Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This presentation about family home visiting and oral health in Rhode Island provides an overview of the federally funded Perinatal and Infant Health Quality Improvement Project, the goal of which was to reduce the prevalence of oral disease in pregnant women and infants through improved access to high-quality oral health care. The presentation also provides statistical data about family home visiting in Rhode Island, an overview of oral health, an oral hygiene demonstration, and information on setting oral health goals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Rhode Island, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents final implementation and impact results from the Mother and Infant Home Visiting Program Evaluation-Strong Start (MIHOPE-Strong Start)-- a study that was launched in 2012 to test whether evidence-based home visiting provided during pregnancy improves birth outcomes, prenatal health, and health care use in infancy.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov

• Link

Keywords: Home visiting, Infant health, Maternal health, Outcome evaluation, Prenatal care, Studies

Annotation: This report describes a partnership to improve oral health in pregnant women and children enrolled in Early Head Start in Wisconsin and, specifically, those enrolled in the home visiting program. Contents include information about data collection and statistical analysis, partnership overview and processes, training for home visitors and parent educators on using the Parent Oral Health Education Toolkit (POHET), changes in oral health knowledge and behaviors for parents and other caregivers after implementation of the POHET, increases in the number of children with a dental home, and reductions in children's dental caries experience at age 3.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Document

Keywords: Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Training, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This document describes the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (Home Visiting Program) to support voluntary, evidence-based home visiting services for at-risk pregnant women and parents with young children up to kindergarten entry. Topics include efforts to expand services to more families and communities, program participants, notable achievements, the Tribal Home Visiting Program, and research and evaluation. State fact sheets are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services delivery, Home visiting, Infants, Parents, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, School readiness, State MCH programs, Young children

Annotation: This report addresses the assets that dual language learners (DLLs) and English learners (ELs) bring to their education and the factors that support or may impede their educational success. The report also provides recommendations for policy, practice, and research and data collection focused on addressing the challenges in caring for and educating DLLs/ELs from birth to grade 12. Topics include the policy context, demography of the EL population, capacities and influences on language development, promising and effective practices and programs, the development of English language proficiency, DLLs/Els with disabilities, and building the workforce to educate ELs.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-45537-4.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child care, Children, Data collection, Education, Home visiting, Infants, Language development, Learning, Policy development, Research, School readiness, Work force

Annotation: This joint statement sets a vision for stronger partnerships, collaboration, and coordination between awardees of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (MIECHV) and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part C Program (IDEA Part C Program). It provides recommendations to States, territories, and tribal entities to identify and enhance opportunities for collaboration and coordination between MIECHV and the IDEA Part C Program.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Early intervention, Federal programs, Home visiting, State programs

Annotation: This resource provides materials for the SafeCare, an evidence-based, parent-training curriculum for parents of infants and children from birth to age 5 who are at-risk for or have been reported for child neglect or physical abuse. Topics include the evidence-base, cost-benefit, cost of implementation of SafeCare; the structure of the parent child/infant interaction, health, home safety, and family engagement skills modules; certification and support including the role of the home visitor, coach, and trainer; and implementation planning and sustainability. Curricula are available for providers (in English and Spanish), coaches, and trainers.

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Mark Chaffin Center for Healthy Development, 14 Marietta Street, N.W., Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://healthy.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Curricula, Early childhood development, Home visiting, Infants, Model programs, Motivation, Parent child relations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Program planning, Safety, Sustainability, Training, Young children

Annotation: This paper documents the joint efforts, thoughts, and calls to action shared by national and state home visiting leaders before and during a policy convening held on February 25, 2016, in Washington, DC, to explore the successes and challenges of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) Program, identify solutions to move the field forward, and discuss the next iteration of advocacy efforts needed to impact reauthorization. Topics include collaboration and integration, infrastructure, enhancing professional development and training, establishing a research and evaluation agenda, funding and infrastructure, compass points for the next horizon of home visiting, keeping families at the center, advocacy, and conclusion. Pre-meeting survey questions, and the meeting agenda and participant list are also available.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• White Paper
• Survey Questions, Agenda, Participant List

Keywords: Advocacy, Collaboration, Evaluation, Family centered care, Federal programs, Financing, Home visiting, Legislation, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Research, Service Integration, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report reviews research on parenting practices and identifies effective practices. The report also recommends ways agencies and others can support interventions that help more parents learn about effective parenting practices. A brief and webinar are also available.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Home visiting, Parenting support services, Prevention programs, Research

Annotation: This brief is designed to help Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting grantees develop a continuous quality improvement (CQI) plan and communicate it to others within their organization. The brief explains what the plan should cover and includes a sample outline and template for drafting a CQI plan. Also available are Appendix A: Sample CQI plan outline, Appendix B: Sample CQI plan template, and a 2017 update. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com Available from the website.

