Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned that can help states build, sustain, or expand partnerships with community health workers (CHWs). It discusses engaging CHWs and other community-based stakeholders in policymaking to inform CHW programs and identify communities’ needs and strengths, leveraging experience from the COVID-19-pandemic response, and transitioning work with CHWs to advance other policies and financing approaches. It also discusses investing in CHWs to ensure sustainability, including through reimbursement of services, building career paths, and strengthening CHW networks.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, COVID-19, Community Health Workers, Community health, Disease transmission, Financing, Health services, Infectious diseases, Public policy, Reimbursement, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report focuses on highlighting evidence-based policies that can be implemented to address the root causes of disease. The report identifies and reviews five policy areas: access to healthcare, economic mobility, affordable housing, safe and healthy learning environments for children, and health-promoting excise taxes. Based on an extensive review of the evidence, the report recommends federal and state-level policies to improve health outcomes, advance health equity, and reduce healthcare spending. The report concludes that America's chronic disease and health disparities crisis require policy interventions targeting structural racism and the social determinants of health.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Government financing, Health care disparities, Health policy, Health status disparities, Model programs, Policy analysis, Policy development, Taxes

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on financial incentives, including value-based payment (VBP) models, that can improve adolescent care delivery and wellness by encouraging primary care providers to provide more holistic care that not only focuses on physical health concerns, but also addresses mental health, substance use, and other health-related social needs.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health care financing, Holistic health, Model programs, Prevention

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises nine courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; oral health for older adults; and silver diamine fluoride. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors’ efforts related to conducting an oral health needs assessment for and providing technical assistance to Puerto Rico. The report provides an overview of the project, an overview of Puerto Rico, a description of the oral health environment in Puerto Rico, and findings from the needs assessment.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Acess to health care, Financing, Health care delivery, Oral health, Pacific Islands, Program developments

Annotation: This document describes various pathways to financing systems of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN). Topics addressed include Medicaid coverage, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment, inequities in coverage and financing, financial hardship experienced by families raising CYSHCN and the importance of forming partnerships to advance financing and health coverage.

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, EPSDT, Financing, Medicaid

Annotation: This report is designed to help Migrant and Seasonal Head Start (MSHS) grantees and federally qualified health centers establish partnerships that increase access to oral health services for children in MSHS and their families. The report provides information about MSHS programs, oral health in the programs, and the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Health Center Program. Topics include Head Start, oral health, oral health care, financing oral health care, and planning.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community health centers, Financing, Head Start, Health care delivery, Migrant health centers, Migrants, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Young children

Annotation: This report presents results and recommendations from a roundtable on value-based payment (VBP) for pediatric-to-adult transition services held by the Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health and key informant deliberations. The report describes recommended VBP payment options, with examples of how each could be structured, along with quality measures that could be coupled with the options.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care financing, Medical fees, Transition to independent living

Annotation: This report presents summary information on Medicaid coverage and financing of medications to treat alcohol and opioid use disorders (MAT). It discusses issues including prior authorization, innovative approaches to financing and delivering MAT, state considerations for covering MAT (including efficacy, costs, regulations, and policies), and innovative models and best practices.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS SMA-18-5093 .

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Drugs, Health care financing, Medicaid, Opiates, Substance abuse treatment

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of school leaders about how service delivery and student health would be impacted by a decline in Medicaid reimbursement. The report outlines the survey questions and findings, highlights how students with disabilities and students with low incomes will be impacted by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant, describes how communities will be economically affected by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant for school districts, details the potential of districts to lose critical mental health supports for students that are reimbursable by Medicaid, and notes how district efforts to expand Medicaid coverage to students and their families will be undermined by a block grant or per-capita cap.

Contact: AASA, The School Superintendents' Association, 1615 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 578-0700 Fax: (703)-841-1543 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aasa.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• 2018 Addemdum

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Block grants, Child health, Children, Financing, Low income groups, Medicaid, National surveys, Policy development, Reimbursement, School age children, School districts, Service delivery, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

Annotation: This primer focuses on opportunities to increase value in spending on health services for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) through select alternative payment mechanisms, delivery innovations, and potential roles for Title V and family leaders in these efforts. Included are definitions for "value" in health care, value-based purchasing, and value-based insurance design.

