Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This online resource provides evidence-based information and resources for the Healthy People 2020 topic areas. The searchable database offers access to information from multiple sources. A form for searching allows users to choose topic area, objective, developer type, and many other parameters to narrow searches.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Databases, Health, Healthy People 2020, Online databases, Resource materials

Annotation: This report presents findings on the oral health status of children in third grade in Delaware, as well as on oral health disparities. Topics include decay experience, untreated tooth decay, needing oral health care, dental sealants, and dental visits. Findings are stratified by the child's eligibility for the National School Lunch Program and compared to Healthy People 2020 objectives. The report also contains information about resources and strategies to improve the oral health of children in Delaware. The appendices contain information about survey methods, data tables, the consent form, the screening form, and the parent questionnaire. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Delaware, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Healthy People 2020, Low income groups, Oral health, School age children, Screening, State surveys

Annotation: This document demonstrates how the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN) can be used to establish a baseline for child and adolescent health and well-being and to monitor improvement. Contents include a series of charts listing Healthy People 2020 objectives and related NSCH and NS-CSHCN measures and indicators. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children, Children with special health care needs, Comparative analysis, Healthy People 2020, Measures, National surveys, Oral health

Annotation: This report presents findings on oral health disparities from the 2009–2010 National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey. The report focuses on Healthy People 2020 objectives covering select age groups by race and ethnicity and poverty status. Topics include untreated dental caries among children and adolescents ages 3–5, 6–9, and 13–15; dental sealants among children ages 6–9 and adolescents ages 13–15; tooth retention among adults ages 25–64; and edentulism among adults ages 65–74.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Barriers, Children, Data analysis, Health status, Healthy People 2020, National surveys, Oral health

Annotation: This webcast, held on August 20, 2012, highlights Maryland’s experience with leveraging partnerships to bring about statewide changes in oral health. Topics include the Healthy People 2020 leading oral health indicators and progress, outcomes, and future directions of oral health reforms in Maryland. The webinar is one in a series of webinars highlighting an organization, state, or community addressing a Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Videos (5 Parts)
• Slides

Keywords: Community action, Health care reform, Health care systems, Healthy People 2020, Maryland, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Statewide planning

Annotation: This fact sheet illustrates the relationship between the Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) performance measures and the Healthy People 2020 objectives. It is designed to guide national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve EMSC objectives and provide science-based benchmarks that facilitate monitoring and tracking and health promotion efforts.

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Benchmarking, Emergency medical services for children, Healthy People 2020

Annotation: This webinar focuses on the new objective in Healthy People 2020's lesbian, gay, bisexual,and transgender topic area; transgender health; the development of gender identify; and health issues specific to transgender individuals. The webinar also discusses how the Affordable Care Act of 2010 affects individuals who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBT) and how the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is working to including LGBT issues in its health research. Efforts to increase access to care and improve the health of individuals with HIV/AIDS are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Archive Site With Materials

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Discrimination, Gender discrimination, HIV infected patients, Health insurance, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Legislation, Prevention, Research, Sexual identity

Annotation: This webcast is the third installment of the monthly "Who's Leading the Leading Health Indicators?" series. The series highlights organizations using evidence-based approaches to address a Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator (LHI) topic. The webcast provides an overview of the March LHI topic—maternal, infant, and child health—and provides information about maternal, infant, and child activities in DHHS's region IV. Also discussed is how the Kentucky Department of Public health, with the help of national, state, and local partners, has successfully combatted rising rates of premature birth.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Link

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Federal programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Infant health, Kentucky, Local programs, Premature infants, Prematurity, Prevention, State programs, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: This webcast is the sixth installment of the monthly "Who's Leading the Leading Health Indicators?" series. The series highlights organizations using evidence-based approaches to address a Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator (LHI) topic. The webcast provides information about reproductive and sexual health. The presenters explain the impact and cost of sexually transmitted diseases, indicators for reproductive and sexual health, HIV statistics, and federal actions.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Webinar

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Federal programs, HIV, HIV infected patients, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Prevention, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the basic framework of the Healthy People 2020 initiative, including its vision, mission, and goals. It discusses the importance of using an ecological and social determinants approach to health promotion and disease prevention; the role of health information technology and health communication; and the importance of addressing preparedness for all types of hazards. A graphic model that visually depicts the ecological and determinants that Healthy People 2020 will take in framing national health objectives is included.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Federal initiatives, Goals, Healthy People 2020, Public health

Annotation: This publication lists the Healthy People 2020 objectives in 42 topic areas and for each objective gives the goal target, existing baseline data, the target setting method, and the data source. The website provides the same information, with links to further data and also provides a narrative overview that describes the importance of the topic area, discusses emerging issues, and provides links to additional information sources.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Health, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Prevention

