Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This booklet highlights the services and research activities of 9 member countries of SIDS International (and one non-member country, Ireland). Programs listed are (1) Canadian Foundation for the Study of Infant Deaths (CFSID), (2) SIDS and KIDS/National SIDS Council of Australia, (3) Foundation for the Study of Infant Deaths-UK (FSID), (4) SIDS Family Association of Japan (SIDSFAJ), (5) Irish Sudden Infant Death Association (ISIDA), (6) Scottish Cot Death Trust, (7) SIDS International (SIDSI), (8) International Stillbirth Alliance (ISA), and (9) the International Society for the Study and Prevention of Infant Death (ISPID). Information is provided for each of the programs including a short description, projects and activities, and contact information. Additional information is provided for other members of SIDS International and other international contacts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Australia, Canada, International organizations, International programs, Ireland, Japan, Program descriptions, SIDS, Scotland, United Kingdom

Annotation: This report, presented in Panama City, Panama, on June 3, 2007, by the ministers and secretaries of Health of the Americas, lists health priorities that Pan-American governments propose to tackle over the next decade. The report includes a statement of intent, principles and values, a situation analysis and description of health trends in the Americas, and areas of action. Endnotes and references are included. The document is available in English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Contact: Pan American Health Organization, 525 23rd Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 974-3000 Web Site: http://new.paho.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Central America, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Health planning, International health, International programs, Latin America, Non English language materials, Racial factors, South America, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report addresses concerns voiced by donors and policymakers in the field of internationl development about the ability of vulnerable communities with high infant mortality rates to develop and implement culturally appropriate solutions to improve the health of mothers and newborns, using community mobilization as a primary strategy. The report presents the results of an extensive review of articles in peer-reviewed publications, journals, and books on community mobilization, maternal and newborn health, and related subjects. The report also covers gray literature and project documents from organizations working in community mobilization in the field and reports on intervews with program implementers and donors.The report explains what community mobilization is, provides a rationale for investing in community mobilization and discusses whether communithy mobilization can be successful scaled up, and provides recommendations for donors and policymakers. Examples of successful programs in several countries are given. A conclusion, references, and a bibliography are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Ronald Reagan Building, Washington, DC 20523-1000, Telephone: (202) 712-4810 Fax: (202) 216-3524 Web Site: http://www.usaid.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community participation, Community programs, Cultural competence, Financing, Infant health, Infant mortality, International health, Literature reviews, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Public policy, Women', s health

Annotation: This book provides a variety of theoretical frameworks within which health professionals and others dedicated to improving the health of adolescents may design mechanisms to stimulate the development of healthy lifestyle choices for adolescents. The book is divided into four main sections. Section 1 provides an overview of adolescent lifestyles in Latin America and the Caribbean (which is the principal focus of technical cooperation activities of the Pan American Health Organization). Section 2 analyzes the most prominent theories and models of behavior change and health promotion in use with a developmental perspective. Section 3 underscores the importance of understanding the different developmental processes through which adolescents pass and how this progression must serve as the context within which any given theoretical framework is applied. Section 4 synthesizes the content of the preceding three sections and highlights the book's contributions, particularly its emphasis on early intervention during the preadolescent and early adolescent years and on the incorporation of a growth and development perspective in the creation of adolescent health promotion programs.

Contact: Pan American Health Organization, 525 23rd Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 974-3000 Web Site: http://new.paho.org Print copy available from the publisher. Document Number: ISBN 92-75-11594-X-4.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Behavior modification, Health programs, Health promotion, International health, Latin America, Models, Theories, Youth, Youth development

Annotation: This guide describes the necessary steps to plan, implement, and evaluate a program to train youth to teach their peers about sexual and reproductive health (SRH). The guide contains adaptable tools to support program activities, as well as examples of SRH projects from International Planned Parenthood Federation World Hemisphere Region member associations in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Contact: International Planned Parenthood Federation, Western Hemisphere Region, 120 Wall Street, Ninth Floor , New York, NY 10005-3902, Telephone: (212) 248-6400 Fax: (212) 248-4221 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ippfwhr.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Evaluation, International programs, Peer education, Program planning, Reproductive health, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Youth

Annotation: This paper reviews the economic and epidemiological literature on disparities in health and health care systems and considers the question of how to define "essential" health. Literature is reviewed from the United States and international journals and included topics such as access to health care, overall well-being, inequalities due to economic or health status, the role of international organizations in providing care to disadvantaged patients, environmental factors, and methods of health care delivery. The paper also includes a discussion of the policy implications of analysis findings and a list of endnotes.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health, Health care systems, International health, International programs, Low income groups, Public policy, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This manual is designed to help program managers systematically implement evidence-based standards that will have the greatest effect on newborn health in their setting. Topics include newborn health as a priority, using information for decision-making for newborn programming, a step-by-step approach to the program management cycle, and what to do to improve newborn health (interventions and lessons learned).

