Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book uses country experiences and practical examples to explain how to establish comprehensive national tobacco control policies for tobacco control. Addressed to policymakers who have no specialized training in epidemiology, the book aims to demystify the procedures of data collection and analysis that are a component of any long-term comprehensive program for tobacco control. The collection and use of information that is easy to obtain and directly relevant to the establishment and monitoring of national policies are addressed. Part one explains the need for national action to control tobacco use, discusses seven basic principles and corresponding strategies for tobacco control, and describes the steps to implement effective tobacco control programs. Part two offers a guide to the collection and use of data for monitoring the tobacco epidemic and assessing health effects of tobacco use. The appendices include a model law on tobacco control, advice on sampling for a national survey, and several model questionnaires.

Contact: WHO Press, World Health Organization, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland, Telephone: +41 22 791 3264 Fax: +41 22 791 4857 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://apps.who.int/bookorders/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92 4 154508 9.

Keywords: Assessment, Data analysis, Data collection, International health, Model legislation, National surveys, Policy development, Prevention, Questionnaires, Tobacco, Tobacco use

Annotation: This statistical summary presents data that reflect the condition of women, their lives, and their opportunities throughout the world. The preface describes the intent, methodology, and organization of the volume, and provides information on its use. It includes published and non-published data from governmental and non-governmental sources. The individual tables provide source information; a complete list of sources consulted is also included, and detailed indexes are provided. The range of topics covered are: attitudes and opinions; business and economics; crime, law enforcement, and legal justice; domestic life; education; health and medical care; income, spending, and wealth; labor, employment, and occupations; the military; population and vital statistics; public life; religion; sexuality; and sports and recreation.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8872-3.

Keywords: Attitudes, Business, Careers, Costs, Crime, Criminal justice system, Data, Demographics, Economic factors, Education, Employment, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Government, Health, Health services, International data, Labor, Law enforcement, Military, Political systems, Religion, Sex role, Sexuality, Sports, Vital statistics, Women, Women', s rights

Annotation: These proceedings stem from a meeting held May 18-20, 1994 which was designed to allow members of the International Collaborative Effort to improve comparability and quality of injury data. Sections address levels and trends in injury mortality and morbidity in selected participating countries, sources of injury related data and special methodological problems, current problems in producing comparable international mortality and morbidity statistics, data needs, linkage issues and coding issues.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (301) 436-7039 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 95-1252.

• PDF

Keywords: Australia, Canada, Clinical coding, Denmark, England, France, Injury surveillance systems, International classification of diseases, International data, Israel, Morbidity, Mortality, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland, Statistical reference sources, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad, United States

Annotation: This report was made to the U.S. Congress Committee on Appropriations. It contains two volumes; the first has the subtitle, "The Use of Child Labor in U.S. Manufactured and Mined Imports;" the second has the subtitle, "The Use of Child Labor in U.S. Agricultural Imports and Forced and Bonded Child Labor." The report explains why child labor is used in these industries and what the working conditions and terms of employment are for such workers. Specific profiles are given for manufacturing and mining industries and for the production of particular crops in Africa, Asia, and Latin America that are ultimately imported into the United States. The second volume also defines forced and bonded child labor and describes situations involving forced child labor; an additional section details the service sector and illegal economy. Appendices provide documents from numerous international conventions and declarations on the rights of working children.

Contact: U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of International Labor Affairs, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room C-4325, Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (202) 693-4770 Fax: (202)693-4780 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dol.gov/ilab Available to read online or for mobile devices from several vendors.

• Vol. I
• Vol. II

Keywords: Africa, Agricultural injuries, Asia, Central America, Children, Industry, International data, Occupational injuries

Annotation: This statistical summary provides data on a wide range of topics that relate to health and well-being of children to the age of 14. The focus is primarily on children in the United States, but international data are provided for selected topics. Data cover adolescents between the ages 12–17 for certain subjects. The broad categories included are: population; vital statistics; education; health, nutrition, and medical care; child care; income and expenditures; crimes, misdemeanors, and violence; domestic life; sports and recreation; and international comparisons. The intent, organization, and methodology for the publication is discussed in the preface. Sources of information are provided for each data table, and a complete list of sources consulted is also included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Contact Phone: (800) 877-4253 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ $99.00; no shipping and handling if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-9196-1.

Keywords: Child care, Children, Costs, Crime, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Health, Health services, International data, Nutrition, Sports, United States, Violence, Vital statistics

Annotation: This book presents the highlights of the 1991 National Council for International Health's conference on women's health. It details a wide range of issues, both clinical and socioeconomic, that affect women's health in developing countries. Chapters focus on the impact of poverty on morbidity and mortality, cultural barriers to health care, and strategies for establishing family planning and abuse prevention services.

Contact: Westview Press, 2465 Central Avenue, Boulder, CO 80301, Fax: (720) 406-7336 Web Site: http://www.perseusbooksgroup.com/Westview/index.jsp $16.95.

