Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide is a toolkit for hospital librarians in the Southeastern/Atlantic region of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. It includes resources, methods, and tools related to professional development, social media for libraries (including mobile app reviews), marketing and promotion, skills sets for librarians, electronic health records, policy development. disaster planning, statistics, training programs, and evidence based practices. The information included in this guide comes from a summit of hospital librarians held in Baltimore, Maryland in early 2010.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region, University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System, Pittsburgh, PA Web Site: http://nnlm.gov/mar/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Hospitals, Information services, Library services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This electronic toolkit has been developed to assist healthcare providers in the transition of the premature infant from hospital to outpatient care, to facilitate the accurate transfer of patient information, and to help provide evidence‐based practical measures for consideration in the care of the premature infant The toolkit provides age‐specific information, highlighting what is unique for the premature infant from birth to 12 months (corrected for age). Sections include discharge planning, outpatient follow‐up care, parent/caregiver, and tools. Policy statements on hospital discharge from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), anticipatory guidance, Bright Futures well-child guidance and screening tables, and listings of specific medical issues complicating outcomes or premature infants and the role of role of primary physicians are included in the online interactive toolkit.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Hospital services, Infant care, Neonatal intensive care, Outpatient services, Patient discharge, Premature infants, Prematurity, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This book outlines what a child protection team at a children’s hospital should offer in terms of infrastructure, staffing, functions, and systems to be considered either basic, advanced, or a center of excellence. The book discusses each of these three tiers, explaining how they serve as a framework for hospital self assessment and are not intended as a ranking for competitive evaluation. The first section covers medical leadership, team administration, and social work; the second section covers clinical services, policies, prevention, advocacy, community collaboration, education, and research; and the third section covers funding, reimbursement, and risk management. The benefit to the community is covered in a special section.

Contact: Children's Hospital Association, 600 13th Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 753-5500 Web Site: http://www.childrenshospitals.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child protective services, Child welfare, Maltreated children, Pediatric hospitals, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Social work

Annotation: This brief describes a partnership between a school district and a children's hospital to increase compliance with state law requiring all students in kindergarten and first grade entering public school for the first time to receive an oral health assessment. Contents include information about the district's contract with the hospital to provide the health team for its 10 elementary schools and preschool program, the standardized format and forms for data collection and reporting, and coordination and implementation of the oral-health-assessment plan (screening by volunteers and referral to the school nurse for follow-up care). Topics include the percentage of children identified with urgent, possible, and no oral concerns by school and compliance rates for select schools and the district as a whole.

Contact: Rady Children's Hospital-San Diego, 3020 Children's Way, San Diego, CA 92123, Telephone: (858) 576-1700 Web Site: https://www.rchsd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: California, Contract services, Dental caries, Elementary schools, Legal responsibility, Legislation, Local initiatives, Model programs, Nurses, Oral health, Pediatric hospitals, Referrals, Risk assessment, School age children, School districts, School health services, Screening, Statistical data

Annotation: This course contains five modules addressing how to recognize a disaster, the rationale for pediatric disaster triage, and common triage strategies applicable to disaster response. Application of the information through the use of several case studies and embedded quizzes illustrates the concepts discussed in the training. Continuing medical education/continuing education credit is available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Continuing education, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, MCH training, Pediatric care, Triage

Annotation: This analysis examines patterns of oral-heath-care seeking in emergency departments (EDs). The authors look at ED claims data in seven states—Arizona, Florida, Iowa, Maryland, Utah, Vermont, and Wisconsin—to understand between- and within-state differences in ED use. Topics include state differences in the types of oral conditions that lead individuals to seek care in EDs, differences in rural vs. urban areas, and differences in patterns of oral-health-care seeking in EDs associated with state Medicaid policy.

Contact: NORC Walsh Center for Rural Health Analysis, 4350 East West Highway, Suite 800, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 634-9300 Secondary Telephone: 301-951-5070 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.norc.org/Research/Departments/Pages/public-health-research/walsh-center-rural-health-analysis.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Wisconsin, Access to health care, Arizona, Children, Data, Emergency room data, Florida, Health services delivery, Hospital emergency services, Iowa, Maryland, Oral health, State surveys, Utah, Vermont

Annotation: The goal of this report is to provide a framework for hospitals to develop and employ practices for meeting the needes of diverse populations. The report provides an introduction and discusses the methodology, building a foundation, collecting and using data to improve services, acommodating the needs of specific populations, and establishing internal and external collaborations. A self-assessment tool on tailoring initiatives to meet the needs of diverse populations is provided. Endnotes and a glossary are included.

