Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This two volume report presents the results of a study that examined the Medicaid managed care contracts of 37 states to assess the structure and content of those contracts and to extrapolate the key issues affecting Medicaid managed care. Volume 1 presents the findings of the study and makes recommendations for future policies. It focuses on these topics: the transformation of Medicaid to Medicaid managed care, the shift from the government as insurer to managed care purchaser, and the legal issues involved. It also considers issues related to the definition of the managed care service system, the process of developing contract language to achieve the administrative requirements, the relationship of Medicaid managed care with the overall health care system including public health, and the adoption of certain business concepts and the creation of the business relationships necessary to deliver services. Volume 2 of this report contains the detailed analyses of each state contract.

Contact: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Contact Phone: (202) 296-6922 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/projects/center-health-policy-research $25.00, v. 1; $100.00, v. 2; includes shipping and handling; prepayment required; make checks payable to Center for Health Policy Research/GWU.

• PDF

Keywords: Contract services, Decentralization, Government role, Health care reform, Health care systems, Legal issues, Medicaid managed care, Policy development, Public policy, State initiatives, Trends

Annotation: This report is designed to provide an overview of child abuse prevention research and program and policy strategies. Parts I and II discuss how child abuse and neglect are defined and measured, what the incidence rates and trends are, and what has been learned about the causes of child maltreatment. Part III defines the scope of preventive services and some promising models, including several home visiting programs that have demonstrated promising results. Parts IV and V describe the federal role in prevention and state and local efforts that are pointing towards a new vision of prevention and child protection. Part VI describes community partnerships between public and private funders.

Contact: Policy Institute for Family Impact Seminars, University of Wisconsin-Madison/Extension, 1305 Linden Drive, Third Floor, Madison, WI 53706, Telephone: (608) 263-2353 Fax: (608) 265-6048 Web Site: http://familyimpactseminars.org/ $15.00, including shipping.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Community role, Family support, Government financing, Model programs, Prevention programs, Private sector, Reports

Annotation: This report describes results of a study of 14 high-volume and growing Medicaid-serving health plans, primarily in urban areas, and 23 other providers in inner-city and rural service areas. It discusses strategies for providing access, effects of health plan strategies and Medicaid managed care on community health centers and other traditional Medicaid-serving providers and on availability of primary care services, and changes under way that may affect access in the future.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Government role, Medicaid managed care, Quality assurance, Service delivery

Annotation: This paper examines state and federal legislation that has focused on developing comprehensive community-based support systems for families and children. It examines pending bills and enacted statues at both the state and federal level to ascertain the role of governmental legislation in the creation of such systems and trends in their reform. Appendices include a matrix indicating the major components of 31 bills and statutes and descriptions of the major provisions of each.

Contact: Finance Project, 1401 New York Avenue, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-4200 Fax: (202) 628-1293 E-mail: [email protected] $7.50 includes shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Comprehensive programs, Education, Families, Federal government, Government role, Health services, Legislation, Reform, Social services, State government

Annotation: This statistical summary presents data that reflect the condition of women, their lives, and their opportunities throughout the world. The preface describes the intent, methodology, and organization of the volume, and provides information on its use. It includes published and non-published data from governmental and non-governmental sources. The individual tables provide source information; a complete list of sources consulted is also included, and detailed indexes are provided. The range of topics covered are: attitudes and opinions; business and economics; crime, law enforcement, and legal justice; domestic life; education; health and medical care; income, spending, and wealth; labor, employment, and occupations; the military; population and vital statistics; public life; religion; sexuality; and sports and recreation.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8872-3.

Keywords: Attitudes, Business, Careers, Costs, Crime, Criminal justice system, Data, Demographics, Economic factors, Education, Employment, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Government, Health, Health services, International data, Labor, Law enforcement, Military, Political systems, Religion, Sex role, Sexuality, Sports, Vital statistics, Women, Women', s rights

Annotation: These materials include the briefing materials, handouts, and recommendations made by the work groups of the Maternal and Child Health Federal/State Partnership Meeting held in Rockville, Maryland, January 9-11, 1995. The focus of the meeting was to explore ways to strengthen the state and federal partnership to build capacity to meet the increasing needs of the nation's mothers and children. The materials also include the agenda, materials for the work groups, overviews of breakfast roundtables, lists of exhibitors and participants, and background materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Federal MCH programs, Government programs, Government role, Interagency cooperation, Maternal health, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This book examines the role of the government in developing the systems of health services in the United States between the 1930s and 1980s. It traces the development of the health systems within the context of the economic, social, and political policies of governments at the local, state, and federal levels. The topics covered range from public health through medical care, health facilities, the national development of local health planning, and the regulation of private services. Environmental health, health education, and Medicare are also considered. Broad topics include community-wide preventive programs and control of public health activities; the direct provision of health care by the government; the government as payer for medical care provided by others; and the government roles in health services resource development, health services research promotion, and in fostering coordination and planning of the health delivery system.

