Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure provides guidelines to help reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in child care settings. It provides an overview of SIDS; a description of safe sleep practices for infants; and the rules that apply in the state of Minnesota when a death occurs in a child care setting. The brochure also describes sources of support and services that are available to providers who have lost an infant due to SIDS.

Contact: Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota, 2525 Chicago Avenue South; MS-50-2165, Minneapolis, MN 55404, Telephone: (612) 813-6285 Secondary Telephone: (800) 72-3812 Fax: (612) 813-7344 Web Site: http://www.childrensmn.org/patientfamily/family-services-a-resources/sid-center/the-minnesota-sudden-infant-death-center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Infants, Minnesota, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, State legislation

Annotation: This brochure for parents of a premature baby discusses safe sleep practices that should be followed once the infant is discharged from the hospital. It discusses practices suitable for the NICU that are no longer needed and may be unsafe once the infant is at home. It provides tips on following the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines on back sleeping, safe cribs, not covering the baby's head and face, no smoking, no overheating, talking with others who care for the baby, and tummy time for the awake infant who is closely supervised.

Contact: Sudden Infant Death Services of the Mid-Atlantic, P.O. Box 799, Haymarket, VA 20168, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidsma.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Hospitals, Neonatal intensive care units, Premature infants, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep

Annotation: This set of posters depict services needed for the health and welfare of infants. They address the topics of birth registration, proper care before birth, infant welfare stations, baby clinics, and child hygiene bureaus.

• Link

Keywords: Birth certificates, Child welfare, Community health services, Infants, Mothers, Posters, Prenatal care

Annotation: This report provides background on an initiative launched as a partnership between the American Academy of Pediatric Dentists and the Office of Head Start with the purpose of establishing dental homes for young children who may otherwise go without oral health care. The report explains the requirements of the contract, offers background on both organizations, and discusses what the initiative hopes to accomplish for infants and children enrolled in the Head Start program or Early Head Start program. It also details what the initiative will do to provide parents and Head Start staff with evidence-based information about how to help prevent tooth decay, and it describes how a national network of pediatric and general dentists will be organized under the initiative.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Dental caries, Head Start, Infant health, Initiatives, Low income groups, Prevention, Tooth decay, Young children

Annotation: This guide for new mothers addresses postpartum health and wellness during the first year after childbirth. Topics include sleep strategies for mother and baby, dental health guidance, physical activity recommendations, planning for future pregnancies, and nutrition and healthy eating with specific guidance on important nutrients like iron, calcium, folic acid, and fiber. Culturally-informed recipes such as Golden Milk and Chinese Rice Soup are included. The guide also provides practical advice on managing common postpartum challenges such as breastfeeding difficulties, sleep deprivation, low energy, and symptoms of depression that may require seeking help. The Edinburgh Postnatal Depression Scale screening tool is included. Additional resources for mental health support, nutrition education, breastfeeding assistance, domestic violence help, and substance abuse treatment are located on the final pages.

Contact: California Department of Public Health , California WIC Program , Telephone: (800)852-5770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://myfamily.wic.ca.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, California, Infant health, Maternal health, Mental health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Postpartum Depression, Postpartum care

Annotation: This infographic presents data from the Kansas Perinatal Community Collaborative on their implementation of the March of Dimes' Becoming a Mom (BaM) prenatal education curriculum. It describes the evidence-based program's three-fold approach to perinatal care, education, and support, including its cognitive and behavioral compoments. The infographic compares demographic characteristics of mothers participating in the BaM program, shares self-reported outcomes and behaviors of program participants, and highlights key infant health metrics for BaM mothers compared to statewide data.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Division of Public Health, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 540, Topeka, KS 66612-0461, Telephone: (785) 296-0461 Fax: (785) 368-6368 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/157/Division-of-Public-Health

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Infant health, Maternal health, Patient education, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care

Annotation: This web page from the South Dakota Department of Health focuses on Postpartum Health, recognizing it as a critical part of the maternal health journey that requires compassionate and comprehensive care. Intended for new parents/moms, the site provides information and support for a healthy recovery, covering physical, emotional, and mental changes after childbirth. Major topics include learning about care after delivery, distinguishing between baby blues and postpartum depression, well-baby checkups, the benefits of breastfeeding, and family planning, including information on the South Dakota PLAN clinic. The resource also provides safety guidance for the family and infant, detailing safe sleep practices, prevention of child injuries (home safety, car seat safety, and choking), and tips for choosing quality child care.