Contact: Joint Commission, One Renaissance Boulevard, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181, Telephone: (630) 792-5800 Fax: (630) 792-5005 Web Site: http://www.jointcommission.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care, Health services, Assessment, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Hospitals, Language barriers, Minority groups

Annotation: This annual report provides perspectives on state and national trends in breastfeeding. Topics include breastfeeding rates from the U.S. National Immunization Survey, birth facility support, mother-to-mother support, professional support, infrastructure, and support in child care settings. Each report contains information on what's new since the release of the first report in 2007, as well as information on how states can use the report card to improve breastfeeding rates. State-by-state data tables are included.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Hospitals, Legislation, Measures, Parent support services, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This paper presents guidelines from the multiple areas of expertise and disciplines involved in the planning for and care of children during times of disaster and terrorist events. It provides information on the participants of the consensus conferences in 2003 and 2005 and includes recommendations in the following areas: emergency and prehospital care; hospital care; preparedness and response; biological, chemical, and radiological terrorism treatment; decontamination, quarantine, and isolation; mental health needs; school preparedness and response; training and drills; and future research agenda and funding. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Disaster Preparedness, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 845-2300 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncdp.mailman.columbia.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, Terrorism

Annotation: This pamphlet discusses the importance of cultural competence at the front desk. Negative consequences of front desk staff's failure to use culturally and linguistically competent practices are listed. Examples of individuals who have encountered culturally or linguistically inappropriate practices at the front desk, and how these experiences affected them, are included. The pamphlet also includes suggested guidelines that agencies, practices, clinics, and hospitals can follow to address the cultural and linguistic competence of the front desk.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Agencies, Clinics, Cultural beliefs, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Hospitals, Language barriers, Linguistic competence

Annotation: This summary report assesses the state of America's health care safety net, a term that has come to refer broadly to public hospitals, community health centers, public health departments, faith-based clinics, and others who, either by mission or mandate, provide significant amounts of health care to people who are uninsured or underinsured and who cannot cover the costs of care from their own resources. Ten communities across the country were assessed: Memphis, TN; Detroit, MI; Phoenix, AZ; San Diego, CA; Lincoln, NE; Boston, MA; Queens, NY; Fairfax County, VA; San Antonio, TX; and Atlanta, GA. Chapter contents include descriptions of the following from the ten communities studied: structure and financing, availability of services for uninsured and underserved patients, results from focus group meetings with residents in the ten communities, care and use of emergency departments of hospitals in the areas studied, and key findings and strategies for strengthening the safety net. The report also contains an executive summary, end notes, and reports on the assessment including partners and contact information. Separate and detailed reports are provided for each of the ten communities. Statistical information is provided in charts, tables, and graphs throughout the summary and in each individual community report.

Contact: Urgent Matters, 2121 K Street, N. W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-8642 Fax: (202) 973-1150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.urgentmatters.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, California, Clinics, Georgia, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health facilities, Health programs, Health services delivery, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, Program evaluation, Public health programs, Public hospitals, Tennessee, Texas, Underserved communities, Uninsured persons, Virginia

Annotation: This report, which follows Part 1, A Nation's Health at Risk, provides a snapshot of the state of the nation's health care system and examines forces that are impacting access to affordable primary health care in America. Trends examined include a growing uninsured population, a shortage of primary care physicians and other barriers to care, and an increasing strain on hospital emergency rooms from growing demand. The report examines how these forces are impacting access to affordable health care in America and straining the safety net.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org

Keywords: Barriers, Health care systems, Hospital emergency services, Hospitals, Low income groups, Primary care, Trends, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report focuses on the DC CAN (Control Asthma Now) Project, a project dedicated to developing a viable, comprehensive, community-based, consumer-centered strategic approach to address the District of Columbia's asthma epidemic, improve health outcomes, and reduce the burden of asthma in the District. The report, which includes an executive summary and a key findings section, is divided into three main chapters: (1) behavioral risk factor surveillance system, (2) asthma hospital discharge data, and (3) asthma mortality rates. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The report also includes sections on conclusions, future plans for partnerships and research, and references.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5925 Fax: (202) 535-1710 Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/page/community-health-administration

Keywords: Asthma, Behavior, Community based services, Community programs, District of Columbia, Hospital discharge data, Local initiatives, Mortality rates, Population surveillance, Risk factors

