Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide introduces information technology (IT) designers and developers to the practical realities and complexities of managing health at home. It provides guidance and human factors design considerations that will help designers and developers create consumer health IT applications that are useful resources to achieve better health. Topics include an overview of health and healthcare at home, including who is involved and what they do; encouragement to create new kinds of consumer health information technologies to help people reach their health goals; and strategies to make consumer health information technologies more acceptable and useful to people with different life situations. A design consideration checklist is provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-21728-6.

• Link

Keywords: Consumers, Design, Home care, Information services, Information systems, Program development

Annotation: This Web site provides resources and information to help corporations, organizations, and health professionals promote health literacy. Content includes information on effective communication and approaches to improving communication skills, a blog for health literacy professionals, and educational materials, forms, toolkits, and training for health professionals.

Contact: Health Literacy Media, 911 Washington Avenue, Suite 625, St. Louis, MO 63101, Telephone: (314) 361-9400 Fax: (314) 361-9410 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthliteracy.media Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Communication, Health literacy, Information services, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This report presents the National Library of Medicine's (NLM's) health disparities strategic research plan and budget for fiscal years 2009-2013. The report presents NLM's mission and vision statement and an overview of NLM's strategy for addressing health disparities. The report then discusses areas of emphasis in research, research capacity building, community outreach, information dissemination, and public health education and integration of research, research capacity building, and community outreach, dissemination, and public heath education.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Costs, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Education, Ethnic factors, Health, Health literacy, Information, Information dissemination, Information services, Information sources, Outreach, Public health, Racial factors, Research, Resource materials, Socioeconomic factors, Strategic plans

Annotation: This brief addresses the connection between high-quality comprehensive health care and readily available and usable information in the form of electronic health records (EHRs). The brief discusses the experience of the New York Children's Health Project (CHF), which serves many homeless families. CHF responded to this challenge by developing its first-generation EHR system in 1989 and subsequently developed more sophisticated systems. The brief also includes recommendations.

Contact: Children's Health Fund, 215 West 125th Street, Suite 301 , New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (212) 535-9400 Web Site: http://www.childrenshealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health services, Homeless persons, Information systems, Medical records, Technology

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward medical librarians, provides background knowledge about health care technology to help clarify librarians' role as it relates to health informatics. The book's primary objective is to introduce health informatics and to describe the medical environment and culture in which health informatics professionals work. Topics include major areas of health informatics, the organization of medical knowledge, the electronic health record, healthcare information management systems, medical imaging, ethical and legal issues, and bioinformatics and genomic medicine.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-55570-627-2.

Keywords: Health care, Information systems, Librarians, Library services

Annotation: This document presents the basic knowledge that all persons graduating from an ALA-accredited master's program in library and information studies need to possess. Topics include foundations of the profession, information resources, organization of recorded knowledge and information, technological knowledge and skills, reference and user services, research, continuing education and lifelong learning, and administration and management.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administration, Continuing education, Information services, Information sources, Librarians, Library services, Management, Professional education, Technology

Annotation: This book discusses health science reference and information sources in various formats. The book is organized into three sections which cover the organization and management of the reference collection, bibliographic sources, and information sources. Topics covered are bibliographic sources for monographs and periodicals; indexing, abstracting, and digital database resources; U.S. government documents and technical reports; and conferences, reviews and translations. Information is also given for the following sources: terminology, handbooks, manuals, drug information, consumer health, medical and health statistics, directories and biographical sources, history, and grants. Specific sources are cited, and evaluated. The sources covered are in print, electronic, audiovisual, and multimedia formats. Appendices include a health sciences reference collections survey, frequently occurring health statistics terms, and a vital and health statistic series. An index is provided.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN (13) 978-1-55570-636-4; ISBN (10) 1-55570-636-3.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information sources, Libraries, Library services, Reference materials, Reference services

Annotation: This report, which focuses on the issue of bibliographic control, is intended for use by the library community, policymakers, and decision-makers. The repot sets forth recommendations, including (1) increasing the efficiency of bibliographic production, (2) transferring effort into high-value activity, (3) positioning technology for the future by recognizing that the Internet is both a technology platform and the appropriate platform for delivering library standards, (4) positioning the library community for the future by facilitating the incorporation of evaluative and other user-supplied information into resource descriptions, and (5) strengthening the library profession through education and the development of measurements that will inform decision-making.

Contact: Library of Congress, Government Documents Section, 101 Independence Avenue at First Street, S.E., Washington, DC 20540, Telephone: (202) 707-5000 Fax: (202) 707-0380 E-mail: http://www.loc.gov/rr/aslalib/ Web Site: http://www.loc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Education, Information services, Librarians, Libraries, Public policy, Resource materials, Trends, World Wide Web

Annotation: This electronic resource guide outlines quality health information sources gathered by medical librarians in support of clinical and scientific decision-making by doctors, scientists, and other health practitioners responsible for the nation's health. Contents include an introduction, getting started, content evaluation guidelines, additional help, Medical Library Association (MLA) "top ten" most useful consumer health Websites, and MLA recommended Websites for cancer, diabetes, and heart disease. Each entry provides the Website URL and a description of the sponsoring organization.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education, Health, Information services, Information sources, Public health, Resource materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This taxonomy provides a method and terminology to index and access information about community resources based on the services they provide and the target populations they serve. The Web site provides multiple ways to search, print, and download all or portions of the taxonomy; a list of recent changes to the taxonomy; and resources to aid in using the taxonomy including publications, training materials, a FAQ (frequently asked questions) page, and a listserv/online discussion group.

