Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This discussion paper builds on Social Determinants of Health 101, which was published in 2017. The paper explores in more depth of five things to be learned, including the science and prioritization of interventions, the creation of partnerships, and how the assets of a community can further these partnerships. The document also provides several frameworks for integrating approaches to SDoH, social risk factors, and health-related social needs in health care, and proposes Plan-Do-Study-Act cycles as a quality improvement approach for health care systems.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Social factors

Annotation: This document provides background on the annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR) and modifications that have occurred over time. This Introduction and Methods document also includes an overview of the methods used to generate estimates, measure trends, and examine disparities. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2021 report is organized in sections that provide an overview of the healthcare system and summarize access, quality, and disparity measures. In addition, the Quality and Disparity sections are divided into domain-specific chapters that highlight key healthcare trends or gaps in care. Appendixes include a list of data sources, definitions and abbreviations, and measures used in summary maps. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: The report evaluates the federal government’s role in addressing racial disparities in maternal health. It includes an overview of maternal disparity data; a description of factors influencing racial disparities in maternal health, morbidity, and mortality; and a review of innovative maternal health programs in Georgia, North Carolina, and New Jersey.

Contact: U. S. Commission on Civil Rights , 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Suite 1150 , Washington, DC 20425, Telephone: (202) 376-7700 Secondary Telephone: (202) 376-8116 Web Site: www.usccr.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Federal programs, Health Status disparities, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Racial factors, State Initiatives

Annotation: This evidence review addresses racial inequities in the maternal health care and outlines evidence-informed approaches that address gaps in access to care; adopt and incentivize high-value models of care; diversity the perinatal workforce; and invest in community-based organizations.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Health equity, Health status disparities, Maternal Morbidity, Maternal Mortality, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Policy, Postpartum care, Prevention

Annotation: This report describes oral health trends and disparities in Missouri. It includes key findings, national comparisons, and trends. Other topics include demographics, community water fluoridation, oral health status of school-age children and adults, preventive health care for school age children and adults, tobacco use and cancer risk, older adults, perinatal oral health,hospitalizations and emergency department visits, and access to care. Regional and local data are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Missouri, Oral health, Population surveillance, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendation on providing tenant-based housing voucher programs to improve health and health-related outcomes for adults based on sufficient evidence of effectiveness. Health-related outcomes including housing quality and security, healthcare use, and neighborhood opportunities, such as lower poverty level and better schools. Children under the age of 12 whose households used vouchers show improvements in education, employment, and income later in life. The CPSTF's findings are based on evidence from a systematic review of studies published between January 1999 and July 2019. The web report provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Housing, Literature reviews, Public housing, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This resource presents learning opportunities to assist MCH professionals in developing strategic steps to advance health equity in their health departments. It includes an introduction, 10 individual strategies, and a wrap up. Strategies include (1) expand understanding of diversity; (2) reflect on your organization; (3) explore within the community (4) partner with communities; (5) foster agency and collective action; (6) develop a holistic understanding; (7) identify and collect data; (8) work with stakeholders; )9) be accountable to outcomes; and (10) celebrate success. Examples from the field are included.

Contact: MCH Navigator, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchnavigator.org/

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health equity. MCH training, Health status disparities, Training materials

Annotation: This research recap discusses the many areas in which rural children face significant health status disparities compared to urban children. These areas include healthcare provider access, obesity rates, tobacco use, and oral health status. The document provides links for more information, as well as a list of resources.

Contact: Rural Health Research Gateway, University of North Dakota Center for Rural Health, School of Medicine & Health Sciences, Suite E231, 1301 North Columbia Road, Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthresearch.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Child health, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Rural health, Rural populations

Annotation: This document is designed to support public health organizations in assessing their capacity, translating theory into action, and transforming their practices to address social determinants of health and advance health equity. It also offers a method for measuring progress as public health organizations transform practice to achieve health equity. It is intentionally designed to support a dynamic process of learning and continuous improvement.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Learning, Public health, Social factors, State agencies

Annotation: In this podcast leaders from two (Tulane University and University of Minnesota) of eight programs who participated in the 2017 diversity and health equity learning collaborative explore how to meaningfully engage trainees and how to institutionalize and sustain their efforts. A transcript, an overview and case studies are also available.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, MCH training programs, Video recordings, Work force

Annotation: This brief presents resources for finding care, services and support and websites about health and health care for all families. Resources about the health of specific population groups are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Barriers, Bibliographies, Blacks, Cultural barriers, Electronic publications, Ethnic factors, Families, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Hispanic Americans, Hotlines, Minority groups, Racial factors, Women

