Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This document describes Rhode Island's public health data integration systems as part of the Title V Data Integration Toolkit. It details two main systems: the RI DataHUB, a statewide longitudinal data system managed by the University of Rhode Island that integrates public health data with education and other social services data; and KIDSNET, a universal database for young children managed by the Rhode Island Department of Health that assigns unique identifiers at birth and tracks health services. The document explains how these systems facilitate data sharing across programs, manage privacy concerns through appropriate agreements and HIPAA compliance, and generate both individual-level reports for service providers and aggregate data for public use.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Rhode Island, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: This report describes North Carolina's Early Childhood Integrated Data System (NC ECIDS) as part of the Title V Data Integration Toolkit. It details how the state built this advanced data system with Race to the Top - Early Learning Challenge funding in 2012 and later secured ongoing state funding. The system integrates data from multiple public programs including early childhood education, social services, and public health sources such as SNAP and Child Protective Services, with plans to add WIC data in the future. The report explains the governance structure, which includes an Executive Committee and Program Management Committee with representation from contributing agencies, and outlines the data request and approval process. NC ECIDS generates standard and customizable reports that show unduplicated counts of children receiving services, allowing users to analyze program participation patterns and demographic data.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, North Carolina, MCH training, Children', s health.

Annotation: This report discusses the Title V Data Integration Toolkit, focusing on Kentucky's experience with integrating early childhood and public health data into their state's longitudinal data system. In 2015, KCEWS (Kentucky Center for Education and Workforce Statistics) collaborated with GOEC (Governor’s Office of Early Childhood) and the Early Childhood Advisory Council to develop a county-level "Early Childhood Profile" using KLDS (Kentucky’s Longitudinal Data System) data. This profile combines integrated data with data planned for future integration, covering areas such as kindergarten readiness, child care capacity, and early childhood indicators on family, health, and social services. It includes public health data from programs like HANDS home visitation, WIC, and First Steps early intervention. Key takeaways from Kentucky's experience include demonstrating the value of integrated data early, prioritizing privacy and confidentiality, ensuring data sources understand how their data will be used, and learning from other states' experiences with public health data integration.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Kentucky, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: This report outlines a use case for Title V programs to leverage Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS) to analyze developmental screening data for children from birth through age 5. The document is part of the Title V Data Integration Toolkit and focuses on two key questions: how many children are receiving developmental screenings using parent-completed tools, and how many are achieving five-domain developmental health based on these screenings. The document provides detailed guidance on analytic considerations, including the importance of defining which screening tools to analyze, understanding data sources within the ECIDS, and determining how to handle multiple screenings for individual children. A comprehensive list of recommended data elements is provided, including child identifiers, demographic information, and screening-related data. Examples of data visualization are provided using fictitious data, showing how to present overall screening rates and breakdowns by age categories.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Developmental screening, Data integration, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: This report focuses on the Title V Data Integration Toolkit's use case for analyzing community-based services data through Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). It emphasizes the importance of coordinated and integrated community-based services for children and families, highlighting how data integration can help Title V programs track referrals, monitor progress, and inform decision-making. The report suggests that Title V programs should request a current list of data sources from ECIDS to understand what data can be included in each analysis, and encourages Title V programs to adapt the information to fit their state's specific needs and potentially analyze data by various factors such as time, geographic area, or demographic variables. Overall, this use case aims to help Title V programs leverage ECIDS data to gain insights into community-based services, their utilization, and their impact on children's readiness for kindergarten and overall well-being.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Community based services, Children', s health, MCH training

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This report describes what is known about the availability of trauma centers for children and the outcomes for children treated at different types of facilities. The report also examines how, if at all, federal agencies are involved in supporting pediatric trauma care and how these activities are coordinated. Topics include the location of high-level pediatric trauma centers, the percentage of children who live within 30 miles of a high-level pediatric trauma center, and how well such centers work to lower mortality. Additional topics include federal interagency coordination to support hospital-based pediatric trauma care activities and training and resources available to physicians and nurses for pediatric trauma care. Examples are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-334.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Health care delivery, Injuries, Interagency cooperation, Outcome and process assessment, Pediatric care, Pediatric hospitals, Training, Trauma care, Trauma centers, Work force

Annotation: This infographic summarizes results of a survey focusing on oral health during pregnancy administered to oral health professionals (dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants) in Maine in 2016. It provides information about the percentage of respondents who agreed that women should receive preventive oral health care and that it is safe to take X-rays during pregnancy. The infographic also provides information on the percentage of respondents who use the prenatal visit to provide anticipatory guidance about oral health care to pregnant women and respondents who believe there are restrictions on providing oral health treatment to pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Maine, Oral health care, Pregnant women, State health agencies, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: These resources include sample workforce development plans based on the Core Competencies for Public Health Professionals to assist organizations in incorporating the Core Competencies into their own workforce development plans. Links to the Core Competencies and a workshop about developing a workforce development plan are also provided.

