Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report focuses on the following issues: (1) states' experiences in developing child welfare information systems and the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS') role in assisting in their development, (2) factors that affect the reliability of data that states collect and report on children served by their welfare agencies, and DHHS's role in ensuring the reliability of those data, and (3) practices that child welfare agencies use to overcome challenges associated with the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System's (SACWIS's) development and data reliability. Four appendices include the scope and methodology, state SACWIS stages of development, comments from DHHS, and General Accounting Office (GAO) contacts and acknowledgments. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report concludes with a bibliography and a list of related GAO products.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-03-809.

• Full Report

Keywords: Child welfare agencies, Data, Data collection, Department of Health and Human Services, Information systems

Annotation: This report was prepared for the Genetic Services Branch of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau summarizing the third in a series of technical assistance meetings of grantees from 16 states. The purpose of the meeting was to share information between grantees and learn the lessons needed to forge ahead and build systems that ensure an optimal healthy start for children by providing for the assessment and provision of services. Report sections include summaries of grantee presentations and panel discussions, a review of the status of newborn screening across the nation, a review of two publications produced on best practices in information integration models, pitfalls in translating data into action, principles and core functions of integrated child health information systems, developing indicators to measure child health information systems integration, community-based systems of care, and a wrap-up summary. Also included are a participant list and an assessment tool for comparing state genetics services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 1912 West Anderson Lane, Suite 210, Austin, TX 78757, Telephone: (512) 454-6419 Fax: (512) 454-6509 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Genetic screening, Health care systems, Information services, Integrated information systems, MCH research, Neonatal screening, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This report focuses on work done by a needs assessment workgroup formulated by the North Carolina Division of Public Health, North Carolina Task Force on Genomics and Public Health. The workgroup's task was to perform a review of current genetic screening and service programs in the state. The report is divided into sections according to the areas examined by the workgroup: public health assessment, evaluation of genetic testing and services, and communication and information dissemination services. Each section describes the current system and programs, identifies challenges, and makes recommendations. In addition, the report provides initial questions for future directions. The report includes seven appendices: a workgroup framework, data sources and methods, a newborn screening follow-up program flowchart, useful Web sites, a Medical Genetics Association survey and results, genomic competencies, and core competencies in genetics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Evaluation, Genetic screening, Genetic services, Genetics, Information dissemination, Needs assessment, North Carolina, Public health, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This DVD presents a symposium held at the National Library of Medicine in Rockville, MD on November 5-6, 2003, on the need for brick and mortar libraries and documented current practices in the planning, management, construction, and renovation of health sciences library facilities. Topics include the role of the library in the 21 century; library reinvention and the coexistence of computers and books; what will new physical and virtual information hubs look like; changes in teaching, learning, and technology and how are library services and spaces affected; and models already in existence and lessons learned. Contents of the DVD include searchable video of 35 symposium presentations, "thumbnails" of speakers presentations and slides, poster sessions with explanations by presenters, biographies of all presenters and additional interviews with several speakers, and Web links to symposium resources and related Web sites.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Conferences, DVDs, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Library services, Planning, Trends

Annotation: This book is designed to help information managers and practitioners gain an understanding of how an organization may manage its information processes more quickly in order to increase its capacity to learn and adapt. The book takes a introductory look at organizations, information management, and managers and then discusses concepts such as environmental scanning, online databases, and managing information sources.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-57387-018-8.

Keywords: Information networks, Information services, Information sources, Information systems, Management, Organizations

Annotation: This book is designed to help information managers and practitioners gain an understanding of how an organization may manage its information processes more quickly in order to increase its capacity to learn and adapt. The book takes a introductory look at organizations, information management, and managers and then discusses concepts such as environmental scanning, online databases, and managing information sources. References, a subject index, and a name index are also provided.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1573870579.

Keywords: Information networks, Information services, Information sources, Information systems, Management, Organizations

Annotation: This book is designed to help libraries effectively help remote users, who pose special challenges and who are becoming an increasingly large proportion of library users. The book is divided into the following chapters: (1) reaching out -- the library's new role, (2) getting to know remote users, (3) presenting the virtual library, (4) providing electronic reference services, (5) maximizing current awareness and document delivery services, (6) providing library instruction to remote users, (7) integrating library resources into online instructions, (8) supporting the remote user of licensed resources, and (9) fundraising and public relations in an electronic environment. An index concludes the book.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55570-436-0.

