Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of a forum held December 14, 2004 to share information on policies and programs on women's health at the federal and state level; research and evidence-based efforts; and successful prevention and treatment options. The first section of the brief includes overview of women's health in public sector initiatives such as Healthy People 2010, the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force and women's health, smoking prevention and cessation. Selected health plan initiatives are outlined including Anthem's Healthy Woman program, Highmark's array of programs, Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey, and Wellpoint. A chart of additional sources for more information is provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conferences, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Initiatives, Program descriptions, Women', s health

Annotation: This report describes a project in Arizona from July 2001 through June 2006 to meet the Healthy People 2010 objectives that all youth with special needs receive the services necessary to make appropriate transitions to all aspects of adult life and that families and youth with special needs participate in decision-making at all levels and are satisfied with the services they receive. Report contents include a description of the purpose of the project and its relationship to Title V Maternal and Child Health Programs; the project goals and objectives, the methodology used for the project, and an evaluation section. Also included are a list of products and publications developed by the project, a summary of the dissemination and utilization of results, a review of the sustainability of the project along with future plans and follow-up, and an outline of the type of support needed to replicate the project. The final section outlines recommendations regarding the future of the project. Sample flyers, surveys, forms, questionnaires, and an article are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Southwest Institute for Families and Children with Special Needs, 5111 North Scottsdale Road, Suite 105, Scottsdale, AZ 85250, Telephone: (480) 222-8800 Secondary Telephone: (877) 867-8801 Fax: (480) 222-1080 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.swifamilies.org

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Arizona, Final reports, Healthy People 2010, National programs, Program descriptions, Service integration, Special health care services, State programs, Transition to independent living, Transitions

Annotation: This state action plan documents progress toward toward meeting Healthy People 2010 goals and objectives to improve the health of Americans and represents the driving force for resource allocation for disease prevention and health promotion in Iowa. The plan, a companion to the national Healthy People 2010 plan, is based on a midcourse review of Healthy Iowans 2010 conducted between March 2004 and December 2004. The introduction discusses the significance of Healthy Iowans 2010, accomplishments and major challenges to Iowan's health status to date, new challenges to the heath of Iowans, and the process for updating Healthy Iowans 2010. The updated plan includes 25 chapters, including two new chapters on vision and emergency preparedness and response. Each chapter contains the following elements: an introduction describing the problem in Iowa, supported by data; a report on achievements since the original Healthy People 2010 plan was published in 2000; revised or new goal statements with baseline data and a rationale; action steps to achieve the goals within the next five years and the organization(s) responsible for taking the action. The plan also presents lists of review team representatives, resource persons, and revision staff. Comparisons between Healthy People 2010 and Healthy Iowans 2010 and a list of acronyms are provided as appendices.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Full Report (9.5 MB)

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health statistics, Healthy People 2010, Iowa, Minority groups, State initiatives

Annotation: This chapter in Healthy Iowans 2010 Mid-Course Revision documents progress toward meeting Healthy People 2010 goals and objectives to improve the health of Iowans. Content is based on a review of the oral health goals and objectives in Iowa's state action plan conducted between March 2004 and December 2004. The introduction discusses primary oral health problems facing Iowans over the next five years, and discusses categories of individuals who are underserved and who may have varying degrees of difficulty in accessing care, the most commonly identified obstacles to utilization, the infrastructure of the service delivery system (how services are delivered and financed), accomplishments-to-date, and cross-cutting issues related to other chapters in the Healthy Iowans 2010 plan. The chapter then describes goals and action steps, as revised, for the targeted at-risk populations.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health statistics, Healthy People 2010, Iowa, Oral cancer, Oral health, Population surveillance, Screening, State initiatives

Annotation: This volume (the third in a three-volume set) presents overviews from research on five new Healthy People 2010 focus areas and accompanying models for practice, as well as detailed literature reviews for these topics. The topics covered include immunizations and infectious diseases; injury and violence prevention; access to quality health services -- access to long-term care; education and community-based programs; and public health infrastructure.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Communicable diseases, Community programs, Education, Health services, Healthy People 2010, Immunization, Injury, Literature reviews, Long term care, Public health, Rural health, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report describes a 1998-2003 program in Tioga County, PA, for children's obesity prevention targeting children in grades kindergarten through eight and their families and/or caregivers with the specific initiatives of meeting the Surgeon General's Healthy People 2010 objectives for physical activity and nutrition. Report contents include descriptions of the purpose of the project and its relationship to the Title V maternal and child health programs, goals and outcome objectives, and a chart of activities to achieve goals and results. Also included are comments about evaluation, results and outcomes, publications and products produced during the project, as well as dissemination and utilization of results, futures plans and followup, and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Laurel Health System, 22 Walnut Street, Wellsboro, PA 16901, Telephone: (570) 723-5000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 808-LAUREL Web Site: http://www.Laurelhs.org