Contact: CARE USA, P.O. Box 7039, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (404) 681-2552 Secondary Telephone: (800) 521-CARE Fax: (404) 577-5977 E-mail: http://www.care.org/feedback Web Site: http://www.care.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Infant mortality, International health, MCH programs, Newborn infants, Program development, Program management

Annotation: This paper provides a brief overview of 13 international surveys that can be used to support work in comparative research on children and youth, and in the development of internationally comparable indicators of well-being. Each overview includes a basic description of the survey; participating countries; the types of measures collected; how to access the data for analysis; how the surveys are funded; and contact information. Surveys are grouped according to their emphasis in health, education, income/employment/demographics, and a separate section for general surveys. It was funded by the National Institute for Child Health and Human Development Family and Child Research Network.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org $15.00, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Data sources, Demography, Developing countries, Education, Employment, Family income, Information sources, International programs, Research, Resources for professionals, Statistics, Surveys, Young adults

Annotation: This issue of "The Future of Children" focuses on the daily care of the nation's youngest children -- those between birth and age three. The articles discuss the developmental needs of infants and toddlers, review the findings of recent child care studies, examine public opinion surveys, summarize the ways in which employers and governments try to help parents with infants to manage employment and caregiving, and describe recent innovations that seek to improve the care that these most vulnerable children receive. Case studies provide information on family and medical leave, child care within the family, military child care, Early Head Start for Low-Income Families, the Starting Points initiative, and a program in California.

Contact: David and Lucile Packard Foundation, 343 Second Street, Los Altos, CA 94022, Telephone: (650) 948-7658 E-mail: https://www.packard.org/contact-us Web Site: https://www.packard.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infants, California, Case studies, Child care, Child care services, Child development, Early Head Start, Employer initiatives, Family leave, Federal initiatives, International programs, Military, Program descriptions, Public opinion, Public private partnerships, State programs, Surveys, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This report is the update to the health policy of the European Region of the World Health Organization. It begins with the World Health Declaration and a summary of the European Region policy itself. It continues by outlining 21 goals for the future and concludes with a discussion of the role of the World Health Organization and a look to the future.

Contact: WHO Press, World Health Organization, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland, Telephone: +41 22 791 3264 Fax: +41 22 791 4857 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://apps.who.int/bookorders/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92-890-1348-6.

Keywords: Europe, Health objectives, Health planning, Health policy, International health, International programs

Annotation: This document reports on policies and practices relating to children with disabilities of countries attending the fourth international Congress on Serving Children with Disabilities in the Community held on May 30, May 31, and June 1, 1996, in Bethesda, Maryland. The report is divided into the following main sections: (1) development of national profiles, (2) developing policies and programs at the national level, (3) legislation and policy, (4) parent-professional partnerships, (5) planning and developing community-based systems of service, (5) decentralizing services for children with disabilities, (6) funding, (7) voluntary and private sector partnerships, and (8) conclusions: action agenda. The report includes two appendices: (1) the congress agenda and (2) a national profiles response form.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children with developmental disabilities, Communities, Community based services, Education, Families, Financing, International health, Legislation, National programs, Parents, Public policies, Social services

Annotation: These booklets summarize research projects on maternal and child health supported by the United States government under the Special Foreign Currency Program.

• Link

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, International programs

Annotation: This report considers various factors that affect access to child care within the United States. The report discusses the problems parents have relating to the availability, accessibility, affordability, and quality of child care programs, and it examines the shared responsibility for the programs between federal, state, and local governments. It also compares child care programs in the United States to those established in Sweden, France, Germany, and Japan. The report reviews various roles for government with regard to child care programs, and it examines financial alternatives and regulatory issues. The report includes the principles that guided the research, and it presents its findings and makes policy recommendations.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Federal government, Government financing, Government role, Intergovernmental relations, International programs, Local government, Public policy, Regulations, State government, Statistics

