Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen talks with renowned maternal health expert Dr. Elliott Main. A pioneering figure in maternal mortality review and quality care initiatives, Dr. Main discusses the history and evolution of the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health (AIM). Together, they explore the challenges and triumphs of addressing severe maternal morbidity and mortality in the U.S., the early groundwork that led to AIM, and the collaborative efforts that turned ideas into actionable tools. Dr. Main also shares his thoughts on the future of maternal health and the "one thing" he believes is critical to driving change moving forward. This episode is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Collaboration, History, Initiatives, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Models, Resources for professionals

Annotation: in this podcast episode, host Christie Allen talks with Audra Summers and Ashley Rainey about Indiana's innovative use of the AIM Patient Safety Bundles to drive sustainable change in maternal care. Audra and Ashley share their experiences implementing and maintaining quality improvements across Indiana's 75 delivery facilities. They discuss the importance of collaboration, the integration of safety measures into daily practices, and how sustainability is achieved through data-driven methods and cultural shifts. Listeners will learn how Indiana's approach to quality improvement can inspire and inform efforts nationwide. The episode is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Indiana, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Resources for professionals, Safety, State initiatives

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the extension of postpartum Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months following birth, which states have been able to implement since April 2022. It examines how this extension supports improved access to perinatal and postpartum care but requires complementary state actions to be fully effective. The brief highlights key challenges in postpartum care, including care fragmentation, workforce shortages, and barriers to implementation at system, community, and individual levels. It outlines four solution areas: developing comprehensive standards of care, expanding dyadic care models, increasing workforce support, and providing education and technical assistance. The document concludes with specific recommendations for funders to support implementation efforts at local, state, and national levels to improve maternal health outcomes and advance health equity.

• Link

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals, patient education materials

Annotation: This website provides resources and information for new mothers and healthcare providers about the postpartum period, referred to as the "4th Trimester." It features evidence-based materials designed by and for mothers to support women during this transition to motherhood. The site includes sections on physical recovery, emotional health, breastfeeding, pelvic health, building support networks, and baby care. Visitors can access downloadable tools including postpartum planning guides, health information sheets, and recovery checklists in both English and Spanish. The 4th Trimester Project aims to change how America treats new mothers by emphasizing respectful, patient-centered care and addressing the social, emotional, physical, and economic support women need during the postpartum period, with particular attention to the needs of those with limited resources.

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Patient education materials, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This call to action provides an overview of perinatal mental health mood disorders, including racial and ethnic disparities in screening and treatment. It describes state and federal legislation and policy addressing perinatal mental health workforce diversity and recommends solutions to help bolster and build diversity among mental health providers.

Contact: Health Affairs, Project HOPE: The People-to-People Foundation, 7500 Old Georgetown Road, Suite 600, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 656-7401 Fax: (301) 654-2854 Web Site: http://www.healthaffairs.org

• Link

Keywords: Health professionals, Policy, Work force

Annotation: This manual provides professional recommendations and states’ expectations for school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs) under the Ohio Department of Health (ODH). Contents include local program operations, regulatory compliance, compliance with ODH policies, SBSP eligibility, sample program forms, site assessment, infection control, clinical materials and methods, quality assurance, performance benchmarks and standards, reporting, ODH program reviews, compliance with other ODH requirements, Medicaid billing and collection, reimbursement, and filing claims. The appendices contain sample forms, records, letters, and other practice-related materials.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children, Dental sealants, Forms, Guideline adherence, Manuals, Ohio, Oral health, Parents, Resources for professionals, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This guide provides information about promoting oral health in schools. The guide features materials on data and surveillance; policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Selected materials include a toolkit to help advocates improve the quality of school meals, a roadmap for healthy schools, best practice reports about school-based dental sealant programs and about use of fluoride in schools, and an oral health curriculum for students in kindergarten through grades 10. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, School linked programs, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit offers evidence-based guidance to help health professionals make health information easier to understand and act on, make health care easier to navigate, and increase support for people of all health literacy levels. Contents include 23 tools addressing the following five domains: path to improvement, spoken communication, written communication, self-management and empowerment, and supportive systems. Additional contents include resources such as sample forms, PowerPoint presentations, and assessment tools.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication no. 23-0075.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Empowerment, Forms, Health care systems, Health literacy, Patient care, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Self care, Social support