Contact: South Dakota Department of Health, 600 E. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 773-3361 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://doh.sd.gov/

• Link

Keywords: Infant care, Maternal health, Patient education, Postpartum care, South Dakota

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This report provides a description of perinatal oral health, including its significance and background, barriers to accessing oral health care for this population, and a strategic framework for improving perinatal oral health. It also includes guidelines and recommendations, research evidence, and state practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Infant health, Initiatives, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This updated report offers information about oral health for women during the perinatal period and discusses problems related to women's oral health and their ability to access oral health care during this period. A strategic framework for improving perinatal oral health, based on core public health activities, is presented, and a policy statement is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Infant health, Oral health, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention, Public policy , Treatment

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

Annotation: This website provides information about the Healthy Start program, administered by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), that works to improve health outcomes before, during, and after pregnancy in high-risk communities. The program focuses on enhancing mothers' health, preventing infant death, and eliminating health disparities through comprehensive, personalized care. The website offers several key resources, including a downloadable Healthy Start Fact Sheet providing program overview, links to evaluation reports showing program effectiveness, information about the Healthy Start EPIC Center for training and technical assistance, and access to the CAREWare database system for data management. Visitors can also find a program locator tool to find local Healthy Start sites, details about grant awards from 2019-2024 (including specific community-based doula initiatives), and contact information for additional questions. The site highlights program accomplishments, showing that Healthy Start participants receive early prenatal care, well-woman visits, and depression/interpersonal violence screenings at higher rates than national averages. The website also explains the structure of the Community Consortium approach and describes the Alumni Peer Navigator initiative that employs former program participants to help current families access needed services.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Secondary Telephone: (833)852-6262 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health promotion, Healthy Start, Infant health services, Infant mortality, Maternal health services, Perinatal care, Prevention

Annotation: This chartbook contains data about factors that could impact the integration of oral health care into primary care for infants, and children, adolescents, and pregnant women at high risk for oral disease in seven states (Colorado, Connecticut, Montana, New York, South Carolina, Texas, and Wisconsin) and Puerto Rico. Topics include scope of practice, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Community health, Dental hygienists, Infant health, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Teledentistry

Annotation: This report presents recommendations from a taskforce convened to address maternal and infant health challenges in rural South Carolina. The document examines the significant barriers facing pregnant and postpartum women and their babies in rural areas of the state, including provider shortages, hospital closures, transportation challenges, and nonmedical drivers of health such as poverty and food insecurity. It reviews successful programmatic efforts including Family Solutions, Hello Family Pay for Success, and the Management of Maternal Diabetes initiative, as well as policy approaches from other southern states that have expanded practice authority for certified nurse midwives and strengthened workforce incentives. The report provides detailed recommendations organized into four categories: care delivery (including mobile maternity units and telehealth expansion), workforce development (addressing pay equity and training), training and education for providers and communities, and addressing nonmedical drivers of health through transportation and social support services. It includes extensive data on maternal mortality rates, provider distribution maps, and economic analyses of the costs associated with poor maternal health outcomes, along with definitions of key terms and comprehensive references.

Contact: South Carolina Institute of Medicine and Public Health , 1301 Gervais Street, Suite 1710 , Columbia , SC 29201, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://imph.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Infant health, Maternal health, Model programs, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Rural health, South Carolina, State initiatives

Annotation: This online resource serves as guide for new mothers navigating the postpartum period, offering support for what can be a time of mixed emotions and physical changes. Key content areas include Postpartum Healing and Support, which covers topics like pain management, your care team, postpartum depression, pelvic support problems, exercise after pregnancy, and the importance of a postpartum support network. New mothers can also find guidance on breastfeeding and newborn vare, including how to prepare for breastfeeding, FAQs on breastfeeding, newborn screening tests, and newborn male circumcision. Additionally, the site addresses medical problems after pregnancy, such as preeclampsia, heart disease, pelvic support problems, and postpartum depression, and offers information on birth control after pregnancy, including postpartum birth control, long-acting reversible contraception (LARC), and postpartum sterilization. The website also features interactive tools like "Ask ACOG" for common questions and a "My Postpartum Care Checklist".

