Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource outlines a plan for improving access to comprehensive, coordinated health care and related services for children, youth, and adults with autism spectrum disorder and related developmental disabilities in Georgia. The plan addresses the following ten areas of activity: early identification and screening; referral and diagnosis; medical, behavioral health, and dental services; family support; early intervention and preschool services; elementary and secondary education; community services and supports; transition from youth to adult systems; adult services and supports; and emergency preparedness and first responders. For each area, the report provides a definition, quality indicators (problem statements and data drivers), and recommendations (objectives). The report also describes foundational supports considered in developing the recommendations including work force, awareness, informational resources, finances, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Center for Leadership in Disability, 75 Piedmont Avenue, Suite 514, Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 413-1281 Fax: (404) 413-1012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://disability.publichealth.gsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Autism, Community based services, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disaster planning, Early intervention, Educational objectives, Family centered care, Family support services, Financial planning, Georgia, Health care delivery, Life course, Policy development, Program coordination, Referrals, Screening, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Transition planning, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the role of the Family Delegate in advocating for all families in their territories (including those with special health care needs), working with both families and local systems of care as an advisor, promoter, and educator. The brief explains the importance of the Family Delegate, the process by which this person might be selected, and provides two state examples (from Kansas and Arkansas) on the selection process and the benefits of the role in their localities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Family centered health care, Family support services, Title V programs, Arkansas, Kansas

Annotation: This document provides a series of case studies on state models to support neonatal intensive care unit follow-up programs. The document also includes national resources for state Title V programs as they continue to develop and support similar programs. Models from the following states are described: Arizona, California, Colorado, Iowa, For each model, an overview is provided, followed by a discussion of partners and funding and successes and contact information.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Arizona, California, Case studies, Colorado, Costs, Family support services, Financing, Health services, Infant health, Iowa, Premature infants, Programs, State initiatives

Annotation: This brief highlights key findings from research conducted to build evidence needed to inform policymakers' decisions related to home visiting and to advance effective practice in home visiting programs. The brief also identifies opportunities for program improvements in states and for further study. Findings are presented in the following areas: lasting benefits of home visiting, for whom is home visiting effective, the importance of focused program content and of measurement, and what it means to be evidence-based.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website, after registration.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Family support services, Home visiting, Infants, Low income groups, Public policy, Research, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This paper offers an introduction to some of the opportunities and challenges facing public safety net and work support programs. It summarizes key features of such initiatives and then explains their collective significance, paying special attention to their importance for the well-being and development of children. A review of limitations comes next, followed by an overview of some of the state-level reform efforts currently underway. The conclusion recommends several matters for the consideration of concerned public officials at the federal level.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Families, Family support services, Federal programs, State initiatives, Welfare agencies

Annotation: This report describes plans for a national evaluation of the Mother and Infant Home Visiting Program (MIHOPE), a program launched in 2011 by the Administration for Children and Families and the Health Resources and Services Administration within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Contents include an overview, background on home visiting and goals for the evaluation, an overview of the proposed evaluation design, a sampling plan for the evaluation, the implementation study, the impact analysis and analysis of health systems outcomes, and the economic evaluation.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Costs, Families, Family support services, Federal programs, Health systems, High risk groups, Home visiting, Infant development, Infant health, Low income groups, Program evaluation, Social services, Women', s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the proceedings from a May 2013 meeting of teams from five states to discuss strategies for developing and moving forward on an infant-toddler policy agenda. Participants explored innovative state models and strategies for developing and moving an infant policy agenda; assist other states in their efforts to establish an infant-toddler policy agenda; and promote relationships and continued collaborative work among participants. Topics explored during the meeting included policy development, outreach to families, professional development systems integration, coordinated screening and referral systems, effective communication, data systems, and quality improvement,

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Family support services, Illinois, Infant health, Infants, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Model programs, New Jersey, Outreach, Pennsylvania, Policy development, Quality assurance, Screening, Service integration, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This blueprint presents a vision for the future of child welfare that all children will grow up safely in loving families and supportive communities. The blueprint is intended to be a catalyst for change and also to serve as the basis for updating and creating Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) program-specific standards of excellence. The blueprint discusses CWLA vision and values and presents eight core principles and standards on the following topics: rights of children; shared responsibility and leadership; engagement/participation; supports and services; quality improvement; work force; race, ethnicity, and culture; and funding and resources.