Contact: Public Health Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 218-4400 Fax: (202) 218-4409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.phf.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competency based education, Health agencies, Program development, Program planning, Work force

Annotation: This document outlines a strategic plan to improve population health outcomes of New Mexico residents through an engaged, empowered, and high-performing health work force and simple and effective processes that support health status improvement. Topics include mission and vision; guiding principles; strategic planning process and membership; external trends, events, and other factors affecting the work; strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and challenges; results, priorities, and indicators; and results-based accountability and strategy execution. Strategies and actions include promoting access to person- and community-centered health and wellness by aligning and integrating public health, behavioral health, oral health, and primary care.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org Available from the website.

• FY17-FY19

Keywords: Accountability, Fiscal management, Health care systems, Health promotion, Health status, New Mexico, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Quality assurance, State programs, Strategic plans, Work force, Work force

Annotation: This document for state health departments provides guidance on developing a state health assessment. Contents include four modules on identifying and engaging system stakeholders; collecting and analyzing health status data; collecting and analyzing stakeholder and community input data; and summarizing, presenting, and communicating findings. Each module provides information about relevant Public Health Accreditation Board standards, measures, and guidance; ideas for structuring the process and conducting assessment activities; specific examples and lessons learned from states; sample tools and links to additional resources; and a summary of key products, deliverables, or processes resulting from the module activities.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Name, Organization, And Email Address

Keywords: Assessment, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Health status, State health agencies, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what a state office of rural health (SORH) is, goals of a SORH, and why SORHs are important. Topics include how SORHs support and build local capacity and draw attention to the challenges and successes in rural health care and how they support coordination and information sharing on rural health issues within state health agencies.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services delivery, Information dissemination, Public health infrastructure, Role, Rural health, Rural population, Service coordination, State health agencies, State programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This evaluation is the first to examine the impacts of the national public health accreditation program on quality improvement, management processes, and accountability. Contents include what is already known about this topic, what is added by the report, and what are the implications for public health practice.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Accreditation, Employee performance appraisal, Management, Measures, National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Quality assurance, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This paper provides a framework for health care organizations to improve health equity in the communities they serve. Topics include making health equity a strategic priority, developing structure and processes to support health equity work, deploying specific strategies to address the multiple determinants of health on which health care organizations can have a direct impact, decreasing institutional racism within the organization, and developing partnerships with community organizations to improve health and equity. The paper also describes practical issues in measuring health equity, presents a case study of the Henry Ford Health System, and includes a self-assessment tool for health care organizations to assess their current state related to each component of the framework.

Contact: Institute for Healthcare Improvement , 20 University Road, Seventh Floor , Cambridge , MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 301-4800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0831 Fax: (617) 301-4830 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihi.org Available from the website.

• Download (free) Requires Registration

Keywords: Community participation, Discrimination, Equal opportunities, Health care delivery, Health disparities, Health systems agencies, Inclusion, Measures, Organizational change, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Self evaluation, Social bias

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This brief for state health departments highlights examples of school and hospital partnerships to improve children's health, and how state school health and nursing service personnel can support their collaboration. Topics include the importance of school and hospital partnership in managing chronic health conditions in schools, how health department involvement in a hospital community health needs assessment process can help to strengthen school and hospital partnership, and opportunities to strengthen school and hospital partnership through Medicaid. Additional contents include examples of school and hospital partnership in Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas; and descriptions of key resources.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Hospitals, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Nursing, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School health services, Schools, State health agencies, State programs, Students

Annotation: This document describes how health impact assessment (HIA) can be used as a tool for local health departments to promote community health improvement while contributing to documentation that demonstrates conformity to the Public Health Accreditation Board's (PHAB) Standards and Measures. Contents include background on HIA and accreditation and a crosswalk between PHAB standards and measures and HIA projects by domain. Examples of health data summaries, committee minutes, dated distribution lists, attendance logs, brochures, flyers, website screen prints, news releases, posters, and policies that can be used during the accreditation process are included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Log In

Keywords: Accreditation, Assessment, City health agencies, County health agencies, Data collection, Health promotion, Measures, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Public health programs, Standards

Annotation: This document outlines a vision for what the federal government can do to improve the lives of children. Contents include a child health policy agenda followed by specific recommendations for each of the relevant federal agencies and departments. Recommendations for administrative and congressional actions and funding priorities are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Family centered care, Federal agencies, Financing, Health insurance, Health services, Legislation, Pediatric care, Policy development, Strategic plans

Annotation: This strategic plan describes how the National Institutes of Health (NIH) plans to achieve four objectives: (1) advance opportunities in biomedical research; (2) foster innovation by setting NIH priorities; (3) enhance scientific stewardship; and (4) excel as a federal science agency by managing for results.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Medical research, National Institutes of Health, Strategic plans