Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These forms are a follow up survey of the former participants in the University Affiliated Cincinnati Center for Developmental Disorders training programs. Theyprovide space to record information about the participants and their comments and assessment of the program. One version is for former trainees with 300+ contact hours; the other is a modified version for trainees with 300+ contact hours who participated in the Interdisciplinary Leadership Core Curriculum since 1987-1988.

• Link

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Evaluation, MCH training, Surveys

Annotation: This document provides data related to several EPSDT studies in Iowa, Mississippi, New Jersey, Montana, Utah, Virginia, Louisiana, and California.

• Link

Keywords: EPSDT, Program evaluation, State programs

Annotation: This document describes seven science-based approaches in adolescent pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection prevention. Topics include assessment, health education and behavior change theory, logic models, science-based programs, adaptation and fidelity, characteristics of promising programs, and process and outcome evaluation. Additional topics include the benefits of using science-based approaches, ten steps for getting to outcomes, and training and technical assistance.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Assessment, Behavior modification, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Methods, Models, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Annotation: This report provides information on a 5-year comprehensive program evaluation of Cavity Free at Three. The report offers background information on Cavity Free at Three as well as on the program’s infrastructure development. Methods related to the data-collection process and evaluation-question development are discussed, and results are presented for the following four areas: training data, pre/post data, technical assistance data, and impact data.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Oral Health Unit, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/health/prevention-and-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Prevention, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This report presents key considerations for integrating oral health evaluation into prenatal care. Topics include completing an oral health evaluation, integrating oral health evaluation into the electronic medical record, integrating oral health evaluation into the prenatal care workflow, and strategies to increase primary care health professionals’ confidence in completing an oral health evaluation. The document also includes summaries of how prenatal clinics integrate oral health evaluation and links to examples. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Evaluation, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This report provide information on dental and oral health service measures in the 2024 Child Core Set. The report offers background information on the Child Core Set and includes the following information about the 2024 set: measures steward, description, age, denominator, numerator, continuous enrollment allowable gap, anchor date, exclusions, data source, and codes needed to calculate the measure. This information is provided for the following measures: oral evaluation, dental services; topical fluoride for children; and sealant receipt on first molar. Additional information on the three measures is included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Measures, Medical evaluation, Oral health

Annotation: This brief provides a national summary of selected oral health care quality measures for children developed by the Dental Quality Alliance (DQA) and displayed in DQA's State Oral Healthcare Quality Dashboard. The brief offers information on the following selected measures: Oral Evaluation, Dental Services (by or under the supervision of a dentist); Topical Fluoride for Children; and Sealant Receipt on Permanent First Molars. Data is presented on these three measures for the period 2016–2020.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Medical evaluation, Oral health

Annotation: This report spotlights five programs focused on integrating oral health care into primary care serving the maternal and child health population. Spotlights include a program overview; a description of the program’s inception and early years; information about funding, notable strengths, notable evaluation activities, and evaluation methodology; select evaluation findings; and resources to learn more about evaluation. The report also describes key elements for program success and challenges common across all programs that support or limit program success. Stand-alone spotlights of each program are also available.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Webpage With Stand-alone Spotlight Reports

Keywords: Evaluation, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance for healthcare organizations to assess and improve health equity among children with medical complexity (CMC) and their families in service delivery settings. It outlines an eight-step process for conducting health equity assessments at the patient level, emphasizing the importance of participatory approaches that involve caregivers, youth, families, providers, and community organizations. The toolkit addresses the unique challenges faced by CMC and their families, including social complexity factors such as poverty, housing instability, and transportation barriers that can impact their ability to navigate systems of care. Content is released on a rolling basis with ongoing updates to the roadmap and resources.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, Health equity, Service delivery

Annotation: This online tool presents National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) indicators aligned with the Blueprint for Change--a national framework for a system of services for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN). Developed through collaboration between the Altarum Institute and the National Center for a System of Services for CYSHCN, the tool arranges the indicators according to four critical areas as outlined in the Blueprint: health equity, family and child well-being and quality of life, access to services and supports, and financing of services. State/jurisdiction Title V programs are invited to use the tool to better understand how their work aligns with the Blueprint for Change and to monitor their progress during ongoing needs assessment activities. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, National Center for a System of Services for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/patient-care/national-center-for-a-system-of-services-for-children-and-youth-with-special-health-care-needs/

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, Families, Federal initiatives, Indicators, Needs assessment