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org $24.95 for non-members, $19.95 for members; also available as .pdf , $11.95 for non-members, . Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58760-152-1.

Keywords: Child welfare, Children, Children', Communities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Families, Family support services, Financing, Leadership, Programs, Racial factors, Safety, Standards, s rights

Annotation: This report describes the California Comprehensive Early Learning Plan, which aims to offer a design for a high-quality birth-to-age-5 system in California that provides all children with knowledge and skills they need for long-term success. The plan identifies critical policy areas that the state could address, articulates a long-term vision that ties together the work in those areas, and provides a set of recommendations for achieving this vision. The plan also seeks to bring the California early learning community together around a common agenda. The report discusses why the plan matters, supporting children and families, and system infrastructure.

Contact: California Department of Education, 1430 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (916) 319-0800 Secondary Telephone: (916) 445-4556 Web Site: https://www.cde.ca.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-8011-1743-5.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Early childhood education, Families, Family support services, Infants, Public policy, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report provides findings from an 18-month evaluation to examine parent outcomes for families involved with the Community Partnership's Capable Kids and Families (CKF) program and for a comparison group of non CKF families who received services from other providers. CKF supports family functioning and fosters positive developmental outcomes for families raising children with disabilities or developmental delays from birth to age 6. The report discusses the following six broad domains: (1) understanding their child's strengths and needs, (2) helping their child learn and develop, (3) learning to advocate for their child, (4) support systems, (5) access to resources, and (6) positive interactions with their child. The report also provides information about the service experiences of CKF families and indicates other areas in which the CKF program could affect family well-being that could be explored in future research.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Family support services, Infants with developmental disabilities, Infants with special health care needs, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Program evaluation, Programs, Research, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This strategic-planning tool is intended to help support efforts of those working in organizations and communities to identify action to improve services and supports for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) children and adolescents and their families. The tool includes a table organized around 10 standards of care that provide a framework for improving outcomes and well-being of LGBT children and adolescents. The standards include (1) assessment and continuous quality improvement, (2) nondscrimination policies, (3) staff knowledge and development, (4) documentation, data collection, and information sharing, (5) safe, supportive environments, (6) practices that affirm identity, (7) healthy and supportive peer connections, (8) family connections, (9) access to affirming services and supports, and (10) community outreach and engagement.

Contact: American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 944-5400 Secondary Telephone: (877) 334-3499 Fax: (202) 403-5454 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.air.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Adolescents, Communities, Data, Families, Family support services, Homosexuality, Outreach, Peer support programs, Public policy, Quality assurance, Social support, social services

Annotation: This guidance is designed to help Promise Neighborhoods implementation grantees collect and assemble indicators to benchmark and track progress over time. Contents include an overview of data collection and use, the structure of a data system, indicators, core elements of the case management system, ensuring confidentiality and data security, neighborhood and school climate surveys, and neighborhood- and school-level data.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Innovation and Improvement, Promise Neighborhoods, LBJ Building, Room 4W338, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202-5970, Telephone: (202) 453-6615 Fax: (202) 401-4123 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/programs/promiseneighborhoods/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Case management, Community development, Confidentiality, Data, Data collection, Family support programs, Federal initiatives, Information systems, Measures, Neighborhoods, Outcome and process assessment, School surveys, Schools, Systems development

Annotation: This document describes the activities of the first year of Project Launch, a program whose primary objective is to promote the social, emotional, behavioral, and physical health and cognitive development of young children from birth to 8 years of age. The project has 24 grantees in three cohorts to work with a pilot community for five years, pursuing dual goals of improving systems and services. The document describes the components of the program and the process of the evaluation of the first year.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communities, Community programs, Families, Family support services, Health promotion, Infants, Initiatives, Low income groups, National programs, Prevention, Program evaluation, Public health, Service delivery systems, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This brief highlights considerations, challenges, and opportunities for foundations in investing in supports for pregnant and parenting adolescents and young adults—both mothers and fathers—currently in or transitioning from foster care. Topics include early sexual behavior, pregnancy, and rates of childbearing and parenthood among young people in foster care, risk factors, and challenging outcomes. Additional challenges such as lack of national data on specific needs and challenges, lack of practice models, need for workforce training, how to best identify and support adolescent fathers, and limited application of developmentally appropriate service delivery and planning with those that remain in foster care through age 21 are discussed. Investment opportunities in research and data collection, pregnancy prevention strategies, state supports for young parents and their children, and extending eligibility and re-entry are outlined.

