Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website provides information about the 2010 Newborn Screening and Genetic Testing Symposium held in Orlando, Florida, on May 3-6, 2010. The symposium brought together almost 400 laboratories, follow-up professionals, and metabolic specialists from around the world. The site presents the symposium schedule and provides links for presentations that have been authorized for posting. Meeting session topics included health information technology, education, program quality improvement, laboratory quality improvement, international perspectives, old conditions, new information, and candidate conditions.

Contact: Association of Public Health Laboratories, 8515 Georgia Avenue, Suite 700 , Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-2745 Secondary Telephone: (240) 485-2747 Fax: (240) 485-2700 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aphl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Education, Genetic testing, Health, Information, Laboratory techniques, Neonatal screening, Programs, Technology

Annotation: These presentation slides outline the roles doulas can play in understanding the need for better birth outcomes, the doula/client relationship and its impact on birth, the doula's role within a hospital's healthcare team, and financial considerations and funding opportunities.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Labor, Maternal health, Patient care teams, Pregnancy, Social support

Annotation: This brochure provides information to help pregnant women make informed choice about whether to have labor induced for non-medical reasons. The brochure explains what elective induction is, reviews possible problems, and discusses what is not yet known about elective induction. Topics also include why women might and might not want to induce labor, changes during labor, when it is not safe to induce labor, and Cesarean section. Things for pregnant woman to think about and questions for them to ask their doctor or midwife are also included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 10-EHC004-A (English); 10-EHC004-B (Spanish) .

• English Version (2009)
• Spanish Version (2010)

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Consumer education materials, Induced labor, Pregnant women, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward consumers, presents highlights from the Maternity Experiences Survey, a large Canadian survey conducted in 2006 and 2007 to learn about the experiences of Canadian women with pregnancy, labor and birth, and the early months of motherhood. The booklet also discusses recent research and recommendations. Topics include pregnancy, labor and birth, and after the baby is born. Resources for more information are provided.

Contact: Public Health Agency of Canada, 130 Colonnade Road, A.L. 6501H, Ottowa, Ontario, CANADA K1A 0K9, E-mail: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/contac-eng.php#general Web Site: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-100-11861-1.

• PDF

Keywords: , Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Labor, Mothers, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information from the Maternity Experiences Survey (MES), a large Canadian survey conducted in 2006 and 2007 to learn about the experiences of Canadian women. The report presents findings on all major topics covered by the MES, grouped into three chapters covering pregnancy, labor and birth, and postpartum. Findings by maternal age, maternal education, parity (i.e., primiparous or multiparous), type of birth (i.e., vaginal or cesarean) and household income level (i.e., at or below vs. above the low income cut-off) are also presented.

Contact: Public Health Agency of Canada, 130 Colonnade Road, A.L. 6501H, Ottowa, Ontario, CANADA K1A 0K9, E-mail: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/contac-eng.php#general Web Site: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-100-10828-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Infant health, Labor, Mothers, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about the outcomes of elective induction of labor. The report discusses four key questions: (1) what evidence describes the maternal risks of elective induction vs. expectant management?, (2) what evidence describes the fetal/neonatal risks of elective induction vs. expectant management?, (3) what is the evidence that certain physical conditions/patient characteristics are predictive of a successful induction of labor?, and (4) how is a failed induction defined? Methods, results, and conclusions are provided.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 09-E005.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Induced labor, Infant health, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide for clinicians summarizes clinical evidence comparing the safety of elective induction of labor at term with expectant management (waiting for spontaneous labor in a term pregnancy). The guide offers information about maternal and fetal outcomes when elective induction of labor is used and discusses the potential for harms and benefits. It does not address induction of labor for medical indications, nor does it compare the effectiveness of different labor induction methods. The source material for the guide is based on a systematic review of research studies published between 1964 and 2007.

Contact: AHRQ Publications Clearinghouse, U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, P.O. Box 8547, Silver Spring, MD 20907-8547, Telephone: (800) 358-9295 Secondary Telephone: (888) 586-6340 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov/news/pubcat/pubcat.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. no. 10-EHC004-3.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Induced labor, Infant health, Pregnancy outcome, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: These recommendations provide guidelines on perinatal systems that are consistent with the Guidelines for Perinatal Care, 6th edition, issued in 2007 by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Guidelines are provided in the following areas: organization, obstetrical unit capabilities, neonatal unit capabilities, obstetric personnel, pediatric personnel, other personnel, laboratory, diagnostic imaging capabilities, equipment, medications, and education program.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Office of Family and Community Health Services, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201-2399, Secondary Telephone: (800) 456-8900 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: http://phpa.dhmh.maryland.gov/mch/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Diagnostic imaging, Diagnostic techniques, Education, Guidelines, Health care systems, Laboratories, Neonatal intensive care units, Obstetrical care, Pediatrics, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Standards

