Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: Emergency department physicians should have a low threshold for screening for urinary tract infection (UTI) since it is often present and its sequelae are severe. While there is little consistent information about the prevalence of UTI among febrile pediatric patients in the emergency department, there is much debate about the most appropriate clinical and laboratory criteria for diagnosis. Screening is uncomfortable for patients and its costs are significant. A prospective study of febrile infants < 1 year of age and febrile girls ages 1–4 years in a high-volume urban pediatric emergency department was conducted to determine the prevalence of UTI; (2) determine the usefulness of rapid screening tests for UTI, and (3) identify clinical predictors and develop clinical prediction models to stratify children at high risk for UTI. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144685.

Keywords: Cost Effectiveness, Emergency Room Personnel, MCH Research, Research, Screening, Urban Population, Urban Population, Urinary Tract Infections

Annotation: This handbook is intended to help child care providers reduce the incidence of illness, injury, and other health problems of the children in their care. The handbook includes information on (1) how infectious diseases are spread; (2) what providers can do to keep themselves and the children they care for healthy; (3) what disease and injury prevention practices providers should follow; (4) what disease and injury prevention practices providers should require parents to follow; and (5) what the most common childhood diseases are, how to recognize them, and what providers can do when they occur. The handbook includes tables, figures, and drawings. Two appendices contain additional resources and a list of regional poison control centers. The handbook concludes with a bibliography and an index.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website. Document Number: ERIC ED412027.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care workers, Child health, Children, Infections, Injuries, Parents, Poison control centers, Prevention

Annotation: This study sought to determine whether breastfeeding protects against common infectious illnesses during the first 12 months of life. The data had already been collected in an investigation conducted in Copenhagen, Denmark where the investigator was a Fulbright Fellow. The data were collected prospectively on a cohort of 500 Danish infants followed every month from birth until 12 months. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB95-227666.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infections

Annotation: This document provides a brief overview of recent literature on adolescents and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Material includes information on the prevalence and nature of sexual activity among adolescents; risk factors associated with STDs, including race, gender, age, psychological and cognitive factors, and socioeconomic level; prevalence, diagnosis, and treatment of six sexually transmitted diseases and/or syndromes; and various approaches to their prevention.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF026.

• Link

Keywords: Adnexitis, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Chlamydia infections, Condoms, Costs, Gonorrhea, Herpes simplex, High risk populations, Prevention programs, Racial factors, School based clinics, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Syphilis

Annotation: This project was aimed at reducing Chicago's infant mortality rate, which is twice that of the national rate. Cause-specific postneonatal mortality rates for selected communities were taken from state records, and an interagency health systems model was established to make efficient use of resources and expertise. Intervention included prenatal education and parenting skills enhancement. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103233.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Health Education, Hispanics, Home Visiting, Infant Mortality, Infections, Injuries, Postneonatal Mortality, Pregnant Adolescents

Annotation: This project aimed to improve the health and nutrition status of migrant farmworker women and their children under 5 years of age who received services at the Tri-County Community Health Center. The major ethnic groups comprising the clinic population were Hispanic, black, Haitian, and Caucasian. A multicisciplinary staff developed collaborative efforts with other agencies, provided birth coaching and breastfeeding classes, and recruited lay health advisors representing the several ethnic groups within the migrant population. Data collection systems and MCH protocols were also developed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103365.

Keywords: Barriers to Health Care, Bilingual, BlacksHaitians, Breastfeeding, Community Health Centers, Data Collection, Head Start, Health Advisors, High risk groups, Hispanics, Immunization, Infant Mortality, Infections, Lay, Low Birthweight, Low income groups, Migrant Health Centers, Migrant Women, Migrant Women, Mothers, Nutrition, Outreach, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Social Work Services

Annotation: These proceedings of the first International Congress on Maternal and Neonatal Health (Manila, Philippines, 1981) are grouped into nine sections, namely: keynote reviews; maternal health, neonatal care and family planning; future prospects of family planning programs; prevention and cure of prevalent infections; search for risk factors influencing reproduction; maternal and neonatal health care monitoring in Indonesia and the Philippines by computerized techniques; strategies for implementation of recent knowledge and technology in Pakistan, Hong Kong, Ghana, Sri Lanka, Japan, Nigeria, and China; strategies for training primary health care persons; and concluding remarks.

Keywords: China, Computers, Conferences, Family planning, Ghana, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Infections, Japan, Maternal health, Nigeria, Pakistan, Perinatal care, Philippines, Primary care, Reproduction, Sri Lanka, Training

Annotation: This conference report discusses urinary tract infections in the ambulatory pediatric patient, role of the radiologist, role of the urologist, technique of obtaining clean-voided urine in girls, bladder taps, technique for catheterization, urologic findings associated with first urinary tract infection in girls, and urinary tract infections in older women.

Keywords: Children, Conferences, Radiologists, Urinalysis, Urinary tract infections

Annotation: These suggestions regarding hospital nurseries discuss the main hospital nursery, work room, premature nursery, isolation and observation nurseries, milk room, nursing staff, care of the newborn, milk room procedures, premature infants, care of isolated infants, outbreaks of infection, discharge of the mother and baby, laundry, visitors, records, and diarrhea of the newborn.

• Link

Keywords: Diarrhea, Hospital nurseries, Infections, Medical records, Nurses, Patient isolation, Premature infants