Keywords: Child health, Children, Final reports, Healthy People 2010, MCH services, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Program descriptions

Annotation: This report is a companion document to Healthy People 2010. The report helps communities and individuals translate Healthy People 2010 objectives that are key to adolescent health and safety into a vision for improving adolescent health and well-being. The report provides a framework for helping communities establish priorities, take collective action, and measure progress toward the shared goal of improving health, safety, and well-being of their adolescents and young adults. The report is divided into three main sections: (1) building national efforts to improve adolescent health, (2) building state and local efforts to improve adolescent heath, and (3) resources to improve adolescent health.

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Communities, Federal programs, Healthy People 2010, Local programs, Safety, State programs, Young adults

Annotation: This brief presents findings about the oral health status of children enrolled in Early Head Start and Head Start in Colorado. Page 1 includes a list of key findings. The remainder of the report is in tabular form and includes information about the number of children screened and then stratified by race and ethnicity and by age, and about the prevalence of dental caries experience and untreated tooth decay in children ages 2–4 compared to Healthy People 2010 objectives.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Colorado, Dental caries, Early Head Start, Ethnic factors, Head Start, Healthy People 2010, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial factors, Young children

Annotation: This report presents statistics on adolescents and adolescent health in the following areas: demographic features of the adolescent population, health care utilization and access, mortality, risky behavior, and covariation of risk behaviors. A list of references is included. Appendices include data sources for monitoring adolescent health and Healthy People 2010 critical objectives for adolescents and young adults. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00084 (2003), K110 (1998), J060 (1997).

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Healthy People 2010, Risk taking, Statistics

Annotation: This release provides updated estimates for 13 selected health measures based on new data from the January-September 2002 National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), with comparisons to estimates from the NHIS back to 1997. For each measure, a graph is presented showing the trend over time from 1997 through September 2002 for the total population, followed by graphs and tables showing estimates by sex, age group, and race/ethnicity. Data tables providing values displayed in the graphs are included. This release also provides updates for age-adjusted estimates for those early release measures that are also Healthy People 2010 leading health indicators.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Health, Healthy People 2010, Measures, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This document follows up on a previous publication on state and local efforts to reduce disparities in health among racial and ethnic minorities by reporting on focus groups conducted with program leaders and community stakeholders of seven of the programs featured earlier. Participants were interviewed about how their programs were initiated; what priority health issues are being addressed; what key partnerships were formed; what barriers were encountered, overcome, and remain; and what strategies are being employed to promote evaluation and sustainability. The seven focus groups include Collier County (FL) Health Department, Custer (ND) Health District, Los Angeles (CA) County Department of Health, Piedmont (VA) Health District, Rhode Island Department of Health, Spokane (WA) Regional Health District, and Tennessee Department of Health. Each case study includes a brief chart outlining the population, racial and ethnic breakdown, and leading preventable morbidity and mortality disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Case studies, Ethnic factors, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Local initiatives, Model programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, State initiatives, State programs

Annotation: This report presents findings of research that was initiated in response to recommendations made at a workshop titled Identifying Summary Measures for Healthy People 2010, held on September 17-18, 1998, in College Park, Maryland. The report focuses on methodological and data issues. It provides definitions of concepts and methods for calculating the recommended summary measures, evaluates a number of possible measures of morbidity, reviews the trends over a decade for one measure of healthy life expectancy, and examines the effects of combining data from different sources. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes a reference list.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Healthy People 2010, Life expectancy, Morbidity, Research, Trends

Annotation: This report provides a framework for understanding the magnitude of racial and ethnic disparities in North Carolina and some of the social determinants of these disparities. Topics include the role the Department of Health and Human Services in addressing these issues and specific action steps proposed by each division and office in the Department to address these issues, to reduce service barriers, and to provide services in a way that ensures all North Carolinians enjoy good health regardless of race, ethnicity, disability, or socioeconomic status. The document is divided into the following major sections: (1) purpose and vision, (2) North Carolina demographics, (3) overview: health disparities, (4) key areas of disparities in health status, (5) determinants of health, (6) disparities program assessment, (7) current gaps in eliminating health disparities, (8) implementation plans, and (9) external reviewers. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the document.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 1110 Navaho Drive, Suite 510, Raleigh, NC 27609, Telephone: (919) 431-1613 Fax: (191) 850-2725 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncminorityhealth.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Demography, Ethnic factors, Health status, Healthy People 2010, North Carolina, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, State surveys

Annotation: This document describes for researchers, teachers, practitioners, policymakers, and organizations action plans on the general strategies and specific steps they can take in support of six of the objectives of the Healthy People 2010 program. The six objectives address these topics: Internet access in the home, improvement of health literacy, research and evaluation of health communication programs, disclosure of information to assess the quality of health Web sites, centers for excellence in health communication, and healthcare providers' communication skills. The appendix provides examples of stakeholders involved in technology diffusion and Internet action initiatives.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Health education, Health literacy, Healthy People 2010, Information networks, Information sources, Internet, Program evaluation, Strategic plans, Technology transfer, World Wide Web

Annotation: This fact sheet summarizes information from a progress review meeting held October 22, 2003, in Washington, DC to examine the status of the Healthy People 2010 goals for maternal, infant, and child health (focus area 16). Topics include data trends, key challenges and current strategies, and approaches for consideration. A list of contacts for this focus area is included. The fact sheet also provides links to the full text of the Healthy People 2010 goals for focus area 16 and the meeting agenda, data presentation, and other materials for the progress review.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Infant health, Maternal health, Reports

Annotation: This publication, which is intended for physicians, aims to offer direction in pursuing activities that address the Health People 2010 21 critical objectives for adolescents and young adults. The publication features information about the national health objectives, in particular the adolescent components, and offers direction for obtaining programmic support, reviews strategies for publicizing project activiites, provides an actions plan for implementation, and discusses the important of program evaluation. The publication is divided into six chapters: (1) national health objectives, (2) adolescent health status, (3) organized medicine, (4) support for programs, (5) communication strategies, and (6) medicine's investment in youth. Resources, a list of Healthy People state coordinators, and a list of 2003 state adolescent health coordinators are included.

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent health programs, Adolescents, Communication, Health objectives, Healthy People 2010, Program evaluation, State programs, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This report compares Healthy People 2010 objectives with recommendations submitted by Hispanic community leadership about how the objectives can better address the needs of the Hispanic community. The report includes overall comments as well as general and specific comments in the areas of (1) healthy behaviors and (2) healthy and safe communities.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Secondary Telephone: (866) 783-2645 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Disease prevention, Health, Health behavior, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Hispanic Americans, Safety

Annotation: This draft document presents a blueprint for the organization, financing, and delivery of family-centered services for children and youth with special health care needs in a national program called "All Aboard the 2010 Express." It sets forth a framework for effective partnerships between families and professionals; among professions; between the private healthcare system and public health; among agencies and officials at the federal, state, and community levels; and among public agencies, businesses, and voluntary organizations in the private sector. The report also discusses how to measure program success, how to develop a successful plan, six goals, and three action steps. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (301) 945-9842 Contact Phone: (301) 443-2350 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-topics/children-and-youth-special-health-needs Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Family centered services, Federal initiatives, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Healthy People 2010, National programs, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This final report describes findings on patterns of service use and cost of care for a large sample of children with special health care needs enrolled in employer-based managed care plans in order to clarify their service needs and measure progress toward the Healthy People 2010 objectives. The report contains five sections including an executive summary, an introduction on the need for the study, the methodology, the results, conclusions, and recommendations for the next steps. The two appendices describe the selection of UnitedHealth Group as a study partner and service use variable definitions. References are provided. Statistical information is provided in table format throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Costs, Final reports, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Healthy People 2010, Managed care, Private sector, Research

Annotation: This tool kit provides leaders involved in community-campus partnerships with the knowledge and resources to support their activities in fulfilling the Healthy People 2010 objectives. The kit contains the following: an overview of the Healthy People 2010 objectives; examples of community-campus partnerships in improving the nation's health at the national, state, and local levels; a discussion of what it means for students, faculty, and institutional and community leaders to commit to achieving the Healthy People 2010 objectives, the Healthy People 2010 assessment tool, including 7 indicators of success; declaration and commitment forms; and a resource section of publications and organizations. References conclude the toolkit.

Contact: Community-Campus Partnerships for Health, University of Washington, Box 354809, Seattle, WA 98195-4809, Telephone: (206) 666-3406 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccph.info $12.00, including shipping and handling.

Keywords: Assessment, Case studies, Collaboration, Healthy People 2010, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Resource materials