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Cost effectiveness , Financing

Annotation: This tutorial provides an overview of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), populations these programs serve, changes the programs are undergoing under health care transformation, and opportunities to improve services for children with special health care needs (CSHCN) through communication and collaboration with Medicaid and CHIP staff. The tutorial begins with an overview of how definitions of CSHCN may vary by agency or program, followed by major topic areas, including recommendations for Title V programs to build successful partnerships with public insurance programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children with special health care needs, Children', EPSDT, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Title V programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief presents findings from a study that used three waves of the National Survey of Children's Health (2003, 2007, 2011-12) to create a portrait of the changing status of rural and urban children across the 2003–2013 decade. It focuses on the demographics of rural children, their financial access to care, reported use of care, and parentally-reported health status. A companion volume, Disparities in Access to Oral Health Care Among Rural Children: Current Status and Models for Innovation, explores trends in children's oral health across the same time frame. A fact sheet is also available.

Contact: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 251-6317 Fax: (803) 251-6399 Web Site: http://rhr.sph.sc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Financing, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health status, Low income groups, Rural population, Trends, Urban population

Annotation: This fact sheet describes national and state initiatives to scale up and implement programs that encourage and facilitate first trimester prenatal care and help at-risk mothers commit to behaviors that reduce the numbers of low birthweight infants. Topics include a group prenatal care model called CenteringPregnancy®, smoking cessation programs, quality improvement initiatives related to the elimination of early elective deliveries, and Healthy Babies Are Worth the Wait Community Programs®.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Collaboration, Community based programs, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Health behavior, Health promotion, High risk infants, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Low birthweight, Models, National initiatives, Peer support programs, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This supplement includes a set of articles that emerged from learning communities convened to explore health care purchasing strategies for children and youth special health care needs (CYSHCN) from multiple perspectives. Topics include dimensions of values-based purchasing (VBP), values-based insurance design (VBID), and other innovative financing strategies, and their impact on CYSHCN.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer protection, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Pediatric care, Reimbursement

Annotation: This e-book highlights lessons learned from the initial implementation of a federal initiative to support states in their efforts to align, coordinate, and improve the quality of existing early learning and development programs across multiple funding streams that support children from birth through age five. Contents include experience, trends, and reflections captured through interviews with state leaders. Topics include state systems building through governance, local systems building through coalitions, early learning-health connections, trends and innovations in early childhood education work force development, reform in vision and practice, improving systems of learning through the use of child standards and assessments, integrated data strategies, and the impact of the initiative on state Quality Rating Improvement Systems (QRIS).

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Assessments, Child health, Coalitions, Data, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Financing, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Standards, State government, Systems development, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This integrated care model emphasizes multidisciplinary service delivery through provider education, information technology, and community outreach to improve access to oral health care for children. Users can create an account and request oral health curricula, classroom materials, and supplies; screening and preventive services; and educational materials for children and parents. The application also provides news, statistics on children’s oral health, information and resources about the impact of oral health on overall health, and links to organizations that may serve as resources. Information for volunteers (dental school and dental hygiene program administrators and students, oral health professionals) and organizational sponsor-donors is also provided.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Financing, Networking, Preventive health services, Teaching, Work force

Annotation: This guide provides information to help individuals in Oklahoma who cannot afford oral health care find free and low-cost resources, assist referral sources in helping those who need care to find it, and connect free and low-cost programs to one another to leverage limited resources and improve outcomes. The guide also provides information about the foundation and some of its activities.

Contact: Delta Dental of Oklahoma Oral Health Foundation, 16 N.W. 63rd Street, Suite 201, Oklahoma City, OK 73116, Telephone: (405) 607-4771 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0188, ext. 771 Fax: (405) 607-4778 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.DDOKFoundation.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Directories, Financing, Oklahoma, Oral health, Referrals

Annotation: This worksheet is designed to help families learn about two Medicaid policy options to help address medical debt and financial hardship among families with children with disabilities. Contents include information about the Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act (TEFRA) and the Family Opportunity Act (FOA) Medicaid buy-in program, two options that states can offer to help families with private insurance obtain assistance to pay for care for a child with disabilities through Medicaid. Information about the implications of TEFRA and FOA for children with disabilities and their families is also included. The accompanying instructions provide guidance on filling out the worksheet. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• Worksheet And Instructions

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Families, Financing, Health insurance, Medicaid, Special health care needs, State programs