Contact: 211 LA County, P.O. Box 726, San Gabriel, CA 91778, Telephone: (800) 339-6993 Secondary Telephone: (800) 660-4026 Fax: (626) 442-6940 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.211la.org Portions available from the website; full access requires a subscription (price varies).

• Link

Keywords: Human services, Information systems, Thesauri

Annotation: This report details information submitted for the Health Information Awards for Libraries initiative to identify the best work that American libraries are doing in providing information to citizens. Program descriptions of the top ten finalists are provided with details provided for the award winner, South Carolina's REACH 2010 - The Charleston and Georgetown Diabetes Coalition's Library Partnership. The report also provides information on the initiative, a summary of the forum held May 3, 2006, the forum agenda, contact information for state award winners, a list of forum participants, and background information on award criteria and trends and issues. Finally, a list of the committee members is included.

• Link

Keywords: Awards, Community programs, Health education, Information services, Libraries, Model programs

Annotation: This report presents information from the Scholarship and Libraries in Transition: A Dialogue About the Impact of Mass Digitization Projects symposium held on May 10-11, 2006, in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The report introduces the topic and discusses issues in digitization for information policy such as copyright, quality, roles and priorities for libraries, ownership and preservation, business models, and information literacy. Conclusions are offered.

• PDF

Keywords: Electronic publications, Information dissemination, Information services, Libraries, Public policy

Annotation: This document describes strategies in these areas: developing partnerships to increase organizational capacity and outreach, enhancing communication with families, developing culturally appropriate strategies to serve a diverse audience, facilitating the transition to adulthood, and ensuring sustainability through multiple funding sources. The appendix lists family to family health care information centers by state.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers, Family support services, Information services, Children with developmental disabilities, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community organizations, Families, Health education

Annotation: As part of a series addressing the Systems Change for Community Living grants program, this report describes the activities of certain grantees of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in fiscal years 2003 and 2004, and of grantees of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)/Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) in the fiscal year 2002. The grants support development of family to family health information centers. Described grantee activities include: information and referral services for parents and professionals, resource development and dissemination, education initiatives, promoting family-centered medical care and medical homes, disaster preparedness, improving programs and informing policies, and developing partnerships. This document also describes implementation challenges and accomplishments.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Families, Grants, Health education, Health education, Information services, National organizations

Annotation: This paper provides health officials and other public health practitioners an introduction into the concepts involved in knowledge management (KM) and describes how experts and practitioners have attempted to organize their information. It is organized into three major sections: (1) exploring KM concepts, tracking the evolution of data to knowledge, and identifying key components of KM; (2) relating the concepts of KM to public health activities and goals; and (3) describing key activities that contribute to implementing a KM approach in an organization or community. Appendices include a list of contributors and reviewers, public health KM activities identified by public health professionals, examples of public health KM functions for the essential public health services, and references. Additional KM resources are also provided.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Information dissemination, Information services, Knowledge management, Public health

Annotation: This archived teleconference from March 2005 is for librarians and the public health workforce, to encourage participation in the provision of information about public health. The conference archive includes three parts. Part one provides background information on public health, discussing federal, state, and local agencies, and the multi- and interdisciplinary nature of their workings. Part two describes hot topics in public health services, including preparedness and bioterrorism, infectious disease, obesity, and issues with the public health workforce. Part three outlines collaboration between information professionals and public health professionals, highlighting successful strategies, funding for public health, and the librarian's role. A final section includes resources.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ $156 (VHS), $224 (DVD-ROM), plus shipping and handling; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Conferences, Information dissemination, Information services, Librarians, Public health, Public health agencies

Annotation: This final report describes a project to create services and materials to meet the changing needs of the maternal and child health community by providing access to information through a national information and education resource library. Part one reports on accomplishments from the period of January 2002 to December 2004. Part two is a progress report for 2004. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org

Keywords: Final reports, Information services, Library services, MCH services

Annotation: This report provides readers with a sequenced view of how the information consumer finds, uses, evaluates, and favors information resources, including physical and online libraries. The findings, which are based on responses to an online survey, are presented in five parts that are organized to categorize information consumer actions, attitudes, and brand values. Part 1 revies consumers' familiaritywith and use of libraries and information, as well as the information sources most frequently selected. Part 2 reports on how libraries are used and how newer information sources are impacting behavior. Part 3 looks at library brand determinants such as positive and negative attributes, trust, price, and lifestye fit. Part 4 provides unedited consumer views and advice about libraries' services, resources, and facilities. Part 5 looks at consumer differences across geographic regions. A conclusion summarizes findings, and appendices offer supporting data tables and sample verbatim responses to the survey.

Contact: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 6565 Kilgour Place, Dublin, OH 43017-3395, Telephone: (614) 764-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 848-5878 Fax: (614) 764-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oclc.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-55653-364-0.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Information, Information services, Information sources, Libraries

Annotation: This document records some of the programs and methodologies used by libraries that are providing accurate, useful consumer health information, and exemplifying the role libraries can play in increasing awareness of consumer health-related issues and encouraging healthy lifestyles. Report contents include a description of the National Commission on Libraries and Information Science (NCLIS) and its initiative, the background and genesis of the awards, and descriptions and contact information for the 2004 award recipients.

• Link

Keywords: Awards, Community programs, Health education, Information services, Libraries, Model programs

Annotation: This book focuses on the importance of health literacy and on strategies to enable people to optimize their own and their families’ health. Topics include definitions of health literacy, measures used in health literacy research, educational systems, health systems, and a vision for a health-literate America.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09117-9.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Economic factors, Educational factors, Health education, Health promotion, Information services, Literacy, Literacy education, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Research, Social factors