Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides a description of miscarriage, outlines what is known about why it occurs, symptoms, treatment, tests, causes of repeat miscarriage, recovery times, and how long a woman should wait before attempting another pregnancy. References are provided.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1550 Crystal Drive, Suite 1300, Arlington, VA 10605, Telephone: (888) 663-4637 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.org .

• Link

Keywords: Fetal death, Fetal mortality, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This manual provides communities interested in developing a new Fetal and Infant Mortality Review (FIMR) Program, or continuing an existing FIMR program, with a step-by-step guide for implementing FIMR and making systems change happen for women, infants, and familles through FIMR. Contents include a description of the FIMR process, laying the groundwork, building community support and collaboration, abstracting medical records and conducting the home interview, basic team building and group process concepts for FIMR programs, the role of the case review team, the role of the community action team, taking stock of the FIMR process, and other maternal and child case review and related processes and the opportunities for collaboration. Standard definitions for reporting selected perinatal health statistics, and a glossary of terms, diagnoses and procedures is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Collaboration, Fetal death, Infant death review, Infant mortality, Investigations, Manuals, Neonatal death, Program development, Surveillance

Annotation: This edition, for health care providers in the United Kingdom, provides guidelines on parents' needs after the loss of a pregnancy or child for whatever reason it occurred, laws to be applied and when they do not apply, the impact the loss on parents and families, and the importance of the care that is offered. Topics include providing inclusive care; holistic care; loss and grief; communication; communication across language and other barriers; termination of pregnancy for reasons other than abnormality; antenatal screening, diagnostic tests, and procedures; continuing the pregnancy; losses in pregnancy; care in neonatal units, transfer to the mortuary and post mortem investigations; funerals and memorials; support and training for staff; guidance for health care providers, and legal issues, regulations, and professionals standards concerning the termination of pregnancy.

Contact: SANDS, 28 Portland Place, London, ENGLAND W1B 1LY, Web Site: http://www.uk-sands.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN(13) 978-0-9554243-2-8 ISBN(10) 0-9554243-2-1.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Guidelines, Infant death, Neonatal death, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal screening, Patient advocacy, Physician patient relations, Postpartum care, Pregnancy loss, Prenatal screening, United Kingdom

Annotation: This bulletin summarizes a panel presentation from the National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program's Fifth National Conference, held August 12-14, 2004 in Washington, DC. It explores the cultural traditions of Hmong, African American, and Jewish families grieving the loss of a pregnancy or infant. It is the third in a series focused on cross-cultural grief and loss and provides an updated review of the literature. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Blacks, Child death, Cultural factors, Death attitudes, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Fetal death, Grief, Infant death, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Religion

Annotation: This brief gives basic facts about stillbirth, including how fetal death is diagnosed, delivering the fetus, causes of stillbirth, ways to prevent stillbirth, the chances of a stillbirth in another pregnancy, and coping with grief. Additional resources and references are provided.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1550 Crystal Drive, Suite 1300, Arlington, VA 10605, Telephone: (888) 663-4637 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.org

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Fetal death

Annotation: This book examines what is known about the needs of children who are dying, as well as the needs of their families; the extent to which these needs are being met; and what can be done to provide more competent, compassionate, and consistent care. The book offers recommendations for involving the child and parents in treatment decisions, strengthening the organization and delivery of services, hospice care, reducing financial barriers to care, developing support programs for bereaved families, training health professionals, ethical and legal issues; and expanding the knowledge base to guide clinicians and families. Nine appendices provide information on study origins and activities, prognostication scores, assess health-related quality of life in end-of-life care, bereavement experiences, end-of-life care in emergency medical services, education in pediatric palliative care, a description of a New York state demonstration project, and committee biographical statements. The book also includes a summary, a list of reviewers, a reference list, and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-08437-7.

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Ethics, Families, Family support, Fetal death, Financial barriers, Health care delivery, Hospice services, Infant death, Palliative treatment, Parent professional relations, Professional training, Terminal care, Terminal illness

Annotation: This brief is intended to provide program evaluation information to both existing fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR) programs and communities that are in the process of establishing new FIMRs. It includes information about study methods, key contributions of FIMR programs, factors contributing the the success of individual FIMR programs, and FIMR teams. It concludes with observations and a list of references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00071.

