Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper describes the organization's desired policy reforms regarding issues of pay equality and discrimination of women in the workplace, women's access to high quality child care, the retirement and tax system role in creating economic security for women and their families, accessible, comprehensive care for women, equal opportunity for education, and the equality of rights for women at all levels.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Legal issues, Proposed legislation, Public policy, Reform, Women', Women', s rights, s studies

Annotation: This report provides a review of the empirical research to date on the effects physical punishment has on children. The report synthesizes 100 years of social science research and hundreds of published studies on physical punishment. The report defines physical punishment and discusses its prevalence in the United States and the status of Americans' approval for it, when it is likely to be used, research, effects on child behavior, risks, cultural perspectives, the legal status of physical punishment in the United States, human rights, and countries that have banned physical punishment.

Contact: Center for Effective Discipline, 327 Groveport Pike, Canal Winchester, OH 43110, Telephone: (614) 834-7946 Fax: (614) 321-6308 Web Site: http://www.stophitting.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child behavior, Children', Corporal punishment, Cultural factors, Discipline, Families, Human rights, Legal issues, Mental health, Research, s rights

Annotation: This reference covers traditional public health responsibilities--assessing the burden of disease, preventing and controlling health threats, and developing policies and constituencies to improve health--in a contemporary framework that reflects the ongoing transition from a public to a population health perspective. Topics include the basics of administration including organizational design law, human resources, budgeting and financing, marketing, and communications; newly defined and emerging areas such as health information management, geographic information systems, performance measurement and improvement, ethics, leadership, and community partnerships; and effective managerial decision-making.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Administration, Assessment, Communications, Decision making, Ethics, Financing, Information systems, Leadership, Legal issues, Management, Measures, Planning, Prevention, Public health programs, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This document provides an annotated list of Medicaid dental provider participation cases focusing on (1) the "reasonable promptness" requirement, (2) the "equal access" requirement, and (3) the "Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment program requirement." The list includes 27 cases from 21 jurisdictions.

Contact: National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office, 1512 E. Franklin St., Suite 110, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Telephone: (919) 968-6308 Fax: (919) 968-8855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Legal issues, Medicaid, Oral health, Provider participation

Annotation: This toolkit for health professionals focuses on the public health challenges of clandestine methamphetamine laboratories (meth labs). The content is presented in two parts. The first part contains a primer on meth and clandestine meth labs, information sheets on different segments of the population affected by meth, a community action guide, and a resource directory. The second part contains information on acute meth lab exposures and toxicity, evaluation of children exposed to meth labs, and environmental considerations in cleaning up meth labs. The toolkit is available as an electronic document or on CD-ROM.

Contact: Society for Public Health Education, 10 G Street, N.E., Suite 605, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-9804 Fax: (202) 408-9815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sophe.org Available from the website; also available on CD-ROM.

• Link

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Child health, Children, Environmental exposure, Guidelines, Illicit drugs, Laboratories, Legal issues, Methamphetamines, Oral health, Public health, Toxicology

Annotation: This textbook provides prehospital medical information for the emergency care of infants and children. The textbook presents medical content using special features and an interactive course. Features include learning objectives, case studies, tips, and key terms, among others. Topics covered include pediatric assessment, using a developmental approach, respiratory emergencies, cardiovascular emergencies, medical emergencies, trauma, toxic emergencies, children in disasters, emergency delivery and newborn stabilization, children with special health care needs, sudden infant death syndrome, child maltreatment, medicolegal and ethical considerations, transportation considerations, and making a difference.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0763726540.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Legal issues, Child health, Child maltreatment, Childbirth, Disasters, Emergency medical care, Infant health, Medical ethics, Newborn infants, SIDS, Training, Trauma