Annotation: The report finds that preschool participation among low-income children in Head Start is lower than among high-income families, and it notes that there is a growing population among low-income children that need the services provided by Head Start. The report also considers barriers that prevent the delivery of the full range of Head Start services. These include a lack of qualified staff, rising costs, and limited availability of community resources. Seamless early childhood programs have been established in Denmark, France, and Italy. Common features from those programs that could be incorporated into Head Start are noted, and the implications of making those changes to Head Start are analyzed.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-94-169BR.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Child care, Children, Enrollment, Head Start, International perspectives, Low income groups, Program evaluation, Programs, Qualitative evaluation, Resource allocation, Young children

Annotation: This report from the Institute of Medicine details the status of immunization efforts in the United States and the world, and discusses the international Children's Vaccine Initiative (CVI). The CVI studied factors which influence research, development, production, and distribution of vaccines. The pharmaceutical industry, both national and international, is examined as well as the global market, and supply and demand for vaccines. Particular attention is given to the American situation, and recommendations are given for the cooperation and involvement of multiple public health sectors for the immunization of all American children.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child health, Immunization, Immunization programs, International programs, Statistics

Annotation: This book assesses international trends in the ways that governments deal with child neglect in the developed countries. It discusses the depth and scope of child neglect in the more developed countries and reviews social trends that contribute to the problem. It considers government policies developed in the Anglo-American countries which have not been particularly successful in dealing with the problem, and it examines initiatives developed by various Western European countries that are more successful. It concludes with an analysis of barriers that must be overcome to improve the situation in the future. The English edition of this publication is out of print, but it is currently available in French.

Contact: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, UNICEF House, Three United Nations Plaza, 44th Street, Between 1st and 2nd Avenues, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 326-7000 Contact Phone: (212) 755-1449 Fax: (212) 887-7465 Web Site: http://www.unicef.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92-806-3026-1.

Keywords: Child neglect, Developed countries, International perspectives, International programs, Non English language materials, Public policy, Social problems

Annotation: This workshop, with participants from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Denmark, France, and Germany, compared the status of children, and the practices of the child welfare systems in the different countries. The participants discussed such topics as the role of the individual and the state, characteristics of children in care and the prevalence and types of residential and other out-of-home care, child abuse and neglect and how it is handled, and training of social welfare workers.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child protective services, Child welfare, Children', Cultural factors, Evaluation, Government role, Interagency cooperation, International health, International programs, Juvenile courts, Out of home care, Service delivery systems, s rights

Annotation: This book consists of papers presented at a symposium of public health specialists gathered to analyze the major challenges facing health in the Region of the Americas and their implications for training international health workers, examine experiences in the training of personnel in the field of international health which are being carried out in the hemisphere, and establish bases for formulating the concept of international health and proposing guidelines for future work. The papers presented are grouped into two parts. The first contains those related to the major health challenges in the Americas and their impact on international health, and the second groups those aimed more specifically at analysis of the concept and practice of international health, among which those dealing with educational experiences occupy an important place.

Contact: Pan American Health Organization, Sales and Distribution Center, 525 23rd St. N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: 202-974-3000 Fax: 202-974-3663 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.paho.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92-75-12081-1.

Keywords: Health policy, Health programs, International health, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional training, Public health education

Annotation: These proceedings are from The International Congress on Serving Children with Special Health Care Needs in the Community, held at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., on June 15-19, 1992. This conference brought together Czech, Slovak, Hungarian, and American professionals in child health and developmental disabilities to share information about different ways to deliver services to children with special health care needs. For The United States, the Slovak Republic, Hungary, and the United States, the proceedings cover the following topics: (1) overview of health care for children, (2) building community-based systems of care for children with special health care needs, (3) identification of disabilities, (4) early intervention, (5) school and community inclusion, (6) supporting families of children with disabilities, and (7) bulding family centered, community-based systems of care. Five appendices are included: (1) conference fact sheet, (2) meeting agenda, (3) participant list, (4) team faculty consultants, and (5) October 1992 update on project activities.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Conference proceedings, Czech Republic, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention, Family support, Health care services, Health care systems, Hungary, International health, Schools, Slovakia, United States

Annotation: This book describes the author's experience in working with the children's television program Sesame Street in including children with physical and mental disabilities on that program, and her experiences providing consultation services in Hong Kong, India, and Pakistan on improving the portrayal of children with disabilities in the media.

Contact: World Rehabilitation Fund, 16 E. 40th St. Suite # 704 , New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 532-6000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.worldrehabfund.org/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Inclusion, International programs, Mass media, Media campaigns