Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This is part II of a technical report that contains evidence-informed, actionable information that clinicians can use to make assessment and treatment decisions for children and adolescents with obesity. The report identifies relevant studies that address two overarching questions: 1) “What are clinically based, effective treatments for obesity?” and 2) What is the risk of co-morbidities among children with obesity?” The second part contains research evidence to help clinicians screen for co-morbidities such as diabetes and dyslipidemia in children with obesity.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Part II

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Comorbidity, Obesity, Overweight, Research, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals on how to counsel children, adolescents, and young adults about tobacco use. It includes information about smoking and vaping. It also presents ideas for providing tobacco-use-related screening, guidance, and treatment appropriate for patients of different ages, beginning at age 5.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City , NY 11101, Telephone: E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cigarettes, Counseling, Oral health, Screening, Smoking, Tobacco use, Treatment, Young adults

Annotation: This online tracker contains a map of the U.S. and accompanying chart highlighting each state's policy in response to the 2016 federal guidance allowing states to provide Medicaid coverage of maternal and/or caregiver depression screening during a well-child visit under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit. The map indicates which states either require, recommend, or allow maternal depression screening using the two-generational approach and, where applicable, provides the reimbursement rate for this fee-for-service.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Financing, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum depression, Screening, State legislation

Annotation: This report provides results from an assessment conducted to gather information on the status of oral health of children in kindergarten in North Carolina, by region and race/ethnicity. The report comprises charts with information on the percentage of children who received oral health screenings, with treated and untreated tooth decay, who have never had a cavity or filling, who have at least one dental sealant on a permanent molar tooth, and who have urgent oral health care needs.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Geographic factors, Health screenings, North Carolina, Oral health, Racial factors, State information

Annotation: This report provides information from an oral health needs assessment focused on students in third grade in Oklahoma in 2023. The report presents background on and the purpose of the assessment and discusses the research design. Results are presented on the following topics: participant characteristics; dental sealants on permanent molar teeth; decayed, missed, and filled teeth; untreated tooth decay in permanent or primary teeth; missing permanent and primary teeth; filled permanent and primary teeth; and results of screenings as determined by a dental hygienist.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, Dental Health Service, 1000 Northeast 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299, Telephone: (405) 271-5502 Fax: (405) 271-5434 Web Site: https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/children-family-health/dental-health-service.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health screenings, Needs assessment, Oklahoma, Oral health, Research, School age children, State information

Annotation: This tip sheet for Title V agencies outlines five essential elements for implementing developmental and behavioral health screening programs within health supervision visits. It provides guidance on promoting equity in screening, planning responses to results, communicating with families, handling confidentiality, and using appropriate screening tools and schedules based on Bright Futures guidelines. The document includes state program examples and emphasizes the importance of establishing clear protocols for referrals, particularly for non-clinical staff working in community settings. [Funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Developmental screening, Guidelines, Mental health screening

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Action 1.14 from the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, focused on expanding capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders. The document examines evidence-supported interventions for addressing perinatal depression, including universal screening protocols, psychiatric consultation services, and care coordination support. It presents current data on the prevalence and disparities in maternal mental health screening and treatment across different populations and geographic areas, with particular attention to racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic factors. The brief outlines specific state-level innovations being implemented to improve maternal mental health care, such as Illinois's DocAssist program and Montana's PRISM consultation line, and provides evidence-based measures for tracking progress in expanding behavioral health support services.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Coordination, Depression, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Postpartum depression, Referrals, Screening, State initiatives

Annotation: This screening form, which is intended for school health programs, can be used to record children’s oral health status and treatment needs. Space is provided to enter the school district number; the school name; and each child’s name, classroom, and grade. In addition, there is space to note whether each child has treated and/or untreated tooth decay or other oral health problems, has dental sealants and/or needs sealants, and needs an oral exam and/or urgent treatment.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Oral Health, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 296-5116 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/619/Oral-Health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental sealants, Forms, Health screening, Oral health, School health, Tooth decay, Treatment

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools related to conducting oral health screenings in schools in Kansas. It discusses the importance of conducting such screenings. It also presents standards, discusses preparation and procedures for conducting screenings, and offers considerations for the school oral health team.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Oral Health, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 296-5116 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/619/Oral-Health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health screening, Kansas, Oral health, School health, State information

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs

Annotation: This guide is designed to help Head Start staff understand what a dental periodicity schedule is. It provides background on the Head Start program performance standard that addresses an oral exam, describes elements of an oral exam, and offers information on the timing of oral exams and who can conduct them.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Head Start, Health screening, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This review examines the research evidence on the benefits and harms of screening, accuracy of screening, and benefits and harms of treatment for suicide risk, anxiety, and depression in children and adolescents. Intended to help healthcare decision makers (patients and clinicians, health system leaders, policy makers, and others) make well-informed decisions, the review is based on research conducted by the RTI International--University of North Carolina Evidence-based Practice Center under contract by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ).