• Link
• 2017 Update (guide)

Keywords: Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Evaluation methods, Federal grants, Home visiting, Information dissemination, Models, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This memorandum to states provides information about resources available to help them meet the needs of pregnant women and families with young children, specifically with respect to home visiting services. Topics include background on common services in a home visiting model, financing approaches, and additional information and resources for designing a home visiting program.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Federal initiatives, Financing, Home visiting, Medicaid, Model programs, Program development, Public private partnerships, State programs

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes of the federal home visiting program's state grantees in serving high-risk populations and substantially expanding home visiting services nationwide. Topics include the extent to which state grantees demonstrated improvements in each of the benchmark areas, technical assistance provided to grantees including the type of assistance provided, and recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems, Health Resources and Services Administration , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/home-visiting Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health care reform, Health services delivery, High risk groups, Home visiting, MCH research, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on the effectiveness of interventions that help to mitigate parental and familial factors that may contribute to adverse childhood experiences among children. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Topics include parent education programs (conducted outside the home), home visit programs, dual treatment programs for substance abuse, and trauma-informed care. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; and a table that describes the systematic reviews included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Home visiting, Intervention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Parent education, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Substance abuse treatment, Trauma, Trauma care

Annotation: This checklist for home visitors and their clients in Maryland is designed to help them establish goals for oral health during pregnancy. Topics include making a dentist appointment, going to the dentist, brushing with fluoridated toothpaste, flossing, drinking tap water, drinking less soda and other sugar-sweetened beverages, and eating fruits and vegetables. The checklist is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Goals, Home visiting, Maryland, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This flip chart is designed for social services providers who work with women during the prenatal period and parents of infants and children with special health care needs. Topics include taking care of the infant’s or child’s mouth, finding a dentist and planning a trip to the dentist, toothbrushing, tooth decay, intellectual and physical disabilities, cleft lip and cleft palate, autism spectrum disorder, Down syndrome, and g-tube and tracheostomy. Links to short videos and parent handouts are available.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parents, Prevention programs, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: These resources for home visitors are designed to help families establish good oral health habits and obtain oral health care. The items are intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: Washington Dental Service Foundation, P.O. Box 75983, Seattle, WA 98175-0983, Telephone: (206) 528-2373 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kidsoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Home visiting, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral health care, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

Annotation: This report presents the first findings from the Mother and Infant Home Visiting Program Evaluation (MIHOPE), the legislatively mandated national evaluation of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) program. The report includes an analysis of the states' needs assessments, as well as baseline characteristics of families, staff, local programs, and models participating in the study.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal programs, Home visiting, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report details the Mother and Infant Home Visiting Program Evaluation-Strong Start (MIHOPE-Strong Start) process of acquiring administrative vital records and Medicaid data from 20 states and more than 40 state agencies. MIHOPE-Strong Start examines the effectiveness of home visiting services on improving birth and maternal health outcomes for women who are enrolled in Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), as well as their effectiveness at reducing costly health care encounters. The study relies on administrative data to measure infant and maternal health, health care use, and cost outcomes. The MIHOPE-Strong Start experience sheds light on the process of acquiring permission to access such data.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative problems, Children', Confidentiality, Costs, Data collection, Health care utilization, Health status, High risk mothers, Home visiting, Infants, Measures, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This tool is designed to support the day-to-day work of Head Start home visitors and those who work with them. Users can explore the home visitor’s handbook and other resources in a multimedia format. Topics include child development and early learning; family engagement and relationships; health, safety, and nutrition; program management and supervision; and regulations. The tool is accessible via mobile phone and tablet and offers home visitors the opportunity to read, review, rate, save, and organize materials. A video tutorial is included.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Head Start, Home visiting, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to identify how states are using Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) funds to advance state home visiting systems. Contents include background and methodology. Topics include early successes of MIECHV, innovation, and challenges.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Federal initiatives, Financing, Home visiting, Service delivery systems, State MCH programs