Annotation: This supplemental issue of the Journal of Perinatal Education focuses on the Coalition for Improving Maternity Services' initiative for improving maternity services and promoting normal birth. It describes principles underlying the Mother-Friendly Childbirth Initiatives, identifies the ten steps of Mother-Friendly Care and the evidence basis for the ten steps in separately authored articles. The appendix includes an article discussing the rationales and systematic reviews of both home birth and freestanding birth centers. Additional discussion and commentary is provided.

Contact: Lamaze International, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036 , Telephone: (202) 367-1128 Secondary Telephone: (800) 368-4404 Fax: (202) 367-2128 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lamaze.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alternative birth styles, Birthing centers, Consumer satisfaction, Delivery rooms, Health services delivery, Home childbirth, Labor, Mothers, Physician patient relations, Pregnancy

Annotation: This books assesses the problem of preterm birth in the United States with respect to both its causes and outcomes. It addresses the need for research involving clinical, basic, behavioral, and social science disciplines. It is organized into sections including a summary of preterm birth in America, measurement of fetal and infant maturity, causes of preterm birth, diagnosis and treatment of preterm labor, consequences of preterm birth, and research and policy. Each section contains recommendations. References are provided and appendices include data sources and methods, several essays on prematurity and geographic variation, ethical issues, costs associated with preterm birth, and slected programs funding research. Biographies for the authoring committee and staff are provided along with an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-10159-X; ISBN 13: 978-0-309-10159-2.

Keywords: Infant health, MCH research, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Premature infants, Premature labor, Prematurity, Prenatal diagnosis, Prenatal health, Preterm birth

Annotation: This report quantifies the overall costs of health care services for having a baby, including all prenatal care services, delivery-related services, and postpartum services for the mother. To quantify these costs, the authors analyzed health care claims data for a large group of individuals with employer-sponsored health insurance to understand health spending on maternity-related professional service, hospitalization, laboratory, imaging, drugs, and out-of-pocket costs. The report provides an overview of the study methodology, including a description of the data sources, a definition of the study population, the process used to identify maternity-related services, the analyses that were conducted, and results. An abstract is included. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Costs, Diagnostic imaging, Hospitalization, Laboratories, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prescription drugs, Research

Annotation: This report compares out-of-pocket maternity care costs under 12 consumer-driven health plans (CDHPs) from the group and individual markets to the costs under a traditional health insurance plan. The report discusses the costs of maternity care, the features of private health insurance affecting maternity coverage, and the issues raised by the development of CDHPs. The report, which includes an executive summary, contains the following sections: (1) how does health insurance cover pregnancy?, (2) what are CDHPs?, (3) what does a typical pregnancy cost?, (4) how does maternity coverage under CDHPs compare to traditional insurance?, and (5) CDHP information resources to support consumer decision-making. A conclusion and endnotes are included. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report as well as in several appendix tables.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cesarean section, Costs, Health insurance, Labor complications, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Vaginal birth

Annotation: This toolkit for health professionals focuses on the public health challenges of clandestine methamphetamine laboratories (meth labs). The content is presented in two parts. The first part contains a primer on meth and clandestine meth labs, information sheets on different segments of the population affected by meth, a community action guide, and a resource directory. The second part contains information on acute meth lab exposures and toxicity, evaluation of children exposed to meth labs, and environmental considerations in cleaning up meth labs. The toolkit is available as an electronic document or on CD-ROM.

Contact: Society for Public Health Education, 10 G Street, N.E., Suite 605, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-9804 Fax: (202) 408-9815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sophe.org Available from the website; also available on CD-ROM.

• Link

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Child health, Children, Environmental exposure, Guidelines, Illicit drugs, Laboratories, Legal issues, Methamphetamines, Oral health, Public health, Toxicology

Annotation: This self-care guide has two parts: one providing information about pregnancy, labor, and delivery and the other about health problems and common complaints during pregnancy. The sections present the problem or complaint, list the causes, list the treatments, present a list of questions to ask when visiting a health care provider, list symptoms when a health care provider should be called, and list self care tips. The guide ends with a glossary of necessary terms. It is illustrated with drawings.