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Access to prenatal care, Communicable diseases, Contraception, Developing countries, Domestic violence, Family planning, International data, Mental health, Morbidity, Mortality, Nutrition, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Violence, Women', s health

Annotation: This report outlines classifications and definitions of variables used in childhood injury research as developed at a conference held March 20-21, 1989 by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). The report is intended as a tool for those involved with injury control efforts of various types. The broad areas addressed are grouped by demographic descriptors (age, race/ethnicity, region, socioeconomic status) and by the leading causes of child hood injury morbidity and mortality (motor vehicles, burns, drowning, falls, head/spine injury and violence). Each injury outline lists the range of factors potentially relevant to E-codes. Appendices list E-code groupings, references and conference participants.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Document Number: NIH 92-1586.

• Link

Keywords: Burns, Children, Correlates of injury, Data collection, Data sources, Demographics, Drowning, External cause of injury codes, Falls, Head injuries, Injury prevention, International classification of diseases, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Population surveillance, Public health agencies, Research, Spinal cord injuries, Unintentional injuries, Violence

Annotation: This book presents international statistical indicators about conditions that affect women's health. It includes socioeconomic factors; covers their health from infancy through old age, and highlights health outcomes that reflect the inequities and discrimination in health care services for women. Topics include information on the effects of female morbidity, mortality due to discrimination during childhood, the significance of reproduction, the impact of alcohol and drug use in adolescence, health risks and problems found among working women, the importance of maternal health problems, problems associated with major diseases, the dimensions of violence against women, and the emerging health problems of elderly women. The detail of statistical information ranges from data for selected nations for some topics to that of continental totals for other topics.

Contact: WHO Press, World Health Organization, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland, Telephone: +41 22 791 3264 Fax: +41 22 791 4857 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://apps.who.int/bookorders/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92-4-156152-1.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adults, Children, Demographics, Health status, Infants, International data, Older adults, Women, Women', Working women, s health

Annotation: This report present the majority and minority views and the text of a study of the same name which was prepared in 1990 by Frank Hobbs and Laura Lippman of the Center for International Research, Bureau of the Census, U.S. Department of Commerce. Information and data are presented on the populations and demographics of youth internationally, on family characteristics, marriage and fertility patterns, economic conditions, health indicators, injuries and mortality, and education and employment. The study compares conditions affecting the well-being of children, adolescents, and young adults in developed and developing countries. and the findings are discussed with particular reference to the United States.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Cause of death, Children, Demographics, Developed countries, Developed nations, Developing countries, Education, Employment, Fertility, Health status, Injuries, International data, Marital status, Mortality, Socioeconomic factors, Young adults

Annotation: This book provides a resource for policy makers, educators, and other people interested in lowering the numbers of unplanned births and abortions in the United States. This comparative study conducted by the Alan Guttmacher, examines the relationships between unintended pregnancy, contraceptive use, and family planning services, comparing the American experience with that of a group of culturally similar Western countries. Detailed case studies are presented on four of the countries—the United States, Canada, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Contact Phone: (212) 254-5656 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Cultural factors, International data, National data, Parenting, Pregnancy, Statistics

Annotation: This annual report examines a key issue affecting infants and children. Recent topics have included women, children, and gender equality; the Millenium Development Goals and children's access to essential services, protection, and participation; poverty, conflict, HIV/AIDS, and other significant threats to childhood; girls, education, and development; child participation; leadership; early childhood; education; nutrition; child labor; and children in war. Supporting data and statistics are included. The 2016 report is available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, and Spanish.

Contact: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, UNICEF House, Three United Nations Plaza, 44th Street, Between 1st and 2nd Avenues, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 326-7000 Fax: (212) 887-7465 Web Site: http://www.unicef.org Available from the website.

• Archive Since 1980

Keywords: Child health, International data, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials, Statistics, Women', s health

Annotation: This report includes the presentations and discussions of the workshop on Prenatal Approaches to the Diagnosis of Fetal Hemoglobinopathies held in 1978 in Los Angeles. The document is divided into eight major subject areas, each containing presentations and discussion. These subject areas are: (1) fetoscopy; (2) placental aspiration; (3) biochemical methods; (4) immunologic methods; (5) cooperative efforts in data collection; (6) critical issues in prenatal diagnosis including ethical and legal issues, efforts to develop guidelines, the role of the community, and public policy; (7) future developments; and (8) the international roundtable.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: NIH 80-1529.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community role, Data collection, Ethics, Fetoscopy, Fetus, Guidelines, Hemoglobinopathies, Immunologic tests, International programs, Legal issues, Placenta, Prenatal diagnosis, Public policy, Reports, Research methodology, Screening

Contact: United Nations Publications, Two United Nations Plaza, Room DC2-853, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (800) 253-9646 Secondary Telephone: (212) 963-8302 Fax: (212) 963-3489 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://unp.un.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Age groups, Asian language materials, Data, Demography, Domestic violence, Economic factors, Education, Environmental health, Family characteristics, Family relations, Fertility, Housing, International data, Leadership, Non English language materials, Political systems, Risk factors, Sex role, Spanish language materials, Women, Women', Women', Work force, s health, s rights