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Infant care, Patient education, Postpartum care

Annotation: This online resource from the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) provides support and information for pregnant women, new parents, and caregivers in Texas. The website includes sections covering pregnancy resources, parenting resources (which links to the Texas Home Visiting program), and information about COVID-19 and pregnancy vaccination safety. The resource describes legislative requirements for providers to give new parents and caregivers a pamphlet, available in English and Spanish, covering topics like postpartum depression, shaken baby syndrome, immunizations, and newborn screening. The site includes depression resources listing urgent assistance lines such as 2-1-1 Texas and the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline, and provides contact information for professional organizations and counseling services across various Texas counties.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, Maternal and Child Health, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7321 Fax: (512) 458-7358 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/mch/default.shtm

• Link

Keywords: Infant care, MCH services, Patient education, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Texas

Annotation: This web page from the Wyoming Department of Health and Wyoming Medicaid provides information and resources for Wyoming Medicaid moms and new parents navigating health and benefits during the postpartum period. The resource offers guidance on timing and expectations for postpartum and newborn health checkups and details how to access an electric breast pump through the Healthy Babies, Happy Moms Program. For new families, the site provides safety information, including safe sleeping recommendations to reduce the risk of SIDS. The page also addresses maternal mental health and Substance Use Disorder (SUD), providing immediate assistance lines and links to community treatment providers. Furthermore, it highlights extensive free state programs, such as the Wyoming Hand in Hand home visitation program and the Parents as Teachers program, and lists resources for financial and coverage support, including SNAP, WIC, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and assistance with utility costs.

Contact: Wyoming Department of Health, 401 Hathaway Building, Fourth Floor, Cheyenne, WY 82002 , Telephone: (307) 777-7656 Secondary Telephone: (866) 571-0944 Fax: (307) 777-7439 Web Site: http://wdh.state.wy.us

• Link

Keywords: State programs, Community based services, Infant care, Low income groups, Maternal health, Mental health, Newborns, Postpartum care, Wyoming

Annotation: This roadmap provides detailed information on policies and strategies that foster nurturing environments for infants and toddlers and reduce disparities in access and outcomes. Published annually, the roadmap is designed to help state leaders (1) Assess the wellbeing of its infants and toddlers and prioritize state policy goals; (2) Identify evidence-based policy solutions proven to impact policy goals; (3) Monitor states’ adoption and implementation of effective policies and strategies; and (4) Track the impact that policy changes have on improving the wellbeing of children and families and reducing disparities between racial and ethnic groups. A summary of each state’s progress is included.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• 2024
• 2023

Keywords: Child health, Data collection, Early childhood development, Family leave, Health care access, Health status disparities, Home visits, Infant health, MCH programs, Policy, Prenatal care, State initiatives, State policy

Annotation: This website explains how Perinatal Quality Collaboratives (PQCs) work to improve the quality of healthcare for mothers and babies. PCQs are networks of perinatal health care providers that include hospitals, clinicians, and public health professionals working to improve pregnancy outcomes through quality improvement initiatives and use of best available evidence-based strategies. The site includes a video introduction to PQCs; a webinar series; a guide to help states developed PQCs, success stories, journal articles, and links to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Infant health, Maternal health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Quality assurance, Regional programs, State initiatives

Annotation: This report spotlights five programs focused on integrating oral health care into primary care serving the maternal and child health population. Each spotlight includes an overview of the program; a description of its inception and early years; information about funding, notable strengths, notable evaluation activities, and evaluation methodology; select evaluation findings; and resources to learn more about evaluation.The report also describes key elements for individual program success and the challenges common across all programs that limit program success. Stand-alone spotlights of each program are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Webpage With Stand-alone Spotlight Reports

Keywords: Evaluation, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children