Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 21 through 27 (27 total).

National Governors' Association. 1997. State [Medicaid] coverage of pregnant women and children. Washington, DC: National Governors' Association, semi-annual. (MCH Update)

Annotation: These periodic reports focus on current state activities to broaden Medicaid coverage to pregnant women and children. Included are descriptions and tables on: raising income eligibility thresholds; streamlining eligibility programs; improving provider participation; implementing Medicaid managed care programs; and enhancing prenatal care services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child health services, Eligibility determination, Expanded eligibility, Infant health services, Medicaid, Prenatal care, Provider participation, State MCH programs, State health care reform

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1995. Medicaid: Spending pressures drive states toward program reinvention. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 74 pp.

Annotation: This report considers current federal and state Medicaid expenditures as a background for considering state efforts to contain costs and expand coverage by applying for waivers to certain Medicaid requirements. The report includes a summary which highlights the principal findings in addition to detailed analyses of the topic. Implications for future federal spending and on Medicaid's future are also considered.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-95-122.

Keywords: Cost containment, Costs, Economic factors, Expanded eligibility, Federal government, Medicaid, Medicaid managed care, State data, State government, State initiatives, Statistics, Waiver 1115

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1995. Supplemental security income: Growth and changes in recipient population call for reexamining program. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 40 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a recent history of the Supplemental Security Income program based upon an analysis of the state caseloads and recipient populations. It examines factors that are contributing to the growth in the reported caseloads and changes in its recipients. It reports the findings in brief; provides a background for the study; and details factors that are causing the caseloads to grow such as expanded eligibility, program outreach, fraud and abuse, limited efforts for recipients to return to work, and an increase in immigration. The report also considers the demographics of the recipients with regard to physical and mental disabilities, age, and their status as citizens. The report includes observations pertaining to development of future policies for the program.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-95-137.

Keywords: Demographics, Eligibility, Expanded eligibility, Program evaluation, Statistics, Supplemental Security Income

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1994. Health care reform: Potential difficulties in determining eligibility for low-income people. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report considers the problems Medicaid applicants face as they enroll in the program which prevent them from becoming eligible to use the system; it reviews a range of incentives hospitals use to facilitate their enrollment, and it considers the implications for determining their eligibility if health care reform is implemented. The report states its goals, describes the context for the study and its scope and methodology. Detailed attention is given to the barriers encountered and the incentives hospitals use to encourage applicants to enroll.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-94-176.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Eligibility, Eligibility determination, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Low income groups, Medicaid

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General. 1992. Medicaid expansions for prenatal care: State and local implementation. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, 72 pp.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Contact Phone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-06-90-00160.

Keywords: Expanded eligibility, Local programs, Medicaid, Prenatal care, State programs

Quinn E, Bilheimer L, Wright GE. 1991. Assessing the feasibility of a cost-effectiveness analysis of the Medicaid expansions for infants, children, and pregnant women. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research, 120 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the feasibility of performing cost-effectiveness studies of the Medicaid expansions designed to increase the access to health care for children and pregnant mothers. It provides a background for the study, discusses the design of cost-effectiveness studies, includes the recommendations of an expert panel, and presents the conclusions and a research agenda. The report considers the following components as part of the design process: the specification of the problem and the policy objectives, the identification of alternative approaches, the measurement of costs and outputs for each alternative, and the comparison of the results. Recommendations are made in six areas: research objectives, defining instruments, measurements of costs and outcomes, evaluation stages, research design, and data sources.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Contact Phone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com $9.50 plus $2.50 shipping and handling; available at no charge to government agencies.

Keywords: Access to health care, Access to prenatal care, Child health, Cost effectiveness, Expanded eligibility, Maternal health, Medicaid, Models, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Program development, Program evaluation

Fox HB, Greaney A, Weader R. 1989. State strategies for financing Medicaid expansions to meet the needs of children and pregnant women. Washington, DC: Fox Health Policy Consultants, 77 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the methods states are using to finance each of three kinds of expansions in Medicaid: Expanded eligibility and benefits for infants, young children, and pregnant women; increased benefits for children with special health needs; and increased benefits for handicapped infants and toddlers. The methods include the appropriation of new revenue and the reallocation of funds within the Medicaid program or from another program agency serving the population. The report also analyzes the impact of each financing approach on the budget and responsibility of non-Medicaid program agencies, the ability of providers funded by these programs to continue serving patients, and the resulting access to services experienced by Medicaid and other patients. An addendum entitled 'Limitations on the Use of Voluntary Donations and Provider-Specific Tax Revenue as State Medicaid Matching Funds' was issued in February 1992. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Policy Research Center, 750 17th Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20006-4607, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 496-9067 $25.00.

Keywords: Children, Children with special health care needs, Expanded eligibility, Health care financing, Infants, Medicaid, Pregnant women, State MCH programs, Toddlers

« Previous Page