• Link

Keywords: Child death review, Community based services, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, National programs, Program development

Annotation: The purpose of this manual is to help prepare new home interviewers for the key fetal infant mortality review role of interviewing grieving mothers. It includes the following sections: (1) the fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR) process, (2) conducting the FIMR review, (3) understanding the grief experience, (4) FIMR interviewer skills and training, (5) summarizing the FIMR review; (6) self-care for the FIMR interviewer, (7) references, (8) bibliography, and (9) about the authors. The manual also contains several appendices, including field safety, suggested reading, Web site resources for families, infant loss literature for families, Web resources for home interviewers, and other printed materials.

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child death review, Fetal mortality, Grief, Infant mortality, Interviews, Mothers, Training

Annotation: This report describes the early findings of an evaluation of the national Fetal and Infant Mortality Review (FIMR) program. Topics include bolstering community efforts for perinatal health; FIMR-specific influences; perinatal initiative-specific influences; recommending and acting on strategies to improve systems of perinatal health care; FIMR programs' structure, operational features, and associated activity; system changes evolving from FIMR; and observations and conclusions. The evaluation methodology and respondents are described and references are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Federal initiatives, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Perinatal health, Program evaluation, Research

Annotation: This document reviews population-based data about disparities in infant health outcomes; reviews the fetal infant mortality review (FIMR) process; describes the potential role of this process in addressing disparities in outcomes; and provides specific examples of successful new community actions developed by culturally diverse FIMR programs. The document is divided into five sections: (1) introduction, (2) what Is FIMR? (3) how FIMR can help, (4) making a difference: A sampler of FIMR actions to reduce health disparities, and (5) conclusion. References and a bibliography are provided. The appendix contains an inclusivity checklist for measuring the cultural competence of an FIMR program. Statistics are provided in table format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska, California, Child death review, Connecticut, Fetal mortality, Florida, Health care delivery, Indiana, Infant health, Infant mortality, Iowa, Maryland, New Jersey, Program descriptions, State initiatives, Statistics, Virginia, Wisconsin

Annotation: This publication was written to provide fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR) directors and coordinators with information to help sustain their programs. Topics covered include: sustaining FIMR; marketing and communications; funding development; models; and data and information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Fetal mortality, Financing, Infant mortality, Marketing, Models

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This book, written by a mother who experienced the death of her baby, discusses learning about the baby's death, decisions that may be needed right away, and the bereavement process in the first days and weeks and later. A list of national resources and a bibliography are included.

Contact: Wintergreen Press, 3630 Eileen Street , Maple Plain, MN 55359, Telephone: (952) 476-1303 Contact Phone: (612) 476-1303 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wintergreenpress.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Death, Fetal death, Infants, Perinatal bereavement, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This report provides eleven recommendations designed to reduce neonatal and infant mortality in Pennsylvania, along with supporting data. It emphasizes consolidation and regionalization of perinatal services. The recommendations address definition of fetal death and abortion; reporting abortions; changes in death certificates; availability of perinatal mortality data; regulations for obstetric and newborn hospital services; appointment of a Pennsylvania Department of Health technical advisory body; appointment of a Pennsylvania Maternal and Child Health advisory council; establishment of a program for secondary education in perinatal health; study of inter-hospital transport of distressed newborn and care teams; proposed legislation for health insurance coverage of the unborn or newborn infant; and care for uninsured mothers and infants requiring intensive perinatal or neonatal care.

• Link

Keywords: Abortion, Death certificates, Fetal death, Hospital services, Infant mortality, Neonatal intensive care units, Neonatal mortality, Pennsylvania, Regulations, Statistics

Annotation: This document provides definitions and tabulations of live birth and fetal death by period of gestation, as adopted by the Third World Health Assembly in May 1950. Contents include a summary of the conference including definition recommendations and resolutions.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: PHS Pub. no. 39.

• Link

Keywords: Conferences, Fetal death, Legal definitions, Pregnancy outcome

Annotation: This manual presents recommended features of perinatal mortality and morbidity study committees in hospitals, cities, counties, and states. It also presents terms and definitions. Appendices list the names of individuals who participated in conferences that developed this manual.

• Link

Keywords: Child death review, Committees, Fetal morbidity, Fetal mortality, Infant morbidity, Infant mortality, Manuals

Annotation: This document discusses definition of fetal deaths, completeness of registration of fetal deaths, problems of classification, problem of ill-defined and unknown causes, supplementary information on life births and fetal death certificates, clinical records, and special studies.

Keywords: Fetal death, Medical records