Annotation: This guide describes the Healthy People 2020 website and explains how online users (public health professionals as well as the general public) can take advantage of the site's features. It includes a brief overview of the Healthy People 2020 initiative, including its overarching goals; a description of the features on the site's home page; and summaries of the information available in each section of the site. The guide also describes the site's relational database called Closer Look, Health Disparities, which can be used to access a wide variety of data from federal agencies. Information on external Web 2.0 tools, mobile applications, and GIS-mapping data sites is also provided.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Guidelines, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Information sources, Information systems, Internet, Technology, World wide web

Annotation: This toolkit contains presentations and materials to assist Healthy People Consortium members and others understand, implement, and market Healthy People. Contents include a presentation with talking points tailored for specific audiences including health care professionals, state and local public health professionals, educators, businesses, environmental health professionals, and housing professionals. Also in the toolkit are the Healthy People framework, a presentation on the determinants of health, printer-friendly objectives, program planning tools, and guidance document to the navigation and use of the website.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Information dissemination, Public health

Annotation: This report recommends 12 indicators and 24 objectives for guiding the national health agenda. The report is based on a review of current and past health indicator sets with consideration to provisions of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Contents include a brief discussion of Healthy People 2020 and recommendations concerning topics, indicators, and objectives. In addition, the report discusses the framework and process used to select objectives, topics, and indicators. A detailed discussion of each objective is presented, along with suggestions for measures that could be used in three Healthy People topic areas for which no objectives exist: social determinants of health; health-related quality of life and well-being; and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender health. A brief summarizing the full report is also available.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $18.90 plus shipping and handling; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-18637-7.

• Full Report
• Report Brief

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health objectives, Healthy People 2020, Measures

Annotation: This resource provides a framework, known as MAP-IT (mobilize, assess, plan, implement, track), for planning and evaluating public health interventions to achieve Healthy People 2020 objectives. Each of five sections includes questions to ask and answer, a brief overview, Healthy People 2020 tools, and links to related planning and funding resources. Implementation examples are also provided.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community participation, Disease prevention, Evaluation, Federal initiatives, Financing, Health planning, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Public health, Statewide planning

Annotation: This web page provides information about the Healthy People 2020 national agenda is it relates to maternal and child health (MCH). Links are provided to the agenda itself, to state and territorial Healthy People plans, and the Healthy People resources. The page also lists Healthy People 2020's overarching goals and its MCH-related topic areas.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Costs, Healthy People 2020, Infant health, Initiatives, National programs, Prevention, Resource materials, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This webcast is the first installment of the monthly "Who's Leading the Leading Health Indicators?" series. The series highlights organizations using evidence-based approaches to address a Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator (LHI) topic. The webcast provides information about access to health services. The webcast showcases the Southside Healthcare Collaborative, which provides health services for residents of Chicago's south side. The presenters also discuss access to heath care as an administration priority; access to health insurance; access to a usual primary care health professional; and federal actions, including the Affordable Care Act.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Archive Site With Materials

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal programs, Health insurance, Health promotion, Health services, Healthy People 2020, Legislation, Prevention, Primary care

Annotation: This brochure provides information about Healthy People 2020, a set of goals with 10-year targets designed to guide national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve the health of all people in the United States. The brochure includes background information about Healthy People; explains what's new in Health People 2020; delineates the Healthy People 2020 mission, vision, and goals; and lists Health People 2020 topic areas.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Health, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, National programs

Annotation: This report highlights the 62 Healthy People 2020 objectives that the Department of Health and Human Service's Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion determined most directly address reproductive health. The objectives are divided into eight topic areas: access to health services; adolescent health; education and community-based programs; family planning; HIV; immunization and infectious diseases; maternal, infant, and child health; and sexually transmitted diseases.

Contact: U.S. Office of Population Affairs, , 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (204) 453-2800 Fax: (204) 453-2801 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Communicable diseases, Community programs, Disease prevention, Education, Family planning, HIV, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Immunization, Infant health, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health

Annotation: This report presents the results of a project to evaluate processes used by states, territories, and tribal health departments to develop health promotion and disease prevention plans based on the Healthy People 2020 framework, as well as evaluate the effectiveness of the framework used to guide them. Contents include a description of the participants, the Healthy People 2020 concepts they addressed, their implementation process, the partnerships they leveraged and the communication strategies they used for their planning processes, and their perspectives on the Healthy People 2020 objectives.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health objectives, Healthy People 2020, Process evaluation, State initiatives, Strategic plans