Annotation: This book provides information about injury and violence prevention, drawing on many scientific disciplines and public health practice experiences. Topics include injury prevention and behavior; individual-level behavior change models and applications to injury problems; the application of social cognitive theory to injury prevention; community models and approaches for interventions; health risk communication and injury prevention; ecological models for the prevention and control of unintentional injury; planning models; study methods for understanding injury behavior; intervention research and program evaluation; behavior change interventions in road safety; modifying alcohol use to reduce motor vehicle injury; behavioral considerations for sports and recreational injuries in children and youth; house fires and other unintentional home injuries; occupational injury prevention and applied behavior analysis; intimate partner violence; applying behavioral theory to self-directed violence; youth violence prevention theory and practice; supervision as a behavioral approach to reducing child-injury risk; reducing posttraumatic stress after individual and mass trauma; law, behavior, and injury prevention; human factors in product and environmental design for injury control; and future directions in behavioral sciences, injury, and violence prevention.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com

Keywords: Behavior modification, Behavioral sciences, Communication, Health behavior, Injuries, Injury prevention, Interdisciplinary approach, Intervention, Legal issues, Methods, Models, Program evaluation, Program planning, Research, Theories, Trauma, Violence prevention

Annotation: This final report describes the Expanded Newborn Screening Using Tandem Mass Spectrometry: Financial, Ethical, Legal, and Social Issues Project during the period June 1, 2001, through August 31, 2005. This multi-state, collaborative project was designed to research, identify strategies, and develop materials for addressing the financial, ethical, legal,and social issues surrounding the use of tandem mass spectrometry for neonatal metabolic screening of culturally and ethnically diverse populations. Participating states included Hawaii, California, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The final report is divided into the following sections: (1) overview, (2) collaboration, (3) experiences to date, (4) dissemination of materials, (5) copies of publications and other materials, and (6) next steps. The report also includes seven appendices: (1) educational activities (development), (2) educational activities (products), (3) financial, ethical, legal, and social issues, (4) parent fact sheets, (5) professional fact sheets, (6) information dissemination, and (7) Web site. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Department of Health, Genetics Program, 741 Sunset Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816, Telephone: (808) 733-9055 Fax: (808) 733-9068 Web Site: http://www.hawaiigenetics.org

Keywords: California, Cultural diversity, Ethics, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Financing, Hawaii, Idaho, Legal issues, Neonatal screening, Oregon, Social factors, Washington

Annotation: This policy brief and report discuss issues related to developing a coherent policy on paternity establishment for children born to underage parents. The report provides an overview of paternity establishment; discusses paternity establishment and minor parents; discusses what research reveals about adolescents, sex, and babies; and offers conclusions and recommendations. Some information is presented in tables grouped at the end of the report. The report also includes endnotes.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent sexuality, Children, Infants, Legal issues, Paternity, Public policy

Annotation: This booklet, geared toward parents of children with special health care needs, provides information on how to begin the estate planning process, how to make the most of government benefits, and how to enhance the family's life. It includes information on finding a lawyer or estate planner, wills, special-needs trusts, government benefits, savings options, insurance plans, and other available resources. A list of resources is also included. The booklet concludes with a resources list and acknowledgments.

Contact: Easter Seals, 233 South Wacker Drive, Suite 2400, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 726-6200 Secondary Telephone: (312) 726-4258 Fax: (312) 726-1494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.easterseals.com Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Economic factors, Estate planning, Financial planning, Legal issues, Parents

Annotation: This compendium includes selected resources and abstracts on the following topics: (1) general newborn screening; (2) biotinidase deficiency, (2) congenital adrenal hyperplasia, (3) congenital hypothyroidism, (4) cystic fibrosis, (5) drug exposure, (6) galactosemia, (7) hearing screening, (8) hemoglobinapathies, (9) HIV, (10) medium chain co-A dehydrogenase deficiency, (11) phenylketonuria. Additional resources are provided on newborn screening policy; ethical, legal, and social issues; costs and financing of screening newborns; laboratory analysis; research and new technologies; and treatment and management. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

Keywords: Biotinidase deficiency, Congenital adrenal hyperplasia, Congenital hypothyroidism, Cystic fibrosis, Drug affected infants, EPSDT, Ethics, Financing, Galactosemia, HIV, Hearing screening, Hemoglobinopathies, Laboratories, Legal issues, Management, Neonatal screening, Phenylketonuria, Research, Technology

Annotation: This book is written for parents of children who have suffered traumatic brain injury (TBI) to help them navigate the medical and educational systems and to find additional information and support for the family and the child. Chapter topics include defining TBI; rehabilitation and medical concerns; coping as a family; helping the child adjust; how TBI affects learning and thinking, speech and language, and behavior; strategies for managing behavior; the educational needs of children with TBI; and legal issues for families. An appendix provides scales used to assess patients with TBI. The book also contains a glossary, reading list, resource guide, notes, and an index.

