Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report, which provides information from a survey that measured key factors impacting the daily lives of over 10,000 lesbian, gay, bixexual, or transgender adolescents (ages 13-17) from every region of the United States, presents a picture of the difficulties that this population faces. The report includes a summary of the findings and presents information in the following categories: personal well-being, community, home and family, school and peers, and culture.

Contact: Human Rights Campaign, 1640 Rhode Island Avenue, N.W, Washington, DC 20036-4160, Telephone: (800) 777-4723 Secondary Telephone: (202) 216-1572 Fax: (202) 347-5323 Web Site: http://www.hrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Communities, Discrimination, Families, Homosexuality, Schools, Sexual identity, Surveys

Annotation: This paper explores experiences among individuals who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender that may impact their ability to lead healthy lives. The paper concludes with a review of current policies in Missouri, and offers recommendations for achieving greater health equity and improved health outcomes for all Missourians.

Contact: Missouri Foundation for Health, 415 S. 18th Street, Suite 400, St. Louis, MO 63103-2269, Telephone: (314) 345-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 655-5560 Fax: (314) 345-5599 Web Site: http://www.mffh.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Equal opportunities, Homosexuality, Missouri, Public policy, Sex role, State initiatives

Annotation: This report outlines best and promising practices for tobacco use prevention and control for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community using the World Health Organization’s best practices model, MPOWER (Monitor, Protect, Offer, Warn, Enforce, and Raise), which outlines the key steps for effective tobacco control programs and additional letters -- E for Evaluate (and disseminate) and D for Diversify -- to address all of the key challenges that LGBT and overlapping disparity populations face. The target audience for the report includes policy makers, grant makers, grant applicants, and tobacco control program administrations.

Contact: Network for LGBT Health Equity, The Fenway Institute, Boston, MA Telephone: (617) 927-6451 E-mail: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com/contact/ Web Site: http://lgbthealthequity.wordpress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Model programs, Prevention, Program improvement, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This webinar focuses on the new objective in Healthy People 2020's lesbian, gay, bisexual,and transgender topic area; transgender health; the development of gender identify; and health issues specific to transgender individuals. The webinar also discusses how the Affordable Care Act of 2010 affects individuals who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBT) and how the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is working to including LGBT issues in its health research. Efforts to increase access to care and improve the health of individuals with HIV/AIDS are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Archive Site With Materials

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Discrimination, Gender discrimination, HIV infected patients, Health insurance, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Legislation, Prevention, Research, Sexual identity

Annotation: This toolkit for practitioners and researchers working with lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning (LGBTQ) youth outlines specific evidence-based programs, practice models, and assessment/evaluation tools used by agency staff working with LGBTQ youth who have run away from home or who are homeless. It highlights available training curricula on cultural sensitivity and standards of care for agency staff and the LGBTQ youth they serve, and includes sample agency non-discrimination policies. The toolkit draws its findings from interviews, literature reviews, and empirical research.

Contact: National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections, Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College, 2180 Third Avenue, 7th Floor, New York, NY 10035, Telephone: (212) 396-7562 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nrcpfc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Curricula, Homosexuality, Professional materials, Professional training, Program improvement, Youth

Annotation: This brief contains resources to help families promote health in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. The brief points to hotline and support services; websites for youth, parents, and caregivers; electronic documents for parents and families; and other resources on topics relevant to promoting health in LGBTQ youth. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education materials, Homosexuality

Annotation: This website is geared toward helping adolescents in foster care who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or questioning (LGBTQ) navigate the child welfare system. The site provides information about harassment, discrimination, and violence; homelessness and running away; health and sexuality; and state-specific resources. A 24-hour hotline is included. The site also adresses common questions, presents stories about LGBTQ adolescents, discusses life after foster care, and provides other related information.

Contact: American Bar Association, Center on Children and the Law, 740 15th Street, N.W., , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 662-1000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 285-2221 Fax: (202) 662-1755 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.abanet.org/child Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Child welfare agencies, Children', Discrimination, Foster care, Homelessness, Homosexuality, Runaways, Sexual harassment, Violence, s rights

Annotation: This issue brief examines the relationship between suicide and bullying among children and adolescents, with special attention to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) youth. It also explores strategies for suicide and bullying prevention.

Contact: Suicide Prevention Resource Center, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (877) 438-7772 Secondary Telephone: (617) 964-5448 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sprc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Homosexuality, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This report presents findings from work done by an expert committee to assess the health status of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) populations; identify research gaps and opportunities; and outline a research agenda to help the National Institutes of Health focus its research in this area. Topics include conducting research on LGBT populations; implementing a research agenda; and LGBT health status throughout the life course.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Brief

Keywords: Health, Homosexuality, Research, Sexuality

Annotation: This brochure provides detailed recommendations for safely discussing suicide among lesbian, gay bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) populations in both traditional and social media while at the same time expanding public conversations about the well-being of LGBT individuals, promoting the need for family support and acceptance, and encouraging help-seeking by LGBT individuals who may be contemplating suicide.

Contact: American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, 120 Wall Street, 22nd Floor, New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (212) 363-3500 Secondary Telephone: (888) 333-AFSP Fax: (212) 363-6237 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.afsp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Families, Homosexuality, Mass media, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This report examines how current laws, practices, and social stigma hurt children with lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBT) parents and work against achieving the goals of securing stable, loving homes for all children and ensuring economic security, heath, and well-being for all children. The authors assess key challenges that stand in the way of achieving these goals and offer recommendations for eliminating or reducing inequities and improving the lives of children with LGBT parents.