Annotation: This electronic resource defines the term "equity" and provides links to the following tools to promote and advance health equity in underserved communities: (1) Equity assessment tip sheet; (2) In-depth equity assessment guide; (3) Guide to advancing equity through quantitative analysis; (4) Guide on advancing equity by incorporating intersectionality in research and analysis; (5) Tips on equitable communication; (6) Tips on engaging diverse groups of external partners; and 7) Practices for meaningfully engaging people with lived experience. The target audience includes state and local governments, tribal governments, and other private or nonprofit organizations focused on programs and policies relating to health and human services.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Ethnic factors, Evaluation, Facilitated communication , Health equity, Program planning, Racial factors, Underserved communities

Annotation: This manual provides information about school-linked oral health programs (programs that identify children who need oral health care and then coordinate care with a health professional in the community) for local oral health agencies in California. The manual offers background information about the California Dental Disease Prevention Program and presents a school-linked program model. The model covers selecting schools; programs' educational and outreach requirements; planning, including developing referral criteria, creating a network of dentists, using a referral-management and collection platform, and establishing performance measures; and developing protocols. Also discussed are referral management and care coordination and evaluation.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Care coordination, Community coordination, Community programs, Measures, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Program evaluation, Referrals, School dentistry, School health, State programs

Annotation: This framework is designed to prioritize equitable access to basic health information and services. It discusses why equity-centered health communication is important and presents three phases in making progress toward such communication. The phases include (1) understanding the issues, (2) co-creating accessible products, and (3) implementing health communication interventions.

Contact: CommunicateHealth, 20 Courthouse Square, Rockville, MD 2080, Telephone: (413) 582-0425 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communicatehealth.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health equity, Health literacy, Low income groups, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This road map outlines how data can be used as a tool to help end structural racism. It consists of a collection of guiding questions, tools, and resources to assist programs in taking concrete steps to better identify, understand, and act to address racial inequities. The road map contains seven sections: (1) Looking at health issues with a focus on the impact of racism; (2) Determining if a program is ready to use data to address racism; (3) Understanding what the data says about differences in health outcomes by race and ethnicity; (4) Using other sources of data to uncover causes of the differences; (5) Making plans to act on differences that are unjust or avoidable; (6) Presenting data in ways that help people make sense of the numbers; and (7) Moving from data to action.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 250 Washington St., 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5590 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-health-equity

• Link
• Overview

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Ethnic factors, Health equity, Outcome evaluation, Racial factors, Racism, State initiatives

Annotation: This report provides an evaluation of the Utah Oral Health Program, Adolescent Oral Health Campaign for 2022–2023. Goals of the campaign were to increase adolescents' use of the oral health care system; increase the proportion of adolescents from families with low incomes who had a preventive dental visit; reduce the proportion of adolescents with active, untreated tooth decay; and reduce adolescents' use of smokeless tobacco products. The report provides an overview of the program and describes evaluation methods, presents key findings and outcomes, presents post-test questions measuring adolescents' intent and post-test qualitative questions, and discusses evaluation limitations.

Contact: Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, Multi-Agency State Office Building, 195 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, Telephone: (801) 201-9462 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.utah.gov/oral-health-program/

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Smokeless tobacco, State programs, Utah

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates whether participation in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) is associated with nutrition and health outcomes for women, infants, and children, and whether the associations vary by duration of participation or across subgroups. The review prioritized studies published since 2009 and included studies comparing outcomes before and after the 2009 food package change. Conclusions showed that maternal WIC participation was associated with improved birth outcomes, lower infant mortality, and better child cognitive development, as well as purchasing healthier foods and improved diets for pregnant women and children.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Child nutrition, Infant health, MCH programs, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Preterm delivery, Program evaluation, WIC Program

Annotation: This public health use case package uses sample public health stories to demonstrate the use of social determinants of health data in chronic disease prevention. The document provides an overview and background of the different social determinants of health, including racial, ethnic, socioeconomic, and physical environment factors.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Disparities, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Measures, Policy development, Poverty, Program evaluation, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: During this 20 minute virtual round table, presenters from the Association of Maternal and Child Health (AMCHP) discuss the role that telehealth played in addressing equity and access to care during the pandemic and how an equity lens can be used to evaluate telehealth practices moving forward.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Access to care, Evaluation , Health equity, Racial factors, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This webinar features three presenters who describe the Equitable Evaluation Framework and explain how equitable evaluation activities can be applied to telehealth work. Included are telehealth examples based on equitable evaluation. The recording is from the virtual roundtable presented on May 17, 2022 by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's Equity, Epidemiology, & Evaluation Team,

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Evaluation , Health equity, Telehealth, Telemedicine