Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report reviews the history of oral health in Nebraska, compares current disease status with national trends, describes needs and existing resources, and identifies areas of focus for overcoming disparities. Topics include public policy and the oral health work force, improving disease surveillance, increasing access to care, enhancing community-based prevention, and elevating public education and oral health promotion.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community based services, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health status, Life course, Low income groups, Measures, Nebraska, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public health education, State programs, Statewide planning, Tobacco use, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This case study discusses using racial equity assessment tools to measure the impact of proposed legislation on populations of color. The document looks at how two cities, Minneapolis and Seattle, used Racial Equity Impact Assessment (REIA) tools to promote equity for communities of color. In addition, this report includes resources to help foster the use of REIA tools.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Ethnic groups, Legislation, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Annotation: This publication features an inside look at how two organizations, the W. Haywood Burns Institute and the Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Social Policy, use disaggregated data on race and ethnicity to improve the lives of children and communities of color. The report includes a section on lessons learned, which provides readers with action steps and resources for using data on race to advocate for impacted communities.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communities, Data, Data analysis, Ethnic groups, Legislation, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Annotation: The Government Alliance on Race and Equity (GARE) is a national network of government working to achieve racial equity and advance opportunities for all. This toolkit is designed to help local governments and community-based organizations integrate considerations of racial equity into all aspects of decision-making, including policies, practices, programs, and budgets. The toolkit provides examples of racial equity tools used in Seattle, Multnomah County in Oregon, and Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact: Government Alliance on Race and Equity, Race Forward, 145 East 57th Street, 4th Floor, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: 212-513-7925 Fax: 212-513-1367 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.racialequityalliance.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Disparities, Ethnic groups, Measures, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, State programs

Annotation: This survey includes questions related to tooth decay for Maryland Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Nutrition Program employees. Selected topics include survey recipients' role in their program and the program itself, recipients' opinions on how to prevent tooth decay, access to health care for program participants, how recipients help participants obtain oral health care, what types of oral-disease-prevention activities the program engages in, where recipients get oral health information, whether they have had or would be interested in training on tooth-decay prevention and communication skills, and the highest grade they completed in school and their racial or ethnic background.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Educational factors, Ethnic factors, Low income groups, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Racial factors, State programs, Surveys, Training, WIC program, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of policies, including provisions of the Affordable Care Act, that help reduce the uninsurance rate among Latinos and narrow inequities in coverage. Topics include efforts to address coverage inequities experienced by Latino families as a whole and also those of Latino children with complex care needs for whom uninsurance may be particularly damaging to health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Ethnic groups, Families, Health care reform, Health insurance, Hispanic Americans, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Special health care needs, Young adults

Annotation: This document for stakeholders in the private, public, academic, or non-profit sectors outlines a strategic plan to address the infant mortality problem in Minnesota, particularly persistent racial and ethnic disparities in poor birth outcomes. Contents include background and key findings on the sources of long-standing disparities in infant mortality, particularly among American Indians and African Americans, and perspectives on what changes could be made in systems, policies, and practices to improve birth outcomes. Additional contents include broad recommendations to further reduce infant mortality in the state; vision, goals, and objectives; and a call to action.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Fax: (651) 201-3590 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Community action, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Racial discrimination, Statewide planning, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report outlines the barriers to breastfeeding that communities of color face, along with policy and practice recommendations to address racial inequity in First Food. The report highlights structural barriers that women face during pregnancy, at the hospital, and in their first weeks and months at home after the baby is born—including access to Baby-Friendly hospitals and certified lactation consultants.

Contact: Center for Social Inclusion, 150 Broadway, Suite 303, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-2785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.centerforsocialinclusion.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Breastfeeding, Case Studies, Environmental influences, Ethnic groups, Infant health, Mothers, Nutrition, Policy development, Public policy

Annotation: This report commemorates the 30th anniversary of the Report of the Secretary's Task Force on Black and Minority Health (Heckler Report), highlights progress for Hispanics on priorities of the Heckler Report, summarizes trends in health care for Hispanic populations related to access to health care and National Quality Strategy priorities, and presents information on health care received by residents of the U.S.-Mexico border. Topics include cancer; diabetes; HIV/AIDS; injury prevention; maternal, infant, and child health; mental health; oral health; and respiratory diseases.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Hispanic Americans, Measures, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Rural health, Trends

Annotation: This document for agencies, organizations, universities, community coalitions, policymakers, prevention professionals, and other individuals interested in reducing the burden of sexual violence in New Mexico provides a framework for moving primary prevention forward. Contents include background on sexual violence and active consent, the causes and costs of sexual violence and how to prevent it, societal factors that contribute to sexual assault, priority populations, the system for responding to sexual violence in New Mexico, and a summary of progress. Methods, results, focus groups with a subset of priority populations, conclusion, and goals and objectives are included.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Costs, Ethnic groups, Injury prevention, Minority groups, New Mexico, Primary prevention, Risk factors, Rural populations, Sexual assault, Strategic plans, Violence prevention, Women

Annotation: This infographic presents information on the percentage of children enrolled in HUSKY A (Medicaid) in Connecticut who received preventive oral health care by race/ethnicity, factors that increased children’s likelihood of receiving preventive oral health care, the impact of each factor on the likelihood that children will receive preventive oral health care, and the impact of all three factors on the likelihood that children will receive such care. Topics include continuous coverage, receipt of well child care, and parents who received preventive oral health care. Steps to ensure that families have access to and use oral health care are also described.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This document provides recommendations and strategies for improving birth outcomes in Connecticut. Contents include the list of organizations represented on the Connecticut Coalition to Improve Birth Outcomes and how they used policy analysis tools to identify priorities and recommendations, and the Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network that supports the strategies outlined in the plan. Topics include addressing socioeconomic factors, making the healthy choices the easy choice, protecting individuals, implementing evidence-based interventions in clinical settings, and providing individual or public educational messages and support. Information about the perinatal landscape, emerging issues, and suggestions for using the plan are also included.