Contact: Woodbine House, 6510 Bells Mill Road, Bethesda, MD 20817, Telephone: (800) 843-7323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.woodbinehouse.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-933149-99-9.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Child development, Child health, Coping, Disability assessment, Family support, Legal issues, Rehabilitation, Trauma

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to serve as a bridge between primary care and genetics. The curriculum includes modules focusing on the following eight areas: (1) breast/ovarian cancer, (2) cardiovascular disease, (3) colorectal cancer, (4) congenital hearing loss, (5) dementia, (6) developmental delay, (7) iron overload, and (8) ethical, legal, and social issues. Each module includes teaching cases with questions and discussion to illustrate genetic themes and diagnoses. Each module also includes references to key documents and useful Web sites for additional background information. An overview of the Genetics in Primary Care (GPC) program and a list of its members from 1998-2001 are provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 1912 West Anderson Lane, Suite 210, Austin, TX 78757, Telephone: (512) 454-6419 Fax: (512) 454-6509 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cardiovascular disease, Colon cancer, Curricula, Developmental disabilities, Ethics, Genetics, Hearing disorders, Iron overload diseases, Legal issues, Mental disorders, Ovarian cancer, Primary care, Professional education materials

Annotation: This document presents a statement of public health law competencies developed with support from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in collaboration with the Public Health Foundation. Most of the information is presented in tabular form and outlines proposed competencies for front line, senior level, supervisory, and management level staffs, as well as health officials and governance boards. Information categories include general public health powers, regulatory authority and administrative law, ascertaining authority and obtaining legal advice, law and public health services and functions, legal actions, legal limitations, and personnel and contracts law.

Contact: Center for Law and the Public's Health at Georgetown and Johns Hopkins Universities, Hampton House, Room 588, 624 North Broadway, Baltimore, MD 21205-1996, Telephone: (410) 955-7624 Secondary Telephone: (202) 662-9408 Fax: (410) 614-9055 E-mail: [email protected]. Web Site: http://www.publichealthlaw.net Available from the website.

• Link
• 2016 Version

Keywords: Competency-based education, Legal issues, Legal responsibility, Patient rights, Personnel, Professional training, Public health, Public health services, Regulations

Annotation: This report is a summary of an extensive review of more than 3,000 research articles and other materials in the field of mental health. Chapter 1 is an overview of the themes in the report and includes copies of the conclusions from the chapters that follow. Chapter 2 is titled the Fundamentals of Mental Health and Mental Illness. It discusses the structure of the brain, the etiology and epidemiology of mental illness, physical and psychological development, risk factors and prevention, mental health services, and cultural diversity as a factor in treatment and response. Chapter 3 is about children and mental health. It examines normal development, risk factors and prevention, mental disorders in children, and health service delivery. Chapter 4 discusses adults and mental health, and chapter 5 focuses on older adults. The topic of Chapter 6 is organizing and financing mental health services. Chapter 7 deals with ethical, legal, and policy issues in the confidentiality of mental health information. Chapter 8 proposes broad courses of action to remove barriers that prevent people from obtaining mental health treatment.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-1605-9001-9.

