Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This database is a user-friendly tool that provides data on Latino children in the United States. As an update and expansion of NCLR’s 2010 publication America’s Future: Latino Child Well-Being in Numbers and Trends, the Data Explorer offers 27 national- and state-level indicators of Latino child well-being, including demographic, health, education, housing, income, and juvenile justice variables. The data are available by age group (0–2, 0–4, 0–8, 0–17) and include time trend and racial/ethnic comparisons.

Contact: National Council of La Raza, 1126 16th Street, NW. Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 785-1670 Fax: (202) 776-1792 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nclr.org Available from the website.

• Database Access
• About The Database

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children, Data, Demography, Hispanic Americans, Juvenile justice, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This website provides information about Hispanic adolescents in the United States related to health care coverage, adolescent pregnancy, educational attainment, mental health, substance abuse, and weight. For each topic, links to information and programs are included. Background information about this population is also included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Cultural factors, Educational attainment, Mental health, Ethnic factors, Health insurance, Hispanic Americans, Obesity, Programs, Substance abuse

Annotation: This paper discusses evidence that black and Hispanic children with Medicaid/CHIP coverage may have more problems accessing care, relative to their white counterparts, in two areas: specialty and mental health care. It also discusses the need for further study to explore both the causes and the potential implications of these patterns.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Children, Children', Health care financing, Hispanic Americans, Medicaid, Mental health services, Special health care services, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This web site describes a national online network of researchers, community group leaders, decision-makers, and members of the public to support healthy policy and environmental changes that can help reverse the Latino childhood obesity epidemic. It provides news, research, maps, videos, resources, and successful stories of change in Latino communities across the nation. Topics as they relate to Latino childhood obesity include promoting healthier food in choices in schools and neighborhoods, increasing access to local places and more opportunities to be active, decreasing unhealthy food and beverage advertising, and reducing consumption of sugary drinks.

Contact: Salud America!, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Institute for Health Promotion Research, 7411 John Smith, Suite 1000, San Antonio, TX 78229, Telephone: (210) 562-6500 Fax: (210) 562-6545 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://salud-america.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Health behavior, Health promotion, Hispanic Americans, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Policy development, Social change, Weight management

Annotation: This report provides information about the health of Maryland's Hispanic population. The report includes data highlights; basic information about this population; and information about social and economic well-being, economic characteristics, mortality, access to health care, health risk and protective factors, cancer, chronic disease, HIV and infectious diseases, maternal and infant health, and mental health. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 201 West Preston Street, Room 500, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-7117 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/Contact-Us.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Access to health care, Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, HIV, Health, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, Maryland, Mental heath, Minority groups, Mortality, Protective factors, Racial factors, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This report identifies promising approaches to reducing early childbearing among Latino adolescents based on evidence from research studies, trend data, evaluations of intervention programs, and interviews with parents, teens, and program designers and practitioners. The findings from each of these endeavors are described in individual chapters, which also present comparative statistics and discussions of key findings related to sexual activity, attitudes and beliefs, contraceptive use, and trends in reproductive outcomes among Hispanic adolescents. The report synthesizes the study findings and recommends strategies to reduce teen pregnancy and decrease poverty rates in Latino communities.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Hispanic Americans, Intervention, Models, Poverty, Prevention, Research

Annotation: This research brief reports on what Child Trends learned through focus groups and interviews with Latino teens and parents about their values, ideals, and attitudes about teen parenthood, teen dating and sex, and the use of birth control by teens. It discusses the potential implications of these values, ideals, and attitudes for teen pregnancy prevention programs.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Behavior, Hispanic Americans, Interviews, Prevention, Research

Annotation: These resources are designed to help community leaders strengthen the communication skills of parents and other caregivers of girls ages 9-11. Topics include dating, self-image, Internet dangers, peer pressure, and other topics that parents may have a hard time discussing with their children. Contents include a facilitator’s guide, online videos, and tip sheets for African-American and Hispanic (Spanish- and English-speaking) communities.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Children, Communication skills, Communities, Hispanic Americans, Multimedia, Parents, Spanish language materials, Teaching

Annotation: This report summarizes results of the Hispanic Community Health Study/Study of Latinos to the communities and participants. The report describes the study and participants; disease conditions; risk factors for cardiovascular disease; diet and physical activity; awareness, treatment, and control of hypertension and diabetes; and health insurance coverage and types of health insurance. Data charts are included.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 13-7951.

• PDF

Keywords: Health insurance, Health status, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Public health, Research, Risk factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This archived webinar highlights best practices in engaging Latino families in home visiting programs. Panelists from three different home visiting models share approaches and tools that have led to their success in serving the needs of children and families. Topics included strategies for recruiting and retaining families in the program, specific training for home visitors, program and curriculum adaptation, and research on Latino families’ participation and outcomes.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Archive
• PowerPoint Slides

Keywords: Community programs, Audiovisual materials, Cultural sensitivity, Family support services, Hispanic Americans, Home visiting, Newborn infants

Annotation: This paper examines how community health workers (CHWs), promotores, and parent mentors can be used to improve the health of children in the Southwest, as well as the health care available to them. The paper provides definitions of CHWs, promotores, and parent mentors and discusses a conceptual framework for providing an understanding of how they can improve children's health and health care; evidence of effectiveness and cost-effectiveness; existing programs; and implications for policy, practice, and research.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child abuse, Child health, Community health workers, Community heath services, Costs, Ethnic factors, Health services, High risk groups, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Low income groups, Low income groups, Programs, Public policy, Racial factors, Research, Southwestern United States, Uninsured persons

