Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

Annotation: This report highlights evidence-based and -informed policies that states can adopt to improve health and well-being of their residents and to control healthcare costs. Policies cover these areas: the connection between health and learning; healthy living and connectedness through the built environment; healthy behaviors; healthy and affordable housing; and economic opportunities. It provides descriptions of the policies, summaries of the health and economic evidence, case examples of policy implementation, and considerations for implementation.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Evidence, Health care costs, Health policy, Public policy, State initiatives

Annotation: This report focuses on the importance of taking a child to the dentist by age 1 to prevent oral disease. It discusses the prevalence of tooth decay in children, the effectiveness of prevention and early intervention, the consequences of delaying treatment, and barriers to accessing care early. It also discusses the benefits of integrating oral health care into primary care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Early intervention, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This brief examines the percentage of the U.S. population that indicated oral health care was needed but not obtained during the period 2013–2016. In particular, the brief compares financial and non-financial barriers to receiving oral health care among different age groups and income levels during the period. The brief introduces the issue, presents results, and discusses data and methods. Key points are included.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Financial barriers, Health insurance, Low-income groups, Medicaid, Oral health

Annotation: This guide provides information about how receiving preventive oral health care can help families in the District of Columbia (DC) avoid developing tooth decay and other oral health problems. The guide discusses DC's School-Based Oral Health Program and the DC Healthy Families program. It lists dental offices and clinics, by ward, where DC residents can receive oral health care and provides information about location, hours, patients served, and cost of care. Fact sheets about the importance of good oral health about dental sealants are included.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dchealth.dc.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, City health agencies, Costs, Dental caries, Dental sealants, District of Columbia, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This issue brief addresses value based payment as an important model in health care reform for children's services and offers recommendations for including children's health in health care reform efforts. Efforts in Connecticut are described.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Connecticut, Costs, Health care reform, Health equity, State programs

Annotation: This document presents information from a survey conducted by Families USA of 14 states that cover emergency-only oral health services. Selected topics include what can be learned from states that offer emergency-only coverage, how responding states’ dental benefits differ, states in which managed-care plans provide adults with extra offerings, costs to states of paying for emergency department visits when appropriate oral health services are not available, the limited availability of alternative oral health care resources for adults, and the inadequacy of emergency-only dental care for individuals with serious medical conditions.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency medical services, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, State programs, Surveys

Annotation: This brief provides information about the effects of oral disease on pregnant women and infants and state actions to prevent disease and reduce costs. It examines insurance coverage for care, including publicly funded coverage and reimbursement rates; dental expenditures; and where to find state-specific statistics on health status and coverage rates. The brief also discusses state strategies to help pregnant women receive care and provisions in the Affordable Care Act, such as public education and tobacco-cessation services.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Dental care, Dental insurance, Federal initiatives, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State legislation

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Medicaid program and the benefits of Medicaid coverage for children. Topics include reducing the number of uninsured children; covering children in times of economic crisis; providing primary coverage for children of color; and ensuring access to comprehensive, child-specific services including services for children with special health care needs. Additional topics include program design and operation, affordability, and spending on children compared with spending on other populations.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Families, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Vulnerability

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This brief presents findings from an analysis of Medicaid reimbursement rates for oral health care in all states and the District of Columbia. The brief discusses Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) reimbursement for child and adult services relative to dentists’ fees and private dental insurance reimbursement, as well as other aspects of Medic- aid FFS reimbursement, including reimbursement for adult services in states with extensive adult benefits within their Medicaid programs.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• Analysis For All States

Keywords: Dental care, Dentists, Health care costs, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Physicians, Provider participation, Reimbursement, State programs

Annotation: This document provides information about how using mid-level oral health professionals instead of dentists to perform some oral health services can help increase access to care, lower costs, and increase the effectiveness of community clinics in Minnesota. The document explains why Minnesota needs mid-level oral health professionals, lists universities in the state that offer dental therapy and advanced dental therapy degrees, and provides specifics showing how using dental therapists can decrease per-patient costs and increase the number of patients served. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway Street, N.E., Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 746-1530 Secondary Telephone: (866) 543-6009 Fax: (612) 746-1531 Web Site: http://childrensdentalservices.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health care costs, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This annual report presents an overview of national trends in health statistics. Contents include charts with information on selected measures of life expectancy and mortality, fertility and natality, morbidity, disability measures, health risk factors, measures of health and disease prevalence, prevention, health insurance, use and access, and personal health care expenditures. The report also contains trend tables organized around four major subject areas: health status and determinants, use of health resources, health care resources, and health care expenditures and payers. Previous editions and related data products are available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Data, Health care utilization, Health objectives, Health statistics, Measures, Risk factors, Trends

Annotation: This brief explains the implications of a simulation model for preventing dental caries in early childhood in New York and discusses opportunities to implement policies to align the oral-health-care-delivery system with established science. The brief describes a risk-based approach to oral health care and a number of other approaches for crafting dental benefits in a cost-effective manner. Contents include program-specific recommendations, systems-change opportunities, and Medicaid reform options.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Disease management, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Intervention, Models, New York, Oral health, Policy development, Program improvement, Risk assessment, Service delivery systems, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This brief explains why dental insurance coverage matters and describes opportunities for adults, including pregnant women, to obtain dental insurance under the Affordable Care Act. Contents include data on recent dental visits and on dental insurance status among adults in Rhode Island, information about changes in dental insurance coverage for the period 2012–2014 and about who does not have coverage, and recommendations to make dental insurance benefits more affordable and accessible.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Costs, Dental care, Dental insurance, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief presents an analysis of each state's community benefit landscape viewed through the lens of major categories of federal community benefit requirements articulated in the Affordable Care Act. It reports laws and regulations adopted, new community benefit legislation enacted, bills that were introduced but not enacted or are still pending, and conclusions. Topics include tax exemption and preventing unnecessary medical debt.

Contact: Hilltop Institute, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Sondheim Hall, Third Floor, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250, Telephone: (410) 455-6854 Fax: (410) 455-6850 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hilltopinstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Costs, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Regulations, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This brief examines oral health services provided to residents by federally funded community health centers (CHCs) and their satellite sites in North Dakota. Contents include information and data on state and CHC population demographics such as income status, health insurance status, and race/ethnicity; sources of CHC revenue; and CHC dental vs. medical costs per visit and per patient.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Costs, Dental care, Geographic factors, Health care delivery, Low income groups, North Dakota, Oral health, Rural population, State programs, Uninsured persons, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes outcomes of an annual review of a set of measures whose goal is to prevent and manage dental caries in children. Topics include utilization and access, cost, and quality of oral health services for children enrolled in public and private insurance programs. Contents include information about the purpose of the review, the review process, the call for public comments, user groups, code updates, and efforts to streamline the starter set of measures.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Data collection, Data sources, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease management, Disease prevention, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, Risk assessment

Annotation: This fact sheet for people who assist health care consumers living in rural areas provides information about health insurance eligibility and enrollment barriers and what assisters can do to bolster education and outreach efforts in rural areas. Scenarios and resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Communication, Community participation, Costs, Family support services, Health insurance, Outreach, Relationships, Resources for professionals, Rural populations, Transportation, Trust