• Full Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Attitudes, Children, Confidentiality, Cultural diversity, Epidemiology, Ethics, Etiology, Health care financing, Legal issues, Mental disorders, Mental health, Mental health services, Models, Older adults, Physical development, Prevention, Psychological development, Public opinion, Reports, Risk factors, Service delivery

Annotation: This book focuses on women's health promotion in five areas: recognition of women's voices and perspectives on theoretical and methodological implications in medical research; women workers in health and social services agencies; women with disabilities; immigrant, refugee, and minority women; and women's issues across the lifespan. Topics include research in promoting women's health issues and treatment, by applying a feminist participatory framework within academic communities nationwide. Topics include medical, social and cultural factors encountered by women across social, ethnic, and economic level in society and the workforce.

Contact: Canadian Scholars' Press Inc., 180 Bloor Street West, Suite 801, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S 2V6, Telephone: (416) 929-2774 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cspi.org/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55130-152-0.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Case studies, Consumer education materials, Cultural factors, Disabilities, Feminism, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Legal issues, Life cycle, Mental health, Skin cancer, Social factors, Sun exposure, Violence, Women', Working women, s health

Annotation: This report provides a revision and update of Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) 4, published in 1993 in a series of best practices guidelines to help treatment providers design and deliver better services to adolescent clients with substance abuse disorders. Chapter topics include: substance use among adolescents; tailoring treatment to the adolescent's problem; general program characteristics; twelve-step based program; therapeutic communities; family therapy; youth with distinctive treatment needs; and legal and ethical issues. Three appendices are also included: (1) bibliography; (2) medical management of drug intoxication and withdrawal; and (3) field reviewers. Program information and statistics are provided in figures throughout the report.

Contact: National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information, Telephone: (800) 729-6686 Secondary Telephone: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (SMA) 99-3345.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Ethics, Family therapy, Health personnel, High risk adolescents, Legal issues, Mental health, Program descriptions, Protocols, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance abusers, Substance use screening, Substance withdrawal syndrome, Therapeutic programs

Annotation: The goal of these guidelines is to lower the number of adolescent pregnancies through multidirectional and multifaceted solutions. The contents discusses the Healthy People 2000 and Nebraska Year 2000 goals and objectives, national and State of Nebraska facts, Nebraska Department of Health issues and recommendations, cultural competency, prevention strategies, strategies used in Nebraska, the role of the school nurse, and legal issues impacting adolescents. Key participants are listed along with an annotated list of resources and current reading list. The appendices include supporting data and documentation cross-referenced to the text.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Bibliographies, Cultural sensitivity, Guidelines, Healthy People 2000, Legal issues, Nebraska, Prevention, School nurses

Annotation: This two volume report presents the results of a study that examined the Medicaid managed care contracts of 37 states to assess the structure and content of those contracts and to extrapolate the key issues affecting Medicaid managed care. Volume 1 presents the findings of the study and makes recommendations for future policies. It focuses on these topics: the transformation of Medicaid to Medicaid managed care, the shift from the government as insurer to managed care purchaser, and the legal issues involved. It also considers issues related to the definition of the managed care service system, the process of developing contract language to achieve the administrative requirements, the relationship of Medicaid managed care with the overall health care system including public health, and the adoption of certain business concepts and the creation of the business relationships necessary to deliver services. Volume 2 of this report contains the detailed analyses of each state contract.

Contact: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Contact Phone: (202) 296-6922 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/projects/center-health-policy-research $25.00, v. 1; $100.00, v. 2; includes shipping and handling; prepayment required; make checks payable to Center for Health Policy Research/GWU.

• PDF

Keywords: Contract services, Decentralization, Government role, Health care reform, Health care systems, Legal issues, Medicaid managed care, Policy development, Public policy, State initiatives, Trends

Annotation: This textbook is a collection of essays, poetry, personal reflections, and case histories on racism and sexism in the United States. Sections focus on the legal issues, socioeconomic factors, and cultural stereotypes that perpetuate discrimination in this country.

Contact: St. Martin's Press, 175 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (646) 307-5151 Contact Phone: (800) 221-7945, ext. 346 Fax: (212) 674-6132 Web Site: http://us.macmillan.com/SMP.aspx $19.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-312-09652-6.

Keywords: Gender bias, Legal issues, Legislation, Race, Social factors, Textbooks