Contact: American Institute for Preventive Medicine, 30445 Northwestern Highway, Suite 350, Farmington Hills, MI 48334-3102 , Telephone: (800) 345-2476 Secondary Telephone: (810) 539-1800 Fax: (810) 539-1808 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthylife.com/ $5.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Childbirth, Exercise, Labor, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Prenatal development, Prenatal education, Therapeutics

Annotation: This binder includes information about diethylstilbestrol (DES), a synthetic estrogen prescribed from 1938 to 1971 to women who experienced miscarriages or premature deliveries, and which was later discovered to pose a risk to women prescribed DES while pregnant and to both women and men exposed to DES in the womb. The binder provides information about what is known about DES, what is being learned about DES, and what can be done about DES. Additional resources are provided, as well.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, DES Update, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MS E-29, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/DES Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Diethylstilbestrol, Estrogens, Men', Pregnancy, Premature labor, Resource materials, Teratogens, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This report focuses on the problem of prematurity in the growing U.S. Hispanic population. It provides baseline data to inform outreach efforts and educational programs to the Hispanic community, identified as Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Central and South American. Topics include the problem of preterm birth, population growth and births among Hispanics, disparities in preterm birth, and a future profile of preterm birth among Hispanics. Statistical data are available in graphs, tables, and charts throughout the report. References are provided

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Pregnant women, Premature infants, Premature labor, Preterm birth, Racial factors, Research, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This resource guide, written for health practitioners, public health departments, academic centers, and libraries, contains information about women's perinatal health care issues of various cultures including African American, Amish (Old Order), Cambodian, Chinese, Cuban, Hmong, Jamaican, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Mexican, Mormon, Native American, Pakistani, and Seventh-Day Adventist. Each section contains information and history about the culture, health and illness, pregnancy and prenatal care, labor and delivery, postpartum and newborn care, family planning, death and burial rites, and perinatal health care issues highlighted for each of these topics, and references. Charts offered in the preface provide statistical data on infant mortality and recommended standards. The guide concludes with an index.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-58110-097-3.

Keywords: Childbirth, Cultural diversity, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Family planning, Infant death, Labor, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Religion

Annotation: This book summarizes a workshop convened on October 2-3, 2001, to look at issues surrounding the impact of environmental exposure on the fetus in the uterus, risks of premature birth, as well as child health and well-being throughout life. In addition the role of social and behavioral factors such as stress, anxiety, depression, drug use, alcohol use, and tobacco smoking is discussed. Chapters include: (1) preterm birth and its consequences, (2) labor and delivery, (3) preterm birth and a brief summary of biological pathways, (4) preterm birth and gene-environment interactions, (5) the social implications of preterm birth, and (6) future directions for research. The book also contains abstracts of 18 relevant articles and references. Three appendices contain the workshop agenda, a list of speakers and panelists, and a list of workshop participants.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09065-2.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Conferences, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Genes, Labor, Maternal fetal exchange, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Research, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This two-part report highlights issues relating to state public health laboratories and fetal alcohol syndrome. Part one is a consensus report by the Association of Public Health Laboratories that discusses the core functions and capabilities of state public health laboratories in assessing and improving laboratory activities in a first step in establishing best laboratory practices. The second part of the report outlines the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and Fetal Alcohol Effect recommendations on the need to develop effective strategies for both children with fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS) or other prenatal alcohol-related effects and for women at high risk for having an alcohol-exposed pregnancy. Each part contains background information, an outline of recommendations, and references.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol syndrome, High risk infants, High risk mothers, Laboratories, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance

Annotation: This compendium includes selected resources and abstracts on the following topics: (1) general newborn screening; (2) biotinidase deficiency, (2) congenital adrenal hyperplasia, (3) congenital hypothyroidism, (4) cystic fibrosis, (5) drug exposure, (6) galactosemia, (7) hearing screening, (8) hemoglobinapathies, (9) HIV, (10) medium chain co-A dehydrogenase deficiency, (11) phenylketonuria. Additional resources are provided on newborn screening policy; ethical, legal, and social issues; costs and financing of screening newborns; laboratory analysis; research and new technologies; and treatment and management. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

Keywords: Biotinidase deficiency, Congenital adrenal hyperplasia, Congenital hypothyroidism, Cystic fibrosis, Drug affected infants, EPSDT, Ethics, Financing, Galactosemia, HIV, Hearing screening, Hemoglobinopathies, Laboratories, Legal issues, Management, Neonatal screening, Phenylketonuria, Research, Technology