Keywords: Educational materials, Information networks, Information services, Internet, Library services, Outreach, Service delivery, World Wide Web

Annotation: This report includes basic competencies in emergency preparedness and bioterrorism (BT) readiness for all public health workers. Many of these BT competencies, with slight editing, also apply to other categories of emergency, including those related to chemical, nuclear, or explosive devices. The report includes competencies for the following types of staff: public health leaders, public health communicable disease staff, public health clinical staff, environmental health staff, public health laboratory staff, medical examiner/coroner, public health information staff, other public health professional staff, and public health technical support staff. The report also includes lists of definitions of public health staff categories and of U.S. Office of Personnel Management definitions.

Contact: Columbia University School of Nursing, Center for Health Policy, 617 West 168 Street, GB-239, New York, NY 10032, Telephone: (212) 305-1738 Fax: (212) 305-3659 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.nursing.columbia.edu/chp/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Emergencies, Bioterrorism, Communicable diseases, Competency based education, Disaster planning, Environmental health, Health personnel, Information services, Laboratories, Leadership, Public health, Training

• Word Document

Keywords: Community based services, Demonstration programs, Federal grants, Information networks, Program evaluation, Sustainability, Telecommunications

Annotation: This resource handbook is designed for librarians and others who help the general public locate consumer health information. It covers standard resources for answering health-related questions, discusses the art of the health-reference interview, and touches on such related matters as the legal implications of providing health information to consumers. The handbook provides librarians with resources in consumer health in three parts. Part one discusses consumer health essentials such as decoding medical terminology, understanding health concerns of a variety of diseases, and exploring complementary and alternative medicine. The second part provides recommended resources in both electronic and print formats, and includes a section focused on children's health. Part three gives specific tips for librarians on providing consumer healthcare information including the creation of services, evaluating resources, creating publications, and building successful consumer health Web sites. This handbook also contains a CD-ROM which includes a Web-ready HTML list of recommended health Web sites and a template of the Hathaway Medical Center Library Consumer Health Web Site for use in Web design.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-418-2.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diseases, Information services, Information sources, Library services, Medical terminology, Reference materials, Resource materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This manual describes how to start a youth Web advisory program -- a project to involve adolescents in the development of Web resources and to educate them on how to access and evaluate health information, especially on the Internet. It includes information on the following topics: creating a project timeline; developing a needs assessment; recruiting, interviewing, and hiring advisors (for grant-funded programs); preparing an orientation schedule and materials; orientation and training; outreach; and post-program acknowledgment. Also provided are six appendices: a health resources scavenger hunt sheet; a general pretest; a work contract for youth advisors; an evaluation form for community agencies/resource centers; a journal of guidelines; and a computer training schedule. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Children's Hospital, Center for Young Women's Health, 333 Longwood Avenue, 5th Floor, Boston, MA Telephone: (617) 355-2994 Fax: (617) 730-0186 Web Site: http://www.youngwomenshealth.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health promotion, Adolescents, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information services, Information sources, World Wide Web, Youth services

Annotation: The primary purpose of this project was to address the lack of scientific knowledge to guide clinical practice related to early discharge and follow-up care of newborns and mothers. Although the project initially focused on directly promoting and supporting rapid implementation of relevant studies, that emphasis changed following passage of federal early discharge legislation; beginning in the third project year, our primary charge was to assist the SACIM in meeting federal legislative mandates for new studies. Project-based and collaborative research led to a series of presentations and peer-reviewed publications, to the addition of relevant questions to ongoing California and national population-based postpartum surveys, and to development of a database with information on early services received by Medicaid newborns and mothers. Our work with SACIM members in preparing two mandated reports to Congress, including recommendations to guide further research, was instrumental in guiding practices and policy related to early discharge. Specifically, this project helped to shift focus toward the continuum of early postpartum services received by newborn and mother; a broader range of both newborn and maternal outcomes; and the development of better risk markers to guide clinical decision-making, recognizing that the most vulnerable newborns and mothers may be least likely to receive currently recommended care despite professional guidelines and legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2002-107494.

Keywords: Data Analysis, Information Services, Newborn infants, Perinatal Health, Postpartum Women, Public Policy

Annotation: This long range plan covers these goals: (1) organize health-related information and provide access to it; (2) promote use of health information by health professionals and the public; (3) strengthen the informatics infrastructure for biomedicine and health; and (4) conduct and support informatics research.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Management

Annotation: This book provides a broad definition of knowledge management and how it has evolved. It also discusses the learning environment needed to support a knowledge network and the information technology components it depends on. In addition, this book discusses how knowledge management is implemented and provides examples of how it is practiced. A discussion of knowledge management and its use in the health sciences is also included. The appendices of this publication include a course syllabus, a bibliography, and an example of a thematic model.

