Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: In this book, comprised of 15 different papers, a panel of experts assimilate the diverse research on the patterns and characteristics of violent behavior in the United States, including behaviors that have only recently been recognized as crimes, such as incest and spousal and elder abuse. The book describes what is known about certain types of violence, details insights into risk factors for violent behavior in individuals and situations, and recommends new research efforts with short and long term payoffs. The authors also propose some answers, such as several preventive strategies for reducing firearm-related violence, that rely on existing laws. Tables and figures are included as well as author and panel biographies, references and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use, Behavioral sciences, Child abuse, Crime, Crime, Drug use, Elder abuse, Family violence, Firearms, Gun control, Legislation, Media violence, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Statistics, Substance use, Weapons

Annotation: This report provides summaries of presentations at the 1992 Public Health Social Work Maternal and Child Health Institute. The conference examined violence as a public health problem and attempted to identify preventive interventions focusing on children, youth, and families. A major objective was to facilitate communication and cooperative program development among health, education, and social service systems. Preventive approaches are emphasized in the report, and several model programs are described. A 25-page executive summary, published in 1992, is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG071 (report), MCHF104 (executive summary).

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Assault, Children, Criminal justice system, Demographics, Education, Family violence, Firearms, Gangs, Injury prevention, Media violence, Population surveillance, Program development, Rape, Risk factors, Socioeconomic status, U.S.Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Violence, Weapons

Annotation: This manual shows how community-based programs can reduce violence in the communities. The book identifies specific activities plus a framework for putting them into place. The first part, Activities to Prevent Youth Violence, describes the target groups, settings, and strategies for prevention. The second part, Program Management, covers basic principles of effective community-based health promotion programs and includes suggestions on organizing the community, gathering and analyzing information, setting goals and objectives, locating resources, and monitoring the progress of the program. An index of community programs to prevent youth violence is included.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (404) 488-4646 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Assault, Community programs, Comprehensive programs, Conflict resolution, Crisis intervention, Education, Firearms, Intervention, Leadership, Parenting, Peer groups, Population surveillance, Prevention, Violence, Weapons

Annotation: This bibliography lists both new and classic materials on the subject of firearms, including journal articles, books, reports, and materials from the popular press. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG032.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Firearms

Annotation: This session of the Ross Roundtable was convened to explore some roles in helping children deal with the violence in their lives. These roles typically could be played by the professionals who care for children's health e.g. pediatricians. Presented were broad themes and issues that cut across the entire experience of children and violence. Subjects of discussion include firearms; and gang, urban, rural, domestic, and media violence. The conference was seen as a first discussion for pediatricians of the impact of violence and possible interventions. The Roundtable hopes to revisit these issues.

Contact: Ross Laboratories, Consumer Relations, 625 Cleveland Avenue, Columbus, OH 43215-1724, Telephone: (800) 227-5767 Secondary Telephone: (614) 624-7485 Contact Phone: (614) 227-3333 Web Site: http://www.ross.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Children, Counseling, Data, Domestic violence, Firearms, Gangs, Health professionals, Homicide, Hospitals, Injuries, Intervention, Media violence, Pediatricians, Prevention, Rural population, Urban population, Violence, War, Witnesses

Annotation: This bibliography was developed to help social workers, medical professionals, and others who work with black youth and plan programs for them. The bibliography includes books and book chapters, articles from professional journals and major newspapers, and materials from government reports. Chapters cover background and general material; homicide, suicide, and other violence; interventions; mental health; poverty and related social issues; sexually transmitted diseases; alcohol and other drug abuse; and adolescent parenthood and early sexual activity. [Research funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of South Carolina, College of Social Work, Columbia, SC 29208, Telephone: (803) 777-7814 Contact Phone: (803) 777-9408 Fax: (803) 777-0421 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cosw.sc.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF018.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Bibliographies, Blacks, Blacks, Firearms, Homicide, Injury Prevention, Mental health, Poverty, Rape, Sexual assault, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide, Violence prevention

Annotation: This premiere issue of the "Journal of Emotional and Behavioral Problems" focuses on the impact of guns and gangs on youth violence. Issues addressed are defining the problem of gangs, understanding the gang culture, relating to youth in gangs, and prevention and intervention.