Annotation: This tool is designed to help health professionals implement oral health risk assessment for infants and children from birth to age 6 during health supervision visits. The tool, which can be used to document dental caries risk, presents a checklist for evaluating the oral health status of a child that includes risk factors, protective factors, and clinical findings, as well as an assessment and plan. Guidance on the factors in the checklist and color photographs depicting clinical findings are included. The tool is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Dental caries, High risk groups, Infants, Oral health, Protective factors, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This website provides science-based guidance to help Americans ages 6 and older improve their health through appropriate physical activity. Includes are tips on how to stay active, community resources, dietary guidelines, campaign materials, news updates. and guidelines on the types and amounts of physical activity that offer substantial health benefits to children, adolescents, and adults.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Contact E-mail: 2019 guidelines Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link
• 2019 Guidelines (2nd Edition)

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Child health, Guidelines, Health promotion, National initiatives, Older adults, Physical activity, Resources for professionals

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health professionals promote oral health coverage in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and educate pregnant women and parents and other caregivers about good oral health habits. Contents include links to Medicaid and CHIP benefits for children by state and a tool to help families find a dentist. Additional contents include a fact sheet, a flyer, a poster, tear pads, web banners and buttons, social media messages, images for Facebook and Twitter, and newsletter templates in English and Spanish.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Children', Consumer education materials, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: These clinical practice guidelines for pediatricians and other pediatric health care providers (PHCPs) present a standard of care for evaluating and treating children with overweight and obesity and related comorbidities. The recommendations address the child's health status, family system, community context, and resources for treatment.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Guidelines, Obesity, Overweight, Resources for professionals , Therapeutics

Annotation: This is part I of a technical report that contains evidence-informed, actionable information that clinicians can use to make assessment and treatment decisions for children and adolescents with obesity. The report identifies relevant studies that address two overarching questions: 1) “What are clinically based, effective treatments for obesity?” and 2) What is the risk of comorbidities among children with obesity?” This part focuses on effective interventions for children and adolescents with obesity.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link
• Related Documents

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Intervention, Obesity, Overweight, Research, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This is part II of a technical report that contains evidence-informed, actionable information that clinicians can use to make assessment and treatment decisions for children and adolescents with obesity. The report identifies relevant studies that address two overarching questions: 1) “What are clinically based, effective treatments for obesity?” and 2) What is the risk of co-morbidities among children with obesity?” The second part contains research evidence to help clinicians screen for co-morbidities such as diabetes and dyslipidemia in children with obesity.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Part II

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Comorbidity, Obesity, Overweight, Research, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This resource provides links to information sources describing the need for increasing childhood immunization levels, together with strategies and reminder systems that providers can adopt to increase coverage in their own practice.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Immunization, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Vaccines

Annotation: This guide provides an overview of the topic and features descriptions of and links to materials on data and surveillance, policy, professional education and training, public education, and state and local programs. The resource guide also includes descriptions of organizations that can provide additional support for activities that promote the availability of high-quality oral health care for young children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Health promotion, Oral health, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Young children

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This practice guidance provides information on oral health care during pregnancy for oral health professionals and prenatal care professionals in Maryland. It provides information about the oral health of pregnant women and their infants in the state, state statistics on oral health care utilization during pregnancy, clinical practice guidance, a visual guide of oral conditions that can occur during pregnancy, a pharmacological considerations chart, a sample dental referral form, and educational resources to share with pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Maryland, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, State programs

Annotation: This brief presents trends related to the oral health care workforce and ways the workforce has changed since the onset the COVID-19 pandemic. It also describes the impact of oral health care worker shortages by state and geographic region. Topics include employment trends by professional type, wages and salaries, state and geographic implications, and strategic recommendations.

Contact: American Institute of Dental Public Health, 401 William Street, #5560, River Forest, IL 60305, Telephone: (210) 876-6943 Web Site: https://aidph.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Employment, Health personnel, Health professionals, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Salaries, Trends, Virus diseases

Annotation: This resource for clinicians is intended to support youth cessation of all commercial tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, vaping devices, cigarettes, cigars, dissolvable tobacco, heated tobacco products, hookah, pipes, nicotine pouches, smokeless tobacco, roll-your-own, bidis, and snus. The resource explains why youth tobacco use is a critical health concern; describes the role pediatric clinicians play as a trusted resource for youth and families; outlines challenges and considerations; and calls on clinicians to address youth cessation using effective screening, counseling, and treatment strategies.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse, Tobacco, Youth