Annotation: This report answers questions about hospital care for women such as (1) In what ways do hospitalized women differ from hospitalized men? (2) What are the most common reasons for hospitalizations? (3) For what preventable conditions are women hospitalized? (4) Who is billed for various types of hospital stays? And (5) What are the patterns of hospital care for pregnancy and delivery? Topics include age, charges, length of stay, in-hospital deaths, insurance coverage, and obstetric care. Statistical data are provided throughout the report in chart and table formats. The sources of data and report methods are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care utilization, Hospital services, Hospitalization, Pregnant women, Statistics, Surveys, Women', s health

Annotation: This final report provides information about the Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality, the advisory panel responsible for fulfilling the requirements of the Newborns' and Mothers' Health Protection Act of 1996, which specified that the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services should conduct studies of the factors affecting outcomes following childbirth, including length of hospital stay, other services, and financial incentives. The report provides background, discusses methods and results, and presents the committee's recommendations.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Childbirth, Costs, Families, Final reports, Health services, Hospitals, Infant health, Infant mortality, Legislation, Prenatal care, Research, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet, which focuses on family-centered prehospital care, was developed to help individuals in the prehospital arena build a system of care that is responsive to the needs of children and families. The fact sheet defines family-centered care and related terms and offers tips for providing this type of care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Hospitals, Collaboration, Cultural competence, Emergency medical services for children, Family centered services

Annotation: This report focuses on maternal and child health statistics for the Russian Federation and the United States. The report covers a broad range of health measures including the following: prenatal care, pregnancy complications, abortion, method of delivery, birth order, births to unmarried women, births by age of mother, infant mortality, maternal mortality, child mortality by age group, immunizations, morbidity in the Russian Federation, hospitalization in the United States, and communicable diseases. The report also includes a discussion of data quality issues to assist in understanding limitations in the accuracy, coverage, or comparability of the information presented. A background section provides a brief description of the organization of each country's health care system, as well as an outline of national guidelines for the provision of maternal and child health care. The report also contains 24 tables covering population size, prenatal and obstetrical care, abortions, natality data, breastfeeding practices, mortality data including causes of death, immunization rates, communicable diseases, and other morbidity measures. The report provides additional detail, when available, for key subgroups of each population: In the Russian Federation, data are presented for urban and rural regions; in the United States, for black and white racial groups. In the final section of the report, a glossary of terms provides additional detail on differences in definitions between the two countries.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: PHS 99-1486.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Child health, Child health services, Child mortality, Childbirth, Communicable diseases, Health statistics, Hospitalization, Immunization programs, Infant health services, Infant mortality, Maternal age, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Maternal mortality, Morbidity, Pregnancy complications, Premarital pregnancy, Prenatal care, Racial factors, Rural population, Russia, United States, Urban population, Vital statistics

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the United States health care system and an overview of the professional, political, social, and economic forces that have shaped it and will continue to do so. It is intended to serve as a text for introductory courses on the organization of health care in the United States for students in all fields of health and allied health professional education. Chapter topics are: (1) an overview of health care, (2) benchmark developments in health care, (3) the history of hospitals, (4) the future of hospitals, (5) primary care, (6) medical education, (7) health personnel, (8) financing health care, (9) managed care, (10) long term care, (11) mental health services, (12) public health and the government role, (13) medical research, and (14) the future of health care.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1167-X.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Benchmarking, Financing, Government role, Health education, Health personnel, Health services, Hospitals, Long term care, Managed care, Medical education, Mental health services, Primary care, Professional education, Public health, Textbooks, United States

Annotation: This report summarizes the findings of a research study to develop information about the prevalence of urinary tract infections (UTI) in febrile young children in the emergency department, tests for UTI, and cost effectiveness of various approaches to the problem. The report includes a description of the population, the sampling plan, and research findings. A response to the presentation and references are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Photocopy available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF
• Series Page

Keywords: Child health, Fever, Hospital emergency services, Infant health, MCH Research, Urinary tract infections

Annotation: This report explores the effect of health insurance coverage on children's access to health care. Prepared in response to a Congressional request, this report also discusses whether expanding publicly funded insurance improves children's access to health care and what barriers, in addition to lack of insurance, may deter children from obtaining health care. The findings of the report are the result of a literature review covering the past ten years, generally based on analyses of large national surveys. The report includes references.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-98-14.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child morbidity, Children, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health insurance, Health promotion, High risk children, Hospitalization, Low income groups, Medicaid, National surveys, Preventive health services, Primary care, Primary care, Uninsured persons