Contact: Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (800) 451-7556 Secondary Telephone: (212)726-6000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oup.com/us $95.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-19-506968-4.

Keywords: Federal government, Government role, History, Local government, Public health, Public health services, State government

Annotation: This report considers various factors that affect access to child care within the United States. The report discusses the problems parents have relating to the availability, accessibility, affordability, and quality of child care programs, and it examines the shared responsibility for the programs between federal, state, and local governments. It also compares child care programs in the United States to those established in Sweden, France, Germany, and Japan. The report reviews various roles for government with regard to child care programs, and it examines financial alternatives and regulatory issues. The report includes the principles that guided the research, and it presents its findings and makes policy recommendations.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Federal government, Government financing, Government role, Intergovernmental relations, International programs, Local government, Public policy, Regulations, State government, Statistics

Annotation: The purpose of this paper is to provide the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) an overview and assessment of the key features of health care reform that are likely to have implications for the maternal and child populations and MCH programs. Drafts of two additional background papers are appended: one profiles the maternal and child population, and the other indicates the role of MCHB in the financing and delivering health care for women and children. There are several bibliographies.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: Contr. no. 240-91-0010; D.O. no. 240-92-0509.

• Link

Keywords: Federal government, Government programs, Government role, Health care financing, Health care reform, Public policy, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau

Annotation: This report discusses how health reforms being proposed might affect the activities of states and their insurance departments. It focuses on the portion of the health insurance market currently regulated by state insurance departments, the budget and staff resources state insurance departments commit to regulating health insurance, and the key activities insurance departments perform.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/T-HRD-94-55.

• PDF

Keywords: Government role, Health care reform, State government, State health insurance programs

Annotation: This workshop, with participants from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Denmark, France, and Germany, compared the status of children, and the practices of the child welfare systems in the different countries. The participants discussed such topics as the role of the individual and the state, characteristics of children in care and the prevalence and types of residential and other out-of-home care, child abuse and neglect and how it is handled, and training of social welfare workers.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child protective services, Child welfare, Children', Cultural factors, Evaluation, Government role, Interagency cooperation, International health, International programs, Juvenile courts, Out of home care, Service delivery systems, s rights

Annotation: This report of the U.S. Commission on Interstate Child Support presents recommendations to Congress on improvements to the interstate establishment and enforcement of child support awards and represents a comprehensive national blueprint for reform. Some of the topics covered in the report include: 1) the current plight of single-parent households, 2) the child support system's current response, 3) the main elements of the Commission's reform, 4) staffing and training, case tracking, enforcement, and collection and distribution, and 5) the role of the federal and state government in child support. Accompanying appendices provide letter and minority reports from Commission members, suggested legislative language, and the text of the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-038102-9.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child support, Government role, Legislation, Parent rights, Reform

Annotation: This paper describes the importance of child day care, describing what it is and its many forms, identifying its sources of support and public policies, and a vision for its future. Written from the perspective of a tour guide explaining to an interplanetary visitor, it covers such child day care topics including: 1) day care supply and demand, 2) the elements of quality, 3) day care costs, 4) the roles of the business community, resource and referral agencies, and the government, and 5) sources of federal funds for child day care.

Contact: National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies, 1515 North Courthouse Road, 11th Floor, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (703) 341-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2246 Contact Phone: (507) 287-2220 Fax: (703) 341-4101 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccrra.net Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Child care services, Child care workers, Financing, Government role, Policy analysis, Policy development

Annotation: This paper, as part of the Family Impact Seminar's Teenage Pregnancy and Family Impact Study, describes the variety of sex education being offered throughout the country in terms of: 1) the kinds of sex education and family life education being offered, 2) the relationship between families and these problems, and 3) the best guess as to how different institutions and agents can be supportive of sex education and family life education and how such education can reflect the diversity of interests and values of the community. The paper also discusses how the extent, organization, and effectiveness of current approaches to sex education influence adolescent pregnancy.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 2008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iel.org $2.50; prepayment required; make check payable to George Washington University; discounts available for bulk orders.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community role, Family life education, Government programs, Government role, Program evaluation, Sexuality education

Annotation: This report, published in the "DPC Legislative Bulletin," examines the major provisions of the Unfunded Mandate Reform Act, Senate Bill 1 of the 104th Congress. The act focuses on the reform of the federal government's policies regarding unfunded mandates affecting state, local, and tribal governments. The report discusses the major provisions of the act, includes definitions, reviews exclusions, considers the major titles of the act, and provides a legislative history. It also includes a cost estimate, notes potential House actions, indicates the administration's position, and notes possible amendments to the Act.

Contact: U.S. Congress, Senate, Democratic Policy Committee, Washington, DC 20510, Telephone: (202) 224-1414 Web Site: http://dpc.senate.gov/ Available at no charge. Document Number: Publication: LB-2-General Government.

Keywords: Federal government, Government financing, Government role, Intergovernmental relations, Local government, Proposed legislation, Reform, State government, Unfunded mandates