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Anxiety, Children, Depression, Mental health, Quality assurance , Research reviews, Screening, Suicide

Annotation: This review evaluates the effectiveness, use, and implementation of telehealth for women’s preventive services for reproductive healthcare and interpersonal violence (IPV). It examines patient preferences and engagement in telehealth and explores how this form of health care delivery affects health outcomes, particularly for those who are geographically isolated or in underserved settings or populations. The use of telehealth services during the COVID-19 pandemic is highlighted.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care systems, Health care delivery, Health screening, Prevention services, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Women', s health

Annotation: This systematic review presents evidence on the benefits and harms of screening for eating disorders in adults and adolescents; the accuracy of screening tools; and the benefits and harms of interventions for eating disorders that were screen detected or not previously treated for populations and settings relevant to primary care in the United States. PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Library, PsyINFO, and other sources were searched through December 18, 2020; additional literature, outside experts, and reviewers, were consulted through January 1, 2022.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Evidence based medicine, Feeding disorders, Literature reviews, Screening, Treatment

Annotation: This tool can be used when conducting screenings in behavioral health settings to identify oral health problems. The tool explains what to do in an oral health emergency and includes questions to ask about access to and use of oral health care. Instructions for how the person conducting the screening should proceed, depending on how questions are answered, are included.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergencies, Health care utilization, Health screening, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse, Trauma

Annotation: This report provides information on Nevada’s state oral health plan. The report describes the Nevada Oral Health Program and offers information on the Advisory Committee on the State Program for Oral Health (AC4OH) and development of the oral health plan. The burdens of oral disease nationally and in Nevada are discussed, and key findings and priority areas (policy and infrastructure, prevention and screening, access to and quality of oral health care, and workforce capacity) are presented. The report also describes the process that AC4OH will use to implement plan objectives and measure progress toward them.

Contact: Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Oral Health Program, 4150 Technology Way, Carson City, NV 89706, Telephone: (775) 684-4200 Fax: (775) 684-4211 Web Site: http://dpbh.nv.gov/Programs/OH/OH-Home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health screening, Nevada, Oral health, Prevention, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, State materials, State programs, Strategic plans

Annotation: The Bright Futures Guidelines website provides theory-based and evidence-driven guidance for all preventive care screenings and health supervision visits. Bright Futures content can be incorporated into many public health programs such as home visiting, child care, school-based health clinics and many others. ​Tools and materials are meant for professionals in clinical practice, states and communties, and families, and contain information on topics such as healthy mental and emotional development, health equity, and food security, among others.[Supported by the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)​, Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Education materials, Health screening, Preventive health services, Public health education

Annotation: This August 4, 2022 recording features a comprehensive panel discussion on telehealth applications within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, showcasing diverse perspectives from across North America. Bill Campbell presents on Remote Infant Auditory Brainstem Response Assessment in Ontario, highlighting improved service access despite technological challenges, while Todd Houston discusses findings from a Journal of EHDI monograph emphasizing telehealth benefits and the need for specialized training. Arlene Stredler Brown shares Colorado research on telehealth equity considerations, revealing provider and family feedback indicating a need for enhanced training in family-centered early intervention approaches. Alex Meibos provides technical insights on audiology telehealth platforms, noting that many hearing aid manufacturers offer online solutions adaptable for early intervention. Pamela Dawson contributes telehealth resource information specific to the Northeast region, and Julie Purdy rounds out the presentation with California survey data on implementing Oticon hearing aid online platforms and affordable home otoscopy options using smartphone applications, collectively demonstrating how telehealth is transforming accessibility and delivery of pediatric audiology services nationwide.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Audiology, Deafness, Hearing tests, Hearing screening, Infant health, Children', s health, Program evaluation, Canada, Ohio, Colorado, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, California

Annotation: This videorecording documents a multi-state roundtable discussion on telehealth applications for individuals with hearing impairments, drawing participation from 31 states and territories. The presenters—McVicar (Utah), Stone (Massachusetts), Kirschner (Montana), Culpepper (Georgia), and Messersmith (South Dakota)—share diverse perspectives on teleaudiology implementation within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, including universal newborn screening initiatives. Their presentations highlight both successes and persistent challenges: while telehealth expands access to specialized audiological services, barriers remain including geographic isolation, transportation costs, equipment accessibility, parental hesitation to engage with public health systems, and technical limitations for certain procedures like cochlear implant testing. The interactive format allowed participants to pose questions directly to presenters, and concluded with the sharing of a comprehensive resource website to support ongoing telehealth advancement for hearing-impaired populations across diverse regional contexts.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Deafness, Developmental screening, Children with special health care needs, Youth with special health care needs, Utah, Massachusetts, Montana, Family support services, Georgia, South Dakota, Staff development