Contact: Family Equality Council, P.O. Box 206, Boston, MA 02133, Telephone: (617) 502-8700 Fax: (617) 502-8701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familyequality.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Economic factors, Families, Homosexuality, Parents, Sex factors, Social discrimination, Social factors, Sociocultural factors

Annotation: This field guide is intended to help hospitals and health care organizations improve quality of care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) patients and their families by enhancing efforts to provide care that is more welcoming, safe, and inclusive. The guide presents strategies for creating processes, policies, and programs that are sensitive to and inclusive of LGBT individuals and their families. Topics include leadership; provision of care, treatment, and services; work force; data collection and use; and patient, family, and community engagement. Each chapter contains recommended issues to address and practice examples.

Contact: Joint Commission, One Renaissance Boulevard, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181, Telephone: (630) 792-5800 Fax: (630) 792-5005 Web Site: http://www.jointcommission.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Families, Health care delivery, Homosexuality, Hospitals, Inclusion, Leadership, Policies, Programs, Sexual identity, Statistical data, Treatment

Annotation: This report describes the National School Climate Survey conducted by the Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network. The survey asked lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) youth about biased language in their schools; feelings of comfort and safety in school; and experiences of verbal, physical, and sexual harassment based on sexual orientation, gender, gender expression, race/ethnicity, disability, and religion. The report, which includes an executive summary, also contains a description of the study's methodology, results, and a conclusion. Extensive statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network, 90 Broad Street, Second Floor, New York, NY 10004, Telephone: (212) 727-0135 Fax: (212) 727-0254 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.glsen.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Ethnic factors, Gender discrimination, Homosexuality, Language, Racial factors, Religion, Safety, Schools, Sexual harassment, Surveys

Annotation: This brief presents recommendations for employees, administrators and supervisors, and youth workers in agencies and nonprofit organizations to increase their competency in working with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender adolescents and young adults. Recommendations for improving practices, organizational culture, and residential services are included.

Contact: National Alliance to End Homelessness, 1518 K Street, N.W., Suite 410, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-1526 Fax: (202) 638-4664 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.endhomelessness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Competence, Homeless persons, Homosexuality, Organizational change, Program improvement, Residential programs, Sex roles, Sociocultural factors, Young adults

Annotation: This booklet provides information on ways that families can support children who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) and decrease their risk for serious health and mental health problems in adulthood. Topics include how family rejection affects children's health and mental health and how family acceptance protects against risk behaviors. Information on how families can advocate for their children and connect them to resources is also included. The booklet is available in English, Spanish, and Chinese. A faith-based (Mormon) version is also available.

Contact: San Francisco State University, Family Acceptance Project, 3400 16th Street, #301, San Francisco, CA 94103, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://familyproject.sfsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Online Order Form

Keywords: Adolescents, Asian language materials, Child development, Children, Families, Family support services, Homosexuality, Mental health, Primary prevention, Risk factors, Sex roles, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource guide lists materials available on the Internet that address antigay harassment and bullying, both antigay and in general, in schools. Some of the resources are from U.S. state agencies and others are specific to the United Kingdom.

Contact: Safe Schools Coalition, 1002 East Seneca , Seattle, WA 98122-4203, Telephone: (206) 957-1621 Secondary Telephone: (866) 430-6631 Fax: (206) 325-2689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safeschoolscoalition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Bullying, Homosexuality, School violence

Annotation: This book provides a directory of effective sexual education programs in the United States, all of which are aimed at a variety of age groups, and ethnic, cultural, and sexual orientations. Each program description contains the following: an abstract, program rationale and history, schedule, materials, a description of implementation steps, and an evaluation section. Sites of the programs include schools, community settings, and medical clinics.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-082613824-8.

Keywords: Sexuality education, Adolescents, Cultural beliefs, Ethnic groups, Homosexuality, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This book provides guidance for health professionals, public health officials, researchers, and policy makers on sexual minority health care. Topics include health promotion and disease prevention for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) clients; unique clinical issues faced by LGBT populations; mental health issues faced by LGBT individuals; transgender and intersex health; parenting and raising families; demographic and epidemiologic information; and legal issues.

Contact: American College of Physicians, 190 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572, Telephone: (215) 351-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 523-1546 Web Site: https://www.acponline.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-930513-95-2.

Keywords: Homosexuality, Disease prevention, Health behavior, Health promotion, Sexual health, Sexuality

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to help advocates increase awareness about, education for, and healthy behaviors among lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) adolescents. Contents include background information on the unique needs of LGBTQ adolescents and recommendations for creating support services and funding that promote positive programs and policies, as well as safe environments, for LBGTQ adolescents. Definitions and information on how to use the guide are included.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Advocacy, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Psychosocial development, Youth

Annotation: This issue of "The Future of Children" focuses on the debate over marriage and its relationship to child well-being and provides readers with some facts and a context to help them understand that debate. The issue includes nine articles, each by a different author. The articles deal with the following topics: (1) an overview of the issue, (2) marriage as a public issue, (3) American marriage in the early 21st century, (4) the impact of family structure on family income, (5) the impact of family formation change on the cognitive, social, and emotional well-being of the next generation, (6) gay marriage, same-sex parenting, and America's children, (7) barriers to marriage among the disadvantaged, (8) healthy marriage programs: learning what works, and (9) the hefty penalty on marriage facing many households with children.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Child development, Children, Economic factors, Families, Family income, Homosexuality, Marital status, Marriage, Parents