Contact: Association for Information Science and Technology, 1320 Fenwick Lane, Suite 510, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 495-0900 Fax: (301) 495-0810 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.asist.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-57387-079-X.

Keywords: Information networks, Information services, Knowledge management, Technology

Annotation: This book is primarily focused on libraries that provide services to physicians and other professional patient caregivers. The two introductory chapters describe the current state of health care libraries and provide an overview of the health care environment. Chapters 3-9 provide guidance on the overall management of the library. Chapters 10-14 cover basic operational and technical aspects of providing library services, including information services and resources, collection development, access to resources, and document delivery. Chapters 15 and 16 focus on audiovisual services and health information for patients and consumers. The book also contains many figures and an index.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-397-6.

Keywords: Administration, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Management, Reference materials, Resources for professionals

Contact: Routledge, 270 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 216-7800 Secondary Telephone: (800) 634-7064 Fax: (212) 563-2269 Web Site: http://www.routledge-ny.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-57958-273-7.

Keywords: Information dissemination, Information services, Information systems, Reference materials, Thesauri

Annotation: This guide for health information outreach programs presents a programmatic and goal-oriented approach to outreach, in which activities are directed toward the accomplishment of goals and objectives. The six stages described in this manual show how the various phases of evaluation are integrated into the whole process of planning and implementing outreach activities. The six stages covered are: 1) conducting a community assessment; 2) developing goals and objectives; 3) planning activities and strategies; 4) planning evaluation; 5) gathering data and assessing results; and 6) utilizing and reporting results. Extensive flow charts, charts, and tables illustrate the topics. The appendices are arranged by process stage and include sample surveys, questions, formats, theories, and a bibliography. The guide concludes with an index.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region, University of Washington, Health Sciences Bldg, Rm T227, 1949 NE Pacific Avenue, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155, Telephone: (206) 543-8262 Secondary Telephone: (800) 338-7657* Fax: (206) 543-2469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nnlm.gov/pnr Single copies available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Evaluation methods, Goals, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Manuals, National Library of Medicine, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program planning, Questionnaires, Surveys

Annotation: This book offers the Library of Congress support and guidance on how the library can fulfill its role of serving Congress in the digital age and document and preserv the history of American creativity in building a collection with truly worldwide scope. Topics include cooperation among libraries, the rise of electronic format documents, cost issues, a brief history of the Library of Congress and its service to Congress and the nation, the building and organizing of print and digital collections, and management issues and information technology infrastructure of the Library of Congress. Book chapters include: (1) digital revolution, library evolution, (2) the Library of Congress: from Jefferson to the twenty-first century, (3) building digital collections, (4) preserving a digital heritage, (5) organizing intellectual access to digital information: from cataloging to metadata, (6) the Library of Congress and the world beyond its walls, (7) management issues, and (8) information technology structure. A bibliography is provided. The book includes four appendices, which contain biographies of committee members, a list of briefers at the plenary meeting and site visits, a list of letters received, and a list of acronyms.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07144-5.

• Link

Keywords: Cataloging, Computers, Data, Information, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library of Congress, Library services, Management, Online systems

Annotation: This book describes how the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine changed its curriculum from a traditional, faculty-oriented model to a student-oriented model based on adult learning strategies. It is intended to help the reader gain practical knowledge of the process as well as knowledge of the specific components of the curriculum. It provides a brief history of undergraduate medical education at Johns Hopkins, an overview of the process of change, and descriptions of individual components of the curriculum. Chapters discuss the teaching of basic sciences; interrelated courses based on organ systems; a four-year longitudinal Physician and Society course; a new curriculum for medical informatics and support services for computer-based education; student placements in the offices of community-based private practitioners; curriculum reform in the clinical years; and early evaluations of the general curriculum, specific courses, and the students.

Contact: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2715 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218-4363, Telephone: (410) 516-6900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 537-5487 Fax: (410) 516-6998 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.press.jhu.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-8018-5977-8 (cloth), ISBN 0-8018-6350-3 (paper).

• Link

Keywords: Bioethics, Community based services, Curricula, Evaluation, History, Information systems, Interdisciplinary approach, Learning, Medical education, Medical schools, Models, Primary care, Reform

Contact: National Health Information Center, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic Available in libraries.

Keywords: Communication, Computers, Health services, Information networks, Telecommunications