Contact: Community Foundation of Greater New Haven, 70 Audubon Street, New Haven, CT 06510-9755, Telephone: (203) 777-2386 Fax: (203) 787-6584 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cfgnh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health disparities, Infant mortality, Infants, Low birthweight, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Program improvement, Service integration, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This interactive map and dashboard offers the latest national and state-specific data on women’s health in the United States via state profiles. Users can hover over a state in the map to see key facts for women on demographics, health coverage and access to care, sexual health, or pregnancy. Click on a state to see a dashboard of charts with state-specific data on women’s health, including insurance and Medicaid coverage, poverty, mental health, HIV, cancer, pregnancy, abortions, and use of preventive services. Many indicators provide health care information for women of different racial and ethnic groups. The profiles draw from multiple sources. Each chart can be downloaded.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Ethnic groups, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, Sexual health, Women', s health

Annotation: This report tells how KIDS COUNT advocates in Nebraska, Wisconsin, and Washington used solid data, leadership, and citizen engagement to advocate for race-based legislation and community change. The document focuses on the importance of organizing community conversations about race as a first step toward action, and it provides examples from case studies in three different states. In addition, the report provides resources to help convene conversations on race.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Ethnic groups, Legislation, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Annotation: This book defines concepts and provides general guidelines for assessing and treating multicultural populations and provides specific guidelines for populations of African Americans, Hispanics, Asians, and American Indians. It also deals with issues of prevention, epidemiology, and guidelines for accurately interpreting data from culturally biased measures.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: Item No. 54964.

Keywords: Assessment, Cultural barriers, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Ethnic groups, Evaluation, Outreach, Patient care, Therapeutics, Training materials

Annotation: This report explores the intersection of children, race, and opportunity. Features include the Race for Results index, which compares how children are progressing on key milestones across racial and ethnic groups at the national and state levels. Topics include 12 indicators that measure a child's success in each stage of life, from birth to adulthood, in the areas of early childhood; education and early work; family supports; and neighborhood context. Policy recommendations are included.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 Web Site: http://www.aecf.org/MajorInitiatives/KIDSCOUNT.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Education, Ethnic groups, Family support, Infants, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This report describes progress on a national initiative to address persistent opportunity gaps faced by boys and young men of color. The report outlines the building blocks for success across key life stages and presents initial recommendations and areas of opportunity for each of the key milestones. The focus areas include entering school ready to learn, reading at grade level by third grade, graduating from high school ready for college and career, completing postsecondary education or training, entering the work force, reducing violence, and providing a second chance. Cross-cutting areas of opportunity that span all focus areas are also discussed.

Contact: White House, Executive Office of the President, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Initiative Website

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent males, Barriers, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Graduation, Juvenile justice, Learning, Life course, Men, Minority groups, Reading, School to work transition, Social factors, Violence prevention, Work family issues, Work force, Young adults

Annotation: This report presents trends from 1940 through 2013 in national birth rates for adolescents, with particular focus on births to adolescents ages 15-19 and for the period since 1991. The percent changes in rates for 1991-2012 and for 2007-2012 are presented for the United States and for states. Preliminary data for 2013 are shown where available. Contents include tabular and graphical descriptions of the trends in adolescent birth rates by age group, race, and Hispanic origin. Topics include first and repeat births, health outcomes, and comparisons of rates for the United States and other developed countries.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Birth rates, Comparative analysis, Ethnic groups, Pregnancy outcome, Statistical analysis, Trends

Annotation: This report summarizes agency efforts to provide health care services for Native youth and their lessons learned. Topics include health issues Native youth commonly face, ways youth use health services, youth-friendly services and ways to provide them, and integrating Native culture and traditional practices with medical practice. The report concludes with a discussion of areas and issues that need to be addressed in order to increase the number of youth accessing services, as well as suggestions for other agencies and clinics trying to establish health services for Native youth.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Service integration, Youth

Annotation: This brief describes the barriers that people of color face disproportionately in gaining access to necessary health care, components of an adequate health care provider network, and policies to help achieve such networks in private insurance plans. Topics include health disparities; geographic distribution, numbers, and types of health care providers; transportation, language, and culturally-competent care; hours and timeliness of care; and consumer rights under the Affordable Care Act including access to community essential providers. The brief provides examples from states and information on advocating for provider network standards to protect diverse communities.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Consumer protection, Equal opportunities, Ethnic groups, Health insurance, Networking, Patient rights, Policy development, Public health, Quality assurance, State initiatives