emerging trends and issues.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Background Information On Report

Keywords: Government role, Laws, Local government, Oral health, Public policy, Regulations, State legislation

Annotation: This survey provides a summary of the statutes and regulations related to water fluoridation in each U.S. state and select jurisdictions. For each state, the names of the statute and regulation (where available) are included.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluoride, Oral health, Regulation, State legislation

Annotation: This toolkit includes a fact sheet on dental therapy, a timeline showing how dental therapy has evolved in the United States, and a map showing where dental therapists are working or authorized and where legislation is being considered. A graphic on expanding the oral health care team and one-pagers about the importance and cost-effectiveness of dental therapy are included. The toolkit also includes several spotlights on dental therapists. Many of the topics are presented as stand-alone documents.

Contact: WKKF, One Michigan Avenue, East, Battle Creek, MI 49017-4012, Telephone: (269) 968-1611 Fax: (269) 968-0413 Web Site: http://www.wkkf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Legislation, Access to health care, Cost effectiveness, Dental care, Health care delivery, Oral health

Annotation: This guide provides information about teledentistry by state. It discusses types of teledentistry use (e.g., patient live video consultations, patient and health professional messaging) and includes the following questions and answers for each state: (1) does the state allow for direct access to dental hygiene services, (2) does the state allow dental assistants to participate in teledentistry services, (3) how does the state define teledentistry, (4) is it possible to be reimbursed for teledentistry services, and (5) does the state provide a parity law related to teledentistry.

Contact: Mouthwatch, 460 Main Street, Suite B, Metuchen, NJ 08840, Telephone: (877) 544-4342 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mouthwatch.com/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Legislation, Oral health, Reimbursement, State information, Teledentistry

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation