Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #11: Medical home--percent of children with and without special health care needs having a medical home. It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Health supervision, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This template can be used to document a collaborative agreement between a dentist and a dental assistant to allow the assistant to provide services to individuals in public health settings before being examined by a dentist.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental assistants, Forms, Iowa, Oral health, Public health services, State programs, Supervision

Annotation: This form is designed to help school nurses collect health data and communicate health standards and health status for children before they start school. The record includes two parts, one to be completed by parents and one to be completed by a health professional. The form provides a consistent format for primary care health professionals and program administrators who must complete the form and gather data on children's health and a consistent set of expectations for early child care professionals.

Contact: Connecticut State Department of Education, Bureau of Health, Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education, 25 Industrial Park Road, Middletown, CT 06457, Telephone: (860) 807-2108 Fax: (860) 807-2127 Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/SDE/Student-Supports/Student-Supports-Home-Page/Bureau-of-Health-Nutrition-Family-Services-and-Adult-Education Available from the website.

• .pdf
• .doc

Keywords: Assessment, Data collection, Forms, Health status, Health supervision, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find care, services, and support and websites about Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services in Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health supervision, Consumer education materials, Developmental screening, EPSDT, Electronic publications, Families, Medicaid

Annotation: This guide is intended to help states, health professionals, and others understand the scope of services covered under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program. The guide provides information about periodic and interperiodic screenings, diagnostic services, the scope of treatment services, permissible limitations on coverage of EPSDT services, services available under other federal authorities, access to services, and notice and hearing requirements.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Developmental screening, EPSDT, Health supervision, Medicaid, Well child care

Annotation: This document discusses why adolescent health is important, the adolescent well-care visit, and strategies for promoting adolescent well-care visits, including adopting current Bright Futures guidelines for adolescents, incentivizing preventive care, encouraging teen-centered care, leveraging missed opportunities, using social media, and developing partnerships with key community stakeholders.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Developmental screening, EPSDT, Health supervision, Medicaid, Well child care

Annotation: This issue brief provides answers to frequently asked questions related to dental hygiene scope of practice in Mississippi. Topics include requirements, the process for amending the requirements, and legislation in other states.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Mississippi, Oral health, State legislation, Supervision

Annotation: This DVD contains improvisations of supervisory sessions from supervisors and practitioners who work in a variety of infant and early childhood programs. They are aimed at illustrating types of reflective supervision. Topics explore calming and containing techniques; promoting personal insights; teaching new skills; and addressing boundary issues.

Contact: California Center for Infant-Family and Early Childhood Mental Health, WestEd Center for Prevention and Early Intervention, 1000 G Street, Suite 500, Sacramento, CA 95814, Web Site: http://www.ecmhtraining.ca.org Available from the website.

• Description

Keywords: Child mental health, Early childhood development, Health supervision

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Health supervision, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Annotation: This curriculum contains ten training modules for health professionals who provide well-child care. Based on the foundation of the Bright Futures program, it covers health history; physical examinations; screening and risk assessment; screening with laboratory tests; immunizations; health education and anticipatory guidance; developmental and behavioral health; oral health; documentation; and cultural competence. CME credits are available. Additional resources such as a well-child care toolkit, links to state EPSDT programs and important pediatric resources, and family materials are provided.

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavior development, Child development, Child health, Curricula, Families, Guidelines, Health supervision, Infant health, Mental health, Parents, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This series of fact sheets for children, adults, and health professionals provides information on various oral health conditions for children and adults with special health care needs. Topics include asthma, autism, cleft lip and palate, congenital cardiac disorder, diabetes, Down syndrome, epilepsy, HIV, and traumatic brain injury. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Washington School of Dentistry, Department of Oral Medicine, 1959 N.E. Pacific Street, Campus Box 356370, Seattle, WA 98195-6370, Telephone: (206) 543-6501 Web Site: http://dental.washington.edu/departments/oral-medicine/oral-medicine.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Comprehensive health care, Continuing education, Educational materials, Health supervision, Non English language materials, Oral health, Parents, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This guide is designed to enhance communication between health care professionals and their Spanish-speaking patients. The guide is a quick reference to help identify and explore medical problems in the setting of well-child care, sick visits, and the emergency room until more formal interpretation services can be arranged. The guide assumes some familiarity with Spanish. Most Spanish questions in the book are phrased using the verb form appropriate both to boys or girls. The questions as they are written can be posed equally to parents about their children and to the children themselves. Because Spanish varies considerably by region, selected vocabulary was selected to be broad enough for recognition across the Americas. The guide is designed to be used with the AAP publication Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision, 3rd ed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $44.95, non-members; $39.95 members, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-302-1.