Annotation: This report examines the evidence on the status of health disparities and the research examining the underlying conditions that lead to poor health and health inequities. It also examines and shares examples of solutions implemented in several communities. Topics include the need to promote health equity, the state of health disparities in the United States, the root cause of health inequity, the role of communities in promoting health equity, examples of communities tackling health inequity, policies to support community solutions, partners in promoting health equity in communities, and community tools to promote health equity.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community based services, Equal opportunities, Health disparities, Health promotion, Health status, Policy development, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This brief presents findings from a study that used three waves of the National Survey of Children's Health (2003, 2007, 2011-12) to create a portrait of the changing status of rural and urban children across the 2003–2013 decade. It focuses on the demographics of rural children, their financial access to care, reported use of care, and parentally-reported health status. A companion volume, Disparities in Access to Oral Health Care Among Rural Children: Current Status and Models for Innovation, explores trends in children's oral health across the same time frame. A fact sheet is also available.

Contact: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 251-6317 Fax: (803) 251-6399 Web Site: http://rhr.sph.sc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Financing, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health status, Low income groups, Rural population, Trends, Urban population

Annotation: This report presents results from an assessment of oral health among children in Head Start and early learning programs and children in kindergarten and second and third grade in public elementary schools in Washington. Results are compared with 2010 and 2005 Smile Survey results and with Healthy People 2020 objectives and national averages. Topics include oral disease prevalence, decay experience and untreated tooth decay, dental sealants, and oral health disparities.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Prevention and Community Health Division, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Web Site: https://doh.wa.gov/about-us/executive-offices/prevention-safety-and-health/prevention-and-community-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Comparative analysis, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Elementary schools, Head Start, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Oral health, Prevalence, Screenings, State surveys, Washington, Young children

Annotation: These papers present recommendations to advance the agenda to promote health equity for all. They cover health equity research and policy; a systems approach to health equity; and advancing health equity in communities of color.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Social factors

Annotation: This discussion paper explores social determinants of health (SDoH), which are defined by the World Health Organization (WHO) as "the conditions in which people are born, grow, live, work and age." Further, "these circumstances are shaped by the distribution of money, power and resources at global, national and local levels." This paper articulates five things to know about SDoH and five things health care organizations need to learn to address these factors in order to provide quality health care at all levels.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Social factors

Annotation: This report presents findings from a statewide oral health screening of 2,000 students in first through fourth grades in 47 elementary schools to measure the extent of untreated tooth decay, caries experience, prevalence of dental sealants, and need for oral health care. Additional topics include dental insurance coverage, time since last dental visit, unmet needs, and disparities in care. The report also contains a comparison of Utah’s oral health status with national goals, the study methodology, information about access to care by race and ethnicity, program resources, a list of participating schools, and the parent questionnaire.

Contact: Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, Multi-Agency State Office Building, 195 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, Telephone: (801) 201-9462 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.utah.gov/oral-health-program/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Comparative analysis, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disparities in health care, Health status, Oral health, Prevalence, School age children, State surveys, Utah

Annotation: This brief highlights oral health disparities within communities of color in California. Topics include oral health disparities and the impact of oral health inequities on communities of color, including oral health and children, oral health and employment, and oral health and chronic conditions. Also discussed are causes of oral health inequities, including lack of access to affordable care, absence of a culturally and linguistically competent work force, and social and environmental inequities. In addition, the brief provides policy recommendations (improving access to and quality of oral health care, ensuring that there is a culturally competent work force, and engaging in efforts to improve underlying socioeconomic inequities).

Contact: California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 1221 Preservation Park Way, Suite 200, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 832-1160 Fax: (510) 832-1175 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpehn.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Equal opportunities, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Oral health, Policy development, Social factors, State surveys, Work force

Annotation: This document provides strategies and activities to support maternal and child health (MCH) training programs' efforts to increase diversity and integrate cultural and linguistic competence into training efforts. Contents include resources and short vignettes highlighting strategies used by MCH training programs. Topics include recruiting and retaining faculty, trainees, and program staff from racially and ethnically diverse and underrepresented backgrounds; raising awareness of disparities and inequities through curricula, research, learning, practice, and service environments; and integrating cultural and linguistic competence into training, learning, practice, and service. An archived webinar about the intent of the resource and suggestions on how to use it is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Learning, MCH training programs, Recruitment, Work force