Contact: National Educational Service, 1610 West Third Street, P.O. Box 8, Bloomington, IN 47402, Telephone: (800) 733-6786 Secondary Telephone: (812) 336-7700 Fax: (812) 336-7790 $12.00 plus $2.00 shipping.

Keywords: Adolescents, Firearms, Gangs, Prevention, Violence

Annotation: This report discusses the high incidence of accidental shootings and the methods by which accidental shootings can be prevented. The study asserts that 31 percent of accidental deaths might be prevented by the addition of two safety devices: a child-proof safety device and a loading indicator. The GAO also approximates that 105 injuries for each death occur due to accidental shooting. The report recommends that safety devices and any other preventive measures that would reduce accidental shooting be implemented.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/PEMD-91-9.

• Link

Keywords: Engineering, Firearm injuries, Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Legislation, Prevention, Safety equipment, Technology, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This scripted presentation was adapted from a report entitled "Cost of Injury In the United States: A Report to Congress, 1989" which was prepared by researchers at the University of California, San Francisco and the Johns Hopkins University at the request of Congress and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. It provides some data on injury types and causes, with motor vehicles and firearms accounting for 50 percent. The information presented illustrates that beyond social and emotional costs, injuries have a devastating economic price. Six areas of injury are discussed: motor vehicles, firearms, falls, poisonings, drownings, and fire and burns. The guide presents information from this report in graphic form in order to provide useful tools to advocates who will explain the economic consequences of the problem of violence in the United States.

Contact: Trauma Foundation, San Francisco General Hospital, Building One, Room 300, San Francisco, CA 94110, Telephone: (415) 821-8209 Fax: (415) 821-8202 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.traumaf.org $95.00.

Keywords: Advocacy, Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Burns, Costs, Drowning, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Injuries, Injuries--types, causes, agents, Injury prevention, Injury severity, Injury surveillance systems, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Poisons, Resources for professionals, Slides, Statistics, Tobacco, Training materials, Trauma care

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence

Annotation: This report summarizes the discussion and recommendations generated at the Forum on Firearms and Children, sponsored by the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation from August 30 to September 1, 1989. The report includes a discussion of mortality and morbidity related to unintentional and intentional firearm injuries, the identification of key factors in firearm injuries, and a description of a plan involving education, community action, legislation, regulation, and research to end firearm violence to children. The appendices include AAP policy statements regarding firearms, existing and pending state legislation relevant to children, and a list of handgun control organizations.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children, Firearms, Injury prevention, Violence

Annotation: This issue of "Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: CDC Surveillance Summaries" presents information charting the progress toward the 1990 Injury Control Objectives for the Nation. In each article, surveillance data are used to monitor the nation's progress toward a specific objective. Nine surveillance summaries address the following topics: deaths from motor vehicle-related injuries, deaths due to injury in the home, deaths from falls, drownings in the United States, hospitalizations due to tap water scalds, deaths from residential fires, unintentional firearm-related fatalities, homicides among black males, and suicides among persons 15-24 years of age. The problems impeding further progress and the steps necessary to attain the objective are also discussed. The summaries were developed to describe and clarify the injury problem, and to stimulate additional interest in applying surveillance methods to the field of injury control.

Keywords: 1990 Objectives for the Nation, Drowning, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Population surveillance, Scalds, Statistics, Suicide

Keywords: Assault, Data, Firearms, Injury prevention, Violence

Annotation: This issue of "Prevention Report" provides statistics on death and disability caused by violent and abusive behaviors in the United States. The report includes a graph of homicide rates for black males aged 15-24, from 1978-1987, divided by firearm- and nonfirearm-related deaths. The newsletter also includes descriptions of recent injury articles and publications, and a list of government and nonprofit organizations which may be useful resources on intentional injury prevention.

Contact: National Health Information Center, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Blacks, Child abuse, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Men, Statistics, Suicide, Unintentional injuries, Violence, Weapons, Young adults