Annotation: These research findings on the variation in use of contraceptive services among Hispanics were presented during the National Survey of Family Growth Research Conference held in October 2012. The findings highlight individual variation in contraceptive use based on acculturation, country of origin, socioeconomic status, and community characteristics (including access to services). The data sources, research sample, measures, and methods are outlined, and findings are presented in numerical and descriptive formats. Future efforts to increase the use of contraceptive services among Hispanics are also summarized.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive use, Data, Hispanic Americans, Research

Annotation: This report presents nine recommendations for sexual and reproductive health clinics and providers to increase young Latina women’s access to reproductive health services. The recommendations are based on findings from 14 focus groups conducted by Child Trends in three cities in the Mid Atlantic, Southwest, and West Coast regions of United States. Participants included young adult Latina women (18-24 years-old) and reproductive health care and social service providers serving large Latina populations. A list of suggested resources is included with each of the recommendations.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Focus groups, Hispanic Americans, Reports, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Women, Young adults

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance on how community health providers can use media outreach to inform people about sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) and safe sleep. The toolkit discusses engaging ethnic media to achieve the greatest impact. The toolkit focuses on reaching communities at highest risk for SUID—African Americans, Hispanics (particularly Puerto Ricans), and Native Americans. Topics include understanding the audience, knowing what reporters need to tell a story, shaping a story, establishing relationships with reporters, and using the right tools to engage ethnic media outlets. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Communities, High risk groups, Hispanic Americans, Infant death, Mass media, Media campaigns, Outreach, Prevention, Puerto Ricans, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: These resources are intended to help adolescents, parents, and community health workers engage in discussions about adolescent sexual and reproductive health. The content is drawn from the evidence-based parent intervention, Families Talking Together, to prevent and reduce risky sexual behavior among Latino adolescents. Materials for parents contain information on preventing too-early sex, how to talk with adolescents, and effective monitoring and supervision. Materials for adolescents address birth control and protection and relationships. The curriculum and accompanying fidelity checklist are designed to enhance the knowledge and skills of community health workers in effectively implementing the intervention. Additional materials such as the training schedule and fact sheet are also available. The content is available in English. A Latino Spanish and African American version are also available.

Contact: Center for Latino Adolescent and Family Health, New York University Silver School of Social Work, 15 Washington Place, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-6790 Fax: (212) 995-4605 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.clafh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Community health workers, Curricula, Ethnic groups, Families, Health promotion, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Parenting, Prevention programs, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This book presents information about the range of cultures within the United States, and advice about developing cultural competence in order to work with families of differing origins. The book gives the cultural perspectives of families of Anglo-European, Native American, African American, Latino, Asian, Philipino, Hawaiian, Samoan, Middle Eastern, and South Asian origin. For each culture, the book lists bibliographies, beliefs, values, practices, cultural courtesies, and significant cultural events. The intended audience is health or social services professionals working with children with special health needs. Concluding sections include suggested readings and resources, and author and subject indexes.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-744-6.

Keywords: American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Children with special health care needs, Cultural competence, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Pacific Americans

Annotation: This updated fact sheet describes a continuing school-based program implemented in the Los Angeles Unified School District that was designed to help children cope with violence. Students in the program lived in largely Hispanic neighborhoods. The fact sheet provides background about the problems faced by children exposed to violence, discusses the way the program was developed and the program's results, and offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures in the fact sheet.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Child mental health, Children, Coping, Families, High risk children, Hispanic Americans, Low income groups, Parents, Programs, Schools, Students, Violence, Witnesses

Annotation: This fact sheet presents findings from a study to estimate the economic burden of health disparities in the United States using the following three measures: direct medical costs of health inequalities, indirect costs of health inequities, and costs of premature death. Topics include the potential cost savings of eliminating health disparities and productivity loss associated with health inequalities for racial and ethnic minorities.

Contact: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 805 15th Street, 2nd Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-3500 Fax: (202) 789-6390 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jointcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Economics, Equal opportunities, Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Racial factors, Research

Annotation: This evaluation report summarizes methods, outputs, and outcomes of Phase II (community awareness and education) of the Community Genetics Education Project, a project funded by a Health Resources and Services Administration cooperative agreement with the March of Dimes with the goal of increasing the genetic literacy of African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans, and Pacific Islanders. The report aims to identify overarching challenges, lessons learned, and best practice implications. Specifically, the report (1) summarizes methodologies used in the development of this report, (2) provides an overview of local site interventions, (3) describes the roles of various project partners in Phase II, (4) summarizes common elements of the local evaluations and provides an overview of specific local evaluation designs and methods, (5) summarizes and discusses local evaluation findings, (6) addresses how these findings have been disseminated and discussed, (7) discusses additional Phase II outcomes, (8) details implementation challenges and lessons learned, and (9) summarizes best practice implications.Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Communities, Evaluation, Genetics education, Health literacy, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, Intervention, Outcome and process assessment, Pacific Islanders

Annotation: This book identifies key factors that define cardiovascular health, the changes that individuals and families can make to live healthier lives, and the tools to do so. The content is presented in three parts. Part one addresses what we know about the heart and Hispanics, how the heart works, life changes to consider (things to do and things to avoid), and a 10-point program for health. Part two presents facts on frequently asked about conditions and information on the tests and procedures that are used to diagnose and treat heart conditions. Part three offers resources and tools such as noncommercial web sites, space to write down information about health care visits and medicines, vitamins, supplements, teas, etc. Questions to ask a health care provider about a diagnosis, a diagnostic test, surgery or procedures, or recovery after surgery or procedures are also included. It is in Spanish.

Contact: Buena Salud Club, Telephone: (866) 783-2645 Web Site: http://www.buenasaludclub.org $9.95.

Keywords: Behavior modification, Cardiovascular diseases, Cardiovascular tests, Consumer education materials, Diagnostic techniques, Ethnic factors, Health behavior, Health promotion, Hispanic Americans, Spanish language materials, Surgery