Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide discusses lessons learned from quality- improvement projects conducted to integrate oral health care in prenatal and pediatric settings. It offers steps to take in integrating oral health care in these settings. Steps are divided into the following categories: planning; setting goals; educating and training staff; launching an integration project and tracking progress; adapting resources to fit the setting; reviewing, celebrating, and discussing progress; and maintaining and sustaining progress. Advice from projects that have integrated oral health care is included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This report presents information from a summit convened to advance health equity by catalyzing aligned, multistate action. The summit focused on three strategic areas: expanded oral health insurance coverage, workforce development, and integration of oral health care and overall health care. The report provides background information and an overview of the summit, as well as a description of sessions.

Contact: Santa Fe Group, 9 East 8th St., Suite 235, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (505) 603-0804 Web Site: https://santafegroup.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Conferences, Health equity, Health insurance, Oral health, Service integration

Annotation: This guide for prenatal and pediatric health professionals discusses lessons learned from quality-improvement projects conducted to integrate oral health care into primary care settings. Topics include planning; setting goals; educating and training staff; launching an integration project and tracking progress; adapting resources to fit the setting; reviewing, celebrating, and discussing progress; and maintaining and sustaining progress.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Quality assurance, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This tool was developed to conduct environmental scans to learn about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care at the state level to inform the work of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net projects. In addition to questions, the tool includes background information, instructions, and definitions. Question categories include scope of practice, reimbursement, policy and regulation, and optional questions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This toolkit provides actionable information, algorithms, and clinical guidance to support detection, assessment, and treatment of perinatal mood and anxiety disorders. Included is a summary of perinatal mental health conditions; patient screening and treatment guidance; a how-to guide on integrating mental health care into obstetric practice; and educational resources for providers, patients, and families. The toolkit was developed by the UMass Chan Medical School and reviewed by members of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists' Maternal Mental Health Expert Work Group.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Mental health, Obstetrical care, Perinatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Safety Net project and descriptions of the three networks. The report includes a profile of each network: (1) Midwest Network for Oral Health, (2) Rocky Mountain Network for Oral Health, and (3) Transforming Oral Health for Families. Each profile provides information on the network’s partners, approach, settings, models of care, strategies to help sustain models of care in community health centers, and core function activities, as well as a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on network activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: High risk children, High risk groups, Infant health, Oral diseases, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service delivery, Service integration

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Arizona. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Colorado. The chartbook presents information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in Montana. It provides information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Montana, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Wyoming. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information, Wyoming

Annotation: This guide for primary care physicians includes tips for integrating oral health care into their practices and tools to help them do so. The guide provides information on why it is important for primary care physicians to integrate oral health care, barriers to accessing oral health care, and the dental home. A checklist for how physicians can support their patients’ oral health and help them find a dental home is included, along with information on assessing infants’ and young children’s risk for developing tooth decay and reducing risk for this population.

Contact: Benevis, Web Site: https://benevis.com Available from the website.

• PDF
• Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Infant health, Oral health, Primary care, Risk assessment, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides information on the development of a capacity-inventory tool to help state oral health program staff assess systems-level capacity factors and prioritize needs. The brief discusses the importance of oral health, especially during pregnancy, and strategies to advance oral health equity for the maternal and child health population. Factors contributing to state systems-level capacity to improve integration of oral health care and primary care for pregnant women are organized by categories. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Oral health equity, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This series of chartbooks provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children. It includes data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and non-oral health professionals; Medicaid billing and reimbursement; issues impacting care provided by dental hygienists, dental therapists, and community health workers; and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, High risk children, High risk infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides information on a life course approach to oral health that focuses on the oral-systemic interactions upon which a medical-dental integration (MDI) model can be built. The report offers an over- view of the bidirectional nature of oral and systemic diseases across different life phases and how integrated health care delivery can improve access to care and health outcomes. It also discusses gaps in, challenges to, and barriers to creating integrated models and provides recommendations for improving the future of MDI.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care delivery, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, Service integration

Annotation: This brief highlights goal 1 of the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal health crisis, which is to increase access to and coverage of comprehensive high-quality maternal health services, including behavioral health services. The brief outlines the need to strengthen risk-appropriate care in rural and urban areas; improve quality of care provided to pregnant and postpartum women with or at risk for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; expand capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders; and Integrate behavioral health supports in community settings. Evidence-informed strategies for improvement, criteria for states to consider when developing strategies, and additional resources are included. Statistics on the percentage of women ages 15-49 with health insurance (by source of coverage); percent of Medicaid coverage by race/ethnicity; and births covered by Medicaid are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Health insurance, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health services, Perinatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in the District of Columbia (DC). It discusses characteristics of DC’s diverse population and social determinants of health. It also describes the District’s oral health landscape, including the safety net infrastructure, and the location of federally qualified health centers that provide oral health care and other types of health care. In addition, it discusses the oral health workforce, efforts to integrate oral health care into primary care, and challenges related to achieving equitable access to oral health care.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5925 Fax: (202) 535-1710 Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/page/community-health-administration Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, District of Columbia, Health care delivery, Oral health, Oral health equity, Service integration, Socioeconomic factors, State information

Annotation: This report provides information from an evaluaion of the North Dakota Oral Health Program. Topics include community water fluoridation, oral health services provided in federally qualified health centers, all North Dakota school-based dental sealant programs, SEALIND: all schools served by one North Dakota school-based dental sealant program, SEALIND: schools qualifying for oral health services based on need, and the integration of oral health care and primary care in a North Dakota family medical center.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Fluoride, North Dakota, Oral health, School health, School-age children, Service delivery, Service integration, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net project and descriptions of the three networks. The report includes a profile of each network: (1) Midwest Network for Oral Health, (2) Rocky Mountain Network for Oral Health, and (3) Transforming Oral Health for Families. Each profile provides information on the network’s partners, approach, settings, models of care, strategies to help sustain models of care in community health centers, and core function activities, as well as a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on network activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: High risk children, High risk groups, Infant health, Oral diseases, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service delivery, Service integration