Contact: Youth Transitions Funders Group, 207 East Ohio Street, #392, Chicago, IL 60611, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ytfg.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Family support programs, Foster care, Parent support services, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This guide provides information and guidance for working with pregnant and parenting youth, helping them as they develop both as individuals and as parents through positive casework interactions. The guide encourages a strengths-based approach to ensure the safety of both young parents and their children. It offers suggestions for engaging young parents in conferencing and supportive services while highlighting the importance of maintaining a young parent’s right to privacy and autonomy, and emphasize comprehensive planning for pregnant young people to promote well being, to minimize the need for court intervention, to ensure placement stability and to help young families move more quickly toward permanency. The guide is designed to be used primarily by provider agency case planners, but may also be useful to child protective staff, Family Services Unit staff, parent advocates, attorneys and others who work with this vulnerable population. Topics in planning and services for young parents in out of home care include: legal issues, father participation, collaborative planning and permanency, preventive services, child safety conferences, court intervention, pregnancy-related services, medical home visiting programs, parenting supports, counseling and mental health services, education, child care, and preparing a young parent for leaving foster care. Appendices provide resources for services in adolescent reproductive health, breastfeeding, the WIC program, support services and assistance, teen father support, mentoring and mental health, housing support, legal information, education, hoe visiting, and parenting education programs. Tips sheets are provided on mandatory reporting, early care and education, public housing, and transitional Medicaid.

Contact: New York City Administration for Children's Services, 150 William Street, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 341-0900 Secondary Telephone: (877) KIDSNYC E-mail: http://nyc.gov/html/mail/html/mailacs.html Web Site: http://www.nyc.gov/html/acs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Child welfare, Family support services, Foster care, New York, Out of home care, Parent education, Social services, State initiatives, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This website is designed to assist domestic violence (DV) programs in enhancing their services for infants, children, and adolescents who have experienced DV. The website provides access to a searchable database of evidence-based interventions and promising practices for serving children and youth exposed to DV.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Domestic violence, Family support programs, Infants, Children, Model programs

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to give parents and other caregivers tips on oral hygiene and oral health care for children and youth with special health care needs. Topics include selecting and adapting a toothbrush, addressing challenges, providing good nutrition, encouraging safety, and going to the dentist. Contents also include information sheets for specific conditions, state and national organizations, and service information.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Family support services, Learning activities, Oral health, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This archived webinar highlights best practices in engaging Latino families in home visiting programs. Panelists from three different home visiting models share approaches and tools that have led to their success in serving the needs of children and families. Topics included strategies for recruiting and retaining families in the program, specific training for home visitors, program and curriculum adaptation, and research on Latino families’ participation and outcomes.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Archive
• PowerPoint Slides

Keywords: Community programs, Audiovisual materials, Cultural sensitivity, Family support services, Hispanic Americans, Home visiting, Newborn infants

Annotation: This report provides information from an evaluation of home visiting programs in Illinois that are part of Strong Foundations—a program that supports the implementation, scaling up, and sustainability of evidence-based home-visiting programs for the prevention of child maltreatment. The report presents perspectives on the state system from key informants at state and local program levels and discusses local programs with a focus on five main topics: characteristics of communities and programs, staff training and supervision, program quality and fidelity, programs' ability to meet families' needs, and the availability of and linkages to other community services and resources.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• 2012 Report
• 2011 Report

Keywords: Child maltreatment, Communities, Family support services, Home visiting, Illinois, Local programs, Low income groups, Prevention, Program evaluation, State programs, Training

Annotation: This report provides information about the second year of implementation of Illinois Project Launch (IPL) in communities on Chicago's west side. IPL is part of a national LAUNCH initiatives seeking to promote the wellness of infants and young children from birth through age 8 using a public health approach focused on improving systems that serve infants, young children, and their families. The report describes IPL structure and systems-building activities; implementation of selected IPL activities, prevention and promotion programs, and work-force-development activities; and an overview of key findings, lessons learned, and recommendations.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communities, Community programs, Families, Family support services, Health promotion, Illinois, Infants, Initiatives, Low income groups, National programs, Prevention, Program evaluation, Public health, Service delivery systems, State programs, Young children