• 3rd Edition

Keywords: Communication, Health personnel, Health supervision, Medical terminology, Pediatrics, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This book is designed to provide guidance on how best to provide the preventive child health services suggested in Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents (Third Edition). The book is divided into four sections: (1) history, observation, and surveillance; (2) physical examination; (3) screening; ( and (4) anticipatory guidance. Topics covered include how to perform and bill for office-based screening for vision and hearing; obesity and its complications; child development, depression, and behavior problems; tobacco exposure, use, and cessation; parental literacy; parental depression, and how to provide counseling about topics critical to a child's health and development. The book is intended for health professionals as well as medical students and residents.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $49.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-522-3.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavior development, Child development, Child health, Families, Guidelines, Health supervision, Infant health, Mental health, Parents, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This manual was developed to provide basic guidelines to supervisors of Promotor y Promotora de Salud programs, which use lay health educators to provide health information in migrant communities. The manual provides general information and information on hiring and supervision, training and motivation, and how to handle challenges. Sample forms and templates are also included. The manual is available in English and Spanish.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Community health workers, Health services, Leadership. Health education, Manuals, Motivation, Peer education, Prevention, Programs, Spanish language materials, Supervision, Training

Annotation: This training and education tool distills data and promising practices on the health impact of violence on maternal and child health, mental health, injury prevention, children and adolescents, and more. Contents include a series of slide presentations on data, national resources, and program and policy recommendations, along with photos and graphics to engage diverse audiences. The tool is divided into downloadable chapters and includes a compendium listing the full citations for each chapter. Presenters can pick and choose which slides to include in trainings, and reference speaker notes to strengthen presentations.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Data, Disease notification, Domestic violence, Health supervision, Model programs, Policy development, Public health, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This manual focuses on conditions relating to child health, development, and behavior that are now increasingly provided by primary care providers but which were previously handled by community child health clinics. The manual is divided into two sections: the first deals with the aims and objectives of child health promotion; the second describes normal and abnormal development and behavior. The second section also describes how to organize a health practice to incorporate preventive treatment. The manual outlines the main points to be reviewed at each age from birth to 5. It is based on current health systems in England.

Keywords: Child behavior, Child development, Child health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health supervision, Infants, Manuals, Newborn infants, Preventive health services, Primary care, Young children

Annotation: This activity book is designed to teach young children about health and safety topics including nutrition, fitness, self-expression, and oral health. Several of the activities are intended to be shared with family and community members. The activity book is also in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org $15.00, plus shipping and handling..

Keywords: Child health, Coloring books, Health supervision, Materials for children, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brief presents policy improvements affecting screening in primary care that were identified by teams from 19 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, who worked together for 14 months to make policy and practice improvements needed to make the use of validated screening tools in well child care a part of standard practice. The brief presents an overview of results, improving coverage (benefits and eligibility), reimbursement, improving program performance, and Oregon's approach to policy improvement.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Child developmental disorders, Child health, Health supervision, High risk children, Oregon, Primary care, Public policy, Screening, State programs, Well child care

Annotation: This paper discusses recommendations from the National Center for Mental Health Checkups at Columbia University for how to make routine mental health checkups for adolescents a standard of care in primary settings, to detect and treat mental illness in adolescents. Topic include (1) the scope of adolescent mental illness and the cost of delayed diagnosis, (2) the consensus for mental heath checkups, (3) incorporating mental health checkups into primary care, and (4) reimbursement.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Diagnosis, Health supervision, Mental disorders, Mental health, Prevention, Primary care, Reimbursement, Treatment

Annotation: This monograph examines preventable factors that lead to cardiovascular disease (CVD) by emphasizing how health problems in childhood and adolescence directly affect cardiovascular health through the lifespan. Topics include (1) recommendations on the delivery of CVD-related services as part of the adolescent health visit, (2) CVD, (3) tobacco, and (4) strategies to address CVD and tobacco use. Resources on adolescent risk factor reduction for future chronic disease are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cardiovascular diseases, Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health promotion, Health supervision, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use